Perodua Bezza officially launched – first ever sedan, 1.0 VVT-i and 1.3 Dual VVT-i, RM37k to RM51k EEV

P2 Bezza Launch Main

Much has been said and revealed about the Perodua Bezza, but the company’s first ever sedan has not been officially launched. Till now. Moments ago, the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) rated sedan was officially revealed by Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa bin Mohamed in Bandar Utama.

You already know that the Bezza – name derived from the Malay word ‘beza’, which means different – comes in five variants and two engines (1.0 litre VVT-i and 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i, 5MT and 4AT available), that it’s a five-star ASEAN NCAP-rated car (for the Vehicle Stability Control-equipped 1.3 Advance, four-star for the other variants), and that it will come with a GearUp bodykit and accessories.

You also already know the new model’s price, which range from RM37k to RM51k, and read our first impressions test drive report that surfaced before the official media preview and accompanying Bezza story blitz last Saturday. So here’s a recap of all that we know about the new sedan that’s “Beyond Compact”.

Axia platform, big boot

The Bezza is an in-house effort (there’s no existing Daihatsu/Toyota model) with 95% local content, and took RM300 million to develop. Based on the Axia‘s platform, and shares the same 2,455 mm wheelbase length as Malaysia’s most popular car. Also similar to the Axia is the width (1,620 mm) and height (1,510 mm). But with the addition of a very big boot (at 508 litres, it’s bigger than the boot of the Vios and there’s a full size spare beneath), the Bezza is 510 mm longer than the Axia, at 4,150 mm.

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Fullcar-4

The Bezza is positioned as an entry A-segment sedan, which means that the inevitable comparison with the Proton Saga cannot be avoided. The Saga, which is due for a revision soon, has a larger footprint – it’s 4,278 mm long (+128 mm), 1,680 mm wide (+60 mm) and 1,520 mm tall (+10 mm), with a slightly longer 2,465 mm wheelbase (+10 mm).

One can counter dimensions with packaging, and that’s what Perodua has done. Despite the length and wheelbase deficit, the Bezza has 32 mm better tandem distance (distance between the front and rear passengers) than the Saga. P2’s measuring tapes also put the Bezza’s TD higher than the Vios’ by 3 mm. The 508L boot is almost 100 litres bigger than the Saga’s (413 litres).

Perodua-Bezza-dimensions-3

Rear headroom is the same as the Axia, which means while it should be adequate for most, there’s no Myvi-style abundant headroom here. Speaking of the Myvi, while it’s technically from a segment above, the Axia’s better packaging and space utilisation means that the smaller hatchback has a 50 mm longer interior length and cabin width that’s 5 mm superior. The Bezza should have the same advantage, bar headroom.

The Bezza is pretty versatile for a sedan. The rear seat backs split fold 60:40 (although not fully flat) and the front passenger seat back can be tilted back fully to accomodate long items such as that curtain rail from Ikea.

New engines, VVT-i introduced

The Bezza comes with two engine options – 1.0L and 1.3L. Both can be had with a five-speed manual gearbox or four-speed automatic transmission. The top-spec 1.3 Advance is auto-only.

The 1KR-VE 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine is related to the 1KR-DE2 in the Axia, but not identical. The sedan’s KR engine gets VVT-i variable valve timing (with the same Toyota logo, previously branded as DVVT), a higher compression ratio (11.5 vs 11.0), reduced friction and improved combustion – all measures to improve fuel consumption over the already thrifty Axia. Figures are up slightly too – 67 hp at 6,000 rpm and 91 Nm at 4,400 rpm vs the Axia’s 66 hp at 6,000 rpm and 90 Nm at 3,600 rpm.

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Fullcar-9

Measures include a high-tumble intake port that increases intake air tumble flow through the use of a funnel-shaped intake port. This increases the velocity of the air coming in, raising the intake volume ratio and resulting in improved combustion efficiency and increased power.

There’s also a longer intake manifold to compensate for the engine’s reduced power when the VVT-i system is in its most economical setting, while a micro spray injector has been incorporated to optimise fuel spray shape and minimise fuel atomisation time, facilitating more rapid combustion. Lastly, the valve lifters have been finely finished to reduce surface roughness by as much as 90%, contributing to lower friction.

The Bezza’s 1.3 litre NR engine is a new one in the Toyota family and not a carryover from the Myvi, which 1,298 cc K3-VE makes 90 hp and 117 Nm. The 1NR-VE made its ASEAN debut in the facelifted Toyota Avanza/Daihatsu Xenia in Indonesia last year, and pushes out 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm in the Bezza. The 1,329 cc motor comes from P2’s new engine plant in Sendayan, Negeri Sembilan, for local consumption (1.0L made in Rawang).

The NR engine family (there’s also a 1.5L version in the Avanza) comes with intake and exhaust Dual VVT-i, teflon coating for the pistons (to reduce friction and improve durability), larger water jackets (better cooling, improved combustion, lower noise), roller rocker arm (reduces friction between rocker arm and camshaft) and iridium spark plugs (the 1.0L KR in the Bezza and Axia also uses the latter).

