More deaths and accidents expected this Raya – police

traffic jam bernama

As Op Selamat 9 is conducted for this year’s Hari Raya Aidilfitri season, casualties on the road can be expected to increase even further, says the chief of federal police Traffic Enforcement and Investigation Department (TEID) Datuk Mahamad Akhir Darus in a New Straits Times report.

Motorists, especially those driving back to their hometowns this festive season, should practise safe driving if they want to reach their destinations safely, he said.

“While life and death is determined by God, and it is not our place to say about whether there will be many deaths or not, the trend shows that number of accidents and fatalities might continue to increase this time around (Op Selamat 9).

“If road users still continue to flout traffic rules, have no respect for others and drive recklessly, there will surely be a hike in accident cases,” said Akhir. He added that the Op Selamat recorded 330 deaths last year, up 39.2% from the 237 deaths in 2014.

ferrari-458-speciale-accident-kuching-3

Among the major causes of fatal accidents were losing control of the vehicle, entering the opposite lane, attempting to overtake at dangerous spots and making dangerous turns at junctions.

These were caused by factors including reckless driving, flouting of traffic rules, inconsiderate behaviour on the road, and selfish acts, added Akhir. Statistics also showed a total of 20,458 non-fatal accident cases during 2015’s Op Selamat for Hari Raya compared to 18,484 cases the previous year, according to the report.

For Op Selamat 9, the latest which started June 29 and will run until July 13, Akhir said the TEID will be “going all out” with its enforcement concept, while focusing on six major offences – illegal use of emergency lanes, overtaking at double lines, running red lights, speeding, jumping queues and using mobile phones while driving.

The authorities have also formed 14 emergency response teams comprising personnel from multiple agencies, including the police, Fire and Rescue Department, St John Ambulance, Civil Defence Department and Red Crescent Society for the operation, Akhir added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Yaa…we all know Sushi no safety protection especially Toyota and 10% sushi Perodua.
    Juz yesterday 3 cars involved in accident at PLUS highway. Front is Vios, middle is Alphard, and last is Myvi. Pity Myvi owner…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 01, 2016 at 3:36 pm

This fellow contradicts himself. Firstly, he says accidents and deaths going to increase. then he comes and says, “While life and death is determined by God, and it is not our place to say about whether there will be many deaths or not, the trend shows that number of accidents and fatalities might continue to increase this time around (Op Selamat 9)”

Datuk, besides contradicting yourself, how can you predict deaths are going to increase this year?

PDRM talk big but this Ops Selamat 9 will only be done for a few days. After that, semua sudah lupa. Hello PDRM, why don’t you at the same time sort corruption within your own organisation? Every single level of Trafik Polis is so corrupted. Everything there is all about money.

Your North South enforcement/speed trap officers are the best. Some of them can earn untung bersih RM3000 per day. Just finish SPM also can earn that much, it puts top surgeons to shame.

Do you know why there are so many deaths on the road? It is because there are officially 3 million road users with no license. And this figure has bloated up to this figure because the past 20 years, instead of punishing offenders, Trafik Polis makan suap and duit kopi. So, the figure of no lesen drivers slowly climbed every year to 3 million now.

Do you know why every year hundreds die kena langgar lorry hantu? Cause everytime JPJ or Polis catch the lorry hantu, the Indon illegal man driving the lorry hantu gives the officer ang pau.

Sort your corruption first. It is causing more deaths than the usual festive season deaths

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
    • Pity P2 owners. Pity toyota owners. But then someone says willing buyer willing seller woh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • Darren on Jul 01, 2016 at 5:13 pm

If you drive like you’re going to hell Whatever car you drive be it a sushi, kimchi or a continental is not going help at all.

• What about P1 owners? Someone said it is ‘Volvo of Asia’ woh

• viosfan on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:46 am

Bashers dun talk about p1 safety because Vios still has no VSC until year 4040.

Haha!

• Drive Tesla, auto-pilot mode..safe guaranteed.

• DPCraft on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Yep, this post is damn accurate. After reading this post some1 came crashing on my rear.

• 50cent on Jul 02, 2016 at 8:34 am

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri , drive carefully , ingat orang tersayang , don’t use emergency lane , only bodoh driver used it

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jul 01, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Oh God! How can one put everything in the hands of God? I hate it when a person says “God willing” and leave everything to God. Why do they love to put God in everything to justify their misdeed? If it is successful, he claims the credit. If it is a failure, then it was up to God! No hope can be placed on such people! Do something rather than blaming fate (or God). Take charge in your driving and your life by being responsible, alert and have the life you want than put everything to God.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • Najib was chosen by God. Jangan persoal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
      • Nope, he was chosen by idiots like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 01, 2016 at 4:15 pm

I think he was chosen by 666. Mr RM2.6 bil man is actually 666 himself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • Which to choose?
          2.6bil jib
          3.5bil dear leader
          6.3bil supreme CM

decisions, decisions, decisions

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 88
          • Kunta Kinte on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Pity you john, nobody likes you that you have to like yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Din someone says he cant help himself if a lot of pipu like his comment or something like that?

• The Chosen Ones on Jul 02, 2016 at 1:46 pm

LOL… Every one living on this Earth is chosen by God lah.
        If there are very strict enforcement and the citizens are intelligent enough to follow regulation, the accident rate will be minimal, go see what is the accident rate in a country like Sweden lah.

• Enforcement only treats the symptom. The root cause is MY drivers mentality. If they wanna be syaitans on the road, then putting officers at every KM on every road oso wun help

• so was hitler

• Kotembad on Jul 02, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Getting the meaning wrong there, eh? You don’t “leave everything to God”, you leave it to God when you’ve already done everything within your means and only then you pray for the best. You should know this if you’ve been to school.

• Selamat Hari Raya.
    Drive safely and be considerate while on the road. Your love ones will want you to come home safely, in one piece, not in multiple pieces..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • fafau80 on Jul 01, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Selamat Hari Raya folks, drive safely and be patience.

• moronpolice on Jul 01, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Population increase of course more deaths and accidents happen! Focus on the percentage and make the percentage drop and not the numbers!

• Then oppolitikuses says Gov is just playing with statistics, just like crime rate down but perception still up, woh. So how leh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Jobless on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:33 pm

God helps those who help themselves…

• Human nature to be selfish is a root cause of the mishaps on the roads. If you drive without concern for others’ right to also be on the road and to get home safely, nothing much can be done. No amount of policing can stop the coming carnage.

• Yesterday still got some stupid vellfire mercedes & vw owner used emergency lane during heavy trafic at elite highway , what to say

• Bernard on Jul 03, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Most accidents are caused by the ‘nut behind the steering wheel’

When you allow an unskilled but even worse someone who thinks the law is for show only ( wonder who is to blame??),the road becomes a dangerous place for all…

This raya I urge all road users to not be yourself but be someone else on the road :)

• Haji Ismail on Jul 04, 2016 at 8:43 am

apa nak komplen, kalau accident ini takdir dari tuhan, insan di dunia tidak boleh mengelak langsung

best thing to do is to pray and pray b4 u drive to kampung

• Ben Yap on Jul 04, 2016 at 9:37 am

more deaths means less population. this translates to lesser congestion.