DBKL drops new hourly parking rates for Taman Tun

Public-Parking-Lots

Two days ago, Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) began charging its new hourly parking rate in a number of areas within the city’s central business district (CBD). Under the new rate structure, hourly parking charges in the CBD have seen a 150% hike, being increased from RM0.80 an hour to RM2 for the first hour, followed by RM3 for the second hour and each subsequent hour after that.

Areas covered by the new rates are Bukit Bintang, Bukit Damansara, Sri Hartamas, Desa Hartamas, Solaris Mont Kiara, Taman Tun Dr Ismail (TTDI) and Bangsar. Now, following public outcry, DBKL has scrapped the new parking rate in TTDI with immediate effect, The Star reports.

The decision was made following a meeting between DBKL and Federal Territories minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor earlier today. “After taking in the views of all parties, City Hall has decided to revert the parking charges at TTDI, since it is a residential township,” explained Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Seri Mohd Amin Nordin Abdul Aziz.

datuk bandar amin nordin bernama

The report adds that other areas will continue to run with the new parking charges, which will be enforced in stages from now to Aug 1, depending on locality.

Zones outsides the city, where charges are currently RM0.50 per hour, are also set to face a hike in parking charges. Currently 50 sen an hour, these will be increased to RM1 or RM1.50 per hour, depending on zones. Areas include Brickfields, Taman Maluri, Cheras, Wangsa Maju and Setapak, where the percentage of parking occupancy in these areas are between 55% and 75%.

Earlier, it was reported that DBKL was also set to introduce a maximum parking cap of just two hours in selected areas, where those who surpass the two-hour limit will find their cars clamped or towed.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wtf, why TTDI got special treatment? I live near Sri Hartamas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Ang moh area, they don’t complain, they cukur still cheaper than their homeland cities of Adelaide, Melbourne, NY, London, Paris, Berlin, etc.

So u gotta pay like ang moh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Because TTDI don’t have poor people, punishing the rich there won’t do good for their polls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:39 pm

In the picture, you can see Datuk Seri Mohd Amin Nordin Abdul Aziz clearly showing with his fingers that he has 2 balls.

But we know the truth. His telur kecut when big Tan Sris and Datuks complained about the parking rates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • Latuk BN supporters on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:50 am

Nothing wrong to increase price 40 years without hike… Rakyat are full of loser, BN ministry were really smart and hike up price… So just support and don’t complaints too much or else go migrate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:43 pm

This what happens when before passing a new law, you have 20 meetings. But the 20 meetings, 90% of the time, you minum teh tarik and makan kuih lapis and karipap.

Before any decision can be brought about, you bersurai the meeting and say, “Jemput makan kuih lapis dan makan karipap, kita boleh bersambung minggu depan”

So, just for a small decision, you take 6 months of meetings which is mainly minum teh dan makan karipap (KL Mayor’s relative is the caterer!)

This is why like yo yo now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • chelz on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Well TTDI is a residential area… with influential residents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:26 pm

This is so shameful. It shows the DBKL mayor is like a yoyo and has no telur. Do you know why TTDI got exemption? According to my sources at DBKL, TTDI has the highest concentration of INFLUENTIAL government servants and Tan Sris and Datuks. A few Tan Sris made noise cause their drivers and wives now got to pay more when they go to TTDI pasar to buy their ikan tenggiri.

After they complained, the KL Mayor and DBKL telur terus kecut. Now, they quickly say TTDI is following old rates.

Hello DBKL and Mayor, please grow some telur lah. Be fair. If every area go up, all areas must go up. You cannot pilih kasih sayang. Next, you will give exemption to Damansara Heights cause there got highest concentration of Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
    • Park in parking hole on Jul 21, 2016 at 6:20 am

TTDi people give blowjob to all dbkl officer every week.Hartamas people give what?

• Yokohama24 on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Solid proof where they didn’t think before they take action, simply tembak the fare without checking the reliability of our public transport . Probably never use any public transport before too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Soon they will say, if you raba someone in Damansara Heights, it is not a crime. But if you raba someone in Brickfields, it is a crime.

Hello bodoh bodoh lawmakers, where got some places got high parking and TTDI got low parking? Bodoh kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • This city/ country is run by orang with kepala udang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:12 pm

ex dbkl mayor stay there ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • modesto.h on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:06 pm

not only ex dbkl mayor… many other dbkl big shots stay there, you think they will shoot their own feet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Since implemented, restaurants and businesses have seen a sharp fall in people coming to their premises. Very very sharp fall. Especially in Bangsar.

Who loses? It is the Government who loses. Government will lose BILLIONS in income tax from the restaurants and clubs and retailers.

I think, the Government should sack the DBKL Mayor. It shows how stupid he is. He implements something that makes his very own Government lose BILLIONS.

Time to sack your DBKL Mayor. He is too dumb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • We should have local council election. KL should be administered by true blue KLite, not foreigners, not kampung boy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:52 pm

As much as I share your enthusiasm, I would rather have capable and sensible officials to manage our districts, rather than locality (which will lead to prejudice and cronyism in the long run). It’s like what current extremist does where they create factions amongst themselves, voting based on locality and associations is the beginning to those chapters.

