Kuala Lumpur parking bay charges increased by 150%

Public-Parking-Lots

It’s bad news Monday, as all Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL)-owned parking bays within the city’s central business district (CBD), will have its parking charges increased by 150%, effective today. DBKL owns a total of 46,100 metered parking bays in the city, and 9,914 are located at the CBD area.

In a report by The Star, the affected areas are Bukit Bintang, Bukit Damansara, Sri Hartamas, Desa Hartamas, Solaris Mont Kiara, Taman Tun Dr Ismail and Bangsar where 75% to 100% parking spaces are taken up during peak hours.

Under the new rate structure, the hourly parking charges in the central business district has been increased from RM0.80 an hour to RM2 for the first hour. Beyond that, it will cost you RM3 for the second hour and each subsequent hour after that.

According to the report, if you were to park from 7.30 am to 6pm, which is the usual operation hours, you will end up having to pay as much as RM32 a day following the new rates. DBKL will continue to enforce the new parking charges in stages from now to August 1, and depending on the location, could see an increase between 100% and 200%.

dbkl parking tow bernama pix

Zones outsides the city, where charges are currently RM0.50 per hour, could be hiked to RM1.50 or RM1 per hour, depending on zones. These areas include Brickfields, Taman Maluri, Cheras, Wangsa Maju and Setapak, where the percentage of parking occupancy in these areas are between 55% and 75%.

DBKL has also introduced a maximum parking cap of just two hours in selected areas, where those who surpass the two-hour limit will find their cars clamped or towed. According to Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Seri Mohd Amin Nordin Abdul Aziz, the decision to increase the parking rates was not motivated by profit, but rather to ease traffic congestion in the city and encourage people to carpool.

“We want to free up as many street parking spaces in the city and encourage people to take public transport or carpool to the city. I know I am going to be very unpopular, but it has to be done because traffic in Kuala Lumpur is already bursting at the seams,” he said.

What are your thoughts on DBKL’s move to increase the parking rates in the city? Will this prompt you to consider other modes of transport instead? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• “Encourage ppl to carpool’, won’t make much difference. Greedy, want more money..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Why DBKL need to increase? After all, their workers are half the time sleeping on the job. During fasting month also, saw so many workers go to underground cafes to makan and smoke. Sime Darby building café in Raja Laut is just one haunt. Got café there, puasa time got so many DBKL officers go to the café and eat and smoke in secret.

So unethical DBKL officers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • uber driver on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:37 pm

This is where Uber makes serious business case!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • balls on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:52 am

Wow just wow, why dont make multi lvl car storage just like in japan. That will save cost and they can make more money with it compared to the current parking scheme

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 145
      • Have you ever heard sedikit-sedikit, lama-lama menjadi bukit?

• balls on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Unfortunately not everyone got gov cable to live a nice life like you man. Behind monitor bole la cakap bikin kuat aha

• Vincent Ang on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Because we are not privileged Ketuanan heroes like you.

• xxxxx on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:52 am

ask boss to increase gaji

• jinggo on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:53 am

Bila pilihanraya umum, lambat lagi ke? Aku dh tak sabar nak pangkah ni..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
  • Matching some shopping mall’s rate. Nice!

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 158
    • Roadside stranger on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:44 am

I wonder how frequent DBKL wanna collect the coins, must be easily full. LOL.

• What the hell??? Have they even considered people who come all the way from Johor/Melaka/Kedah who comes and park those area for meeting? Man that’s just insane. Rather than he advise to use public transport, what people need are more free shuttle bus in the city. Some lame excuse he’s giving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:11 am

Why worry about parking going up? Najib already told us to tanam kangkung. He said can buy 1 whole chicken for only RM1. One ringgit only. So, why are we complaining?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
  • Mozilla Chrome on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:59 am

“We want to free up as many street parking spaces in the city and encourage people to take public transport or carpool to the city. I know I am going to be very unpopular, but it has to be done because traffic in Kuala Lumpur is already bursting at the seams,”

No..your idea is unpopular, but you will be popular for your stupid idea.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:13 am

While we all suffer with high prices big boss wife buys each Birkin handbag for RM500k. And big boss wife got 30 Birkin handbags!

And big boss wife buys diamond ring for RM80 million. Just one diamond ring.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
  • I Am Pissed on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:00 am

Pure stupidity. Just plain dumb.
    Because all you stupid ministers don’t need to fret about sending kids to school before going to work, that’s why you think it’s easy to carpool.

