Nissan Serena S-Hybrid Tuned by Impul launched in Malaysia – two variants, RM146k and RM156k

Impul Serena_Front

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has given the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid a bit of flair, with the introduction of the dressed-up Serena S-Hybrid Tuned by Impul in the country. Two Impul variants are available – the 2.0L Impul Highway Star, which is priced at RM145,578 and the 2.0L Impul Premium Highway Star, which goes for RM155,863, both on-the-road without insurance.

As you’d expect, the Impul job adds a fair amount of kit. There’s a new front bumper (though it’s not as dramatic as the Impul Serena Premium Version in Japan), a rear bumper spoiler, side skirts and a roof spoiler, with chrome-finished sport ducts and a bonnet fin adding further bling.

Rounding off the exterior add-ons are 18-inch Impul Aura SX-50 alloy wheels finished in gloss gun metal, wrapped with Michelin Pilot Sport 3 rubbers.

Impul Serena_Rear

Otherwise, it’s pretty much your everyday Serena S-Hybrid, save one little revision. The interior of the Impul Highway Star has been left untouched, but the Impul Premium Highway Star adds diamond-stitched combination leather seats – with an Impul logo embossed on the front seats – into the equation.

Existing CKD Serena S-Hybrid owners wishing to get in on the action can do by retrofitting the Impul package on their ride, though no prices were mentioned for going this particular route.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hadi75 on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:58 pm

I thought when you used the word “tuned” it’s meant something is done to the engine like using highflow air filter like k&n, remapped ecu, tuned engine, upgraded exhaust system etc. not just slapping a bodykit and wheels….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 5
    • John Cooper on Jul 01, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Indeed agreed with you, but I guess in Malaysia, it means slapping a bodykit and wheels, which is why we have Special Edition, Advanced Edition, Whatever Edition etc LOL

• Those that buy cars like this only care about skin-deep aesthetics and only want to look fast. Can you blame the carmakers for milking this cash cow when there are still buyers who believe that a TRD Sportivo Vios or an Impul Almera have better performance than the standard models by virtue of the extra bodykits and stickers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
      • basherutd on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:24 am

Why all jepunis overlord MPV look like bread vans?
        Oh sorry basher said it’s not proton so cannot persoal!

• U r newbie? The name Sportivo means the car only wears TRD street wear body kit.

Now go finish your homework. UPSR exam coming soon.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:03 pm

This is Malaysia’s version of tuned. All over the world, tuned means increase in hp and torque. But in malaysia, tuned means body kit.

Hello car manufacturers in Malaysia, Malaysians are not concerned about aesthetics, Malaysians want cheaper prices.

Have you, Tan Chong Motors, bothered to respect your PM Najib and taken the initiative to reduce car prices by 30%?

Malaysians now waiting 3 whole years for Najib to fullfill his promise to reduce car prices. Everyone in Malaysia feeling the pinch. Cost of living so high. But big boss still lives in luxury. Big boss does not understand the rakyat’s sufferings. Big boss wife worse, one Birkin handbag alone cost Rm500,000 and big boss wife got about 30 Birkin handbags, besides her RM85 million diamond ring.

Hello Najib, where is your 30% car price reduction promise?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 10
        • drlight on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:08 am

Why the tyres are so small but the body is so tall but narrow?

I just saw this type of van selling bread around my neighborhood,

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 02, 2016 at 7:12 am

But it does look nice and cheap…tokong will hv no problem buying it without asking for under market value rates…

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 02, 2016 at 11:53 am

This is Malaysia’s version of tuned. All over the world, tuned means increase in hp and torque. But in malaysia, tuned means body kit.

Hello car manufacturers in Malaysia, Malaysians are not concerned about aesthetics, Malaysians want cheaper prices.

Have you, Tan Chong Motors, bothered to respect your PM Najib and taken the initiative to reduce car prices by 30%?

Malaysians now waiting 3 whole years for Najib to fullfill his promise to reduce car prices. Everyone in Malaysia feeling the pinch. Cost of living so high. But big boss still lives in luxury. Big boss does not understand the rakyat’s sufferings. Big boss wife worse, one Birkin handbag alone cost Rm500,000 and big boss wife got about 30 Birkin handbags, besides her RM85 million diamond ring.

Hello Najib, where is your 30% car price reduction promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
      • promise on Jul 03, 2016 at 11:14 am

he will give us the same promise again for coming “erection”

• ETCM is Party Hard Supporter. Those who buy this junk all ampu jepunis overlords.

Buy Proton Perdana, it is better value. Support your own country! Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 63
    • Alamak on Jul 02, 2016 at 8:08 pm

When car is ugly, bodykit is of no use. When car is good looking, bodykit is of no need.

• wondering on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:58 pm

How about performance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • 205nm on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:25 am

Exora much better. if exora is hybrid too, exora will be much better, again.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 02, 2016 at 11:56 am

Dont talk about performance, see how many airbags. In other countries, if car manufacturer don’t put more than 6 airbags, the Government themselves will prosecute them.

But in Malaysia, since Government own majority of car companies, they don’t want to bother paying extra to give you a safer car. They only give you 2 airbags.

In accident. mother and Father live cause airbags inflate. All 3 children at the back mati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • Have 20 airbags also no point if they never use seat belts.

• Panjang on Jul 02, 2016 at 11:07 pm

Or use handphone while driving.
          Or driveover the speed limit @ 180kmph

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 02, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Er… Mercedes is selling a 1 airbag car in Germany. It’s legal. They are allowed to do it, and it legal to sell it.

