KL-Singapore HSR – Malaysia and Singapore to ensure tender process will be carried out fairly, transparently

hitachi bullet train

At yesterday’s signing of the memorandum of understanding (MoU) between Malaysia and Singapore to facilitate the KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) project, both countries said they will ensure that the tender awarding process for the project will be done fairly and in a transparent manner, The Star reports.

Prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak and his Singaporean counterpart Lee Hsien Loong stated that both countries will work closely to ensure the best choice prevailed. A number of countries are lobbying for involvement in the HSR, including Japan, France, Germany, South Korea and China.

“You can rest assured that the process will be carried out in the fairest possible way,” Najib said. Lee said that as the HSR was a joint development, the decision would have to involve both countries.

“This (the tender process) is one of the items that has to be settled between the two sides. We need to discuss how the project will be structured, how the tender will be called and in what sequence, what each package consists of and how the tenders will be evaluated,” Lee said.

HSR stations proposed

“The structure has to be right, the execution has to be well and properly done. The tenders must be evaluated in an objective, fair and transparent manner so that, when we make the decision, we are quite sure that it is the best value and best choice,” he added.

The 350 km-long double-track route (335 km of which is in Malaysia, and 15 km in Singapore) will have eight stops in total (Singapore, Iskandar Puteri, Batu Pahat, Muar, Ayer Keroh, Seremban, Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur). Trains on the service projected to run at average speeds of 300 km/h, bringing down the rail travel time between KL and Singapore to around 90 minutes.

Two companies will be appointed to run the HSR service, which is expected to run 10 car-long trains, with the capacity for up to 100 passengers per car. Separately, another private company will design, build, finance and maintain the trains as well as rail assets, and will also be responsible for the allocation and control of track access. As for depots and maintenance facilities, these are set to be located in Malaysia.

Construction of the high-speed rail link is set to begin in 2018, with completion in 2025. This will be followed by field testing and commissioning, with operations scheduled to begin sometime in 2026. Each country will be responsible for the development, construction and maintainance of the civil infrastructure and stations within their own domain, in this case through MyHSR Corporation for Malaysia and the Land Transport Authority for Singapore.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:47 am

How can Najib assure this? His own name busuk all over the world with crony practices and corruption. there is no way the tender process will be done properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Sing a god song on Jul 21, 2016 at 6:02 am

Thank god this hsr is involve with Singapore.If not the process will not be transparent at all.The whole tender would be given to closest cronies with very expensive cost but low quality.Thank you Allah for create a little tiny island called Singapore to monitor our leader moronic behaviour is expenditure and corruption..Imagine the hsr rail ending up until JB,not jurong east.The tender would be double with only CSR China would be given whole project without open tender process.All hail Singapore!!!

• You can rest assured that the process will be carried out in the fairest possible way,” Najib said.

Hahahahahha no say no scared..say edi lagi sked..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • john is otak batu on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:17 am

Jangan persoal!.. yang ni kata-kata maruah ketua Melayu.. tak boleh dicabuli!.. yang pihak S’pore LTA pun kena berhati-hati tau!

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:50 am

I hope PM Lee knows the Malaysian method of getting contracts and tender. You got to buy the son of the Minister a brand new Porsche Cayenne and not only that, you have to maintain it for free for life.

This is like Nedim, Minister Nazri’s son. He was caught driving a brand new Porsche Cayenne bought and maintained by a timber tycoon looking for contracts from daddy Minister Nazri.

That is our system!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • Malaysian Driver on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:57 am

Thi must be the joke of my day. Fair? Transparent? If Singapore is a resounding YES. Malaysia? If elephants can fly in the sky, then maybe yes.

Malaysia? Fair? Transparent? Three words that don’t even match at all! Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • karam singh on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:59 am

Ayer keroh? Wow. This may further kill melaka airport. Anyway, hoping for Singaporeans to come melaka just by rail. Enough traffic jams.

• LimAhPek on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:32 am

i tell u all la tis project waste of money one jus use the planes can de…summore implement in bolehland berry dangerlust one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • You are missing the whole point of the HSR… I hope you are a young person with enough moons left to get some wisdom along the way. Or else,…

• Yokohama24 on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:49 am

Eh how come previous project didn’t mention these 3 words? Or did I miss out? (I apologize if he did mention)

Means previous projects not FAIR and TRANSPARENT? kantoi

• ganni on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:50 am

yeayyy..another lubang for duit poket for politikus

• Same projek, same partnership, equal say on both sides.

SG Gov says “we will ensure fair & transparency with our partner” – MY pipu belip, dun persoal and says its gud no problem, happy long time.

MY Gov says “we will ensure fair & transparency with our partner” – See above bashers. Nuff said.

The wonders of MY pipu on the Nets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • noobyrain on Jul 20, 2016 at 12:41 pm

If malaysia and singapore implement Japan train shinkasen then we dont need to go to japan as we have the train here!!!!! Plz make it happen i want to experience it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • tong sampah on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Fair and Transparent never exist in Bolehland Cronies driven economy..

• jibbymarthafocker on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Muthu (the tunnel digger) once said, “Then, there will be 2 tunnels”

• abdullah on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:56 pm

White elephant

• tokmoh. on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Hallo, at this point, everyone knows China gonna win laaaa. Japanese, French, Korean, others all can dream only, they all dun understand u help me, I help u as much as PRC, especially thanks for helping out 1MDB.

• Long wait on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Quickly make a decision. It’s taking too long already. By which time the highways leading South will be super jammed, especially during long holidays.

• robert mugabe on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:38 pm

prc commie sure will get this project

• In 10 years, from 2007 to 2016, China built a total of 20,000 km HSR.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-speed_rail_in_China

Lanzhou-Urumqi high speed rail total 1776km took 4 years to build at total cost RMB 143.5 Billion, with 31 brand new stations and high altitude mountain tunnels/ bridges/ desert crossing. Construction work began on November 4, 2009 and completed on November 16, 2013.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lanzhou%E2%80%93Xinjiang_High-Speed_Railway

• Lpost on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Dont let china company win for this tender. they will make shit, for sure.

• Lpost on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Dont let china company win this tender. They will make taik, for sure.

• If SMRT can trust in China tren, why u no trust? Why u persoal our southern masterrace overlords?

• MadeInChinaHSR on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Fairness and Transparent tender process ! Hahaha…we will see what Perkasa and other Bumi NGOs have to say about giving the work and land to the non-Bumis and foreign companies. I am sure China will get the lion shares of it after all they did bailed out 1MDB, no free lunch in this world ! We will see…

• great! i hope elderly people get to enjoy this high speed train 1st. where are you in 2026? kubur or still alive?