Suzuki S-Cross facelift launched in Italy with turbos

Nuova-S-Cross_8

Earlier this month, the facelifted Suzuki S-Cross made its debut in Hungary; now, the refreshed rugged hatch has been launched in Italy, and finally with official press photographs too.

This gives us a better look at the revised design – the front end now gets reshaped headlights (LED units optional), a hexagonal grille with vertical slats, a reprofiled bonnet with twin strakes and a more aggressive front bumper design. Elsewhere, there are new LED tail lights as well as new wheel designs, including a 17-inch two-tone option.

Far fewer changes can be found inside, with revisions limited to new seat upholstery options and a new seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system. Bigger news with the facelift concern what’s under the bonnet – the S-Cross gets a range of new turbocharged BoosterJet petrol engines (replacing the outgoing 117 PS/156 Nm 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated mill) and new transmission options.

Nuova-S-Cross_18

The 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine makes 112 PS at 5,500 rpm and 170 Nm from 2,000 to 3,500 rpm (160 Nm on automatic models), while the 1.4 litre four-pot mill produces 140 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm between 1,500 and 4,000 rpm. Transmission options include a five-speed manual for the 1.0 litre engine, a six-speed manual for the 1.4 litre and a six-speed automatic for both engines.

Meanwhile, the 1.6 litre four-pot turbodiesel has been unchanged and churns 120 PS at 3,750 rpm and 320 Nm at 1,750 rpm, mated to either a six-speed manual or a six-speed dual-clutch transmission. Aside from the standard front-wheel drive, buyers can also opt for the AllGrip four-wheel drive system, as before.

Nuova-S-Cross_77

The S-Cross will be offered in Easy, Cool and Top variants in Italy – the base model comes with 16-inch wheels, automatic engine start/stop, Bluetooth, seven airbags and hill-hold control. Moving up, Cool adds 17-inch wheels, LED headlights, touchscreen infotainment, a reverse camera, telescopic steering adjustment, keyless entry, push button start and dual-zone climate control.

Sitting at the top of the range, the Top model gains front and rear parking sensors, two-tone alloy wheels, Radar Brake Support and Adaptive Cruise Control; the latter two are new additions to the S-Cross.

The pre-facelift Suzuki S-Cross was briefly sold in Malaysia before Suzuki pulled out of the local market following a joint venture with Proton – it was priced at RM129,888 on-the-road without insurance.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Anonymous on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Wishful thnkin here… but I would definitely seriously consider a P1 rebadged S-Cross… :P

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 23, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Maaysians can dream to get this car as a rebadged Proton. The Japanese, no matter how financially striken they are, will only give us outdated technology and old engines.

For 25 years, Mitsubishi sold us their most outdated and oil hungry engines that were unwanted by them. Poor Proton, being stupid, took them from Mitsubishi.

The Japanese are clever. Suzuki also, will give you their caplang Ertiga. Do you think they will allow Proton to rebadge their D segment Suzuki Kizashi? or even this SX4?

They will never ever give their new tech to us. All the more now when the FBI is after Malaysia and we are on the wanted list. Suzuki will not want to risk their US goodname to give Malaysia any latest engines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • karam singh on Jul 24, 2016 at 2:37 pm

I thinks its not about that, its more about cutting their deal & sell their technology.
        Money gonna matter in this situation.
        Maybe if Proton putting big shares in Suzuki,
        their technology can be ours.
        Getting this undersized yet efficient turbo engine , easily kill other competitor with NA engine that still in the market today.
        Of course other things gonna matter, but the heart of the car gonna matter the most.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 23, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Pity Malaysians. Suzuki only give us their worst cars to rebadge. Why can’t Suzuki give us the Grand Vitara or the Kizashi? More stable and firm. they give us cheap caplang Ertiga.

Obvious, Proton is again selling out Malaysians and getting the worst engines from Japan. Like how Mitsubishi sold us outdated and fuel hungry engines for 25 years.

Don’t blame the Japs. Blame Proton for undermining the rakyat of Malaysia and giving us a compromise and palat Ertiga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • ‘Why can’t Suzuki give us the Grand Vitara or the Kizashi?’