Because all you stupid ministers need not look for parking (even at LRT stations), you think it’s easy to grab a public transport.

Justice shall prevail one day. And that day will come when your grandchildren question you ‘Why, Why, Why’. That’s when you’d realize what useless PUBLIC SERVANTS you have been, for taking it literally as PUBLIC = SERVANTS.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
  • Change the government!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:05 am

aiyoo aiyoo yoo. Of course we need to increase parking charges. All this needed cause we need to up keep lifestyle of big boss.

Big boss bought brand new plane for RM500 million and refurbished it another RM30 million with softer leather despite having 5 fairly new planes in the hangar just to take him anywhere FREE.

Big boss wife even better, rented a private plane for RM98 million just to take her to Turkey. Now 150 students stranded in Turkey, Government got no money or plane to take them back to Malaysia

Now you know why prices have to increase. Syukurlah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:14 am

Where is the pondan john who likes to lick buntot BN now?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:10 am

dei…i not worried, cos i always double park…even if i park porperly..i never bother to pay meter…give me ticket saman la…my house got one nice stack for collection there from 1976

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
  • What kind of axx brain logic is DBKL thinking of upping the parking rates?! They should first implement a proper public transport system with the right price before such drastic action are implemented…they are only making life harder for the rakyat. What about the lousy road conditions on most roads…why don’t they do something about that? This shows that most of the Gomen agency are helm by half bake hare brain idiots…who is here to fill their quotas and fatten their coffers for KPI that is set by the “about or already bankrupt Gomen”…to bail out their Bosses’s axx. –>Rakyat didahulukan my Axx.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Just because you Ministers all have chauffer driven for yourselves .. u can ask the man on the street to use public transport?

Plain arrogance and not fit to serve the nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • You can vote opposition if you are not happy. Oops you already did that. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Dbkl..i see many rich ppls cars parked simply on the roadside..blocking most of the road near bangsar shopping center.. those land rovers,audis,lambos.. why never see those cars got towed away? Only see myvi park at the side, not blocking off the road got towed cause the driver went to pharmacy for some stuffs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • I believe this is a good move by the council. The most expensive parking in London is £7 per hour, public Street parking. As you are all aware that KL streets are always congested thanks to one passenger to one car. Government should rapidly also increase the efficiency of Public transportation in KL and better and easier access for the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
    • Black Dog on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:26 pm

I agree with you bro. Most trolls here love to complain, complain, complain, bla…bla…bla, rebellious kids!.
      But there’s one loophole, if get summons, no need to pay because they still can’t stop us from renewing road tax!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Jason on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:50 pm

You failed math, bro? They are earning euro dollar there not RM. Take a look at their public transport and our public transport. Took me an hour to reach a KL because the train always malfunction, delay, full, dirty, slow and what else? Comparing Lambo with Proton eh?

• rachel on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:28 am

Wao! what a attractive idea to all who have to work & park whole day! We have to drop our jobs every 2 hours to pay parking which cost RM5.00. And this is extreme expensive for 2 hrs, compare to shopping mall which usually the subsequent hrs charge will be cheaper than the 1st hour rate. And is it possible to provide a coin machine. And kindly pls. also do something to the parking machine which is not accepting the NEW RM0.10 coins, this already make us very…very inconvenience!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • We are in the era where government literally doesn’t care about public opinion anymore. Do what they like, and follow what they do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Najib on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:31 am

There is no proper Public Transport available from KL to Damansara area, including TTDI and Mont Kiara!!

What rubbish is he talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • thepolygonal on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:32 am

I guess now only ‘upper class’ can drive park in those area. How sad…

• Susukotak on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:41 am

no free parking sticker for dbkl staf except for enforcement vehicle including all minister.

