‘Proton Ertiga’ CKD kits ready for export to Malaysia

Proton Ertiga facelift 01

Not long now before Proton unveils a new MPV. The model in question is based on the Suzuki Ertiga, as confirmed last month by Proton CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali, who added that the car will debut in October this year. “Proton Ertiga” test mules have been spotted roaming the country of late.

There’s progress, as Suzuki’s Indonesian arm that produces the Ertiga in Cikarang is now ready to fulfil Proton’s demand for the knocked down kits, and is just waiting for order confirmation from the Malaysian company. That is expected to happen next week, Suzuki Indomobil Sales (SIS) deputy MD Davy Jeffry Tuilan told KompasOtomotif on Tuesday.

SIS expects bookings of 1,500 units per month from Proton. The company exports the Ertiga as a CBU model to the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam to the tune of 800 to 1,000 units per month, but this is its first CKD export order.

SIS revealed in January that the Ertiga will be exported to Malaysia in knocked down form, from Q2 2016, at a rate of 1,500 units per month. Production of the kits will start from May, it was revealed then. Proton officially announced in January that the first Proton-Suzuki joint model will enter production before the end of 2016.

In existence since 2012, the Ertiga was given a minor facelift last year. The test mule in camo is wearing the pre-facelift bumper, which has a central rear fog lamp and a shapelier “diffuser” area. The 15-inch wheels, which are paired with GT Radial tyres, are from the facelifted car, though. We’ve not yet seen the front, so it’s not clear if the MPV has already undergone “Protonisation”.

The seven-seat Ertiga has a 2,740 mm wheelbase (Perodua Alza 2,750 mm, Proton Exora 2,730 mm) and is powered by a 1.4 litre engine with 92 PS and 130 Nm of torque. The K14B motor is paired to a five-speed manual and four-speed auto. An Ertiga Dreza variant with a unique face and more equipment is also available in Indonesia and Thailand. There’s a Mazda-badged Ertiga in Indonesia too, the VX-1.

Check out renderings of the “Proton Ertiga” as well as the original Suzuki MPV below.

GALLERY: Spyshots of Proton testing the Ertiga in M’sia

GALLERY: Proton-badged Suzuki Ertiga renderings

GALLERY: Suzuki Ertiga facelift at GIIAS 2015

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• OK, Proton made in Indonesia, sudah no pride la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
    • Encik Azman Adnan on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Brudder, ever heard of Perodua NAUTICA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • New Saga on Jul 22, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Pls be below 55k

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 23, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Pity Malaysians. Suzuki only give us their worst cars to rebadge. Why can’t Suzuki give us the Grand Vitara or the Kizashi? More stable and firm. they give us cheap caplang Ertiga.

Obvious, Proton is again selling out Malaysians and getting the worst engines from Japan. Like how Mitsubishi sold us outdated and fuel hungry engines for 25 years.

Don’t blame the Japs. Blame Proton for undermining the rakyat of Malaysia and giving us a compromise and palat Ertiga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
          • unclekok on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:44 pm

What is so good about your jepunis overlod engine? Any comparison?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • Kunta Kinte on Jul 24, 2016 at 1:19 pm

john you using now unclekok? How many dupes bro?

• We have confidence! That’s why we test here, test there, even test on Mars along with Matt Damon. We have confidence that Indons will buy our cars, even Indon Maids will adore our cars. We don’t want to just Jaguh Kampung, we want to Jaguh Dunia!

Buy Proton from me and i will jilat ur butt. I will even cop a badge on ur butt like how Proton rebadge cars in the world, from Mitsu to Honda, now to Suzuki. That’s how proud we are to be a national carmaker with ‘R&D’ rebadge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
        • notakata on Jul 23, 2016 at 10:16 am

No test like bezza = takata alike quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
        • Kunta Kinte on Jul 23, 2016 at 4:29 pm

We all know you like to jilat Jibs butt. Now you and Jib can jilat FBI butt.

