VIDEO: Perodua Bezza interview with chief engineer Albert Ngu – bigger battery for start/stop

The Perodua Bezza – which was officially launched yesterday – comes with plenty of firsts for Perodua. It is the first in-house-designed car, the first with a new range of VVT-i and Dual VVT-i engines, the first with an automatic engine start/stop system and the first with Vehicle Stability Control (VSC).

As it is such uncharted territory for Perodua, there are bound to be questions regarding the new car and the technologies inside, so we spoke to executive chief engineer Albert Ngu to answer those enquiries.

Built on the same platform as the Axia, the Bezza nevertheless has seen several changes underneath to account for the extra boot and larger engine. For one, the engine compartment has been redesigned to accommodate the new 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine on the Premium X and Advance, as the Axia is only available with a 1.0 litre mill. The suspension system has also been revised to suit the change in bodystyle.

Perodua has also worked on reducing the Bezza’s weight – at 865 kg, the base 1.3 Standard G manual is just 45 kg heavier than the base Axia 1.0 Standard E manual, and that’s with a larger body and a much more comprehensive level of kit. The company has managed to do so through the use of high-tensile steel in the construction, which also contributes to a higher level of crash safety.

Next, we asked Ngu about the Eco Idle start/stop and regenerative braking systems that make their debut on the Advance variant. A lot of you have fielded questions regarding these features, including their suitability for the Malaysian market and concerns of reliability and maintenance costs.

Ngu said that the battery, starter motor and the new linear control alternator used for these features are just as durable as conventional components, and the regenerative braking feature keeps the battery at full charge, so the latter should last just as long with the system as without. Do note, however, that the battery capacity is larger, thus making it more expensive to replace.

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Ext-25

Another concern regarding the start/stop system – particularly in our tropical climate – is the compressor for the air-conditioning system. On a conventional system, the compressor turns itself off the whole time the engine is off, for several seconds or even a few minutes. In a traffic jam on a hot afternoon, this makes the interior of the car feel warm, stuffy and therefore uncomfortable.

On the Bezza, the interior is fitted with a temperature sensor to monitor cabin heat, and will automatically restart the engine if it gets too warm. Ngu said that the feature is unique to Malaysia, to suit the needs of the typical Malaysian customer. Another feature that is unique to the Advance model is stability control, which Ngu said will be introduced in all of Perodua’s future models.

Regarding the new engines, the 1KR-DE 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine is based on the one in the Axia, but now gains VVT-i variable valve timing. Ngu said that the smaller engine will not be underpowered despite the bigger body and luggage capacity because the addition brings improved power and torque – outputs are now up 1 hp and 1 Nm to 67 hp and 91 Nm of torque.

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Int-8

Meanwhile, the 94 hp/121 Nm 1NR-VE 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine is completely different from the K3-VE DVVT engine in the Myvi, with a lightweight aluminium block and improved torque, fuel consumption and refinement.

Ngu said that both new engines will not be any more expensive to maintain – in fact, they have longer service intervals, so maintenance is less frequent. Refinement issues have also been tackled though a more rigid body, increased sound insulation and improved aerodynamics.

So there you go – a look into the new additions and technologies on board the new Perodua Bezza sedan. Want to know how it all comes together on the road? Read our review here.

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.3 Advance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hi Jonathan – does the 1.3L engine churn out 91 hp or 94 hp? It said 94 in the test drive article.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:31 pm

It’s 94 hp, thanks for the spot.

• Albert on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Hafriz,fellow Victorian
        You said Bezza is gamechanger.
        You are absolutely 5000 percent correct.
        Proton tried Preve,Suprima,Iriz as gamechangers…all FAILED miserably.
        IN 5 days,sales shot up to 4000 units for Bezza alone.So this month,P2 easily can sell 20,000 units all in.This is 4 times the monthly sales of P1.
        In 3 months,P2 can overtake 1 whole year of Proton sales.
        Therefore,this gamechanger will push proton into the abyss…….SAYORNARA PROTON.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 10
        • Based on your calculation. 13m Iphones 6s were sold in first week, until today we will have seen 6s on everyone’s hand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
          • George Abdul on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:13 pm

As say why P2 achieve higher market in Malaysia, 1 mentality P1 end in failure Iriz and latest Perdana…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Perodua employ based on merit and qualification. Proton employ based on quota.