Meanwhile, the cylinder head has also been redesigned with optimised intake and exhaust ports, as well as a revised combustion chamber shape. As with the 1.0 litre mill, the NR’s compression ratio stands at 11.5:1, a significant increase from the Myvi’s 10.0:1.

Revisions have been made to the four-speed auto to reduce mechanical losses, while the transmission lock-up range has been expanded in third and fourth gear during acceleration and steady-state running. Lock-up has also been added to these ratios under deceleration. Perodua has also increased fuel cut time under deceleration.

Efficiency is the main goal – up to 22.8 km/l

The Perodua Bezza was designed to be export-ready, and counts compact sedans like the Honda Brio Amaze and Mitsubishi Attrage as benchmarks. Space and affordability aside, fuel efficiency is a main goal for cars like these, and the Bezza does well.

Besides engine efficiency as described above, Perodua has worked to make the Bezza its most aerodynamic car ever. Being a sedan helps of course, but the Cd value of 0.286 is also helped by under floor covers to smoothen airflow and reduce drag. The use of a “shark fin” style antenna and air spats at the bottom of the front bumper also help the cause. Mini fins on the side of the rear lamp cluster and wing mirror area improve stability at speed.

Perodua has also worked together with Bridgestone and Silverstone for unique tyres with reduced rolling resistance. The 175/65 R14 tyres – BS Ecopia on the 1.3 and SS Kruizer on the 1.0 – have 10% less rolling resistance compared to the rubber on the Axia, further boosting FC.

The biggest enemy of efficiency is weight. To reduce that, P2 used high tensile steel in strategic areas, which reduced weight as panel thickness can be reduced without sacrificing rigidity, as proven in the ASEAN NCAP crash test. The Bezza is a flyweight and tips the scales at just 865 kg for the base 1.0 MT to 930 kg for the top 1.3 Advance with all the bells and whistles. Whole range below one tonne.

Of course, there’s also the Eco Idle auto stop-start system that’s a first for a national car – for all cars below RM100k, only the Mazda 2 has idle stop, once a preserve of hybrids and premium Continental models. Available on the 1.3 Advance, Eco Idle improves FC by around 1 km/l, Perodua says. Regenerative braking, which harvests energy when braking and decelerating, is also present alongside Eco Idle in the range-topper.

Results? The 1.0L manual does 22.8 km/l, which is the best in the family. The 1.0L auto does 21.3 km/l. It’s 21.7 km/l for the 1.3 manual and 21 km/l for the 1.3 auto. For the 1.3 Advance auto with Eco Idle, fuel economy is 22 km/l in the ECE mode. Minus off a couple of kilometeres per litre for real world driving and the returns should be still very decent. The efficiency benchmark for the refreshed Saga that’s coming this year is high indeed.

Perodua Bezza pricing and equipment

The top-spec Bezza, which is just above RM50k, comes with plenty of equipment new to both Perodua and cars in the price bracket. Besides the Dual VVT-i engine and Eco Idle system, the 1.3 Advance sports Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), front passenger seat belt reminder, keyless entry and push start with remote boot release, leather seats with a quilted pattern and a touchscreen head unit with navigation, and reverse camera.

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Int-20

The latter, a 2DIN unit with Bluetooth, comes with Smart Link, which is what Perodua calls Mirror Link. This allows for Android users to pair up their smartphone with the ICE system, meaning that apps such as Waze and Google Maps can be displayed on the car’s screen.

Safety wise, variants get dual front airbags, ABS brakes and Isofix child seat mounts. The 1.3 Advance adds on VSC, front passenger seat belt reminder (both needed to get five stars from ASEAN NCAP) and Hill Start Assist.

Prices for the five variants, on-the-road including insurance, are as follows:

• 1.0 Standard G MT – RM37,300
  • 1.0 Standard G AT – RM39,300
  • 1.3 Premium X MT – RM42,800
  • 1.3 Premium X AT – RM44,800
  • 1.3 Advance AT – RM50,800

Perodua Bezza 1.0 Standard G

• 14-inch alloy wheels
  • Fabric seats
  • Polyurethane steering wheel
  • Audio system with USB
  • Handphone slot (at the rear console)
  • Fixed rear seat headrests
  • 60:40 split folding rear seats
  • Remote boot release
  • Manual side mirrors
  • Body-mounted signal indicators
  • Reverse sensors
  • Power windows
  • Dual airbags (front passenger and driver)
  • ABS with EBD

Perodua Bezza 1.3 Premium X

• Audio system with USB and Bluetooth
  • Handphone slot with 5V/2A USB charging port (at the rear console)
  • Adjustable rear seat headrests
  • Keyless entry and push-start
  • Boot release button on the boot
  • Chrome door handles
  • Side mirror indicators
  • Front fog lamps
  • Front parking sensors
  • Jam protection for the driver-side power window
  • Premium trim (gloss black, silver accents, fabric door card inserts)
  • Solar and security window film
  • Key fob

Perodua Bezza 1.3 Advance

• Different design two-tone 14-inch wheels
  • Leather seats
  • Leather steering wheel with multimedia system controls
  • Eco Idle System
  • Side skirting
  • Powered, retractable side mirrors
  • Front passenger seat belt reminder
  • Vehicle Stability Control (VSC)
  • Traction control
  • Hill start assist
  • Multimedia system with navigation, Smart Link and reverse camera
  • Additional trim details

Perodua has also designed a GearUp bodykit and accessories for the Bezza. There’s a “Dynamic” five-piece bodykit (front and rear bumper extensions, side skirts, boot spoiler) retailing for RM2,000, and a upholstery pack for the seats and door cards going for RM900. Take both and it’s RM2,600, RM300 less than the à la carte price. There’s also a “Stylish Package” that combines the bodykit with door visors and door protector strips for RM2,265. Available for all variants.

