Subaru Levorg 1.6 GT-S previewed in M’sia – RM200k

Subaru_Levorg_MV_Ext-2

Quietly making its way into Malaysia is the all-new Subaru Levorg, which is currently being previewed at Mid Valley Megamall. We last saw the Impreza-based wagon at the 2015 Thailand Motor Expo, where it made its Thai debut alongside the facelifted Subaru XV.

For Malaysia, only a 1.6 GT-S variant will be offered, unlike the Thai market, which includes a base 1.6 GT. According to local importers Motor Image, the LEgacy, reVOlution, touRinG will be priced at RM199,720 on-the-road without insurance. The Levorg, which is fully imported from Japan (CBU), comes with a five-year or 100,000 km warranty.

Powering the Levorg is the brand’s 1.6 litre DIT (Direct Injection Turbo) turbocharged flat-four petrol engine, which develops 170 PS from 4,800 to 5,600 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 4,800 rpm. A six-speed Lineartronic CVT transmission and Subaru’s Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system sends drive to all four corners.

In terms of equipment, the Levorg 1.6 GT-S comes with auto levelling LED headlamps, C-shaped positioning lights, halogen fog lamps, power sunroof, power-folding side mirrors with LED turn signals, dual exhaust tips and 18-inch aluminium alloy wheels wrapped with 225/45R18 tyres.

Moving inside, the Levorg is virtually identical to the car we saw in Thailand, with black leather upholstery on the seats, steering wheel and gear knob. The dashboard also plays host to a dual-colour screen setup, where one serves as a multi-info display, while the other provides an overview of the car’s all-wheel drive system.

Just below it, you’ll find a pair of air-condition vents with the controls for the multi-info display between them, followed by a seven-inch touchscreen multimedia unit and switchgear for the dual-zone automatic climate control system.

Other features you’ll find inside include an electronic parking brake, paddle shifters, alloy pedals, steering wheel controls (multimedia and cruise control), seat heaters and keyless operation (entry, engine start).

For safety, the Levorg comes with seven airbags (dual-front and side, curtain and a driver’s knee), Vehicle Dynamics Control, High Beam Assist (HBA) and Subaru Rear Vehicle Detection (SRVD), ABS with Brake Assist, a reverse camera, tyre pressure monitoring system and a ring-shaped reinforcement frame.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:20 pm

u have to really really really x999 like subaru to buy this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
  • Anything But P1 on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Why is it so expensive?
    The Levorg is basically an Impreza wagon. What’s more it is just a turbocharged 1.6 engine.
    It is technically a Honda Civic and Ford Focus rival, both powered by a 1.5 turbo.
    You may argue that it is CBU from Japan, but you could get a high spec Mazda6 2.5 for the same price.
    I am a big fan of Subaru but dislike Motor Image on handling the brand and car offerings in Malaysia.
    Subaru Japan, please wake up and give the distributor franchise to someone else because Subaru is a dead brand here. Even Lexus sold more cars here!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 1
    • Saiful on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Yeah I was wondering the same thing. MI is really killing the brand here, and after sales are just as unsatisfactory based on comments from owners. Was AWD really that expensive to justify that price tag?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:04 am

MI all run by lazy fellows. Go and see their office, all sleeping there. They really believe in what MAS Union and Perkasa Motto, it is our right to sleep during office hours.

• CX-3 with only 2wd already cost 132k. It is the CBU tax. Being an XV owner, the feel the value of Subaru 4WD. It drives very well in heavy rain. Can feel the car is like it is on rails.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Won’t happen as Motor Image is main distributor of Subaru from China to Indonesia.

• It is very hard to sell well at that price tag. Subaru really need some serious big fan that willing to fork out that much on it. If subaru price it around the price of CKD forester, it may sell well. At the price of discounted forester, 119k, it will be sold like a hot cake.

• 200k? on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:39 pm

have been waiting for so long, but 1.6T 200k? sorry, i will go for mazda 6 wagon 2.2D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • bro if i’m not mistaken, there is no diesel engine for mazda 6 wagon for msia market..

• honda fan on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:41 pm

I stick with my honda civic 1.5 turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Forester xt better leh at this price, how to sell this car here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • i think more manufacturers should come directly and sell in malaysia..distributors tend to spoil the brand, MI new fl has some really cheap accessories which push up the prices..MI has been throwing prices like crazy, i am sure current subaru owners who paid full price feel cheated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Agree. But for the one looking to get a subaru, there is a smile on the face.

• Interior looks bland. Especially when compared to the Mazda6 wagon & 508 SW

• Petrolheadx on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Motor image is definitely crazy

• marieta on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Interior looks so cheap…those 3 knobs is so early 2000’s, if I don’t know the brand I probably said it’s Chinese made in china car.

