Malaysian Khairul Idham Pawi takes second Moto3 championship win at Sachsenring, Germany

2016 Moto3 Khairul Idham Pawi  (3)

After his stellar showing at the Gran Premio Motul de la República Argentina last April, Malaysian Moto3 racer Khairul Idham Pawi entered the winner’s circle at the GoPro Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland at the Sachesenring circuit.

Coming in with a time of 47’07.763″, Khairul – or “SuperKIPs” as he is popularly known locally – beat Italians Andrea Locatelli of Leopard Racing and Enea Bastianini of Gresini Racing Moto3, who settled for second and third places, respectively.

Claiming his second career win in his maiden Moto3 season, Khairul earlier this year blasted his rivals off the track during a very wet race in Argentina.

He repeated the performance in Germany, powering away to the front from lap five with a fastest lap of 1’42.544″, and showing his opponents a clean pair of heels during a very wet race.

Despite coming off the track in lap 14, Khairul refused to let off the pace, instead forging ahead by a second a lap, crossing the line 11.131 seconds ahead of Locatelli. “I should cool down a bit,” said Khairul in his post-race interview.

Khairul is the first Malaysian to win a race at World Championship level, and rides for Honda Team Asia. He stands at 10th place in the Moto3 World Championship, with 54 points. Current championship leader is South African Brad Binder of Red Bull KTM Ajo with 159 points.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Robert Parameswaran Kuppusamy on Jul 17, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Wow! What an achievement!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 0
  • Rizal on Jul 17, 2016 at 7:35 pm

KIP=Khairul Idham Pawi.
    Wow congrats. Malaysian future motogp rider

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:54 am

dear Mohan, pls take note. It is superkip. Not superkips. kips stands for Kawasaki integrated power valve system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • BRAVO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • donno on Jul 17, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Congratulations! Motorcycle racing has shown its results. Now the government needs lend more support towards creating more potential motogp champions from malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • lilytan on Jul 18, 2016 at 8:55 am

More support should come from the private sector.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • donno on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:46 pm

By the way, KIP has ditched his trademark colourful helmet and now uses the dreadful generic redbull stormtrooper colours on his helmet. More local companies should support malaysian motorsport.

• Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:03 am

RM1.5B can give to Proton.. why dont give RM1.5M to support this racer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • SuperKIP on Jul 17, 2016 at 8:34 pm

This is what all Malaysian should concentrating on ! Be a World Beater ! This proved that the Malays are capable to compete with the best. Sadly some of the Bumi politicians here always doubt that the Malays are ready to compete even among their countryman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 45
    • Danny D on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:28 am

Haiseh bro, pls don’t add politics la. let the boy enjoy his glory for once. Typical Malaysian semua mau politik

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 1
  • Tahniah SuperKIP! Semoga terus berjaya di masa depan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Ahmadjr on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Finally sepang circuit is worth to go for

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Wow very great performance ,2nd times won 1st podium in world moto3 GP,you are really King of wet circuit,bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • raja rizal kamrul abdullah on Jul 17, 2016 at 10:19 pm

congrats SuperKIps. what an achievement . we are proud to have our national anthem on the world stage.

on a second note, he was not the first malaysian to win on a world championship level. Karamjit is the !st Malaysiam, and in fact 1st Asian to win a motorsports championship level, the PWRC(Production World Rally Championship). please get facts right.

thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
    • Nofxpunk on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:58 am

When we talk about world championship level here,we talk about motorcycle world championship. Its not hard to understand and most people do. If you want to talk about others world championship, its not just karamjit, we have dato chong wei and nicole david.lol

• Alhamdulilah u done it again. Well done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Hossen on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:40 pm

Thank you Paul Tan for covering our National Hero in MOTO sport.: )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • panjang on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:53 am

Something is ‘not right’ with this kid to other riders.He is to fast in the wet. U hav to got skilss and guts to do such things in a race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Nissan on Jul 18, 2016 at 7:38 am

Soon the politicians will quick to comment that mat rempit culture provide the perfect training skill and spirit for this rare champion and use it to justify to rightness of legalizing them. By the way, why so few thumb up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
    • lilytan on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:03 am

Street racing should no be condoned. But perhaps it is the most logical starting point for racers who dont have deep pocket at first. Just like football in South America, Africa n Middle East. Those people hone their skills in the streets.

