All-new Nissan Serena – fifth-generation model debuts

2016 Nissan Serena 4

The all-new, fifth-generation Nissan Serena has been officially revealed, following several spyshots and leaked brochure images of the large MPV. As you’d expect, the Serena receives not just a visual overhaul, but also a bump in equipment and tech as well.

Starting with the looks, the base variant Serena’s front fascia features the carmaker’s signature V-motion two-slat grille, which meets up with the lines of the sculpted hood. Two-tier headlamps have also been installed here, which are fitted neatly alongside the new grille and hood, along with new fog lamps.

Elsewhere, the Serena also gains a two-tone body colour scheme and a “floating roof” look thanks to the black-painted D-pillars. Nissan also adds that the MPV’s A-pillars are thinner than before which doesn’t result in any compromise to the vehicle’s structural rigidity. A prominent line also runs from the headlamps, down the sides of the MPV and into the rear door rails.

At the rear, the tail lamps are now shorter than before, so as not to mess up the Serena’s “floating roof” look. Between the redesigned tail lamps is a blacked-out section of the rear hatch for the Nissan logo, and just below that is a large chrome accent positioned just above the nameplate and number plate holder.

2016 Nissan Serena 6

Keep in mind that the aforementioned design cues are for the base Serena variant (blue car). On the Highway Star variant (red car), the Serena gains a bodykit consisting of a more visually aggressive front bumper with extra chrome to make the V-motion grille even more prominent. The Highway Star also introduces side skirts, new wheels, new rear bumper and black-painted side mirrors.

Moving inside, the Serena’s cabin has been made more upmarket than before, similar to what we saw in earlier spyshots and leaked brochure images. For starters, the top dash now has a wider instrument binnacle that feature new digital displays within. Additionally, the driver now grips onto a less chunky and sportier steering wheel than before.

Moving on, the reshaped air-con vents are positioned alongside the newly-designed centre stack, which features a silver surround. Within its perimeter, the centre stack hosts the car’s new air-con switchgear, gear selector, electronic parking brake, the push-start button and the large touchscreen infotainment unit.

According to Nissan, the new Serena “possesses the widest interior in its class,” and the majority of that space is found in the rear of the seven-seater MPV. Accessing said space via the powered rear doors is now a hands-free affair on the Highway Star variant, as you can now open the doors by simply sliding your foot under them with the Intelligent Key in your pocket.

2016 Nissan Serena 5

Other interior highlights include the “zero gravity” seats from the Teana sedan, which makes its way into the first and second row of the Serena. The third row seats are also claimed to be designed for maximised comfort like the front seats to help reduce fatigue during long drives.

In terms of safety, Nissan’s emergency braking system, Lane Departure Warning, Around View Monitor and Smart Rearview Mirror are standard here. As for driver assistance features, Intelligent Park Assist and ProPILOT are available. The latter marks the debut of Nissan’s autonomous drive technology, which can automatically control the accelerator, brakes and steering when driving on the highway, in both heavy and flowing traffic.

For power, the Serena soldiers on with the S-Hybrid powertrain from its predecessor, which in this case, involves a MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected twin-CVTC four-cylinder petrol engine that develops 147 PS at 5,600 rpm, while torque output is 210 Nm at 4,400 rpm.

2016 Nissan Serena 7

The mill is mated mated to an Xtronic CVT, and is supplemented by an ECO motor that controls the car’s Idling Stop function and serves as an alternator during deceleration. The 1.8 kW/200 A motor also allows for a “torque assist” function, providing a 50 Nm boost for up to one second when moving away from a standstill.

Other drive-related upgrades include reinforcing the structure around the rear door and improving certain components of the suspension system like larger shock absorbers, which Nissan claims allows for “sharper reflexes during lateral transitions,” such as when making quick lane changes.