• A Re-Org is required for Motor Image marketing department.

• only 1.6 and not the same 2.0 from imprezza :/
    well that’s sad.

• terry on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:20 pm

WOW ! look alike inspira from the front

• subaru is all about its abilities, if you want a looker which has less ability then go mazda

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Your Opinion Please!

Is an AWD system on a sedan/wagon (not sports/super/hypercars) useful in countries like Malaysia? I used to advocate AWD wagons when I was living in NZ but that’s because the road I use daily was a mix of gravel and tarmac, with snow, ice and sheep manure, the AWD system does indeed make a lot of difference on those conditions whereby I do feel much more in control of the vehicle. Now that I’ve returned. It seems to me that AWD doesn’t contribute anything to my daily drive from work and home with occasional road trips with my family, perhaps I don’t corner quick enough? the wagon though is still relevant especially with IKEA around.

• R u saying MY roads r better than whiteman overlords New Zealand? What heresy is this?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 21, 2016 at 6:57 am

Well, I came back hoping for some thoughtful and helpful reply but I guess you could say there has been some error on interpretations, or miscommunication. Most likely it was because the NZ that I lived in isn’t what most people would have imagined to be NZ. Or as in, the grass isn’t as green as you thought it was scenario.

What I meant is the driving environment was more hazardous than KL. Perhaps I should have added, it was the south island city of Dunedin and some of their roads there aren’t as well made as KL roads. It’s probably the size of Seremban, only 250k people lives there. Though they don’t have the potholes issues like we have here, it’s mostly uneven roads or uneven patches and railroads which were more annoying.

I lived out in the country where the only connection to the city was via a gravel road that later connects to tarmac. During colder days the tarmac frosts over and occasionally it turns into black ice and those are dangerous, so traction was very important in the sense that we can put power where it was needed to keep the car moving the direction we want.

Sheep manure is very common, so common that the first thing you see when you come out of the Dunedin airport are farms, all around you… It’s like how we see palm oil plantations here, it’s as common as that. They usually escape from the farm in a herd and when they do, traffic halts and the road is full of turds (Remember the ostrich on federal highway? now imagine there’s hundreds of them shitting all over the place. Occasionally there would also be opossums or hare roadkill, personally I’ve contributed a few.

I suppose there wouldn’t be any helpful replies, so I guess I wouldn’t be checking in again. Paul Tan! Please add a forum, I believe there would be quite a few of us whom would appreciate actual helpful advises from people with experience. Thanks for reading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • waters on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:47 am

Yawn

• This is tipu. Bashers & RBAs says in whitemanland, everyone is civilised even the animals r civilised, wun simply cross the road.
          Unlike here, which is worse than somalia according to Party Harders, when gajah cross the road we bash Gov kau kau.

Ini mesti semua salah BNGov!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • littlefire on Jul 24, 2016 at 11:15 pm

AWD does shine not only in worst road condition. Do you know next to snow is water during a lot of safety and handling test? What in Malaysia have a lot? We are living in a tropical country with lots of rain!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hlnw2SUgY6U

• That’s why Bermaz didn’t bring in awd Cx-5 diesel although it’s the recommended model of the range by UK car experts. It’s not full time AWD and adds weight and complexity to maintenance. Plus it’s not in use 90% of the time on Malaysian roads.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:01 am

malaysia road rains a lot…road to batu caves a lot of sand and dirt…road to brickfields a lot of oil….

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:06 am

The AWD in Subies are different from the other non luxury brands (Toyota, Honda, Nissan, etc). Cos its a full time AWD system, so by default all 4 wheels are powering the car. Those other cars are slip and grip. By default, they are FWD, but when slip is detected like really slippery surfaces or mud, power/torque gets re-distributed to the rear wheels. Its same concept as Audi Quattro, but only in models A4 and above. A3 and below are slip and grip. In daily driving like going through traffic it feels like any other car. Even a RWD will feel the same as a FWD in those conditions. But when you push it in corners, the permanent AWD will ensure the right tyres get the most grip. It does not wait for slip to happen. It can predict possible slip using yaw and other sensors. But since the entire engine is ahead of the front axle (just like Quattro), it will still understeer/plow into corners when pushed. But at least it will grip like its on rails.

• Mohd Faizal on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Nobody is going to pay 200k for a Subaru. Even the WRX couldn’t sell at that price.

• Enferno on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Because you rather choose inspira-lution than the real Mitsubishi Lancer Evo… Original vs Wannabe..