They can, but they won’t. Ever worked with a japanese company? ;)

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Wow.. cantiknya Perodua Bezza ni.
    Dah launched sampai Italy. proud to be Malaysian.
    Harga pun berpatutan. Berkualiti tinggi.
    Tahniah En. Masanori Toshiro kerana berjaya membuktikan kemampuan anak tempatan.
    Tahniah En. Albert Ngu juga kerana berjaya membuktikan kemampuan menjadi jurucakap.
    Kepada Proton, apa pun hangpa tak boleh buat.
    Lain kali, ikutla kata pujangga mat salleh.. think outside the frog!
    (esaelp msacras eht daer)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Jkars on Jul 23, 2016 at 10:41 am

Sarcasm is strong here

• WOI! Brani ko persoal hangpa punye jepunis overlords! Nanti saya suroh Albert datang potong kepla lu! Upah dia Rm10 untok kautim kerana kasihan sama dia. Hari-hari maken maggi takde jual toyota dia.

• Bring this in Proton!

• Proton should rebadge this as their suv..

• Mohammad on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Price from RM75k in most of the countries but once arrived at Malaysia soil the price suddenly increased by another RM60k. You have to thank the man who created Proton who started all this crap!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • In thai imported cars oso expensive so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Why do you want to compare with countries like Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia or Bangladesh?? Shouldn’t we compare ourselves to countries like Australia, New Zealand, Taiwan, Korea or Europe? No wonder you still drives a 15 years old Potong Saga.

• Dear Albert. U forgot to change from ur RBA john dupe when u copy pasta. Pls take note.

• Since when bolehland is on par with developed countries? This is year 2016 not 2020

• good spec to compete in suv segment. proton could bring this back to malaysian market and put a better price tag.

Im sure it wil sell even though the price is over 100K with proton’s badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Proton, this should be on top of your priority list after the Ertiga. Retain the Suzuki turbo engines until your own turbo engines are ready. Keep the pricing below 80k for top spec and you have a winner. And, please don’t spend too much time on the cosmetics like you did on the Perdana!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • What makes you think that Suzuki will supply Proton with their newest engines? ;)

• Every1canTalk on Jul 23, 2016 at 7:01 am

This car in bolehland already enter middle suv price range and even expensive than its own grand vitara, how to sell well? Now join venture with potong make it worst!

• Topkek on Jul 23, 2016 at 10:46 am

P2 game changer from affordable to overpriced local car you tak bash pulak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Dun persoal jepunis overlords cuz they think MY poor pipu lives dun matter

• Is it me or is Suzuki design team are managed by 2nd or 3rd rate designers, or penny -pinching by parent Toyota, cause the front of the car looks hideous…Sorry to say, but Japanese car manufacturers are not placing importance of adopting new technologies into their bread and butter models, in their new launches…. they are more interested in raking in insane profits, flogging the outdated engine& transmission design, but wax lyrics about paint schemes, interior trims and infotainment units. Till today, I do not see KERs system, or even initiative by a major japanese/ korean manufacturer in adopting mild hybrid system in the Petrol cars, i.e. by hooking up motor behind a vehicle back axle, and battery pack and control system, being interfaced to a front mounted engine and transmission combo, which will be perfect for a front wheel drive car. Currently, like prius/camry hybrid, they install the hybrid system with the power plant & transmission at the front, and battery packs at the back, causing the car’s weight distribution to be uneven and extra heavy….It really riles me up that technical advancement for vehicle propulsion system are progressing well, especially advancement in Hybrid technology, economies of scale are there, with Korea, Japan and China are countries with sizeable manufacturing capabilities and technical know-how to mass produce Hybrid/electric propulsion component, and yet auto manufacturers are still only interested in flogging outdated crap to the general public……sicken me to the core…!!!

• How dare u persoal our toyota/P2 jepunis overlords!!! Albert! Mari sini potong kepla dia! Baru ada up sikit talibarut mu!

• p1 oh p1 on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:18 am

Proton, if you bring in this one, please don’t repeat what u did on Perdana. I didn’t see it at all but already see few the new civic o. The road where both launch at similar time. Just bring this in, change the “s” logo and start selling… And sell it below 100k, you will sell it like hot cakes..

• donno on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:52 am

What happened to the beautiful suzuki design language? Why is this looks like a half-hearted attempt to copy a bmw suv??

• Why Suzuki and Subaru’s designs like all stuck in the 90’s? So damn forgetable

• kapchai on Jul 24, 2016 at 9:13 am

Is it made in India?