The new Serena is manufactured at Nissan Motor Kyushu, and will go on sale in Japan in late August with a base price set below the three million yen mark (RM114,463). For a fun fact, more than 1.5 million Serenas have been sold since it first went on sale in 1991.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jul 13, 2016 at 11:54 am

Looks like a freaking refrigerator, soulless are boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 86
    • OMG…very good looking compare old model. I will buy this against re-con junk….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 1
      • notakata on Jul 13, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Still using takata airbags, sked die faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
        • OMG…stop talking abt Takata…It wont happened to New models…Be mature, if u have super good airbags but u drive carelessly will also make u die faster.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
      • sienlor on Jul 13, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Buy Serena S-hybrid with 120K rather than Sienta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
        • serenapower on Jul 13, 2016 at 8:23 pm

With that price, every time you drive you can feel the feeling of school van driver or bread seller doing their day-to-day jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
      • camtakpro on Jul 13, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Very good looking indeed compared to the current iteration, especially the red one, looking good.

How much will it be when it reached here?

• MeToo on Jul 13, 2016 at 3:34 pm

THe lane keeping autopilot is useless.

I have something similar in my car now, annoying cause they will try to resist if you change lane without signalling. Too dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 64
      • Changing lane w/o signalling is alredi dangerous. Stop doing it immediately.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 0
      • hazzif on Jul 13, 2016 at 4:48 pm

then use the signal la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • Bodo betol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • isengard12 on Jul 13, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Don’t know who is useless in this context.
        Changing lane without signalling is DANGEROUS.
        Change your mindset and attitude, signal then change lanes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 14, 2016 at 4:21 am

I have that feature too, and it’s great. However, I also know how to use the signal indicator…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:37 am

When you need to suddenly swerve to avoid something in front, this system will ensure you crash straight ahead. Usually, you wont have time to activate the signal indicator as both your hands will be on the wheel fighting for the turn.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:44 am

That’s the WHOLE PURPOSE to prevent careless and inconsiderate people from changing lanes without signalling.

If you don’t treasure your life, it’s your choice, but don’t harm other people’s life because of your inconsiderate attitude.

• jokowi on Jul 16, 2016 at 11:11 am

Mangkuk ayun….bengong

• Yokohama24 on Jul 13, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Any squarish box MPV will anyhow somehow always looks better than a FIAT Multipla.

• Triple C on Jul 14, 2016 at 11:57 am

Which means you havent been to japan or out from malaysia.. in Japan, this type of boxy shape are very popular.

• kington on Jul 13, 2016 at 12:14 pm

That steering wheel is a bit weird. The flat bottom is fine like what you get in Audi/VW but the top half seems oversized.

Then again, why bother with flat bottom steering wheels for an MPV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Beeonce on Jul 14, 2016 at 12:32 am

The only reason why i like flat btm wheels: they allow better ingress n egress as ur large legs wont get in the way.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 13, 2016 at 12:15 pm

The front is impressive :O . But the back sure have more room for improvement. Overall looks much sleeker compared to its predecessor. Thumbs up :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • It look like bread van

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
      • Yokohama24 on Jul 13, 2016 at 3:59 pm

You can’t go any sleeker for a MPV, if it does it will eventually become an Estima! :D It is squarish for a reason like alphard/vellfire, to maximize space and comfort. You want sleek design don’t buy MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Anson Ong on Jul 13, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Please, please, ETCM – ENSURE that the WHOLE range of Serenas are equipped with not just VDC, ABS and BA – have SIX airbags (curtain airbags must fill up the whole length of the windows) instead of your current offering of only 2 front airbags even for the Highway Star Hybrid – shameful for a family car stripped off from having adequate safety features….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr (Member) on Jul 13, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Knowing TCM they will continue to offer two airbags to the Serena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • danny on Jul 13, 2016 at 12:33 pm

vellfire wannabe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • Waters on Jul 13, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Or is the Vellfire a Serena wannabe… :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • KFC Drumstick on Jul 13, 2016 at 1:34 pm

More like vellfire copy Elgrand…Elgrand started the double deck headlamps long before Toyota copied it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Yokohama24 on Jul 13, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Willneverbe:) Elgrand will do the job.

• Jimmy on Jul 13, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Let me teach you: to cut cost, since you want to avoid ottoman 2nd row seats, use foot rests which can be folded to the back of the front seats, just like what Alphard does; these front seats with foldable foot rests at the back, can be shared with your Elgrand to achieve the economy of volume.