• Everybody can understand the price of Lancer Evo and WRX STI. But this and the standard WRX? Normal everyday car 1.6T for the Lefrog, like what the Peugeot 1.6T offer but for 200k? Crazy. Not to mention you can get 508GT SW around this price which is bigger and looks more cun. The only extra is the AWD, which you can get with Forester and XV. MI really will kill this brand here. Ohh.. they will say it because the heavy tax for the ++ price?

• takNakP1 on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:42 pm

i doubt that is the price they want to sell. no business want to price their products much higher than their competitors. MI is not branding Subaru as luxury as VW. The brand is no where near luxury but was priced so. there shud b some factors behind the tax that categorize the brand or feature into some luxury category similar to conti.

• Sammy Loo on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:53 pm

is that the rear aircond vents on the root just behind sunroof panel?

• Under power for this heavily car to use1.6 turbocharges ( 170ps ) , levory was so big size should paired with 2.0 turbocharges ( 297ps ).

• applegreen on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:42 am

Underpower? This car can goes to 100kmh in 8.9 secs, much faster than subaru outback 2.5L NA engine. If you planning to buy mazda6 touring maybe you should testdrive this new levorg.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:52 pm

I waited so long for this, but MI (or Subaru itself?) took too long, and I already ended up buying something else. Nothing wrong with the Levorg (ok the name is dodgy). Its really sporty and sexy, and to these eyes, even better looking than the WRX, which it shares 80% design wise. The 1.6 turbo is a bit underpowered from what I read, but for daily use to work and taking friends and family to Ikea, it will do just fine. Just don’t expect much shove if you plan to take it up Genting. Going down on the other hand, should be a lot of fun. I wished the sunroof was bigger, cos hey the roof goes all the way to the rear. The arm rest in front is nicely padded (and missing from the WRX I sat in sometime ago). And there’s also a rear armrest, which again is missing on the WRX. If only the Levorg had the WRX’s engine. Boot is huge and is that a full sized spare tyre down there? All in all, a good car. Let down by deficit of 400cc of extra power and it came here too late.

• PinPinPonPon on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:00 pm

damn this car looked absolutely amazing
    the price is steep tho i’d expect it to be around 160k only
    well i’ll just wait for the CKD of this, definitely a car to aim for

• Former Subie Fan on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Disappointed with MI, killing the Subaru brand… Imagine Subaru Forester 2.0 – I…Price at 100+ Don’t even hv keyless entry feature….even the gonna launch Perodua Sedan has that…. and it’s way cheaper….. Please please MI…. Do your homework properly…..

• applegreen on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:01 pm

seat heaters?

• No reason for this, when XV is slightly bigger which is more useful

• Painter on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Who buys station wagon here? It’s the niche of the niche.

Like the Subaru WRX. Neither here nor there. Overpriced and overpowered for its range (Civic Range) due to lack of less-powerful option.

They might as well bring in the powerful Levorg 2.0 STi version and price it at 200k flat.

• takNakP1 on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:35 am

i sense a lot of disappointed and angry buyer here because the price is not right. i use to have this feeling too but i keep it to myself. don’t sound like the distributor/dealer owe you anything. if they want to sell expensive, low sales & close down later is their failure, not mine.

if the price is not right, i don’t bother to look or go near it. if go also, just for fun because is free. ehh… all Subaru interior are similar.

• LimAhPek on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:04 am

u can’t afford u dun go test it dun talk chicken here.

• takNakP1 on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:36 pm

the meaning of “afford” in bolehland is whether one is willing to take 9 yrs loan. don’t judge a book by its cover.

• walao eh. this is the top selling model here in taiwan. too bad taiwan selling this levorg at Rm110k. Cacat tax structure -.-

• takNakP1 on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:33 am

something in the car spec has park it into some luxury or sport car category with higher tax. look at how BRZ/86 priced…

• camtakpro on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:12 am

Civic 1.5L Turbo 136k.

So just add 100cc + AWD = 200k++

• Aiyoyo on Jul 21, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Infiniti Q50 2.0t GT as a luxury car with 350Nm only sell for RM199,800!!! and comes with loads of features….

Come on Subaru……

• Add a few more thousand and u can get a bmw 318i…..

• Henry on Jul 21, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Ya, the price is crazy. They will have a problem selling it even at 150K.

• Semut Gatal on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Only cost me RM106K in Duty Free Island. Syok ooooooo layan corner . Family car looks but hidden mean machine underneath . Nobody has AWD symmetrical system like a Subie. You got to own it to appreciate the drive . The eye sight adaptive cruise control is another fantastic feature . The rigidity of the the body , make it very grippy on the road…….like having a rail underneath.