• http://www.marutisuzuki.com/ertiga.aspx

realy hope tht proton bring those good spec ertiga to malaysia. seems like ertiga already have a broad range of specs that suits malaysian needs.. start stop system, keyless, brake regenaration, torque ssist are very tempting..

base ertiga already could be a good fight for alza and some other models, if plus some advance features and with a good price, this ertiga could be a winner

• forgot to mention.. the diesel engine please.. :D

• Operation Manager on Jul 23, 2016 at 8:51 am

No (turbo) booster-jet only NA engine for 3rd country as similar vios city almera polo vento for Asean…

• Dermawan on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Keep on wasting money for low volume car sales.

Nanti gagal minta lagi soft loan 1.5 billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • takberbaloi on Jul 23, 2016 at 10:13 am

Buying overpriced p2 cars oso wasting money. Engine 1300cc, pity.

VSC should be fitted in all variants, like Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Proton is a failure. The management is simply so bad and cannot make right decisions. I ask you a simple question, can 92ps power, carry 7 people?

No need rocket scientist to figure this out.

Simple logic. No need car analyst and car experts to study this. This alone will show you, this car is destined to fail. Don’t even talk about Genting, even in Bandar also, 92PS can hardly pull 4 adults. It will strain the engine so much that, fuel consumption will be super super super super high. And don’t forget, wear and tear on engine moving parts because engine struggles to pull a heavy body.

This is why Suzuki failed. Suzuki is a big failure in the car market. Infact, Suzuki is on its way to close shop globally also cause people have low or no regard for their cars. But the Japanese are clever, they found a scapegoat. They found Proton who will give them a bit more years to live.

So, what do you get when failure (Proton) marry a failure (Suzuki)? Do you think you will get success?

Suzuki is now very happy to use up Proton’s Rm1.5 billion loan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 36
    • MY pipu should buy this car. Tulen buatan Malaysia. Terimakasih Proton dan terimakasih BN kerana prihatin beri kereta quality Ertiga ini.

Jangan jadi macam Dear Leader, Albert, Samy, Kuntilanak yang suka persoal keprihatinan kerajaan!

BN is the best! Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
      • kunta pondan on Jul 23, 2016 at 10:22 am

Alza avanza also got similar weight and power, duh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Lan Jiao on Jul 23, 2016 at 3:08 pm

John?

Bapa terima Derma???? ok, Sudah lah… Sabar

Mak simpan since kecil lagi???? ok???!!!! Sabar…

Sekarang Anak terima Hadiah!!!!! Ada Betul kah???? Rakyat MY Tidak ada nasib macam tu??? terpaksa beli kereta affortable, then Lu kata cepat after life…. Apa lagi lu mahu????

• whywhywhy on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Why no VSC in cheaper variants? Oh wai. This is celup jepunis overlord car so cannot persoal

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:50 pm

So many fanboys here got faith in Proton like they had faith in their Jib. Now, FBI cari their Jib, all his fanboys now abandon ship and stop supporting him.

When this Ertiga bakar like Exora when naik Genting, Proton fanboys will abandon ship again.

Betul betul lalang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
      • Rizal on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:18 am

Eh every 6 month I drove my exora to Cameron Highland…no problem at all. Don’t be a basher. U don’t like proton or any national car, just get your dream car, its your money. Don’t condemn unless u had experienced it. You writings just shows that you are emotional.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • Albert on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:55 pm

KUNTA
      Proton rebadge….FAIL…FAIL….FAIL
      Perodua rebadge…SUCCESS…ALL THE WAY
      WHY? Any top Proton/DRB director can answer this simple question?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:11 pm

How can 92 PS and 130 Nm pull 7 people including the car weight?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
    • When did you test it? Should be ok, only slightly less compared to Alza and Alza had successfully transporting millions of Malaysian everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • not much difference from Alza

• Like how avanza did

• Alson P on Jul 23, 2016 at 12:10 am

Ertiga Underpowered like how avanza and alza did

• Ahem, remember the Avanza 1.3? The Avanza is heavier and has less power than the Ertiga.

• Indonesian guy on Jul 23, 2016 at 4:26 pm

In indonesia we have 989 cc Daihatsu Xenia which is 63 hp. It’s still reliable for 7 people, even though struggled on hills

• gotoschool on Jul 23, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Nissan Go 3 rows seater only 1.2l
      P1 basher tarak baca!