• Naik Angin ! on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:45 am

RM32 per day ! Rm800+ per month to park at the roadside ! I pity those who have to not only jam to work in the city but have to pay for their troubles! Not every area in Klang valley have good public transports and this will only burden the middle class who are suffering from high cost of living, the boss and rich have their drivers and private parking at the office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Kaching on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:49 am

Let’s assume all the parking bay are fully parked in a day for operation periods
    46k parking slot x Rm32 .cincai kira 1.4 millions in a day. Wooow.
    And did anyone say free shuttle bus ? Have you seen goKL or the rapid free bus ? Full of indon ,Bangla and Zahid’s voter… Yes indeed we can carpool or take the public transport . But please gazette it to Malaysian for the free shuttle and please do revise the condition of the public transport services . We don’t pay taxes for foreigner who keep sending money to their family. And remember news regarding the KLCC station cramp during peak hour ? How come we want to take public transport la dey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • smarta55 on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:55 am

kampung baru, masjid India, Jalan TAR , Sogo will be reduced is it?

• Yokohama24 on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Improve your public transport before implementing such rate.

• Stela on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:09 pm

It is unfair to charge the public such exhorbitant fees and urging the public to use public transport which is at the pitiable state. Failure to provide public transport is biggest flaws of the government and monopolizing it to serve themselves another. Buses are full with uncomfortable space and seats, and with the surge of foreign workers who ravenous into getting into buses. With that too, the national public transportation has poor management of buses. Take one good example, in my place we have to wait at the highway without proper bus stand to get a bus. Each driver of buses would ask us to wait their convenient spots to pick passengers. The Lrt is near but to asses it you have risk your life to walk around a bend at the highway to get there. The so called bridge is still being built and no signs of finishing. The refusal of authority to cater feeder buses makes all the residents to buy cars even battered cars to travel. The government has failed miserably in this area but excels in increasing everything at its whims and fancy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • DPCraft on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Other county have expensive parking but cheaper car price, M’sia already super high car price, now parking also want to be sky-high. If you love cars malaysia is not the country to be in. Unless you are rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • what a joke. now all the parking bay will be empty and everyone will park by the roadside.

this is a developing country paying for 1st world prices.

Why the increase, most likely out sourcing work to own family member/friends and need to increase profits.

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:21 pm

This is what I call “entrapment”. Toll charges increased, LRT prices increased, vehicle price/ownership/maintenance – high and now parking cost increased.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • beehedge on Jul 18, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Bro U yet to mention about petrol increment, gst increment etc etc

• donno on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Will the extra money mean better drainage and less floods? I doubt it.

• Jimmy on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Should have increased to at lease RM6 per hour in busy areas, and RM40 per hour for critical areas.
    Enforcement, to make sure nobody does illegal parking in those areas. No waiting inside the parking slot.

Whose idea was that to impose a 2 hour upper limit for parking duration?

• Sgt Scoop on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:40 pm

The problem with the carrot and the stick approach is that you need to provide some carrot. In developed countries, the carrot is a clean, cheap and efficient public transport network. In Malaysia, there is no carrot, only stick.

• Be grateful, DBKL trying to free up parking lots so others can park. If its too expensive then take public transport.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 19, 2016 at 10:33 am

But our public transport system is efficient enough yet. They should increase after our public transport is top notch.

Now the buses, LRT’s are already cramped up enough, and waiting for the bus is helpless. Now if they encourage the public to use more public transport will be be even more cramped and slow.

Bus and LRT during peak hours are like human sardine cans.

Wrong timing DBKL

• Kel9393 on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Duduk di rumah saja la bro. Cuci kereta hari-hari.

• Haji Ismail on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:20 pm

dah lah malaysians only know how to complain

if gov dont find ways to get money, how to fund national projek, mcm highway, beautiful buidlings, better infrastruktur, just like the case of najib, he works day and night to help malaysia become better, u all target his wife, amek fun of her pulak.. memang bangsat la semua kaki pembangkang

only know komplen, u begitu pandai u kerja dbkl la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • Amarjie on Jul 18, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Haji…. Haji ni dari area mana yea… Kerja mana yea… Kalau hanya sekali-sekala turun KL baik duduk diam-diam saja… Tak semua yang komplen di sini pembangkang… Kalau dah serba-serbi naik macam mana… Kata nak suruh rakyat naik publik transport, tambang lrt/komuter naik… Bila rakyat naik kereta, macam ni pula jadinya…

• Susukotak on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:12 pm

aloo.. hj… berapa kali u dengar ada rakyat minta highway.. beautiful building? Yg selalu dgr masa pilihanraya nak buat klinik.. buat spotal.. tp tunggu lepas 2 kali undi pun semak jer naik.