The six available colours are Lava Red, Ebony Black, Glittering Silver, Solid Ivory White, Sugar Brown and Ocean Blue – the latter two are new to Perodua and only for the 1.3L. The car comes with a five-year or 100,000 km warranty. Reed our first impressions test drive report.

Browse full specification and equipment of all Perodua Bezza variants on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.3L Advance

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.3L Premium X

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.0L Standard G

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza GearUp

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza official photos

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza GearUp official photos

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• RUGAL on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Let us just wait for the New Saga and Persona. Good A segment car by Perodua BTW. New Saga needs to have better powertrain and good fuel consumption to compete with Bezza. Safety features shouldn’t be a problem for Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 13
    • Better equipment is must also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • jumaat on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:25 pm

This Bezza drive is lousier than P1 Savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 58
        • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:51 am

Whilst I am all for the Bezza, I still think the price is too high for most Malaysians. Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%

If we follow Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%, RM37,000 will be RM25,000. That is more reasonable. Most Malaysians don’t earn much and even RM25k is a lot of money to the majority of Malaysians. Remember, 75% of all EPF contributors only earn RM1200 per month.

I hope Najib honours his promise to reduce car prices. I hope at least, let this be the last thing he does good for the nation before the FBI comes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 7
          • Bezza is still Jepunis overlords car. Celup. Tak tulen macam Proton! Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 61
          • kzm (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:16 pm

how do you get so much thumb up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
        • Low Budget on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:22 am

How do you know? You already tested one before the launch?

• Operation Manager on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Overpriced milo tin like Viva … c/w siti-aminah FM Tikus Bunyi within 1 year period… 95% local loose parts. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 45
        • wayang on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Theres always Germany marques that can cater for that matter
          That is if you can afford it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • Megane on Jul 22, 2016 at 7:31 am

Many will slap body kits and Tom’s stickers and drive down the highways at 160kmhr haha . Kaboom !

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:57 am

All Ministers cars should be Perodua. Proton is way too expensive. They should stop using Perdanas

Like the old Perdana, just to service the car for 2 years alone is RM100k. And that is despite the car still being under warranty and all warranty parts are FREE. Hmmmm, I wonder who has the contract to service the whole fleet of Government Perdanas.

Yes, I repeat again, each Government Perdana cost RM100k to service for 2 years. Cost to service each Perdana is MORE than the price of the car!

Time to switch to Bezza. Let all PDRM and all Government servants use Bezza as their official car. No harm if the Minister also is driven in a Bezza.

Infact, better for the PM also be driven in a Bezza. He should set a good example.

Taib, Governor of Sarawak goes around in a RM4 million ringgit Rolls Royce maintained by the Government. He also should be given a Bezza as his official car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
      • Dermawan on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Looks like Proton asking another soft loan 1.5 billion again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 25
        • greedyp2 on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:33 am

Looks like p2 becomes greedy

• Topkek lah MY pipu in Malaysia.

We should all support Proton. It is our National pride. Why support Jepunis overlords ni? All Peroduas are Jepunis overlords car. All Perodua untung money kena hantar Jepun lah

We are Malaysian. We support Barang Buatan Tempatan! Proton is 100% Barang Msia. I suggest MY pipu boikott this Bezza and buy ONLY Proton!

Don’t be like Dear Leader in Penang. He suppork Perodua because it is Toyota injin. He always suppork Jepunis overlords. oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 57
          • Tanpa Nama on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:49 pm

9 thn lps masa gi interview kat Perodua, top management yg kata kita tak pentingkan sgt isu patriotik dlm bisnes, sbb dlm bisnes, isu profitability yg paling penting utk sustain bisnes..So, Proton, faham2 je la kannn…

• Andrekua on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Proton would need revamp their SC if they want to sell their car. I think Proton pricing is already attractive compared to every other make. Still not selling well… of course their car is not perfect but I think people are avoiding them because you aint gonna get the same after-sales service like Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:26 pm

for engine rite now i don’t think p1 can but they can improve other things though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
    • Proton is dead. Long live Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 73
    • Proton clowns are going every theads asking people to wait for their junks. Hahahhaa… them proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
      • P2 sellers busy badmouthing p1, telling about factory, number of sales, kuih lapis, tea, awek. So desperate to get sales ah?

• tokmoh. on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:16 pm

Next persona and saga will continue use shitty campro + punch CVT powertrain, worst combo ever. Guaranteed failure, rakyat already know for the past half a decade, how thirsty this junk is.

