Honda Malaysia issues update on Takata airbag recall

Honda airbag

Honda Malaysia has issued an update on the stock availability and service capacity relating to its ongoing Takata front airbag inflator recall programme. The company assures its customers that it is doing everything in its capacity to meet the demand for airbag inflators, including expanding its supply from other suppliers like Daicel, Autoliv and TRW.

The company says it has issued more than 240,000 letters to customers, sent 35,000 emails to owners, phoned more than 2,000 customers and sent SMS messages to more than 126,000 customers. Additionally, it has also invested in a public advertising campaign, organised outreach campaigns and issued notices on its official website to ensure that all Honda customers are aware of the recall.

Honda Malaysia has come up with a couple of graphics to explain how the process flow works for airbag inflator replacement, one for affected customers who have received a letter from the company, and the other for those who didn’t receive one.

Click to enlarge.

On the matter of parts supply and stock availability, the company says it is working with Takata Corp to increase the supply of replacement parts. As of last week, replacement parts for front driver airbag inflators have started arriving, and will be delivered to dealers nationwide. According to the company, it will have 100% stock availability for front driver airbag inflators by mid-August 2016.

Meanwhile, for front passenger airbag inflators, the company says it is unable to provide a clear indication on when it will be able to secure 100% stock availability in Malaysia. This is due to the shortage of replacements parts, a problem experienced globally since May 2016.

As such, there is a possibility that vehicles that require both the front driver- and passenger-side airbag inflators to be replaced may not be able to have them changed together, due to the low availability of the replacement parts.

Honda Malaysia will also reduce its preventive maintenance intake at its dealers to 50% from July 20. In cases where the company cannot meet the maintenance schedules of certain cars, it will extend the maintenance period, and this will be reflected accordingly in the warranty period of the cars involved.

Takata Honda NSX

Furthermore, the company will open three temporary central hubs to further increase the capacity for airbag inflator replacement. The hubs will operate seven days a week to ensure that dealers are well supported when it comes to replacement units.

Mobile hubs will also be established nationwide for customers to reach servicing locations, and to ensure a faster and easier airbag inflator replacement process. The locations and details of both the temporary and mobile hubs will be announced soon.

Honda Malaysia added that it continues to urge owners of Honda vehicles affected by the Takata airbag inflator product recall to get their vehicles repaired at authorised dealers as soon as possible. Vehicle owners can check their vehicles’ product recall status via the company’s online VIN checker or call the company’s hotline number at 1-800-88-2020 for information, or visit any Honda authorised dealers.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• azrai on Jul 14, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Ok, they should hire ah long’s boy to slip this recall brochure under affected Honda’s windshield wiper at parking spaces, shopping complexes, etc. This is very effective. Ah long style. If paint red the car also good, so it is obvious the inflator should be replaced immediately.

• LimAhLek on Jul 14, 2016 at 4:18 pm

like that how to drive those affected honda on a daily basis ohhhhhhhh???? honda malaysia should compensate money to affected owners on a daily basis e.g. RM800 daily, until the parts are available and finally installed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • albag on Jul 14, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Still using Takata as replacement ah?

• uber driver on Jul 14, 2016 at 4:29 pm

say no to honda uber car.

• RicoT on Jul 14, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Issued recalls but not enough parts in inventory. Is there an intermediate fix for this, Honda Malaysia? How many lives are risking to be sacrificed by August 2016?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 14, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Honda Malaysia is irresponsible. If you cannot have stock in time, you should give people monetary compensation in the meantime.

In the first place, it is your fault to sell a defective product. We the customers have nothing to do with Takata. So, you cannot blame Takata or your other suppliers.

When we buy a car, we make a contract with Honda Malaysia. Here, Honda Malaysia is in breach of this contract to supply goods and services that is fit for consumption ie safe.

Honda Malaysia should be sued or give each Honda customer monetary compensation, say RM1000 each until they can get stock. This will enable users to keep their car home and use the money to pay Uber.

Until the airbags are changed it is a death trap.

But who can sue Honda? They are GLC DRB company. You sue Honda means you sue the Government of Malaysia. Judges got no telur. Immediately they will throw your case out of court.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • Correct Correct Correct! Cannot persoal our jepunis overlords! Even though Jangan Kata is jepunis, its not their fault. Ini mesti semua salah BNGov!

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 14, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Now they are doing all they can when the shit has hit the fan.

It was in November 2014 that first news of the issue broke cover. Honda USA officially acknowledged the recall in December 2014

It took Honda Malaysia more than 1 year to even issue us an official recall notice, and finally replaced about 2 months ago. Despite us being proactive and checking with Honda and asking for the recall replacement.

Now its just PR damage control when a few deaths were recorded.

• Albert says if we value our kepla, then dun persoal his jepunis overlords.

• Krasher on Jul 14, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Called service center in PJ for airbag replacement but was brushed off until August, reason given was no stock.
    But based on Dealer PUD stock balance as of 13.07.2016 got 221units left?! WTF

• keluangman4ever on Jul 14, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Fk you Honda Malaysia. Zero respect for customers life. I will never buy again any Honda product in my life anymore.

Honda should provide a safe replacement vehicle for every cars that you can’t replace its airbag, since Honda can’t legally disable these airbags system on the customers car.

• There are already 3 fatal cases in Malaysia. How many more casualty while waiting for replacement parts?

• bluff on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:09 pm

i have not yet receive any call from them. lier.

• Ask owner to faster go repair but no stock
    Call to sc also say no stock
    Ask sc can temporary disabled the airbag say not authorized
    Ask sc can remove the airbag now say not authorized
    Ask sc so now I’m risking my life driving Honda? They just keep quiet

• Michael E. Yox on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:46 am

If you cannot replace the airbags in a timely manner, why do you not disable them until the parts come available? This would decrease your death toll.