Takata airbags: all current US-market Ferraris recalled

Ferrari-GTC4Lusso-Japan-premiere-55_BM

The US Senate has released a report that all of Ferrari’s current model line-up in the United States are fitted with potentially faulty Takata airbags. Prior to this, the Italian marque faced an airbag recall for its cars in Australia.

The US models affected include the California T, GTC4 Lusso, 488 GTB, 488 Spider, F12 Berlinetta, and F12 TdF. The just-discontinued FF four-seater which was succeeded by the GTC4 Lusso is also included in this recall.

Ferrari has been subject to a wide-ranging recall before, also for airbags; 2,600 units were recalled globally for improper assembly of the driver’s side airbag. In a brief departure from airbag issues, the LaFerrari hypercar was also recalled, albeit for seat and TPMS matters. Locally, 50 Malaysian Ferraris have been recalled, which include the 458 Italia, California and FF.

Meanwhile, Mercedes-Benz vehicles involved in this episode include the E-Class coupe and convertible, and the Sprinter van. The Senate report also stated that both Ferrari and Daimler have plans to inform dealers and owners of impending recall activity. According to Automotive News, out of the 17 auto manufacturers Senator Nelson has contacted, seven have admitted to selling new vehicles equipped with defective airbags from Takata.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Albert says dun persoal his jepunis overlords if we value our kepla. We just shaddup and buy their moving deathtraps cuz MY pipu lives dun matter to them, especially the poor.

• old horse on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:55 pm

pity those AP Ferarri owners! LOL..

• Wonder what went wrong at Takata. They had the world market in their palms and now they’ve screwed up big time. How hard can it be for an established Japanese company to test these airbags before putting them into production? What happened to their stringent QC? To their vaunted work-culture and pride-in-product thing? Mind-blowing.

• Cuz got pipu just like Albert who dun persoal jepunis overlords?

• Taktakut on Jul 25, 2016 at 11:20 am

It is quite surprising that an exclusive manufacturer and car would use Japanese airbags. I would have thought they would use airbags from Autoliv of Sweden which is nearer to them. Is it due to ‘cost cutting’ that they adopted Takata airbags?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:16 pm

hello john, in Driven Bezza article, you got 640 disikes in your comment. That is a record bro.

I have been following Pt for 7 yrs now, never seen 640 dislikes before