And, please put at least 6 airbags.

Improve the durability of your metal mechanicals.

• So how much wider and is it lower than the current serena? If it is, would do well here as a poor man’s Alphard/Vellfire. And would be an excellent upgrade from the lousy Grand Livina.

• JB_KIA on Jul 13, 2016 at 1:38 pm

habis laa like that….who want to buy the TUNED old serena?

• ETCM will bring this in with 1 airbag, 2 inch head unit and a whole bunch of plastic trims.

Cause we know, their business is selling plastic, not cars.

• GTi-R on Jul 13, 2016 at 2:12 pm

When come here, all the goodies will be excluded…

• inb4 serena autopilot will kirr pipu

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 13, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Dear nissan…honda wants their grille back…and please return the headlights to toyota.. previous generation vellfire still using them…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Sammy Loo on Jul 13, 2016 at 8:19 pm

also please return Avanza’s tail lamp…

btw the two tier headlamp is started in the Elgrand before the Vellfire exist, but this design is really Vellfire wannabe.

• Firdaus on Jul 13, 2016 at 2:54 pm

finally got rid of the ah beng rear lights!

• rider on Jul 13, 2016 at 2:59 pm

blue colour looks quit nice.

• RUGAL on Jul 13, 2016 at 4:26 pm

A lot better than Proton Exora.

• No duuhh. Its a lot more expensive too. 2X more even in KirrerAirbagsland

• Ben Yap on Jul 13, 2016 at 5:12 pm

they should’ve plonk in a turbocharger into the MPV.

• contender on Jul 13, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Better looking now this new Serena, too bad same engine …what about the size ? wider than the current ? Certainly a better buy than the 2011/2012 recond Aplhard/Vellfire airport taxi rental with tampered mileage ….

• Slash price on Jul 13, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Tcm please drop price of 50k for the current model. We all knew all the while there is 10k discount, so it is fair to further slash your price to clear out your stock

• Ill buy one…really..luv the current interior but think 10 time when looking at the exterior..

• ETCM bring this in with all the bells & whistles …but also at the proper price point and it should sell like hot cakes (poor man’s vellfire) …but if you think you can bleed the rakyat by cutting out the safety features and put in ciplak local items in place for a premium price…then it may fall flat..

• Lpost on Jul 13, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Tan chong motor is stupid as usual. This new model will be available in malaysia in 2-3 years.

• Wee fuk yew on Jul 13, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Tan chong motor is way smarter than you. They have been in the biz even b4 you were born. They would’ve been long gone if they are stupid as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • justsomepissedoffdude on Jul 13, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Nissan malaysia is just utterly useless!! instead of bringing in the latest murano or sentra to replace that ugly almera of a thing they bring in this… this.. i don’t even know what to call it SMH

• Apple2apple on Jul 14, 2016 at 5:37 am

Sentra is for C segment and for different market and price then almera in B segment

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 14, 2016 at 4:23 am

Looks like there are a couple of design cues from various Renault models on the inside… like the shape of the thing surrounding the speed display, and the way that display looks like. It does look quite ok for an MPV…

• Mat Minum Kopi on Jul 14, 2016 at 10:47 am

i buy any car except proton….Really.

• Behtahan on Jul 15, 2016 at 5:09 am

Those who complained the design not original la, two tier headlights copy other la, I really like to see an original design headlights that look nice on this price range MPV. Mazda Biante, everything original design, pls get your eyes checked if u say nice. Then one joker complained why the steering wheel flat bottom for MPV. The designer put extra effort to give u something more functional n nicer to look at also complain. Noticed the steering design copy the 2017 Gtr ones? Consider yourself lucky. Lastly if u have budget for the Toyota Estima, which I believed those jokers think is the best looking n most original design MPV. (LOL) U won’t bother to read or complain here.

• Can someone out there tell me when this car will start sold in malaysia?

• Brandon on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:27 am

Doubtful about when will it be launched? It is going to be another year.

• Victor on Jun 12, 2017 at 10:56 am

Looks good.. When lanch the new Nissan Serena in Malaysia???

• C27 come without spare tire