Honda Malaysia facing airbag replacement shortage

Honda-Airbag-Stock-Announcement

An announcement has appeared on Honda Malaysia’s official website stating that it is currently facing a shortage of airbag replacement units. The company adds that it is trying its best to expedite the process and will post regular updates on the matter.

Honda has recalled millions of vehicles worldwide to replace the airbag inflators, which could explode with excessive force after prolonged exposure to heat and humidity. The airbags, made by Japanese company Takata, had already been linked to over 100 injuries and 13 deaths globally. Three deaths have been from Malaysia, all in the same generation of Honda City.

The April case was in Sabah (2006 City) while another fatal incident happened on May 1 in Kedah (2003 City). The most recent fatality happened late last month, when a Takata single stage driver’s airbag inflator in a 2005 Honda City ruptured in a light crash on June 26.

Takata Honda NSX

The most recent death happened days after Honda Malaysia announced another recall involving potentially faulty Takata airbag inflators. This round, 147,894 vehicles spanning eight models are involved, and it’s to replace the front passenger airbag inflator. It’s almost identical in volume to the recall issued a year ago – that one to replace the driver’s side airbag inflator.

We don’t have an official statement from Honda Malaysia yet, but it’s feasible that the company is overwhelmed by airbag replacement requests from owners of all models in the recall list, spurred into action after the latest accident. This Takata airbag recall is also a worldwide one involving various brands from Honda to Ferrari, and millions of affected cars, which means that demand for replacement airbags is outstripping supply at the moment.

We’ll keep you posted on updates from Honda Malaysia. In the meantime, here is a compilation of all Takata airbag-related recalls in Malaysia – from Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Mazda, Mitsubishi and Ferrari, among others. Find out which models are involved, and what to do from there.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hailthepurist on Jul 04, 2016 at 4:00 pm

your RV might affected..

• viosfan on Jul 04, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Why Toyota no replacement? Vios are everywhere on road and not even is affected?

• alldisc on Jul 05, 2016 at 2:53 am

Some early vios are using takata airbags, but all later models using autoliv hirotako.

Vios did have an issue with airbag installation some 5 yrs back. But that was related to poor assembly issue and not product failure. 20,000 units were involved in that recall process in Malaysia. Only for NCP93 models with passenger airbag.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 10:07 am

All over the world, car companies are so scared of their Governments cause if they don’t change airbags, their own Governments will take a legal case on the car manufacturers. For example, in US, US Government themselves sued VW and Toyota.

In Malaysia, all car companies are owned indirectly by Government. So, the car companies not scared of the consumers nor are they scared of the Government cause Honda is the Government.

If Honda say wait, you have to wait like dog.

• Did u just woke up? Then u better go straight back to sleep.

• Stop buying cars with airbags temporary

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • U so gungho announced recall and yet you never prepare for the number of cases you handle???????
    You need new purchasing GM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:48 pm

What to do. Don’t recall, get sued. Especially when the cat is out of the bag already.

We sent our Honda in for VIN# verification just as the news broke, even before Honda Malaysia officially initiated a recall. Only got the airbags changed almost 1 year later.

Anything could have happened in that period of one year.

Now ..what about the owners of cars still waiting for the airbag replacement? Drive? Don’t Drive? Disable the airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Change to a new P1 and drive ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Albert on Jul 04, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Temporal solution: Remove the EXPLOSIVE ammonium nitrate based inflator.
        When Honda,I believe…9 months later has new stocks,then go and fix it.
        Or Hello small sister protong,can pinjam your airbag inflator,boleh tak ? Since protong has so many obsolete and non moving stocks….help big sister Honda,lah.
        It is better to drive SLOW without the Takata airbag then get killed with just a minor accident.
        Now,used car dealers cursing….no one buys a used City or accord until new airbag inflators arrived.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Smartass Albert telling pipu to remove the gunpowder from a bullet inside a gun. If u dunno how airbag modules r made, either pipe down or learn. That is, if RBAs have a capacity to learn in the 1st place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • hogah on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:47 pm

I think the problem is with our attitude. I know few friends who drive Honda who received the letter on changing the airbag months ago but did nothing until recently Malaysian died of it got viral.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 04, 2016 at 4:07 pm

I’m no Phd in airbags.
    But generally speaking, these affected carmakers should at least REMOVE the faulty airbags from the affected vehicles at the time being, while waiting for the RESTOCK.