Cost of living will only go up, expect fuel price will increase, DBKL and others like MPSJ do overnight parking rate increase, toll cronies continue to pressure to increase toll.

Proton so stupid, don’t even think of helping rakyat save money. Die die, must protek maruah use high fc junk powertrain, skip qc, wasting customers’ time rectify problems at sc, never train staff, give bad after sale experience, charge sky high fees but crap service.

Blame rakyat some more la, we don’t want to be patriotic, we rather be smart consumers.

Vote with your wallet, people. Get Bezza 1.3 Advance. Pressure Perodua to give VSC to all specs, which they sure will if they keep reading internet criticize their stinginess to give VSC.

Senior motor journalist, Chips Yap said Perodua read on internet what we say. So for now, only buy 1.3 Advance. If want buy lower spec, wait and go all out keyboard warrior demand for VSC for all specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 39
      • loler on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:38 am

Who wants to believe you own an Iriz?
        You can say anything you want but believing you own a p1 is plain stupid, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • tokmoh. on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:51 am

If I really have Iriz, will you lari bogel around Proton factory?

• tokmoh. on Jul 22, 2016 at 10:52 am

If I penipu scammer, I will lari bogel around Perodua factory.

• He lied. You think so easy to find anyone owning an Iriz? The car hardly sell.

• tokmobodo on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:55 am

Bodo tokmoh, you claim you porve la. Why drag others?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Be different on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:48 am

Are you paid by P2 to bad mouth P1? If you could afford the Bezza, just go out and buy one. No need to undermine other people/ “Rakyat” of their choices.

• tokmoh. on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:40 am

I am an Iriz 1.3 CVT owner. I can testify its fc is the same as a D-segment 2.0L from 80s. That’s extremely bad. A much heavier car, with bigger cc engine, and with obsolete powertrain out of production for over 2 decades, and Proton can’t best it? Also, very unrefined, noisy, laggy, the Campro + Punch CVT is just pathetic.

It still has annoying issues, I lazy to fix, give up edi. Biasa la Proton, kan? Familiar with this quote at your friendly neighborhood Proton SC?

I’m doing a good public service. I won’t buy another proton, and neither should you. Vast majority of Proton owner never become repeat customer, don’t need to be genius to figure out why. I was a fool, I wanted safety, I sanggup got maki by Proton CEO not being patriotic. But now I being patriotic, I have to put up with their shit. Proton throw shit at me, yet I now accused P2 pay me. In reality, I pay P1, yet they fool around syok sendiri making shit nobody wants. Biasa la Proton.

Proton can only shout their car got 5 star NCAP, but this Bezza also got 5 star NCAP for Advance, and much better fc, better quality reputation.

Perodua reads the internet, Chips Yap said. So everyone should keyboard warrior demand VSC to all specs, eventually Perodua will cave in if we’re persistent enough. It worked with Axia, now G spec get ABS when it initially don’t, must be pressure from people on internet demand ABS in G spec.

I insist, only get Advance for now. If you’re aiming for lower spec, hold your purchase, go keyboard warrior, then voila, all specs get VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
          • Dah kantoi, lagi mau compare dengan D segment pulak

Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Manusia on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:27 am

Proton Saga 1.3 FLX is more efficient than Myvi 1.3 Saga get the EEV standard but Myvi 1.3 not. Saga 1.3 FLX use less fuel than Myvi even though it has heavier body. Plus it has CVT.

CVT is not design for racing. And punch CVT is okay and better than Myvi sluggish gearbox. Driving Saga feel more relax than driving Myvi with 4 speeds gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
        • manusia2.0 on Jul 22, 2016 at 10:57 am

Disagree with you, I found out another way round. FC both Saga & Myvi is almost the same. although saga using CVT but the engine & gearbox is too noisy and not very smooth in the first gear, power steering felt heavy in turning.. Driving myvi felt very relax, smooth, less vibration & engine noise. by the way, this is my honest comment bcoz I own both cars.

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:29 am

http://paultan.org/2016/07/16/perodua-bezza-sales-projection-40-for-vsc-model/

They already knew that models fitted with VSC will be selling well

The only thing they cannot provide is VSC accross the models for the same amount of money

• Yes, projection of 80%.
          But if ppl stop buying it, when perodua feel the pressure, they will put it in.

Remember current generation of camry?

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:18 am

No problem
            They put in VSC and jack up the price
            Same shit different day

Current gen of Camry isnt selling well either with the inclusion of VSC
            So VSC doesnt mean the car will be a top seller and neither means a car without VSC is not top selling

Furthermore the NCAP rating between one fitted with and one without is only 1 star
            The one without is 4 and then one with is 5
            Its still a pretty safe car

• tokmoh. on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:00 am

So just syukurlah and jangan persoal?

Just because I sound favorable to Perodua, doesn’t excuse them from pushing the limits. They can, and they should, but they don’t.

I’m disgusted watching video CEO said “4 star is still quite high, it’s sufficient”. WRONG. Safety should be the core feature, much like every car must have an engine and gearbox, so should safety features like VSC, airbags.

We must send a message, and hear me out fellow Malaysians : demand your right for safe car, demand for VSC for all Bezza specs! Listen to this demand, Perodua!