• To yes he works hard to fund airplane and birkin bags, NY and LA properties etc… while the people suffer plus they know the urban votes are gone they are just looking after the rural folks

• Ben Yap on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:25 pm

good news for uber / grab drivers!

• It is a very bad way of implementing without giving sufficient time for motorist to workout the alternative.
    Why such last minute announcement?

Encourage car pool? and those arrangement can be done overnight?
    And certain area like Hartamas has no good public transport. So where is the alternative?

• I agree with the proposal. This is one step to ease traffic in center of KL from becoming worse. People will find way to go to work in KL eventually. You just have to pay more for your own convenience.

Public Transport User.

• camtakpro on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Why no exponential parking cost based on horse power, engine capacity and emission?

• eeeriz on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Like what Hans said above, I tend to agree that DBKL wants to emulate how to resolve parking woes in London, by slapping high rates. But what DBKL didn’t realise is that London’s public transportation is 100x better than KL, so people don’t care about travelling on own car, it is rather convenient taking tube train or busses.

Honestly I think DBKL is making big mistake here. Really missed those days during Tan Sri Elyas Omar’s tenure in 80s and early 90s.

• Vincent Ang on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:45 pm

London and Singapore 1000X better than KL. Where is the connectivity which determines the efficiency of a transport system

• KarmaComing on Jul 18, 2016 at 7:49 pm

you tak mau bayar, boleh keluar Malaysia…OK??

• Jason on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Jadi tambang naik RM10 pun awak buta buta tak nampak dan bayar, bro? GST 12‰ pun bayar tanpa buat bising? I memang sudah keluar sebab gaji di Malaysia RM25000 sebulan pun tak mampu saya nak beli banglo di area saya. Betapa tekun saya belajar dan kerja, mimpi tetap mimpi. Kos hidup naik tapi gaji tak naik. Mata wang tak naik. Ekonomi meleset. Species terencat akal macam awak pun makin bertambah.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:15 pm

So their rate now is the same as the Jaga Kereta at Jalan Kamunting when I go have brunch at Yut Kee Restaurant. I’ve got to pay RM2 for Jaga Kereta as well. Unless this means Jaga Kereta going to increase their price again.

• Kai Chor on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Should’ve wait the MRT to start operation first before increasing the parking charges. It is not a good move to increase parking fees..even not smarter implementing it before MRT start

• Uncle Lim on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:31 pm

I’ve told you before, KL is only for super rich people who doesn’t care if they increase by 500%. If you wanna cheap cheap parking rates, come down to Penang lorr. Everything’s cheap here.

• telemakhos on Jul 19, 2016 at 6:41 am

Okey. Wahai menteri dan pegawai atasan. Carpool ya. Kalau jalan jem, ingatlah anda juga salah sebuah kereta penyebab jalan jem. No more giving ways.

• Susukotak on Jul 19, 2016 at 8:06 am

naik la sampai 200%. tapi kurangkan cukai pintu 200% juga. jalan mesti cantik. rumah sampai mesti bersih & berbau harum. lepas duke tiada lagi keperluan berbelanja buat jalan. berhenti beli smart car. semua penguatkuasa mesti guna basikal.

• -BigBalls- on Jul 19, 2016 at 8:39 am

Does it matter, most of the people will still double park, or park on yellow lines turning on their hazard lights and do their things, nothing will change. Maybe at best 10% of the traffic will not enter and park in KL, the rest of 90% will still park legally and illegally.

-BigBalls-

• Yokohama24 on Jul 19, 2016 at 10:35 am

The officials of DBKL should really use public transport by themselves to feel and experience how the rakyat feel. Then only they know how much we suffer.

• Bernard on Jul 19, 2016 at 12:20 pm

If we had affordable, efficient and ethical public transportation system like Sg, all these things are avoidable.

The onus is on the govt to provide fully comprehensive public transportation system. Has the govt done that?

• NicOLe on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:35 pm

I used to pay RM0.50/hour in Desa Sri Hartamas. I was wondering why all news from yesterday till today recorded it as RM0.80/hour?

• razif on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:39 am

hope the restaurant and kiosk owner increase their food prices by 150% to DBKL civil servant only, to the others the price remains the same ;p

• Dont compare those city parking rate like melbourne or london with malaysia ok. Their public transport system are superb. Dont encourage us take public transport in malaysia. Public transport here simply sucks! It will took at least 3 hours to move you to the 20 km destination!!