• Bcoz ur an idiot for trying to politicise even a gud news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Jonn Dol on Jul 18, 2016 at 8:10 am

Khairul Idham Pawi – The Rainmeister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • common sensor on Jul 18, 2016 at 8:18 am

Congratulations Pawi. You’ve made all of us Malaysian proud!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Kunta kinte on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:04 am

such a waste of money by the gomen. after pouring millions and millions to the mat rempit, only 2 podium win?
    such money can make 1000 schools, 100 hopitals and 10000 home for the poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 85
    • Gov sponsor this SuperKIP? Are you sure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • lambda sensor on Jul 18, 2016 at 4:04 pm

since when gov spent money for this guys to be in gp ? this is better than our footballs n badminton. fam n bam juz always fall asleep then suddenly money gone in ministry of sports. wtf ??

• Iski senna on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Gov no sponsor sayang, his dad mintak they buat donno. His dad kena refinance house to keep him racing, before honda asia pick him up. And gov didnt pour millions into mat rempit, sepang is a rich mans playground.

• Motorsport lover on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:40 pm

i am a close friend to their family and i am also from kg gajah….all i want to say is please get ur facts right before posting something for the whole nation to read. if u dont know anything dont create news just coz ur on the other side of the fence..congrats to khairul idham…jumpe lagi di litar dato sagor..;D

• Iski senna on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Hi, can you elaborate? I was told this by a track friend, sorry Malaysia if i tersilap.

• horrayooi on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:26 am

Congratulation Khairul. We are proud of you. Kepada semua mat rempit jika suka merempit buat lah cara ini. Tak menyusahkan orang ramai dan mengharumkam
    nama negara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • balls on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:04 am

They would if they can get enough sponsors to do it correctly. Its not easy to get into this let alone someone who like Kip who comes from a normal family.

• Out of 54 points that he has btained, 50 points are from 2 wet races. Idham is very good in wet but unfortunately, history shows that most of the races are run in dry conditions. He needs to master dry tracks as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • balls on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:47 am

I Think its more because he has balls of steel on the wet track compared to his contemporaries.

On dry track everyone is braver and sharper on each turn, I have no doubt he has the ability to be a winner on dry track and soon he will be given enough time to prosper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Iski senna on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:17 pm

I think its his bike. In a few books of motogp i read, there are several riders who are not as favoured as their teammates in the team due to sponsorship etc. So they get the 2nd best parts or development and unfortunately, in racing ur only as good as the machine. Like 50-50 rider to bike.

• Iski senna on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:18 pm

And his teammate hiroki onl is japanese, in the honda team. Do the math.

• Congratulation, you’re king of wet race.

To be fair, you need to step up a bit for normal dry race. At least matching your team mate’s time.

• fafau80 on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:46 am

Congrates SuperKIP!!

• Winner on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Just curious.. will he be given champagne on the podium?

• fafau80 on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Each region in Malaysia should have permanent race track, not only during Cub Prix which just temporary venue. Like Dato’ Sagor Race Track in Kg. Gajah where this kids used to train his skills. Sarawak and Sabah should have each…perhaps with background of Kinabalu.

• sulaiman zainudin on Jul 18, 2016 at 4:14 pm

If he can lead in the wet, surely he is capable to do it in the dry. Somebody needs to change his mindset !

• Iski senna on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:11 pm

I dun think its his otak. I think moto tak power. In the rain, power isnt as important as skill.

• En Ketam on Jul 20, 2016 at 3:02 pm

The only thing to change is his bike. Give him a better bike maybe he can yield the same performance on dry tracks too.

• mr1031 on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:15 pm

not to forget hafiz syahrin..currently 7 in the world ranking ;)..good year for malaysia motorsport

• Pak Ngah on Jul 19, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Congrats Khairul Idham Pawi. You make us Malaysians really proud, and also very nervous the way you ride in the very wet track. Yes, agree with you that you need to ‘cool down a bit’. But sure this kid has balls to ride the way he did.