Dropping PSV license could end us – driving schools

Malaysia-Taxi-01

With the government’s latest proposal to abolish the public service license for taxi service providers, it isn’t just the taxi industry that the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has up in arms – driving institute operators are feeling the pinch too.

“First it is PSV and next, we won’t be surprised if SPAD and the government will remove the responsibility of driving schools for carrying out goods driving licences (GDL) training,” Johor Driving Institute Association secretary Teoh Kock Kee told The Sun.

Teoh said driving institutes have contributed significantly to commercial service drivers’ road safety skills and level of service. “For many years, we have been working closely with the Road Transport Department (RTD). Besides, we have improved many aspects of training for taxi, bus and lorry drivers at our facilities,” he said.

“We are concerned if SPAD has the experience and aptitude to train cabbies on the right temperament and behaviour,” said Malaysian Driving Industry Standards and Modernisation Council (Mapim) president Datuk Hanafi Mat Zin, who questioned SPAD’s ability to facilitate proper training in this area.

Malaysia-Taxi-03

On the other side of the fare-paying coin, a public transport advocate has approved of the proposed move by SPAD. “There was hardly anything to gain from the briefing and driving instructions at driving school, and some of the (learner) drivers that failed the objective test somehow managed to get their PSV licenses,” said Y.S. Chan, who enrolled for a PSV course in 2000.

Instead of stopping at just the abolishment of the PSV license, he said it should be replaced with a new mechanism such as a specific license for all drivers who carry fare-paying passengers. As it stands currently, all Malaysians above 21 and with a valid driving licence have to apply for a PSV licence from JPJ before they can drive a bus or taxi.

The Sun learned that SPAD has proposed to abolish the PSV licence only for taxi and app-based e-hailing drivers, and will replace it with a SPAD driver’s card system. Training, if any, will be provided in-house by the taxi or app companies. This proposal is among 11 points under the e-hailing and transformation for taxi industry models being considered by the Cabinet, which includes the legalisation and regulation of Uber and Grab.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jul 12, 2016 at 11:39 am

no need PSV.. asal got GDL then you can drive any commercial car

• GDL is for drive lori to carry goods.

• MeToo on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Everyone want to jaga pocket sendiri.

No one cares about the consumer, so at the end its the majority (i.e. you and me) that kena screwed…

• Susukotak on Jul 12, 2016 at 11:50 am

1. spad not looking at whole
    2. apa beza bawa kete .. lori /bas dan kesan dengan adanya psv.

• KAMSANI B KAMBARI on Jul 12, 2016 at 11:59 am

Is PSV really required for taxi drivers?.
    Are the taxi drivers happy with no PSV?.
    Are driving schools still relevant conducting PSV courses and what is its impact on their income?.

• Zaidee on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:03 pm

“Teoh said driving institutes have contributed significantly to commercial service drivers’ road safety skills and level of service. “For many years, we have been working closely with the Road Transport Department (RTD). Besides, we have improved many aspects of training for taxi, bus and lorry drivers at our facilities,” he said.”

Judging based on the taxi, bus and lorry drivers attitude; I must say they have failed miserably….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 0
    • Johnny on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Yes from me! Agree.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Agreed. I wonder what kind of training they give. Not saying their training is not good. But I’m talking about the right attitude that the schools need educate not only commercial drivers but every drivers on the road. Seems like the schools in Malaysia FAIL BIG TIME looking at the drivers in malaysiaat the accident rate.
      ROAD MANNERS YOOOOOO!

• That is what happened when every level of the process is corruptible, starting from driving schools offering ‘sure pass’ examination to JPJ approving drivers that supposed to fail to get license.

• I will say other MY road users r not lacking in failure-miserability.

• trollmaster3000 on Jul 12, 2016 at 7:42 pm

do they also train taxi drivers to be gangsters and daylight robbers..?

• Mahacrony kata TABOULEH! INI SEMUA SALAH BN GOV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Black Dog on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Yeah, drop PSV. It’s a useless red tape. It’s just a repeat of the driving licence. To get the PSV licence, all a person has to do is to sit through half hour of bullshit and paying the driving schools and jpj for nothing.

• orang biasa on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Also better make motor license open to “one” B-type only. Not need separate B2, B1 or Full B.
    Semboi!

• Tong Sampah on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:48 pm

obviously they failed to educate the drivers looking at majority of them drive like Mat Rampit..go take a black airport Persona taxi back to KL and you see 140KM is normal to them..

• ben yap on Jul 12, 2016 at 1:10 pm

greedy driving schools! you still have car and motorbike license to earn from. everything also want to sapu and a little bit say can close shop.

u think we don’t know that u and jpj always take undertable money? bodoh.

• transformer on Jul 12, 2016 at 1:14 pm

after read newspaper of that bus driver with 63 summons still plying on our highway, it’s not PSV/GDL that failed rakyat, it’s the whole police force, the whole RTD force, the whole Ministry of Transport, the whole SPAD and the whole Government! TOTAL FAILURE!

• ford_ton on Jul 12, 2016 at 4:24 pm

You mean the fault lies with everyone else except the bus company? Come on dude… The bus company should not employ that driver in the first place. Use common sense to comment not your corrupted mind.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:01 pm

looking at driving school ‘graduates’ , there really is no loss if they vanish…

• Rakyat atas jalan on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:06 pm

“We are concerned if SPAD has the experience and aptitude to train cabbies on the right temperament and behaviour,”

So driving institute says they taught taxi and bus driver well? But why those taxi and bus driver driving like recklessly on the road abusing speed limit and the emergency lane?

• Ameeru Tanggabatu on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Implementation has always been the issue in Malaysia. New policy implementations are carried out without much study / observation / surveying as compared to some other more established nations. Surely, there a number of underused governmental entities with sufficient human power to be re-structured to facilitate some of these changes. It is time for us to adopt Japanese, Norwegian, or some other developing nations culture when it comes to corporate implementation – cross hierarchy empowerment. Come on Malaysia! Less whine more work! #ohtheirony

• The same driving schools that gave us all the irresponsible drivers that we have today?? With no proper courtesy and bad road manners and a high accidents and fatality statistics to back it up??

Ya, I say we should abolish it and change the whole licensing system.

• thepolygonal on Jul 12, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Always the same…
    And now this…
    See money opportunity… mau sapu sendiri…
    … public canteen… highway rest area…
    … then after a while… outsourced…

• These driving schools are acting like they’re entitled to the money. I would not part with my money if I don’t get my product. If these drivings schools’ products are all faulty, they don’t deserve the money

• Wan Syaiful on Jul 12, 2016 at 4:39 pm

So what? A lot of individual car owner for u. Still not enough?

• Bernard on Jul 12, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Unless drastic steps are taken , nothing will change!

• Papa G on Jul 13, 2016 at 10:19 am

For me, the issue always the permit. If the permit were given to individual taxi drivers, they can go ahead and buy and finance their own taxi. I believe the monthly cost should be cheaper than leasing them from the so – called big taxi companies

SPAD need to tackle those, PSV IMHO is still relevant to teach drivers the proper technique and increase understanding regarding road laws

• Daleismail on Jul 13, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Everybody is only interested in safeguarding their own “periuk nasi” end up all rules and regulations go down the drain. Doesnt mean that you have been doing it all along, it is something good. Then again, if you are still going to preserve the PSV just for the sake of driving schools’ uninterrupted income, is it worth or is it any good? Looking at the current state of lorry, bus and taxis drivers’ attitude, i reserved my comments on the effectiveness of the so-called TRAINING by those driving schools. Maybe it is because they are just doing it for the sake of “a source of income”. Malaysia, My Great Malaysia :)