Johor Sultan sticks ‘F1’ plate on his Proton Perdana

Johor’s Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar is the owner of the prized ‘F1’ number plate, and the new Proton Perdana. Yesterday, he stuck the new plate on the new car and went for a spin in the red 2.4L sedan with Proton board member Datuk Zainuddin Che Din and CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali.

Last week, it was announced that Sultan Ibrahim secured the ‘F1’ number plate with a bid RM836,660. It was the highest sum he has paid for a number plate, having won the bid for ‘W1N’ for RM748,000 in 2014 and WWW1 for RM520,000 in 2012. Big sum, but not over RM1 million as hoped for by the JPJ and much lower than the supposed RM5 million bid from a “local celebrity” from Ipoh.

It was announced in May that the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur and the administrative capital of Putrajaya will get ‘V’ and ‘F’ prefixes in July and June. KL’s ‘V1’ will soon be up for grabs.

Launched last month, the latest Perdana is based on the previous-generation Honda Accord but has a unique fastback-style rear end. 2.0 and 2.4 litre Honda engines are available, paired to a five-speed automatic gearbox. The big sedan is priced at RM113,888 for the 2.0L and RM138,888 for the 2.4L seen here. Check out our first impressions test drive report, video review and walk-around video tour of the latest Proton.

GALLERY: Proton Perdana 2.4L

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The number cost 8 times more than the car…

remembere this guy?

“tokmoh. on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:17 am

inb4 Sultan Johor buys it, put it on new banana 2.4 hewhewhew”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Banana is not a funny word.

• The Sultan bid under market value is it? How come the bidder for RM5 million didn’t win?

• Redidiot on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:42 pm

500k la…

• john otak batu on Jul 05, 2016 at 12:15 am

No, it’s RM5 million. I wonder why

http://paultan.org/2016/06/15/f-1-wilayah-number-plate-goes-for-rm5-million/

• remoter on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:53 am

Many bashers butthurt will say, why put expensive plate number on much cheaper car?

And it’s a proton! (Even bashers cannot afford one,lol) Padan muka kena troll

• Same L00 on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Once the number plate is placed on the Proton, the value dropped to RM200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • BBBOOOOOOOOOOOO…Dato Vida…Talk only, where is ur 2M?

• tokmoh. on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:23 pm

I’m a psychic :)))

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Daulat Tuanku…great no plate being placed on an even nicer vehicle…what a beautiful combination…proud to be MALAYsian…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
  • Daulat Tuanku~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • RM836k plate on a RM138k car make the Perdana almost a million Ringgit car… hmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:13 am

Congrats Tuanku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • john is otak batu on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:14 am

A little disappointed. I was hoping he will be getting “SULTAN 1”

• Stuck an expensive plate on a proton car…..wow

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:42 am

There is a “Message” here I think because the numberplate is worth more than the not-so-original car speaking from a collector/car-enthusiast point of view, which I am not.

• No Comment on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:43 am

What a waste.. Reg number is 6 times more expensive than the car..

And I guess is the only perdana registered so far..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • Johorian on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Why not rm1m plate number on 100k national car? This is an honor to Proton and also to the country. Most ppl in Malaysia is so proud of foreign car brand, if one guy like the Sultan honor our local company with expensive playe, so why not? We should be proud also. Thats my opinionlah. I bet the kiasu type wont agree with me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
  • DPCraft on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:57 am

Ouch, there goes the F1 plate on F1 Perdana.

• I though his going to put it one of his exotic cars collection.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 04, 2016 at 11:14 am

Urmmm, but the font does not look like it complies to JPJ standard. Anyways, at least Tuanku is patriotic enough to put it on car which costs 10 percent the price of the plate number. Instead of puting it on a hypercar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • So where is basher who said p1 car is for orang kampung lazy people?

Does basher has those expensive plate number too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • So Tuanku is helping proton to promote the new perdana. If this also cannot bring up the sale of perdana,proton really deserved to close down.

• john is otak batu on Jul 05, 2016 at 8:30 am

If Potong sales still fail, they probably blame it on Sultan.

• Leafable on Jul 04, 2016 at 11:37 am

What a humble man indeed. Putting a RM800k number plate on a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Azmin on Jul 04, 2016 at 11:40 am

this is only a symbolic move. DYMM will use this plate on one of his exotics such as RR or rest. I can see Dato Zainuddin here who is very close to Sultan, I am sure this is only a public show. the number plate will go to another one of DYMM cars after this. after all Sultan is very professional on cars and knows this is nothing but a 9 year old outdated Honda Accord. Proton is nowhere to show themselves like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
    • Ntahape on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Ko Ade?…outdated pon dia beli gak…pegi la ke jpj johor….plet no “1” reserve utk dia je…

• thefact on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:15 pm

that number F1 is for the new RR Phantom, i saw it..is it true? i wonder… maybe people try to disgrace him oh..he is a very nice guy. he drives only proton. berjiwa rakyat :P

• thefact on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:50 pm

but i have to respect him, for the satria neo. that’s a nice custom made car that he commissioned..that showed the capability of the R3 team :)

• Ameeru Tanggabatu on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:14 pm

I know a former Malaysian actor who won a bid for a single digit number and then put it on his “cup” bike. That is given that the bike was his first bike during early times and hence the sentimental values. As for Sultan, you have your reserved rights to do whatever you want with that number plate and if only you can put it on your Mclaren F1..

• Redidiot on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:46 pm

I think u mean ‘cub’ as in honda cub (baby/small). A ‘cup’ bike would mean one set up for competition i suppose.

• JPJ is laughing themselves all the way to the bank. If not for being a Government agency, they would have declared 24 months bonus for all JPJ staff.

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Tuanku is trolling the proton basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • albag on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:52 pm

i sense a strong sarcasm in this… a potong in an expensive plate LOL… doesn’t make sense… anyway MALAYSIA APA-APA PUN BOLEH!

• Tuanku doesn’t need any plate for his cars don’t you guys know he is the Sultan of Johor ? Tuanku don’t wants to show support for Proton our “Nation’s” car.

• contender on Jul 04, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Well done more support for Proton Perdana ….. started by former Minister Wahid in Uber drive and DYMM Johor Sultan with the F1 plate on Perdana. Proton better show us the result with real turn around now that Lotus is also reportedly making money for thr 1st time. Proton on road to recovery

• ben yap on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:29 pm

i’m going to bid for V1 to be put on my honda ex5.

• Just like Dato Viva, im going to bid V1 for my wife Bugatti. TALK ONLY, LOL

• Arguably a cooler move than merely doing the expected i.e. affixing it on an exotic like most moneyed people would do. This big Proton carries it well too. Congrats to both Tuanku and Proton.

• Am I the only one here realising the plate doesn’t conform with JPJ standards?

• TonyT on Jul 05, 2016 at 6:06 am

Tuanku outbid people every time. Does it mean he has JPJ insider information? Just wondering, not meant to disrespect.

• Ollie on Jul 05, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Interesting indeed – seeing the winnning bid is such an odd number – 836660 – why not just 800k or 888k or 888,888. Did someone bid 836,500 and someone got insider info? Sorry la if this is sedition come at me bro

• samekot on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:49 pm

why the apek don’t want to buy the F4??takut mati kah??still believe in that crap??stupid

• Keris Jawa on Jul 08, 2016 at 1:35 am

Saya nak komen tapi takot nanti kena tangkap masuk jel.