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Perodua already provided a model for those who needed VSC in their cars

The catch is you need to pay for it, thats all

Unless you mean it should be free, then I hope you go demand all F&B outlets to provide free food and drinks because its a human basic rights and necessity

• wannabuy on Jul 25, 2016 at 2:58 pm

You are rude to customer who demands for cheaper variants with VSC. Jepunis overlord taught you this?

• Pengguna Bijak on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Sorry lah Proton. Rakyat won’t believe your crap anymore.

Better buy Bezza. Puas hati, jimat minyak, servis murah, kurang rosak, tidur malam pun lena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 31
    • donno on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:12 am

Yup lets wait for the new saga/persona. Went to see the bezza as soon as it was launched. Disappointed with the quality of the interior. Compared back to back with the Axia and myvi. It is spacious but the seats are uncomfortable. Looks like alot of cost cutting (even compared to the Axia) to fit all the gizmos. Not driven it, but if the noise penetration is similar to the Axia, you need to spend more to install sound deadeners or if boot space don’t matter, the myvi is more bareable.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:57 am

Earlier comment look more civilised but later the usual guy come.

• joi rempitz on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:35 am

last time we did see spyshot of new saga an persona long time ago..and what I heard Proton postpone these new model launch time..but why???
      lots of issue to c/m la of coz!!!

• OMG…this look like baby H.Civic…Nice design.

• OMG…pls forget abt proton…sooner their sales will drop until Toyota and Honda also can beat them….

• Kotembad on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:06 pm

BTW, Bezza drives horribly, a lot worse than Myvi or Axia. Go test drive if anyone here doesn’t believe me.

• Andrew on Jul 24, 2016 at 11:01 am

WARNING- back seat n steering wheel angle/position may be BIG PROBLEM especially for long trips

• perotiga on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:36 pm

yup, hold your horses. wait n compare.
      bezza is a nice car, nice face.
      but rear boot and shape especially above rear lamp kind of weird when seen in real world. its to narrow. don’t know about comfort, handling n ride.
      if you r kind of person who judge car by whole better wait.
      if you want only good fc car, maybe bezza is good buy.

• Owner Bezza Advance on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Go for persona, even the beseline model. Otherwise you all akan menyesal macam aku. Bezza tak jimat mana, NVH out dan tak Comfort langsung. Go and test drive more than one time, you will notice then

• Almighty Snack Bar on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:59 pm

At last, a proper car with proper safety feature from Perodua. Thank you Perodua for listening. Too bad Proton isn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 44
    • Proper? Sedan pricing should be below 30k
      Iriz got VDC in all variants unlike Bezza only in most expensive one

P2 is not listening

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
      • wayang on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:16 pm

30k for a sedan in Malaysia 2016?
        Maybe you time travel back in time 20 years back you might be able to buy a good sedan at 30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • DPCraft on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Yes VSC is first for Perodua, but it could use more airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Anything But P1 on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:03 pm

1.0 Auto RM40k? Seriously?
    No traction control as standard?
    Is traction control is a luxury?
    How much does it cost to fit a traction control?
    Why is everyone treating Perodua as God’s car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 11
    • Eh, you dun know?
      Coz it’s celup from their overlord jepunis car so quality cannot persoal desipte takatagate
      Coz SA want to sell cars
      Coz bashers butthurt on p1
      And the list goes on……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Kedai fiber celup on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Perdana 130k with fake exhaust tip? Seriously sohem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
      • Who cares, that’s niche car
        Why no VSC in cheaper variant?

• Perodua is just following Proton in this case.
          Saga has no VSC and ABS regardless of any variant.
          Exora only got VSC at the higher variants
          Inspira no VSC regardless of variant
          Persona no VSC regardless of variant
          Suprima S no VSC only for higher variants
          Now all the above are not niche cars especially Saga, Persona, Exora so why no VSC at cheaper variant??

• That’s old cars, why dun you take example of Iriz?

Perdana you know lah, your jepunis overlord dun gip permission.

• Perdana is brand new and you say its niche market so not counted?? If Jepunis overlord don’t gip permission then why high spec got VSC but no spec don’t have? I can’t brain the logic.
            Don’t forget when Suprima was launched it has ESC as standard but a year later comes out with the kosong spec version and surprise you don’t get VSC. So what do you say about that?
            So if new Saga don’t come with ESC as standard then how you gonna eat back your words??

• Donor car 2.4l got VSA lor, 2.0l of since ice age no VSA, understand?

• Proton can always just add the ESC component in if they wanted to into the Perdana but they didn’t but anyway since Perdana is niche car its not the main issue. What about the other bread and butter cars of Proton that don’t come with ESC as standard why no Proton supporters making any noise about it???

• Jepunis overlord dont allow to put VSC, how?

• wayang on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:20 pm

Since you dont know how much it actually cost Perodua to R&D, test, and fit it into a car why are you complaining?

I dont think its a luxury item but you still need to pay for it
      If you need VSC Perodua has provided you with a model that has VSC and the catch is you have to pay for it

Nobody in this world is going to manufacture safety devices for free
      Unless you want to donate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • carmes on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:46 am

“Donate” to p1 you bash, donate to p2 you dun bash pulak, even ask for it here.

