Mercedes-Benz reveals Style Edition Garia Golf Car

Mercedes-Benz Style Edition Garia Golf Car: Sternstunde auf dem Golfplatz

After a strong performance in the first six months of 2016, it appears that Mercedes-Benz can do no wrong. So, what’s the next step then? Well, according to Dr Jens Thiemer, vice president of marketing for Mercedes-Benz Cars, golf is the answer, as Mercedes-Benz Style has taken the wraps off the new Garia Golf Car.

Touted as a “real sports car,” the Golf Car “transfers the unmistakable Mercedes-Benz automobile design idiom of sensual purity to a premium-class golf cart.” For now, the Golf Car is just a concept, a result of a collaboration between Mercedes designers and golf cart manufacturer Garia, although it could eventually go into production.

The design you see here comes from submissions obtained from a 2013 design competition, whereby the German carmaker invited golf and automobile fans worldwide to submit their ideas for a Mercedes-Benz golf cart of the future. However, if you do sense a bit of Smart design here, we won’t blame you.

Among the visual highlights here include the golf ball-inspired grille, LED headlamps, a curved windshield, a carbon-fibre roof and five-spoke alloy wheels measuring 14 inches. That’s not all because at the rear, the Golf Car comes with a carbon-fibre diffuser, rear spoiler and an angled golf bag holder.

The cabin is just as extravagant as the exterior, featuring a luxurious bench seat and steering wheel upholstered in premium light-coloured leather, along with dashes of carbon-fibre and wood accents to enhance the premium feel further. In a nod to Garia, the Golf Car’s right pedal has a plus sign on it, while the left one has a minus sign.

There is function to accompany the form too, as there is a refrigerator under the bench seat, and a stowage tray under the dashboard that holds golf balls aligned in a row. Of course, the pièce de résistance is the 10.1-inch touchscreen that has a resolution of 2,560 x 1,600 pixels, capable of displaying not just vehicle information, but also details relating to the golf course layout and scorecard.

Other features include Bluetooth connectivity with audio playback provided via high-fidelity speakers integrated into the rear roof frame strut. The screen also serves to control the Golf Car’s driving mode (yes, there is an Eco and Sport mode), headlamps, windscreen heater, wipers and many more.

For power, the Golf Car has an electric motor with an output of three kW (four hp), with 11 kW (15 hp) available for short periods. That should be enough to get the 440 km vehicle (460 kg when loaded with things) to a limited top speed of 30 km/h with a range of up to 80 km. The charging time for the lithium-ion battery is six hours.

“With the Mercedes-Benz Style Edition Garia Golf Car we are offering a high-end golf cart which is absolutely unique and was specifically developed for sporting golfers and the sport they enjoy,” said Thiemer. So, if you ever feel like your golfing sessions are devoid of luxury, maybe “the best or nothing” Mercedes-Benz Style Edition Garia Golf Car is the right fit for you. Interested?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• So thats what they did with the unsold stocks of Smartfortwo.

• tokok on Jul 13, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Now I can spend more time driving around the course than playing

• Much better than Iriz the gamechanger

• Smartfortwo was oso touted as game changer, yet with Mesidis financial and technical might still sell less than Iriz. So how leh?

• Doesnt change the fact it is still better than Iriz. Poor comprehension lah you.

• Why better? Handling lost to Iriz

• U sure? Typical p1 macai – nothing else to argue just say ‘handling is better’ lmfao. Thats the p1 macai equivalent of schoolyard kids saying ‘your mama is ugly’ when they lose at something

• Yes. Pls answer NV’s question. Better in terms of… what? Smaller cuz 2 doors less?

• Yokohama24 on Jul 13, 2016 at 4:16 pm

This is how the rich robs from another rich

• Mickey on Jul 14, 2016 at 7:42 am

I want an AMG version right now!

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:23 am

“You are good at golf but I have the better golf cart/car”