Ford Ranger prices increased – 5 variants up RM2,350

Ford Ranger 2.2 XLT AT-02

Prices of the Ford Ranger have been increased effective July 1. Prices are up by RM2,350 across the board for five variants (2.2L Manual 4×4 XLT, 2.2L Automatic 4×4 XLT, 3.2L Manual 4×4 XLT, 3.2L Automatic 4×4 XLT and 3.2L Automatic 4×4 Wildtrak) except the base 2.2L Manual 4×4 XL, which price remains unchanged.

With the increase, on-the-road excluding insurance prices are RM104,618 for the 2.2L Manual 4×4 XLT, RM112,038 for the 2.2L Automatic 4×4 XLT, RM114,158 for the 3.2L Manual 4×4 XLT, RM121,588 for the 3.2L Automatic 4×4 XLT and RM139,838 for the 3.2L Automatic 4×4 Wildtrak. The entry-level 2.2L Manual 4×4 XL is priced at RM91,588.

This price increase comes very soon after the previous round of price hikes, in early May, which saw numbers balloon by less than RM1,000 for the range and RM5,300 for the bells-and-whistles Wildtrak. Now, the range-topper is priced close to RM140k, which is unprecedented for a pick-up truck here. The Ranger is a CBU import from Thailand.

The facelifted Ford Ranger T6 was launched locally in October 2015, half a year after it made its world debut at the 2015 Bangkok Motor Show in March. A revised nose, all-new dashboard and updated engines head the changes for the five-star ASEAN NCAP-rated truck.

GALLERY: Ford Ranger 3.2L Automatic 4×4 Wildtrak

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• eVaz88 on Jul 05, 2016 at 3:47 pm

So consider cheap or expensive?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:43 pm

What a lovely gift for Raya. Petrol prices gone up and now, car prices gone up twice within 2 months. This is despite Malaysian car prices being the most expensive in the world already, yet, they increase somemore.

And who runs the Ford cars in Malaysia? Yes, it is Government owned Sime Darby Motors. Again, this shows how much the Government loves the rakyat.

Rakyat is suffering so much with high cost of living but big boss still buys a brand new plane for RM500 million and puts luxury alacantra leather seats for another RM30 million. This is despite big boss already having 5 planes in the Government private hangar.

Big boss’s wife even better. Rents private plane for RM98 million despite having 5 private planes in the hangar to take her FREE.

Now you know why car prices are going higher and higher

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7
      • Since ur bos can get undervalued bungalow, can as him help get me opposite his one for 1k? Then just like u, I will be his blind supporter for ever and ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 33
        • aiyah its very easy john. You buy lah a bungalow today at 6million. Two years later get people to declare that the market value was actually 9million. Voila! You got an undervalue deal!!

• That wud make me the seller then, not the buyer. Get ur orientation right.

• JB_KIA on Jul 05, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Buy Mondeo. Was almost 200k, now 166k.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Don’t talk about this truck being super expensive. Even our sedans cost a bomb

Toyota Camry Hybrid (CBU) in Australia is AUD29k. That is RM100k. Come to Malaysia, supposed to be tax free cause hybrid status excemptions.

But here, crony Government UMW sells it for RM175k. This is after they CKD the car making it even cheaper to produce.

Some pondans will say our market is small. Well, Malaysia has 30 million people. Australia has 30 million people. So, the market size is same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
      • Our cars in Malaysia are cheap. You know why you complain about prices being high? it is because you are lazy. Work hard and RM160k will be nothing.

I work hard. I don’t even take loan to buy my car. Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
      • kunta pondan on Jul 05, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Look at yourself lor, instead of chasing customers to your empty showroom, you are wasting time here badmouthing pipu and other brands, how to be developed country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Malaysian like to complain. Government give us cheap car prices and yet we complain. Everything also not happy. If not happy with Malaysia, you are welcomes to leave. Don’t come back.