• john is otak batu on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Harga berapa ni?… kalo lebih 55k boleh simpan stok yard aje ! Tak payah susah tease ke atau spyshot lagi…. tengok lah Pondana skarang dah kena jawab nanti!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Hadi75 on Jul 23, 2016 at 7:13 am

Tak pasti samada kamu nie melawak atau serius tp yg pasti tak semua rakyat indonesia itu beragama islam

• Hadi75 on Jul 23, 2016 at 7:15 am

Lagi satu….kalo org tu makan daging khinzir pun takde kena mengena dgn kerja dia memasang kereta….

• Betul.. setuju harga tak lebih 55k.. nk lebih rare buh enjin 1.6iriz..

• Genit on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Proton, takda erti ka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • kcng (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Finally Alza killer is here…

RIP Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • Bashers says no need to test woh. Be like P2 and just let rakyat become lab rat for next few months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • thepolygonal on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Aii… I kesian… when Perodua come out with Bezza.. it’s praises all around but when Proton show this… aiii… look at the comments above… Proton, you really have to work on your PR.

• Proton will only be successful if they can gurantee a free towing and replacement car when under warranty. I m sure people will not hesitate to buy.

• They hire same lorrrr kunta and his dupes. Not talking about cars but badmouthing and slandering until 9000 comments, in every article in PT

• Jonn Dol on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Macamlah Perodua 100% Made in Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Sgt Scoop on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Any news on the Swift?

• Mohammad on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Desperate time comes desperate measures. Even for Proton to strip off its pride. Proton already shameful enuf with no pride to call the 8th generation Honda Accord as it’s new Perdana, a car Malaysians so proud of of its V6 engine 20 years ago. Proton might as well just sell itself to Suzuki or Honda, why need to rebadge something already out there? Might as well just sell Malaysians the ready made products? Why need to go through so much hassle to redesign a 7 years old model and call it your “own” model? Where is the Malaysian pride? Where is Proton pride? If you can’t make a decent and good car or your products fail to sustain your business because your car sucks then just shut it down. The Japanese people and the world laughs at you. Instead of creating your own cars you rebadge other manufacturers cars and call it your own model and brand. Lousy Proton! As always shame to whole of Malaysia!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • Hayenadeblue on Jul 22, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Alahai Malaysian. Sibuk ckp isu proton rebadge, perodua selama ni rebadge x kecoh ke? Peugeot, citroen, toyota rebadge x nk kecoh?

• Dominic on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:16 pm

This shud be a good fight with the Perodua Alza which is due for a replacement. But seriously 1.4L is too little for an MPV. With a turbo it’s OK. I’ll buy this Proton aka Suzuki MPV if it’s below RM60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • bukapintubayartol on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Alza in trouble? All boils down to the price…

• Alson P on Jul 23, 2016 at 12:16 am

Maybe yes, maybe not.. I think Avanza in trouble more, not alza..

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Oh no assembly, build quality and after sales by Proton!

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 6:02 pm

While Perodua just launched their Beza and announced that they are using 95% local content, Proton had to make do with importing from Indonesia
    What happen to Proton’s high tech manufacturing plant?
    What happen to Proton’s once proud of in house R&D design and testing capabilities?

IMHO thats the problem when they run business organisation like a charity organisation
    Thats the problem when they listen to the wrong people, by producing high specs high safety cars at a cheap price and yet nobody wants to buy because they spent all their resources on spec and safety while they skim on quality and after sales service/support

I still remember when I was young I overheard adults at the kopitiam sayings how much undertable money they had to pay to secure a Proton
    People are actually willing to pay more for a Proton back then
    I guess today the opposite is true, they need to pay people to buy their cars

So for now we are left with P2 that is being managed as a business entity while P1 is being managed as a charity organisation that needs to beg for donation to stay afloat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • Yoi know what is the problem? The problem is everything w proton is wrong and anything with produa is excellent… your brain is the problen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • wayang on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:06 am

Oh you have to resort to personal attacks and nothing else to counter ?

