VIDEO: Hyundai i30 N hot hatch – listen to the engine

Hyundai’s entry into the performance car arena previously named illustrious cars such as the Volkswagen Golf GTI and the BMW M3 as benchmark targets, as the South Korean brand’s N sub-brand is positioned as a counterpart to Mercedes-AMG and BMW’s M. Now, the brand has released a new video of its upcoming Hyundai i30 N hot hatch, which will go up against the Golf GTI when it goes on sale in late 2017.

Two variants will be offered to start with, both with a 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol engine rated to produce approximately 260 hp. Hyundai says the new N model – which will be based on the upcoming third-generation i30 – is 40% new, including its engine, transmission and suspension.

The engine output and performance emphasis puts it squarely against the likes of the Golf GTI and Ford Focus ST, while the earlier mention of BMW M indicates Hyundai’ intention to further head in that direction – head of the Hyundai N sub-brand was also formerly BMW M’s chief engineer, Albert Biermann.

The video above highlights the aural aspect of the upcoming performance hatchback, which seems to have the raspy bark on loaded throttle and crackling on the overrun somewhat similar to an A 45 AMG‘s, giving it a distinct performance flavour in contrast with the standard i30.

Read our review of the second-generation Hyundai i30, here.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:12 am

Wow, not bad. Hyundai now targeting BMW M engines and Mercedes AMG engines.

Just wow.

Look at Proton? Buat apa? Still makan nasi lemak, relax, minum teh 8x one day with kuih lapis and karipap

Both companies started about same time. Yes, Hyundai started merely 10 years earlier. But look at hyundai. Not only 10 million car sales last year, they are also now making engines on par with BMW M and Mercedes AMG standards.

Our Proton, last year 100,000 cars also cannot sell. This year, it will be 50,000. Still no development. No research. Nothing. Whole world moving forward but Proton still lepak, relax and minum teh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • LP 3456M on Jul 21, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Proton new 2.0L engine with twin supercharger and single scroll turbocharger EFR7163 unit producing 320hp with 425NM. Engine Codename, Proton BlueNeticx-PM031.
      Only run on Ron97. Compression ratio is rated at 14:5:2 which is the reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • LP 3456M on Jul 21, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Forget to mention, using dual radiator to withstand the high temperature produce by the engine plus the weather in Malaysia. Using Getrag dual clutch transmission 6DCT450 with independent cooler

• Kunta kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 4:17 pm

talk kok can laa… in your imaginary world, persona R lah..waja R lah, sattira neo R la..
          now?

• Whats the point if cant mass production and last 5 years without problem? Euro 5 standard? Can i buy one by 2020-consumer asked.

• We all recognize Hyundai’s effort and improvement but there’s no need to make up “facts” to worship it.

1. Hyundai didn’t sell 10 million cars last year.
      2. Before we actually see, hear and drive cars equipped with the new N-exclusive engines, don’t make assumptions.

• I can assure you the campro engine is damn rough and joyless. Thats for sure. Not assumption.

• I can assure u campro cps is buttery smooth to reach up to speeds, and has plenty of torque at all ranges. Not assumption.

• p1 oh p1 on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:19 am

Hyundai have xBMW, Kia have xAudi, what proton have? How to compete?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • protonandcontilover on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:30 am

good to see asian brand at par with Germans. this will give good competition. Hyundai Tuscon in overseas comes with Dual Clutch and it will auto neutral during traffic light to protect its Gearbox from heating.

• the existing dual clutch is also supposed to be that way. it will release the clutch if you press the brake pedal. those who got trans overheating usually always creeping forward in slow traffic of there’s something wrong with their gb. my DCT is 2 1/2 years old now. never overheat even once. don’t drive DCT like normal auto.

• Hyundai dun have confidence in their new car, thats why need to camo test here, camo test there , camo test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars. Unlike P2 that dun need to test Bisa.

So better buy Bisa than this kimchi cuz P2 have full confidence and no need test, while Hyundai have no confidence thats why need to test test test.

• Andrekua on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:54 pm

LOL… just rebadge right? No need test because already proven. LOL…

• butohdriver on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:59 pm

no rv

give free also dont want

• that sound <3

• Nothing impressive about the sound lah.