Thank you BN for giving us cheap car prices and cheap minyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • Ego ? 4×4 Wildtrak u can drive like no body on the road for a rm140k trucktor .

• Time to go for Navara. Ford MY must be smokin something strong there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Don’t worry, we all can afford this cause Najib said, in 4 years time, 2020, we will become high income nation and first world status.

It is estimated that every Malaysian will earn US$48k per annum. That is US$4 (RM16k) per annum.

Yes, our Government already said, each Malaysian will earn RM16k by 2020. To be precise, that is 3 and half years time. So, this Ford pricing should be affordable to most Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:03 pm

sorry typo, It is estimated that every Malaysian will earn US$48k per annum. That is US$4k (RM16k) per MONTH!

• Baru bangun lewat petang dah merepet. Balik tidur lah! Nobody gonna come to ur toyota showroom. Better convert to Nirvana dearlership, more business at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • dodgeviper88 on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:22 pm

ridiculous, increase the price 3 times. Don’t be so greedy la.

• Kuyah on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Janji capati

• Malaysian household debt over 80% GDP - BNM on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Previously increased the price and blamed the poor MYR exhange rate. Now what else is to blame? Not enough profits? BNM just recently said the typical Malaysian household has too much debt esp because of house and vehicle, and at this rate household debts will continue to rise.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Exchange rate now improved. Ringgit now at RM4 to the USD or stronger.

• Ford Barang Naik on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Everyday and everywhere barang naik harga, from nasi campur to baby milk powder ……Now Ford oso wanted barang naik……

• Barang naik harga is at everywhere around the world. Except for underpriced bungalows of course ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Ollie on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Important to take consider accountability. Hilux may be great, but Toyota has shown lack of responsibility in the airbag scandal. Ford has been honest and clear about their safety recalls in the past. This is now among my main considerations when choosing a car.

• Sammy Loo on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:58 pm

sales already bad as compared to the Hilux, this price increase can kill the truck sales immediately

• Sgt Scoop on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Good news. My 2013 Ranger must be worth more than I paid for it by now. Hopefully the price will go up to 200k.

• Bottomline, don’t buy new cars in Malaysia, let the distributors keep their over-priced vehicles and count flies, when the Buying Stop, so does the Killing and Debt escalation affecting the Rakyat…Moreover, with SDAC’s poor aftersales record, would you want to buy this over-priced truck and lament about poor after-sales service……..For those who really insist on getting this vehicle, wait till the next Raya sale, and get a pre-reg or previous year model, though you still face poo aftersales service, at least you would have saved heaps on the car price….My 2 cents…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • contender on Jul 05, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Well done in elevating Ford brand in Malaysia once again with more price increase ….. your resale value and market value has gone up.

• Firdaus on Jul 05, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Luckily I bought the 2.2xlt 2 weeks ago with discounts. …

• albag on Jul 05, 2016 at 7:11 pm

those who complain either u drive a kancil or ride a kapcai… stop dreaming of owning a pickup if u dont have enough money to buy it… go wash ur cheapo ride now and stay poorfag forever!

• And what about you who talked as if you are so wealthy when in fact you are only wealthy in your dreams? Blowhard!

• nabill (Member) on Jul 05, 2016 at 7:19 pm

And the ringgit has been alot stronger since the last price increase, apart of greedy bunch, i dont c the reason…

• To compete against the Hilux for the honor of being the most expensive pick-up in Malaysia might be one of SDAC’s dubious reasons. Nah, greed is more likely!

• Ford, making itself uncompetitive since 2016.

• fford on Jul 06, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Price increase? Bye Ford, hi Toyota/Nissan

• Keep calm and use buyer power. Let’s try to stay off new car purchases for as long as we can.

• 4wheeler on Jul 08, 2016 at 1:18 am

Huge mistake Ford (Sime Darby).Selling at high prices like this will make you eventually lose any potential buyers (even Ford die-hard fans) in the near future.When the buying stops,Malaysia will be next after Ford withdraw from Indonesia!!