Suzuki S-Cross facelift makes its debut in Hungary

The new Suzuki S-Cross facelift has made its global debut in Hungary, bringing with it new looks, as well as updates to its powertrain line-up.

As you can see in these photos from RushLane, the S-Cross’ front fascia has been revitalised to feature a bold chrome front grille, which now has vertical slats as opposed to horizontal ones from before.

The new headlamps (with LED DRLs) also feature new graphics as part of the visual updates, while the redesigned bumper also introduces chrome accents to the fog lamp enclosures. The S-Cross retains its profile here, while at the rear, the revisions are limited to new tail lamp details and a reshaped bumper.

As for the cabin, everything appears to be remain unchanged from before, save for the updated infotainment system, multi-info display, along with additional trim and seat fabric options.

In terms of power, the European-market S-Cross is offered with a 1.6 litre petrol and diesel engines, with the former producing 120 PS/156 Nm, and the latter making 120 PS/320 Nm. New to the range is a 1.4 litre BoosterJet turbocharged petrol engine that develops 140 hp and 220 Nm.

A five-speed manual or CVT is mated to the petrol engines, while the oil burner only comes with a six-speed manual gearbox. Buyers can also specify the S-Cross with Suzuki’s AllGrip all-wheel drive system if front-wheel drive just won’t suffice.

The previous S-Cross made its debut in Malaysia back in November 2014, priced at RM129,888. At the time, the front-wheel drive C-segment SUV came equipped with a 1.6 litre petrol engine, and featured an impressive safety suite (seven airbags, ESP, ABS, EBD and Hill-Hold Control). However, following Proton’s partnership with Suzuki, sales of Suzuki brand models, including the S-Cross, came to an end.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Pity! I am sure handling is good! I used to have an imported second generation Suzuki Swift. That peppy 1.5l small hatch just tackled corner effortlessly and always feel it could go faster than actual. It served me a well 10 years until I sold off last year due to expensive wear and tear which kicked in after 6-7 years. The last replacement I had to change was the steering shaft and Suzuki quoted me RM6k for it! Outrageous!

• WAPALE on Jul 11, 2016 at 5:07 pm

i see Proton future as SUV here

• Tong Sampah on Jul 11, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Proton SUV down the road?

• Jibby Is Here on Jul 11, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Say hi to your new Proton SUV.Hell Yeah!

• what is target price

• Kunta kentu on Jul 11, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Proton SUV banyak cun woh… sure can sell banyaaaak. Cepat sikit buat proton

• Mozilla Chrome on Jul 11, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Not even 1 unit sold here. Never seen them on the road.

• Alamak! Proton going to rebadge jepunis overlord again?