• Perodua gives you peace of mind. They make good and reliable and efficient and good nvh cars. Proton cars are shit that’s why everything about Proton is bad. Malaysians are tired of this Proton already and they have lost hope with its products that’s why they go for good and reliable quality rebadge Perodua Daihutsu models. They don’t care whether it’s rebadge or no safety as long as it gives them a peace of mind. You drive Perodua you have peace of mind for the next 7 years you buy Proton happy for the first 6 months and regret for the next 7 years. You see the picture??

• Jobless on Jul 22, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Another waste of time and money, while Produa runaway wit mass volume models, Prodon again choose to launch a model tat cannibalizes its own model lineup (Iriz=Saga Persona) and nw Ertiga=Exora, and low volume “prestige” Pondana…while totally neglecting its own Saga Petsona for so long…why the same management stil
    Around

• p1 oh p1 on Jul 22, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Why don’t proton focus on their exora? It’s time for replacement. Make it more affordable with more safety features and spec, sure will gain the market value again..

• Shashi on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Proton.. you no need plant in malaysia to produce car, open a show room and service room. Just signMou and paste the logo at the car then sell as Proton xxxx. It will save the cost. Shame on you. Everytime borrow other car maker car and rebatch.

• You are funny on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Mitsubishi, Honda, Suzuki, Citreon, Renault….. so many “husband”… Proton has so many kids with different father and names… There is not many iconic model for Proton… I think only left is Proton Saga.
    Where got such car maker that get married so many times having so many kids with different family name ????

• altimatess on Jul 22, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Dont understand the rationale or the strategy behind this.. havent they already invested lots of money to develop their own Exora MPV from scratch ? Then why need this ? Or unless they will stop selling Exora ? Or is selling Exora not profitable because higher production cost (exclusive proton parts)..
    Lot of questions.. just trying to understand.

• Firdaus on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:00 pm

Wow…not so long ago, tun drove the indon president jokowi around in a proton.instead of proton helping indo to build their national car, indo is helping malaysia’s natinal car to stay afloat.now who is eating who’s dedak…..

• rebadge king is back…:D

• KarmaComing 4 Proton on Jul 23, 2016 at 11:52 am

Proton is irrelevant today. And will be obselete in time.

Ppl buying and driving proton isnt becoz they want to. They simply had no choice.

• Sonic on Jul 23, 2016 at 8:40 pm

You must leave used cars. 60k civic fd, 90k camry 2013…and the list goes on

• pokmang on Jul 23, 2016 at 2:17 pm

instead of rebadging this bland suzuki ertiga, proton should rebadge the most awaited honda brv, shouldn’t be a problem coz they have done that to the 8th gen honda accord

• what they are thinking when rebadging this garbage? dekat kampung aku pon ada 6 bukit nak kena daki, tu tak msuk jln nk masuk umah tok aku, exora CFE pkcik aku pon mnjerit, klau ada sepupu aku beli memang aku tgelak sambil gosok dada.

• Tell that to avanza and alza owners. They have similar power too. CFE Exora can tarpau your crappy innova anytime. Naik bukit? Even CPS can do. You tarak baca ka?

• Ah Pek on Jul 23, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Just close shop lar…cant see any new perdana on road oso after launching…wasting time wasting money…already lost direction!!

• Greater on Jul 23, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Pity you stay at remote area

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • gundam mama on Jul 24, 2016 at 10:54 am

then you must be seeing Perdana everyday….becoz you are probably butthurt proton salesman….seeing your tak-laku perdana taking up spaces in your shoproom….

• part of the billion ringgit soft loan not creating jobs for malaysians, but indon.
    and can we stop calling it MPV?
    might aswell call it a mini MPV because that engine is seriously underpowered.

• Keep bashing p1 with your brainless minded,study first abt the specs of the segment competitors then you will know which one is the best,I think this ertiga can tapau all segment competitors only if the people put away the hate feelings towards p1

• camtakpro on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:19 am

Cold models, need to wait 3months+ for parts availability?

• Hi,want to know abt ertiga body kit, where and when can buy at malaysia