Malu betul. Go and ask from your jepunis overlord better

• Anything But P1 on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:58 am

Unless I want a donate? That is a stupid statement.
        This is the year 2016.
        The manufacturer should provide its customers safe cars. Again it is stupid if you do not want to put safety as a top priority.
        I understand the start stop system on the top variant costs money as it needs bigger alternator and stronger battery.
        I don’t need that, or window tinting, body kits, touch screen, rear camera, all around reverse sensor or fold mirror
        JUST GIVE US THE DAMN VSC AS STANDARD!

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:24 am

Perodua did with offering VSC in one of their model but for a fee of course

Safety is top priority but for a fee
          Even your residential area be it condo or landed, you have to pay for security in order to ensure your safety, and yet its not 100% safe

You dont need those doesnt mean the rest of Perodua’s customers dont need
          You like to eat apples doesnt mean you have to stop a fruit stall from selling oranges just because you dont eat orange

If you need VSC just buy the model that is equipped with VSC

• Perodua done r&d? True?

• ben1978 on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Equipments on Advance is quite good bit the exterior looks…Zzzzzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Is this a trend?
    Small wheel size, and really small wheel archs.
    That chrome bar on the boot really shades Perdana’s with the big badge.
    I don’t see how this car used 300mil to develop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Cost millions. And yet bashers still persoal why p1 needs money for 3 cars plus new engines.

• ProtonMusnahBinasa on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:14 pm

All Hail Perodua Bezza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
    • Did you hear that? Tonight, all the resale values of the p1 saga crashed down to the ground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 34
  • Mr Azman Adnan on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:31 pm

err….IMHO I think P1 should stop developing new Saga & Persona now at least not until year 2020 because this Be22a will be selling like hot cakes for the next 5 years. Take my words, everybody!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 45
  • Diphenhydramine on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Fantastic. Well done Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • cedar on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Persona is more beautiful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • Yes, and so is Honda Accord….

Stop comparing apples and pears…

The Bezza is by far better looking then any similarly priced Proton. And I think if you compare the package of the 50k, 1.3 Advance, to any other car in South East Asia at the same price point, the Bezza comes out really well. There really is no other sedan for under 50k that offers this much in safety, space and features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • seriously? current saga flx is better looking than this by far if we speak about appearance… but if spec wise… yes no direct competition until saga r

• kontot kintat on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:06 am

But in USA cars much cheaper, 22k can get camry. P2 got tongkat why expensive?

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:36 am

Pipu in USA are enjoying cheaper cars while youre paying cut throat price here

Why are you still here then?

• ron95l on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:55 am

Eh, why bashers pulak suruh kuar kuar ni?

• Pesobeza on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:14 pm

Persona is beautiful but her background is ugly T.T

• Low Budget on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:34 am

Beauty in appearance is useless if there is no quality in inner self

• Caring on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:38 pm

It is a big let-down in the interior design of Bezza especially the air-con dials and surrounding switches. Looks inferior compared to Myvi and Axia. How come the deterioration? Each new model should look better and not the reverse. The passenger side console looks like a direct copy from Preve piano finished design!
    The G and X model comes without the ESC. What a let-down. Perodua should have followed Proton Iriz lead by having ESC across all the models, because it is proven beyond doubt that ESC save lives. Where is Perodua social responsibility?
    The Bezza is not cheap. At about 40K, Proton Iriz already have ESC, but only above 50K Bezza offer ESC.
    And look at the Bezza back seat, it is so thin. Long distance will be very uncomfortable.
    Judging from the response from many readers here, it looks like majority are praising sky high for Perodua.
    For those who wants to book Bezza, I advise you to think twice and do your homework first. Don’t just jump into it. Money is hard to come by nowadays.
    Perhaps wait until Iriz Sedan and the new Proton Saga is launched. Then do a comparison and test drive all the models. At least by then you will be able to make a better and informed decision. Buy now, you may regret later.
    That’s my 2 cents.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 10
    • Agreed.
      Different story:
      http://paultan.org/2014/01/13/perodua-contributes-rm1-5m-miros-calibration-lab/

If Perodua made compulsory ESC for all models, then I would say they lived up to their slogan of “building car people’s first”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • JohnLegend on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:51 pm

agree with you.

• I will think 10 times not to get a underspec bezza, but I will think 100 times even if I would get myself a proton model..even if it offers everything, but still sux in everything too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
    • By looking at your first sentence, i already know this is another “wait for proton saga” post.

I really feel bad for proton. Have to fitnah in this holy month while asking people to wait for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • justsomepissedoffdude on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:43 pm

i’m not a proton fan but i completely agree with you..the lack of ESC as standard across the board is a let down. Design wise this is horrendous at best. No wonder they didn’t want full size pics of the car to be taken before the launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • But but but…. Saga, Persona, Suprima S, Exora, Inspira all also don’t have ESC as standard and Saga even no ABS or ESC at top spec. How then????
        The Proton models with VSC as standard are hardly the top seller compared to the bread and butter Saga and Persona.