I’d say we should vote based on their propositions, not interpersonal but a well studied proposal. This way we will never know who we are voting for, but we know for sure what we will be getting. And this truly empowers us for better governance of our own district, because then the issues that matters to us would be resolved. How is this different from our current system? Simple, we do not know who we are voting for but we vote for what they will deliver, and the note is on WILL. There’s a major difference when interpersonal relationship it taken out of the equation, because party politics couldn’t come into play and people who vote will then have to study the plans and make a decision based on that alone. So inspiring plans like Vision 2020 or similar wouldn’t appear because there is no way we could plan such a grand scheme, there are too many external factors which will come into play. Plans then will focus on local issues like ending floods, better housing schemes, long term solutions for potholes, transport related issues and many more. So how is it different from our current system? When we are promised change but it never arrives? The plan needs to be well studied to the point where execution is eminent, because people who vote will scrutinize the plan and voice out their concerns on social media which will lead us voters to be better informed. This will then weed out any plans that is deemed to fail, and the ones left will be the ones that would work.

• Can refund or not? XD
    Might aswell drop all of it, and then change the price step by step instead of just lump sum ~200%.
    Every month/bi/tri raise X cent is more plausible than this.

• Ivan Ng on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:29 pm

How about tackling the illegal parking and kaki lima foot stalls before increasing parking fees?

If our public transport system was good to begin with, then the parking price increase would have made sense.

Another Malaysia Boleh! overnight implementation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Yokohama24 on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:32 pm

This action will also affect the businesses in that area (cafes, boutiques, massage parlour, mamak, etc etc) and if they can’t sustain, the rental market value for that area will drop which also affects the shoplot owners. Now if you put the whole picture together, when those affected are earning lesser, means they have to pay lesser tax, which also means consumer are spending lesser, which also means paying less GST, HENCE IT EVENTUALLY AFFECTS THEN GOVT THEMSELVES. Did they even think about this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • LimAhPek on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:50 am

man u have to look at parking charges at shopping malls these days, ppl just dun care much and pay for it kaw kaw just to shop shop walk walk so parking rate won’t affect total revenue much…

• Going to bankrap already la…. no choice. have to intro ways to earn money. monopoly ma.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:46 pm

If increase clever la, walao how come didn’t propose to decrease public transport fare? Not fair lo like this.

• kxlim123 on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:49 pm

why the special privilege for TTDI? What about Desa Sri Hartamas and Bangsar? All residential area right?

Disappointed with DBKL.

Raised cukai taksiran 2015, parking rates 2016, what we expecting in 2017?

• Dedakman on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Use dedak to bayar parking can or not?

• korok on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:06 pm

all cronies and datuk2 stay there??

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:18 pm

You mean before they implemented such a thing they hadn’t considered;
    1) Talking to all parties?
    2) Checking the map (which they are suppose to maintain) to differentiate the zones

• Richard on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:23 pm

2-hour capping is a good move. It’s easier for shoppers to find their parking and give the shops some business. So many places are so congested, I don’t even want to go because of parking issues. The rates on the other hand … well, that’s open for debate. Would you rather have high parking, or have ERP?

• TTDI je? Other areas got no residence township?

• sohai on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:53 pm

You want to reduce traffic congestion in the City, why Maluri and Cheras all need to increase?? those are residential lah…And you said the parking occupancy rate is 55%..

The same argue for TTDI is valid for other areas… TTDI has office building lah… bodoh kah.. It has a wet market there also lah.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Thankfully. Though in the end it doesn’t really affect Tmn Tun residents since why would a resident want to park long hours there. Just park at home lah. Its more helpful for people who work in Tmn Tun. A resident would at most only need 1-2 hours to go to a market or restaurant.

• albag on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:20 pm

funny la u ppl.. ur city council has already raised the fees.. what can u peasants do other than nagging around like bitches? u silly peasants still have to follow the council’s order to pay these fees too..

• Bini 4 on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:43 pm

double standard punye DBKL…..

• Kevin Henry on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Dear Idiot Mayor and Ku Nan,

Is Sri Hartamas in CBD, Bangsar? Mont Kiara???? and the rest. Bukit Bintang, KLCC,all the way to Sentral maybe. Why because lots of expats?? Use your head a bit. This is what happens when you have a mayor who is otak kosong

• wah lan neh on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:39 pm

TTDI dropped. Sri Petaling remained. WTF????

• Black Dog on Jul 21, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Does anybody even pay parking in Sri Petaling? I don’t.

• bijanster on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:44 pm

The double standard is super obvious with the UMNO crooks. So now TTDI is a residential area, and the parking rate increase is exempted. How about Brickfields? Brickfields also has alot of low cost flats.

Why the double standard? Is it because the majority of housings in Brickfields are low-cost and population there are mostly indians?

• Sesukahati on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:59 pm

The whole kl parking rates increase except ttdi. So Ttdi have the lowest parking rate in kl. Thus we all know mayor have no balls only talk kok.

• Dzulkifly Yusof on Jul 21, 2016 at 7:21 am

Why TTDI only? Becoz a lot of VIPs living there??? DBKL is suppose to help ease the parking fee burden for the working people NOT for people who can afford Porsche,BMW,Ferraris. I think the DBKL boss or his family and close friends are living there.

• If you want to reduce traffic in town, it make sense. But why other area outside of town also increase? People are not studpid

• Jay Law on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:39 am

TTDI is not KL? what sort of exception

• Awww, poor rich people. Thank you for lifting their burden

• Ken Wei Gan on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Sri Hartamas, Desa Hartamas, Solaris Mont Kiara are also almost residential area and furthermore these areas have no good public transport … No LRT….