Proton SUV rendering based on the Buick Envision

Proton SUV Buick Envision

Proton may not have any concrete plans to introduce an SUV as of yet, but that hasn’t stopped Theophilus Chin from creating another rendering of such a model. Unlike his earlier efforts with the “Proton Vitara,” this rendering you see before you features strong design cues from the national carmaker’s latest D-segment offering, the Perdana.

According to Theo, because the “Perdana looks so similar to the Opel Insignia/Buick Regal,” he decided to apply the Perdana’s front fascia onto another GM product, the Buick Envision, and the result is actually rather handsome.

The face transplant include the Perdana’s front grille and headlamps, with the size of the latter being up for debate. Elsewhere, the “Proton Envision” gets new fog lamp enclosures as well, while the Envision’s faux hood vents are retained here.

Of course, Proton has no plans at all to produce an SUV for now. Instead, the carmaker is busy focusing on its new Saga and Persona models, which is scheduled to be released this year. This will be followed by a new MPV model based on the Suzuki Ertiga. Nonetheless, what do you think of this Proton SUV rendering?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Go fly kite on Jul 08, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Hire him Proton.. Hire him…

• Brilliant effort.. Proton should consider SUV as its the trend … and may be diesel powered…

• Black Dog on Jul 11, 2016 at 12:11 pm

By the time proton wakes up and billions of our money down the drain, the SUV boom will be over!

• inb4 bash just cuz it mentions P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • it look stunning n handsome! hopefully proton will consider producing suv based on iriz or perdanan design theary…

• Not bad the design, best copy and paste

• Name it as Proton BlueNeticx SUV
    Pair with Proton 2.0L Turbo + Supercharger, 280hp 360NM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Huha

• Wow

• applegreen on Jul 08, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Better late than never. People loves powerful SUV so proton can bring it when the new turbo engine comes in

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • People loves powerful suv but people needs reliable car. Ask proton to produce it la.

• OMG…u still trust their Turbo engine? pls lah, another failure instead.

• ProtonVampire on Jul 08, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Omg. how many 100 and 1000 times must tell those Proton jackass to get rid of the design team. u look at iriz….omg….so fugly….and perdana….is good and handsome but based on an old model…….wtf is this? and the sales men are bigger jokers…..went in and they told me, ” this is the new Honda”. Excuse me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 45
    • Iriz owner on Jul 09, 2016 at 9:02 am

Proton vampire , pls don’t show off your stupid comment , iriz more on european design , all my friend laugh at your comment , I think.you only driving stupid vios ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • fanofthiisite on Jul 09, 2016 at 5:17 pm

congrats, you have trumped the internet with your jackass comment. must be real proud to piss without reading the message post properly first, sama taraf as the proton salesmen you encountered

• Lotusftw on Jul 09, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Yeah handling wise accordana with new engine will beat any normal jepunis D segmenters. It is not drive like honda sampan.

• Nenek Kau on Jul 10, 2016 at 1:10 am

You got big wrong there dude. Honda not allowed P1 to touch the engine and the suspension. Next time dont make mindless n baseless statement as you like.

• Lotusftw on Jul 11, 2016 at 10:59 am

Next time read it carefully, new engine is the coming TGDi, not current underpower VTEC engine!

Big wrong? Mindless? Baseless? Haha, it is YOU!

• mikikiut on Jul 08, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Rebadge Suzuki Jimny Pls….

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 08, 2016 at 4:34 pm

They have plans for SUV. Its a B-segment 4WD from Suzuki, and is locked in R&D room and guarded 24×7 from the prying eyes of their curious non-R&D engineers in Tanjung Malim plant. No prizes for guessing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • LOTUS suv on Jul 08, 2016 at 4:48 pm

future (maybe) suv model will be based on lotus luxury suv currently in development?

• Jobless on Jul 08, 2016 at 5:09 pm

They missed the super hot SUV market entirely, tats how clueless and incompetent the management team are…despite losingmoney every year, they r sadly still in the job, wasting mega money on low volume rebadging old Accord and ugly Supima Preve while
    E totally neglecting their volume seller Saga Petsona, and choosing to battle Mivi head on wit anoter ugly Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Bashfc on Jul 09, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Basher said p1 never has prob in designs.
      I agree and add, p1 cannot beat ugly animal inspired cars like myvi (frog), almera (dugung) and vios (catfish)

• Hahaha , one more stupid comment , how about toyota rebadge subaru brz for their toyota Gt 86

• intermilan on Jul 08, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Very nice rendering. But proton SUV, if ever is one in the near future, isnt going to be even near this. They just couldnt price it according to their brand position.

• Chuck on Jul 08, 2016 at 5:38 pm

Get Theophillus in as the chief designer for proton. But unfortunately, he is of the wrong race worshipping the wrong god for proton ton accept him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
    • Let Theo come out with some original designs before we make that judgement, yeah?

• Race? Bashers said before nasi lemak UiTM cukurlah kuih lapis etc not related with race. So now?

• Rasmi on Jul 08, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Hahaha good luck Proton with your sales figure. What’s yur market for June and July? I hope not at the 5th or 6th position now. That old man must be crying on his bed now like a baby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Absolute Rider on Jul 08, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Paul, can you please update us the development for the Proton new GDI and TGDI engine?

How’s the progress? Last time, they said will bring back the engine in Sept 2016 for further testing. Now, it’s about two months to go. Any news? Thanks.

• Still waiting for Matt Damon :)

• No one is interested in proton’s unreliable engine except proton own staff. As a proton staff, if you want to announce it here, do it yourself la. Don’t need to pura-pura ask PT to update on your behalf.

• Apammmm on Jul 08, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Dear proton, pls do make a replacement unit for a satria/satria neo model. Make it more stylish and more powerfull engine like a proton putra.

Dari seorang anak muda yg sukakan satria neo <3

• shark on Jul 08, 2016 at 8:26 pm

try morph the persona to a x6….it will give it a life thereafter.

• SUV pricing logic typically applied by experienced Japanese/Korean carmakers in Malaysia as follows:

1. C-segment SUV priced close to D-segment sedan
    2. B-segment SUV priced close to C-segment sedan
    3. D-segment SUV priced ridiculously close to entry level Premium German makes

• They don’t need a bailout— they just need this guy!!!

• Honestly, a waste of time with renderings..
    Can we move on please. Reporting on actual models.

• Honestly a waste of time with renderings..
    Can we move on please. Reporting on actual car models better!

• Practical crossovers have been the rage for quite some time. Proton should get into the fray …. a sub rm90k example rocking the HRV’s dimensions could work….. heyy…. why not rebadge that with extensive restyling ala the current Perdana?

• Jonn Dol on Jul 09, 2016 at 11:21 am

Proton’s first SUV will definitely be a Suzuki Vitara-based. Full stop.

• idealtech on Jul 09, 2016 at 8:19 pm

The real prob is the CVT jokebox dear Proton. People would easily opt of a Myvi rather than an Iriz is due to the transmission feedback. Such a waste of good modern engine paired with a lousy gearbox that whines all the way. Ditch it! it’s killing!

• Just rendering is nothing and not a big thing

• nothing special.. boring.

• ajeet gieron on Nov 26, 2016 at 6:37 pm

is this suv’s for real? it would be great to see proton produce something like this, as far they’ve already launched ertiqa for me design wise ertiqa is just a so so car… but this suv is awesome, since i trusted your blog, and i think your blog is the only trusted blog in car industry i hope you will answer to this question