• R.I.P on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Bye bye Proton. Better sell your empty factory to Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • Consumer rights on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:41 pm

As a consumer, we should boycott any new launched car without ESC. Knowing that ESC save lives yet out of profit driven, they let go their inner conscious.
    It is like saying, those who cannot afford to buy above 50K, their lives are not worth protecting.
    When the buying stops, the killing will stop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • wayang on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:46 pm

How much rights you have as a consumer is gauge by how deep your pocket is
      Perodua is still a business entity not a charity organisation
      You want free safety, free food, free education go ask/beg from charity organisation not from a business entity
      Its like complaining to Mcdonalds how come their food are only provided to people who can afford to pay because food is a necessity and it should be free

• Yolanz on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:00 am

Agreed with you 100%. Pity to any individual or family that cannot afford the high spec..

• Newbie on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Even the safety is at the highest level, if not wearing a seat belt pon no point

• Yippi33 on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Im not impressed. With the 50k price for this segment is way too pricey. It should be around 40k range for the top spec. Exorbitant price as usual from perodua. Because they know malaysian will still buy it due to perception. Such a pity. Wake up malaysians. Consumer power is the greatest. Stop supporting products that are overpriced such as this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • wayang on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Perhaps you are the minority who thinks so?
      You dont need to herd others into thinking so actually
      Most who bought a Perodua wanted quality and after sales service
      Proton sales vs Perodua sales has shown one thing
      Majority of the buyers dont care if its cheaper or not
      They wanted better quality and after sales service

People like you only want cheap
      There’s always Proton
      It is comparatively cheaper than Perodua

Likewise when you move further up the chain, if you want cheap only theres always Korean cars which are comparatively cheaper than Japanese cars

So you buy what you think you want and theres no need to recruit more sheeps like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
      • Even if there is a car with more horsepower and torque than Aventador, better looking than Ferrari 458, more luxurious than Phantom, drives better than 911 GT3, more fuel efficient than a Prius, priced cheaper than Axia there will still be people complaining about something like steering wheel ugly, side mirror not nice, rims ugly, should be priced less than half of Axia, HP and torque not enough to beat F1 car, aircond knob ugly and the list goes on.

• panel meter just ugly as hell and the price of the car a bit higher than saga 1.3 auto. Other than that, I think just fine.

• Operation Manager on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Oh sohai… only buy OVERPRICED 95% local in-house developed parts, 1 year later c/w special free gift from siti -aminah FM Free Radio Tikus cause parts loose here loose there…

• Thats why I say, buy from P2! U see! Pipu have confidence in us becoz we have so much confidence in this car that we dun need to test on the road b4 we sell. Our P2 even better than Mesidis, BMW, Hyundai, Honda, and some say Rolls Royce too, cuz all of them no confidence in their new car thats why need to camo test kau kau. We have so much confidence in our jepunis overlords, thats why dun need to test kau like them.

U see us so confident, straight from prototype to showroom. Kalahkan even our big brother toyota. Right now my bos got applications by toyota salesmen Albert and Sammy. U see how confident toyota salesman on our untested car.

So I say again, have confidence. Buy Bisa from me and I will intro u my fren from Nirvana. We will gip u best package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • Poor pipu spec no ESC cuz jepunis overlords dun expect poor pipu to survive. Better dun persoal.

• latukBandar on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:08 pm

Is it me or Bezza looks like Honda Civic’s retarded brother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • supersniper on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Really neat & nice car from p2. Shall wait few months to compare side by side with p1 and looking forward your full test drive report guys.

It seems that p2 business strategy are well organized, have no doubt bezza will fulfil A segment demand at global scale in those huge daihatsu/toyota/p2 business chain.

Kudos to p2 and all the best to p1.

• korean better made on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Kia Picanto is a better buy with 6 airbags.

• Ollie on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Great point – and its 62k. 6 airbags, full suite of stability control – not just ABS – leather finishings – basically everything here with 85HP and 120 Nm – almost the same power figures.

If not for govt and people who love their Peroduas so much they dont care for other options, the price of this car is only 40+k without the crazy excise and import duties.

So there’s one example – though I’d rather spend 50k on a C-segment sedan second-hand ( already done).

• bodobolo on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:49 am

This is perodua overprice nuff said, ingat 50k tu boleh habis 3 4 tahun ke. Bangang.

• policeman on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:45 am

What manual gearbox does this car use? I plan to get one. Hope its not the same crap in MyVi or Axia.

Can’t they use a proper box? Similar to Inspira or even the ones in FLX? Cacat betul!

• mahalnye..

• The price range OK for high -spec…overtime it will get less..Congrates P2. Tip my hats to you. P1 : a reminder ur Saga should be on par or above Bezza..After 30 years in business (being a spoilt brat) u guys should know the curve already..

• common sensor on Jul 22, 2016 at 7:55 am

Good job Perodua! There will be plenty of counter attack from Proton in the upcoming weeks .. plenty of teaser and teaser and teaser .. without the real car launched ..

• The Special One on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:34 am

Interesting…nobody is commenting on the ugly exterior. Are u all from the public or Perodua salesman? 37k for a 1.0 tin can?

