Rolls-Royce Dawn – drophead premieres in Malaysia

RollsRoyce_Dawn_Ext-5

The Rolls-Royce Dawn made its Malaysian premiere earlier this morning, and pricing for the four-seater super-luxury drophead starts from RM4 million on.

The open-top offering is essentially the convertible version of the Ghost-based Wraith coupe, with a name that takes inspiration from the original Silver Dawn drophead models made between 1950 and 1954.

Design-wise, the Dawn maintains timeless Rolls-Royce design principles – a 2:1 wheel height-to-body ratio, a long bonnet, short front overhang, a long rear overhang, an elegant tapering rear graphic and a high shoulder line. The unique coach doors are said to add significantly to the overall strength and stiffness of the body, as they allow the construction of an uninterrupted A-pillar.

It’s a full four-seater – the company states that the Dawn offers no compromise in terms of comfort and luxury for four adults who want to travel together in the pinnacle of style.

The car features 80% unique body panels, new tyres as special fitment for the model as well as a roof that promises the silence of a Wraith when up. The latter is claimed to operate in almost complete silence, and opens and closes in just over 20 seconds at a cruising speed up to 50 km/h.

Speaking of the roof, that on the Dawn is said to be one of the largest canopies to grace a convertible car, and in the RR model range is second only to that of the Phantom Drophead Coupe.

Open-pore Canadel paneling traces the horse-shoe shape of the rear cabin, and the wood on the deck – to be chosen by customers to their individual tastes – flows down the ‘Waterfall’ between the rear seats and around the cabin, clothing the interior door panels. The Malaysian preview unit is finished in a Silver Sand exterior and tan/dark interior.

The Dawn is powered by a twin-turbo 6.6 litre V12 offering 563 hp and 780 Nm of torque, and the mill is mated to an eight-speed ZF gearbox. The driving experience is enhanced by dynamic accelerator pedal mapping that delivers up to 30% increased response at medium throttle. Despite tipping the scales at 2,560 kg, the Dawn does the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.9 seconds, with top speed an electronically-governed 250 km/h.

Equipment includes a Bespoke audio system, which has 16 individually-tuned speakers with both theatre and studio settings. The speaker count includes two bass drivers in the boot and seven tweeters throughout the cabin. Elsewhere, there’s a ìSpirit of Ecstasy Rotary Controller, which is essentially an iDrive Touch system dressed-up in RR clothing.

The Rolls-Royce Dawn is set to go on display at the Bangsar Shopping Centre from July 22-24, where it will be available for private viewing.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Shoud be called Drop Dead Gorgeous…!

• BEZA apa on Jul 19, 2016 at 8:37 pm

A single wheel will cost more than a Rodadua. …oops typo Perodua …

• Ah Meng on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:18 am

Kereta Rolls Royce ni ramai yang dah pakai sekarang ni.. Bukan kereta untuk kerabat-kerabat sahaja ni. Orang biasa pun dah boleh pakai.. Orang kerja gomen pun ramai dah pakai. bukan yang pangkat JUSA, kerani tempat aku kerja pun dah lama pakai Rolls Royce ni hantar anak gi sekolah.. Kira kereta ni dah jadi kereta biasa-biasa dah..

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:39 am

biasa la bang. Kerja kerajaan, walaupun kerja kerana, boleh beli Rolls Royce dengan cash. Tak payah loan.

I know one Government servant, in charge of just signing permit, he has Ferrari, Porsche and MB at home. His pangkat is just kerani.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Big boss after sapu Rm2.6 billion and after increased parking rates to RM3 per hour in KL, got lots of money. Now he will order one for himself and one for his wife.

Big boss says thank you to all Malaysians for this “donation”. He likes Rolls Royce a lot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Albert on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Kunta
      Come to my PJ showroom for Rolls Royce.
      I share with u how we approach qualified buyers n close the deal.
      When I close a deal,Insaf John got to sell 50 protons.
      We dont say ” Nak fikir apa ? Beli je.”
      WE start with ” Datuk/Datin/Brig.General….May I show Datuk/Datin/Brig.Gen…our latest top of the range Royce……”
      We dont practise everlasting perlindungan cos the car taxes are stupendously high,but there are still qualified buyers.
      You may be amazed some of these rich and famous are very polished in their manners ,and extremely humble.
      Comelah,it is such an experience to feel and touch the Royce.

• Choose who?

2.6B N—b
      3.5B A—r
      6.3B L-G-E

Decisions, decisions, decisions….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:41 pm

RM4 million is small money for big boss. RM2.6 billion can buy 700 units easily.

Big boss will buy 3 extra as he will give his loyal cybertroopers 1 each free. So, john, kzm and donkeykong each will get 1 Rolls Royce each

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Gary_Rich on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:52 pm

OMG…car of my dream…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • xabi14 on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Let me grab my cheque book

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • thomas on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:27 pm

bought only to be saved in the garage

• palgo47 on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:29 pm

what’s the point of offering this car in Malaysia, and seriously with open top?

• Deadpool on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:36 pm

fugly expensive. luxury brand only, not that luxury in accessories too.

• applegreen on Jul 19, 2016 at 3:07 pm

2560kg!?? Pintu buat daripada simen ke?

• Bernard on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Just drop the price , it won’t be dawn anymore and we can hold our heads high for being the owner of RR:)

• cronies king on Jul 19, 2016 at 6:36 pm

once i be govt cronies, sure i will have money to buy this car….

• Deadpool on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:42 am

still don’t understand, fugly and expensive. people want to buy because it’s to show how rich they are. mostly cronies.

• Das Auto on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Nothing special about this car other than probably comfort ride. Notice not much jumbo mumbo electronic gadgets like other modern cars. Because to make sure the car last longer for years and years as modern cars are like handphones, after a couple of years the electronic looks outdated. Why the rich bought it? They are not fussy like us, “the financially challenged folks” as they don’t care. If they don’t like anymore they just buy something else. And we keep on dreamingggggg.

• Jared Strecker on Aug 24, 2016 at 5:56 pm

To keep you up-to-date on Rolls-Royce Motor Cars Limited’s products, services and events please tick here. We may also occasionally ask for your assistance in market research to help us improve our services. To ensure the effective management of your data it may be transferred to geographical locations outside of the country of collection. By providing your details you agree to any such transfers and the use of your data for the specified purposes.