The reason why most cars have more (mine has 8 for example), is that people want it. They prefer cars with more airbags, they demand it. Mine comes with 6 as standard, but the previous owner booked an extra to get 2 more (it is not a very expensive extra… it wouldn’t have to be in Malaysia either, airbags cost, but it’s not a very significant amount).

• johnny on Jul 03, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Having more airbags doesn’t mean safer… especially takata airbags

• NISSAN on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:12 pm

While others are busying with the latest Serena, Tan Chong is tuning this old Serena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • replying to the bodoh above on Jul 02, 2016 at 10:59 am

LOL that next-gen Serena not even release lah BODOH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Buy Proton Perdana and you get good quality! Latest car and latest technology

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
    • Susukotak on Jul 02, 2016 at 4:16 pm

its coming. so… this tuning for stock clearance

• I’m more concern about the noise entering cabin when cursing on highway. Noise is subdue at below 100kmh but increase exponentially beyond 120kmh. Wind noise is terrible. As a comparison, velfire still quiet when travelling at 140kmh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Velfaiya is 1 segment higher and 3x more expensive

• orang biasa on Jul 02, 2016 at 1:02 am

You compare with premium mpv car velfire with this serena? You are so funny!!! Harga untuk dua buah kereta pun beza besar, abang oi. Lu jangan cakap velfire recon.

• Let’s compare with Starex which is at the same price range. Starex also quieter with minimum wind noise travelling at high speed.

The point here is the bottom side of sliding doors are bare and not insulated. There arr the weakest points in terms of noise insulation.

• Megane on Jul 02, 2016 at 1:35 am

Dude , Alphard is a luxury MPV not in the same league as Serena which is just a basic people mover . Cabin noise reduction requires foam insulation which adds extra weight and cost . By the way Serena is underpowered unlike higher powered Alphard which can tolerate extra weight from foam installation better .

• Selamat Hari Raya on Jul 02, 2016 at 11:23 am

Drive politely :) and have a happy raya holidayz.. dont curse on highway.

• Drive within speed limit then…

• Ben Yap on Jul 04, 2016 at 9:39 am

than go and buy vellfire la.

• Before we brought the Serena last year, we were looking at recon velfire, recon estima, new Starex, new Biante and new Serena. Unfortunately, home CEO wanted a new MPV, do not want kimchi and decided to get Serena.

• Proton Selimut on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:12 am

Body kits and big rims again
    7 seater but only 2 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 02, 2016 at 7:07 am

Biasa la co cina…cheating is in their blood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Why la nissan add this bulls**t bodykits. Why can’t they just channel the cost for this unusable item for a proper full complete set of safety kits, as the full all around airbags? It’s a family mpv la wei not a racing car. Tuned by Impul? Joke of the day.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 02, 2016 at 5:11 am

Besides being absolutely pointless (and making the car worse), the bodykit looks terrible too!

THIS is how you modify a 7 seater bus:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wjFROTXAvM
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8Ujhfi-4FU

Or this:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SsaBYyjhHuo

• Ong Chee Boon on Jul 02, 2016 at 9:52 am

IMPUL bodykit for Nissan Serena… really?

ETCM, you advertise this car as FAMILY MPV, then why the heck you add IMPUL bodykit for? As if the owners would add this to make him look awesome when picking up family members? You just shot yourself in the foot.

Speaking of Family MPV, Assuming you have 6 family members, this car should have at least 6 airbags right? Nope, 2 airbags only. So by adding this bodykit, i assume you want 4 of them to die in style is it?

Slap one bodykit and you say that tuning. If like that we can assume anyone who did a change of rims/bumpers can tune as well. At least tune the suspensions, brakes, or even swap in a new air filter please.

I would rather spend that RM 6360.00 to manually install more airbags if i could, and good quality children car seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • JB_KIA on Jul 02, 2016 at 11:12 am

where’re Note, Qashqai, Micra, Juke etc etc???? sicked of your current lineup

• If bring Note, must sacrifice Livina
      If bring Qashqai, must sacrifice Xtrail
      If bring Micra, must sacrifice 370Z
      If bring Juke, must sacrifice ???

Not so gud marketing if it disrupts the familiar models currently (ie. sunny-> sentra-> Latio-> Sylphy)

• question on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:07 am

You cannot afford pun. Why kesah kau?

• apa tahi on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:20 am

Qashai & Note – not even CKD in Asean yet
      Micra – even Alto and Mirage hardly see on our road
      Juke – no ball to bring them in even thought Thai and Indo CKD this car and its too late now, just see how HRV doing well

• cendol (Member) on Jul 02, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Where are the stickers and decal??

• Waters on Jul 02, 2016 at 4:27 pm

That’s one ugly car. It looks like the designers started off with a block of clay, then left it as it is.

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 02, 2016 at 5:46 pm

“highway star” reminds me of the band “Deep Purple”. They were a superb band, can’t say the same thing about this SUV though.

• Huehue on Jul 03, 2016 at 6:06 am

So this is the ricer version of nissan serena….*facepalm*

• Bernard on Jul 03, 2016 at 1:12 pm

So little for so much money!!

Below 100k….. Maybe

• roslan rashid on Oct 16, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Nissan sentra new or second hand

• Lee hua hing on Apr 08, 2017 at 7:43 am