VIDEO: Honda Accord turns 40 – a retrospective look

Bring out the birthday cake – the venerable Honda Accord is now 40 years old! This midsize (D-segment to you and me) sedan has been sold in the United States since 1976, so American Honda Motor has released a couple of new videos that depict the history of the iconic nameplate.

The circumstances in which the first-generation SJ came into being was quite a bit more volatile than the modern day. The US was still reeling from the first oil crisis in 1973 (and would soon be hit by the second one in 1979), with an oil embargo causing a shortage of fuel and the skyrocketing of fuel prices.

Spurred with the success of the reliable, fuel-efficient Civic, which went on sale just before the crisis, Honda sought to build a larger car to complement it. The house that Soichiro built accorded (geddit?) the name to reflect the company’s “belief in using technology to achieve accord between people and the automobile.”

As with the Civic, the Accord used Honda’s pioneering Compound Vortex Controlled Combustion (CVCC) engine technology, which used a pre-chamber near the spark plug to ignite a small amount of relatively rich air-fuel mixture, making the leaner mixture coming through the main intake valve easier to combust.

This made the engine use less fuel and, more importantly, emit fewer hydrocarbon emissions – allowing the car to meet emissions standards at the time without using a heavy and expensive catalytic converter.

Honda took another brave step with the second-generation Accord in 1982 by commencing American production in Marysville, Ohio. The company proved that US-built models were just as well-built and as reliable as those made in Japan, so much so that in 1987 it started exporting the Accord Coupe to Japan.

Since then, the Accord has grown larger, more powerful and more comfortable, and has become synonymous with the midsize tag, along with the Toyota Camry. It’s gained several technologies over the years, including PGM-FI multi-point fuel injection, VTEC variable valve timing and lift, direct fuel injection and the world’s first in-car navigation system.

Today’s ninth-gen model is available as a hybrid and fitted with features such as full-LED headlights, remote engine start, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity and Honda Sensing driver assistance systems like adaptive cruise control, autonomous emergency braking and lane keeping assist. We’ll be getting the latest facelifted model soon, so you can definitely look out for at least some of these features in the near future.

Honda has also released a video showing both the original 1976 car and the new 2017 Accord Hybrid, along with American Honda’s media relations head Steve Kinkade and public relations manager James Jenkins – the latter playing a ’70s Honda salesman.

The whole thing is cringeworthy to say the least, but it does illustrate just how far the nameplate has come over the past four decades. So happy birthday, Honda Accord, and we hope to see you in the next 40 years.

GALLERY: 2017 Honda Accord Hybrid

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• The first generation looked better than the Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 05, 2016 at 7:26 am

And it even looks better than you…thats a fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Thats one of the lamest comebacks ever on PT

• Same L00 on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:50 pm

USA accord is as good as Japan accord. So you might be thinking the Perdana is as good as the accord… DREAM ON!
          Don’t play play with Proton QC. Anything could break down, guaranteed break down gao-gao.

• Can we have proton saga restropective look?

• Kesian, kena ‘raped’ by Proton and became Pondana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • So according to basher logic:
      Toyota raped mazda
      Renault raped nissan

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 10:13 am

john still using dupes. We all know, any basher word is always written by you

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 05, 2016 at 7:30 am

Rebadged is a universal thing…do some homework…spend some time at the library and you will realise that all car manufacturers are doing that…bottomline…profit is still numero uno…now go play masak-masak with the girls…

• When your flagship car is a rebadge it IS rather silly. Do some thinking with the rest of the goons.

• Albert on Jul 05, 2016 at 12:40 am

This latest Accord….still Takata airbags?
    Pinjam from Pondana’s supplier of airbags.

• alldisc on Jul 05, 2016 at 2:48 am

Johnathan, you mentioned Accord was tagged to Camry. That did not happen until 1992-94 because originally Accord was competing with Toyota Corona.

But when Honda pushed Accord a size too big (especially the JDM accord inspire), Toyota cannot do the same to Corona – Camry is already in that category. Corona remained as it was, renamed Avensis while Camry continued to challenge Accord.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 05, 2016 at 3:41 am

I have fond memories of Accord SV4… Had it for 3yrs…it was great… Zero issues… Solid as a rock… It was at an era where interiors were all sof touch and non of those hard plastics u get today….

• zerome on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:03 am

either u agree or not Proton Perdana 2016 looks much batter that this TankCar design…even not on the same structure but i got the same engine here and im not Proton Saleperson….you can hates it and likes it….cheers…

• xxxxx on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:58 am

The latest gen looks worst than suprima

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 05, 2016 at 7:40 am

Toyota camry came in later but it became a best seller beating accord for the No 1 spot in the US for as long as one can remember..similarly toyota wish was introduced after honda stream and it (wish) became more popular than stream…the new toyota c-hr is expected to repeat the same success story and it wont be long before it kicks honda hrv’s ass in this lucrative category…look out honda….

• However here in Malaysia Camry, Altis, Vios or practically the whole range of Toyota vehicles comes standard with 2 airbags and no VSC.

• TruthHurts on Jul 05, 2016 at 10:10 am

Honda comes with plenty of TAKATA Airbags which might kill you too. :)

• Just you cant afford top spec, nobody force you to buy the lowest spec

• MotoMoto on Jul 05, 2016 at 10:31 am

Honda gives you plenty of TAKATA airbags which might blow off your safety.

• alldisc on Jul 05, 2016 at 2:50 pm

It is true Honda stream was launched in 2000 while Toyota’s wish came in year 2003. But Toyota already has a contender in the compact MPV segment namely Toyota ipsum / picnic what was launched in 1995 and Toyota Nadia 5 seater in 1999. Honda always slower than Toyota

• Proud owner of 4th gen Honda Accord @ SM4. It was my 1st car when I bought it for a RM12K about 3 years ago. H22A VTEC engine coupled with famous Honda’s manual gearbox, rear independent suspension, super comfy 90’s fabric seats, lightweight chasis, superb handling is just a few good points of the car.

• lithium on Jul 05, 2016 at 9:57 am

The first gen accord looks the best. Honda should update it to comply with safety requirement, tech it to 2016 and release it as accord classic like the beetle, 500 and mini. Keep the size between the city and civic and price it correctly, would be tempting.

• Honda malaysia, please bring in colours like this blue instead of boring uncle greytones.

• takNakP1 on Jul 05, 2016 at 11:28 am

looks like the country where it manufactured/assmbled/CKD’ed matter most and not the brand.

• DPCraft on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:16 pm

The fact that everyones praises Suprima Ass & Pondana. Over this car….

• I know it was not the intention but this entire post seems like a paid advert for Honda as opposed to raising awareness about the Accord’s history.