Cause looking at the most recent incident that happened last month, now it is more risky to have faulty airbags in your vehicle than no airbag in your vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Well Honda Malaysia has been very slow in getting the airbags.

If you have a Honda affected in the recall, please write and send in a very strongly worded letter and give them notice of 1 week to get your airbag replaced….and should anything happen, they would be in really big shit for not getting their act together.

I suppose the fear of a punitive action would get them off their asses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • david on Jul 04, 2016 at 4:21 pm

then should offer alternative, either pull fuse or a ‘alternative car’

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jul 04, 2016 at 4:35 pm

honda after sales service not reliable like that…toyota best as far as life-saving effort here regarding airbag replacement..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Jobless on Jul 04, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Toyota also same thing; no airbag stock. Been waiting for them to call back, so far nothing.

• Tong Sampah on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Imagine they put up “clarification” of already informed the driver 3 times…hope they rest in peace

• Roadside stranger on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Actually there are another airbag death related accident at sibu on November 2014. One death but involved 2 lifes (pregnant lady) :(

• I hope the recent accident victim’s family will sue Honda Malaysia.

They’re the one with insufficient stock and they said the victim did not perform the exchange?! you guys can check out in forums or whatnot and people owners said that it has been months of waiting for the airbag stocks to arrive..meanwhile they just pray that they will not hit anything even slightly with their car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • ben yap on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:26 pm

inefficiency spotted.

• A lot of bullcrap again. They have been facing shortage since the initial announcement in 2015. It is not rocket science for them to tabulate how many vehicles affected. Obviously, they are trying to save a penny or two by hoping some owners would not change. They think their cost are more important than Malaysian lifes.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 04, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Make a recall announcement just to make sure that when people die, they will stand a chance to say “Look, I’ve sent a letter already to the owner, but the owner didn’t come to change the airbag/s”.

They will tipu that the airbag/s replacement for that exact car that involved in the accident were already there. Good strategy.

Proton power window scandal is no match to this Takata airbag scandal, and the inefficiency of Honda Malaysia.

• How dare u persoal ur jepunis overlords! Ur kancil will beg for mercy from its maker, just to spare ur life.

• Andrekua on Jul 04, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Why Honda never mentioned the case where an owner paid RM300 and get her replaced on the spot. Shortage or delaying until people feed up?

• nosushi on Jul 04, 2016 at 7:22 pm

This is your jepunis overlord car, if you buy proton, nothing to be changed and you are much safer.

Small problem can be fixed but souls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • lagrunt on Jul 04, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Same Lorrrr@Kunta Kintet always bash p1 for expensive price of jepunis cars. Even p1 got taxed and p1 car without tax is still cheaper than jepunis car without one

• Heaven on Jul 04, 2016 at 8:07 pm

From an ethical view point, NO more H cars for me.

• huatcouncil on Jul 04, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Volkswagen seems angelic next to Honda now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • jclark on Jul 05, 2016 at 10:22 am

ouch that will hurt the sales…new civic not using takata?

• malaysian on Jul 05, 2016 at 11:36 am

Mine was changed months ago after they issue the recall letter. It was a smooth & efficient transaction. Now everyone panicked, last time buat tak tau

• Exactly the same sentiments, it was a seamless exercise, get letter, call to make appointment, drive in and about an hour later drive out, settled

• Ollie on Jul 05, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Get real here – TOYOTA Vios and Altis have the same issue but Toyota is just keeping quiet while Honda gets all the attention.

Toyota Malaysia has NOTHING on their website on the airbags. The service centre told us they can do 4 cars per day only. Not enough airbags also. Seriously never buying both these brands again.
    Its not about the quality – its the lack of concern on buyer’s lives – all they do is promote new models. Sick of this.

• So have any jepunis overlords being arrested by nippon overlord authorities? Any of them? No?

How about kolos shop, no kolos shop yet? Jepunis overlords now “donating” taxpayer money to keep tak kata alive?

• An An on Jul 12, 2016 at 5:39 pm

When I received sms from Honda, I called for an appointment to Honda SK branch for airbag replacement.They didn’t allow me to make an appointment straight away and claimed the appointments have been fulled until Oct. They asked to wait for the call. Believe I won’t get the replacement until next year.

• Yao Tze Hao on Jul 14, 2016 at 7:45 pm

I went to Honda Old Klang Road, after Scot Garden towards Mid Valley, in mid of Jone and my appointment is set on early August.