Sepang Circuit seeks RM1.13bil expansion – report

2016 Sepang International Circuit renovation - 18

After a comprehensive renovation of the track itself, Sepang International Circuit is now turning its focus on the periphery – according to The Sun, the company is investing RM1.13 billion on a master plan that will see the circuit become an “integrated, multifaceted entertainment hub” over the next five to seven years.

The English-language daily quoted SIC CEO Datuk Ahmad Razlan Ahmad Razali as saying that the master plan will make use of the 156 ha of undeveloped land owned by SIC in Sepang. In total, the company owns 270 ha in the district, with 114 ha already taken up by the circuit, its facilities and the surrounding buildings.

“The estimated cost of our development which includes integrated entertainment hub, hotels, engineering, advanced driving facilities and all that is about RM1.13 billion, with an estimated gross development value of RM2.6 billion and estimated job creation is about 1,000,” he told the publication.

Raglan added that because some components of the plan require high capital and more planning, the company would work on the “quick wins” firsts – projects that are able to be partly funded with internal cash, and which will enhance or complement existing facilities.

The company is currently enhancing facilities with new paddock hospitality for Formula 1 and MotoGP teams, a new south paddock facility, renovation of the go-kart circuit and a new advanced driving facility. “We are currently conducting a feasibility study to look at hotels in Sepang,” Razlan said. “That should be completed by this month (July) and we hope to kick start our hotel project in the first quarter of 2017. These are what we call the quick wins, something that we can internally fund partly and with financing.”

2013MalaysianGP_report01

As far as funding is concerned, Razlan said that 80% of these projects will be financed through external means such as bank loans, while the rest will be completed using internal funds. As of the end of 2015, SIC had RM60 million in its coffers, enough to fund its projects for the next one or two years.

“Right now SIC does not have any bank borrowings so this is the first time we are embarking on bank borrowings,” he said. “The bigger components like theme parks and potentially, hotels, will come to a different mode of financing which requires a lot more than just bank borrowings. We are looking to attract investors, operators, joint venture partners and so on. Before this, everything was internally funded.”

Razlan added that the company working with various bankers to find the best way to implement the plan, and has already completed most of the feasibility studies, except for the hotels. “Once all these are completed we will strategise how we can put everything together with the help of the bankers we have spoken to,” he said. “Then we will come up with a proper information memo and from then on, hopefully by third or fourth quarter we will start seeking out interest.”

Additionally, Razlan said that the master plan – which has already garnered the curiosity of a number of keen investors – is aimed at making the circuit a daily destination and multifaceted hub that will attract more than the usual throng of F1 and MotoGP goers. “We need to go beyond that perception,” he said. “Because we are so central for north and south markets, we want people to come to the circuit on a daily basis. It is a totally new position for us.”

2016 Kawasaki ZX-10R International Media Launch - 3

The company expects to reduce dependence on motorsports upon the completion of the master plan, with 60% of its revenue anticipated to come from non-motorsports activities, and only 40% coming from F1 and MotoGP. The latter is currently contributing 50% to 55% to SIC’s total revenue.

“We came out of the back of an accumulated loss of RM15 million in 2009 to accumulated retained earnings of around RM56 million for 2015. We have done relatively well. We also came out of the back of a RM9 million loss in 2009. Last year was not good for us due to the foreign exchange but in terms of accumulated profits we are doing quite well. It is still profitable.

“So the time now is to look at SIC’s long-term sustainability, not to be dependent so much on F1 and MotoGP, to increase the non-motor sport revenue or motor sport/automobile revenue not related to F1 and MotoGP because we cannot assume that the government will fund this event forever. So we have to start thinking about life after F1 and MotoGP,” said Razlan.

The company aims to grow its revenue this year by 5% over the RM90 million accrued last year. It remains confident in achieving this target despite a three-month track shutdown over resurfacing works, due to positive ticket sales for the upcoming Malaysian Formula 1 and MotoGP grands prix as well as non-motorsport events that will be held at the circuit.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Make a small track for rempits..rm3 per entry.. per bike per person..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Yokohama24 on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Aiyo better use the money to revamp the pavements and bus stops in KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Better use the money to revamp the roads to SIC and KLIA. International Airport also got potholes and lubang everywhere.

SIC should use their money to repair the roads to SIC and not just reply on JKR or Government. As you know JKR is sleeping on the job like MAS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • Proton Blanket on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Totally agree, my BMW got into serious damage after hitting a deep sharp pothole 400 meters before arriving KLIA terminal.

• sub_zero on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:43 am

either you didn’t read the article are prone to bash on the spot even if it not even or barely had to do with our we-all-know-how-shitty-our government is

is private entity, why need cashing on public amenity’s?

is like asking maxis repaving the road in your neighbourhood

now that stupid

• mr1031 on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:09 pm

why are you here kid?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Wah Sepang Circuit got RM60 million in coffers? That is good. The 80% financing from banks, which amounts to about RM1 billion, please make sure nobody makan the money.

As with any organization in Malaysia, or any contracts given, 50% of the money will quietly go into people’s pocket.

Renovation of track say cost rm100 million, it will be presented as RM500 million, RM400 million masuk pocket of subcontractor who is usually a relative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:04 pm

50% is too lenient. AFAIK, 80% will go into pockets.

Anyway will it be useful to renovate if those prawn brain gov & management decided cannot have hot girls in these Sepang events and ‘people’ end up prefer to go Singapore as alternative replacement instead?

• Kinte Kunti Kunta on Jul 19, 2016 at 12:24 am

How do you know 50% goes to people’s pocket at the first place? Proof or it didnt happens. or are you one of them?

• Burning money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • FIST (Member) on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Some suggestions

make a proper parking block with electric shuttle to transport the visitors to all the facility.

have a proper area to shuttle people to KLIA & KLIA 2

make hotel as well so that foreigners can have proper track days similar to Red Bull Ring.

an open space concert area which can be used all year round as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • sepul on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Already mentioned on the above article. To add to your suggestion, they should also consider a rallycross or autocross track near SIC as well.

• RM 1,130,000,000 for a freaking revamp ?
    The fund are enough to build another tracks, revamp the existing and still have 10~20% extra.

Billions seems just a small change for our government to spend nowadays.

• Read. More. Carefully. First. Dun. Be. A. Blind. Basher. First

• donno on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:37 pm

One.of the best benchmarks is the suzuka circuit in Japan. With automotive themed theme parks focusing on young childrens, hotels, advanced driving schools, and museums. It can be done, and could attract tourists that purposely want to go to such places, with klia as the main arrival hub. Probably arrange something like a trackday for international visitors, having their bikes/cars shipped over to sic for a fun filled motorsports holiday.

• old horse on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:46 pm

seriously, any Gov related or managed entities able to earn money? LOL..and they never consider this a shame…

• nabill (Member) on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Definitely better parking for the track is a priority…and plz dont build new apartment blocks nearby which seems to be erected on any empty few meter lands…. And these projects are never ever within budget.. Always exceeds initial estimations… Jus curious if these funds are G funded or private?

• Azri Alimor on Jul 18, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Ive been to twin ring motegi japan. Its owned by Honda and there are many facilities such as museum, learning centre, test track, outdoor activities,cafe ( grand turismo cafe) and hotel. Hope that SIC can emulate what the Japanese have done to their circuit like Suzuka and Fuji Speedway.

• sub_zero on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:47 am

paultan, you need to address some ignorant here, SIC is a private property/entity, whether it have some hands from the government is irrelevant for now

this much ignorance spout by 3rd world malaysian in this comment section is too appalling