See for yourself how Proton is doing compared to Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • camtakpro on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Coupled with the Proton’s England like “onz”, it is highly possible that they meant “game over” instead of “game changer” – misspelling “ov” as “chang”.

• you think, which cars potential its mostly come? those who eye on myvi and axia… in the end… the sell of bezza will peak by destroying its sisters..

• Are u Albert Ngu?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Why Proton is a failure and Perodua can do so well? The answer is simple. They employ across the board irrespective of race, colour or religion. Simple answer. Concise and precise.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 26
      • Albert on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Irrespective of race ,color ,religion….still highly debatable in Bolehland.
        However,THE WORK CULTURE like Tun said of Perodua is HIGHLY JAPANESE IN PROFESSIONALISM.
        Those boys at P2 has DIGNITY.
        P 1 WORKERS has depleted morale and NO MORE DIGNITY.
        PERODUA give car buyers the COMPLETE PACKAGE.
        P1 excel in the NON ESSENTIALS like rebates,carnivals,sportivos etc.
        P1 will need another cash injection very soon.By the

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
        • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 6:00 pm

the work culture in Proton is like MAS. They believe in sleeping during work hours. Like MAS, the staff is overbloated. 10 people do 1 persons work. So, they got lots of free time to sleep.

This is why Perkasa and MAS Union said, it is our culture to sleep during office hours.

Yes, sleep somemore, until your company goes bust and you got ZERO sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
          • George Abdul on Jul 22, 2016 at 10:19 pm

P1 ego mentality vs P2 accept healthy competitors mentality… P1 going to future? Or backward?

• Albert on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Irrespective of race ,color ,religion….still highly debatable in Bolehland.
        However,THE WORK CULTURE like Tun said of Perodua is HIGHLY JAPANESE IN PROFESSIONALISM.
        Those boys at P2 has DIGNITY.
        P 1 WORKERS has depleted morale and NO MORE DIGNITY.
        PERODUA give car buyers the COMPLETE PACKAGE.
        P1 excel in the NON ESSENTIALS like rebates,carnivals,sportivos etc.
        P1 will need another cash injection very soon.By the time Saga,persona facelifts arrive….people have already taken delivery of the bezzas.

• 1JutaBezza on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:43 pm

To my dearest Perodua:

Firstly, a big tahniah congrats for your big orders on Bezza. Its just a small tide from the biggest automotive Tsunami ever recorded on Malaysian history soon. Just behold!!

Now I know Perodua engineers are real actual engineers. No wonder the parts are proven quality and simply reliable built to last.

They are very humble and highly competent unlike the other failed brand that prefer to brag dreaming nonsense even before the product finish developing.

Kudos to Perodua and surely will re-affirm rakyat confidence on your product. This year easily can achieve 213,000 sales target and by next year onwards undeniably surpass the 300,000 mark which means Bezza may hit 1 million units sold faster than Myvi less than a decade! Such an unstoppable wave of automotive Tsunami by Perodua!!!

Bravo in advance to you Perodua, bravo!!!

#1JutaBezza

#KipidapPerodua

#DongidapPerodua

#YukenduitPerodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:48 pm

This chief engineer speaks so well as compared to Proton’s chief engineer. I think Proton chief engineer upstairs kosong!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 13
      • Talking crap… ah pek slang! Wakakaka with only 1hp differ from axia’s engine…still can consider wont be underpower? Sound alike low yatt hp seller!!!

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Why Proton is a failure and Perodua can do so well? The answer is simple. They employ across the board irrespective of race, colour or religion. Simple answer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
    • lilytan on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:05 pm

This budget entry level sedan uses aluminium engine block for weight saving, something that proton refuse to use (Even for their upcoming DI engine) because of cost. Very ironic indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Congrats to the engineers.You can see the amount of effort put in to design this car. Well, this is the kind of result you get when you are not bound to comply to any bumiputra quota in hiring personel for your company!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 46
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Best ever comment I have ever seen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 14
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:55 pm

best ever comment I have seen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 14
      • yourpost on Jul 22, 2016 at 6:14 pm

all your comments sound racist. How do you know because of this proton a failure? Butthurt bro? I dont think because of the engineer. Its the policy of cronyism in supplier etc giving low quality parts. Some more the main of a car is efficient engine. The engine is design by Daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 26
        • mypost on Jul 23, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Why cronies only give low quality parts to Proton?
          Bcoz Proton is also a crony?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 24, 2016 at 1:17 pm

the truth hurts, I know. Facts are facts.