• Sedan weigh only 860kg, WTF……..

• joi p2 besT on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:00 am

To all the keyboard warrior here,
    Why are you guys have so much time to give such comments? Good or bad is this car, you are not part of the development team!! If you want all the features that other cars has, then go laa buy other cars! P2 wont even care!
    Bezza FTW!!!

• GolfR on Jul 22, 2016 at 10:03 am

Customers are always king!

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:24 am

Yeah you know like the story in Emperors new clothes
        The seller will convince you that the clothes he sold you is the best and only the wise can see it

Same with customers here
        You can demand this and that but behind they will give you what you paid for
        Pay peanuts get monkey

• kolos on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:47 pm

So not P2 not relevant anymore, pls Kolos shoppe

• wayang on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:13 am

Cant comprehend what you are saying
            Maybe you should go back to /k

• Basher logic : Overpriced car = company pls kolos shop

• Mangali Singh on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:10 am

Would like to see some real life crash test by Paultan team, as the sedan weight really worried us as road users

• Bezza spec E 1.0 manual on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:12 am

Dear Perodua, hope you can hear me.
    I need a much cheaper spec E 1.0 manual. Estimate around 30k only. (Axia manual spec E is around 24k) I think you can make it.
    Please cut out some not necessary items.
    Thank you Perodua to make a first sedan for us. Sorry to highlight, I am a poor guy…..
    thank you.

• wayang on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:16 am

Dear Mercedes, hope you can hear me
      I need a much cheaper Mercedes. Estimated around 80k only
      I think you can make it
      Please cut out some not necessary items.
      Thank you Mercedes to make a first cheap sedan for us. Sorry to highlight, I am a poor guy….
      Thank you

• overpicedjunk on Jul 25, 2016 at 2:07 pm

LOL why p2 which got tongkat cannot give cheaper car? Oh it’s celup jepunis overlord car so cannot persoal!

• Ollie on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:59 am

We can’t live under coconuts forever. This car is being compared to what? Proton? To Axia/Myvi?

Seriously, is that how low our standards are? We are not making comparisons, we are just looking at this car and seeing its specs for itself. What use is that?

Why can’t you open your eyes and do reading and research and see what is available in the market?

Compare this to Ford Fiesta, Kia Picanto, Chevy Sonic, there are at least a dozen superminis in the market – and all of them cost RM40-50k in open markets.

Just like our govt and their people which can still deny embezzlement even with US DoJ action, our people are just too comfortable in their simple lives satisfied with simple things to think about an open and free car market where you can get better.

It shows a lack of vision and ambition and reflects badly on our collective character as a nation. Yes, its that serious.

• One of the best looking car by Perodua. The only thing is that the GearUp bodykit front skirt is higher than the side and back skirt.

• Qibai on Jul 23, 2016 at 8:58 am

I test drove the Perodua Bezza yesterday and I must say that the 1.0 litre variant is crap! Vibration and engine noise is harsh and i see many uneven dashboard lines where you can slide paper into it.

As for the top range topping variant, interior looks on the okay side. But driving comfort and performance is on the poor side. The car handles poorly, NVH is not that good just like the Saga, but the power of the engine is on the normal side which is expected from a 1.3 litre engine.

But for the price and safety features they pumped in, I would say it is a good alternative to the aging saga.

• Vemal Manimaaran on Jul 24, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Test Drove the 1.0 Auto & 1.3 Adv Auto…..

Review 1.0 Auto

Pros

1) Cheap & Worth for the price
    2) Suits First time drivers or slow drivers.
    3) Lower Maintenance Cost
    4) Overall space is big & fabric seat quite comfortable.
    5) Built quality is good.

Cons

1) Engine & Dashboard vibration felt if engage the gear.
    2) Feel Underpower if full load of passenger.

1.3 Adv

Pros

1) Well equip
    2) Suitable for family use
    3) Lower Maintenance Cost
    4) Overall space is big & Leather seat comfortable & easy to clean.
    5) Built quality is good.
    6) Good NVH & hardly can hear noise at cruising speed of 90km
    7) Suspension is good.

Cons

1) only 2 airbag. 6 Airbag is a big deal
    2) 14 inc rim turn down the style. 15 inc would be better
    3) Durability of Start Stop feature not yet proven in Malaysia. But the engine exist since 2008.

• ramakrishna on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:32 am

Our beloved pm najib has promised to reduced the car prices by 30% but perodua bezza starts from rm37,00/-, for average malaysians the price is extermely high, hope our beloved pm will look into this seriously and I believe he will keep to his promises.

• shaze on Aug 08, 2016 at 10:11 pm

I think rear design of Bezza too ‘kotak’ and weird. Sorry i’m no fan of P1. I own honda. Just my sincere view..

• ramakrishna on Aug 16, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Dato Seri PM,

Pls.check the price of perodua bezza, if reduced by 30% more malaysians would go this model resulting in more sales for perodua.

• papades on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:04 am

My old my bezza, cruising 110km/h at 3.8 near to 4k rpm.. why bring avanza’s dna in this sedan? Shall i apply a sticker 80. 90leburaya?