• Lots of marketing tactics to promote this car.all these techs r normal for modern day technologies..gay type tactics n even chief designer face like v lazy n not presentable .
    Enuf already all these promotions.nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 44
    • wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:37 pm

I hope you can show them how its being done the way it should be?
      You know we have a generation of people who complains only but cant produce or lived up to their claims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Engineer is supposed to do the work. You don’t hire model to be engineer. You are with Proton too long already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • No need to defend n pass remarks nonsense check German engineers how presentable they r.they also engineers n not models

• Damansara on Jul 23, 2016 at 12:41 am

All are better than Proton

• Ukurlah badan sendiri. Sikit sikit nak compare german. Your proton has been associating themself with german since savvy, where are the right now? At least this p2 engineer is making something that sells, an asset to p2. You? Liability to p1.

• Low Budget on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:37 pm

There is nothing wrong with Marketing B.S. really, every company does it but some companies just B.S. too much and burnt the consumers kau-kau, and for this reason the consumers won’t purchase their products for long long time to come.

• Are u saying our ‘BMW of Asia’ is BS? How dare u persoal the bumi overlords!

• Sharfox on Jul 24, 2016 at 7:42 pm

What’s wrong bro? Nak komen2 about the technology, about the reliability, about the strategy then go ahead. Apa ke sial main bumi tak bumi pulak?

• camtakpro on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:52 pm

So normal until Proton has none. Proton must be sub-normal.

• citizen on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:23 pm

I am impressed with P2. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • William on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Increased sound insulation? Perodua has been skimping on sound insulation lately. My Axia is one of the most noisiest new car that I have been in. Don’t say you need to buy gearup insulation kits to get it sound insulated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • kcng (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Yea its true, even my 10 years Satria Neo silent than their top end Mawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • camtakpro on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:28 am

Proton has the upper hand on being silent because anyone in Proton can just be drowned by the sound of Campro, muting other sound sources.

• wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Any one notice his body movement is like robot?
    LoL
    Abit like Asimo

• Ben Yap on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:42 pm

perodua likes to plonk in small engine capacity into their cars. that’s a big turn off especially when they aren’t turbocharged. all cars provided by perodua are underpowered and it is as good as junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • wayang on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Perodua excels at small cars with small engine capacity, that is their business model and strength
      If you want small cars with a decent displacement and turbocharged there’s always cars like Mini Cooper, AMG A class, and etc

If you dont like oranges doesnt mean oranges are junk
      Im not Perodua’s target market either, but that doesnt mean I have to shit on their products and undermine their effort at producing what their target market wants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:41 pm

All new cars on the roads irrespective of manufacturers are not junk, even Proton do not deserved to be called junk despite their less than desired quality.

• I agree, Perodua should give the option of the 2.0l turbocharge engine in the A45 AMG so that simpletons who categorise an A-segment economy car, an underpowered junk can buy that and understeer it into the nearest ditch, natural selection at its finest.

• Buy Bisa! Buy Bisa! Buy from P2! Mari! Mari! Mari! U see! U see! Pipu have confidence in us becoz we have so much confidence in this car that we dun need to test on the road b4 we sell. Our P2 even better than Mesidis, BMW, Hyundai, Honda, and some say Rolls Royce too, cuz all of them no confidence in their new car thats why need to camo test kau kau. We have so much confidence in our jepunis overlords, thats why dun need to test kau like them.

U see us so confident, straight from prototype to showroom. Kalahkan even our big brother toyota. Right now my bos got transfer applications by toyota salesmen Albert and Sammy. U see how confident toyota salesman on our untested car. They willing to ditch their godcar for our untested car.

So I say again, have confidence. Buy Bisa from me and I will intro u my fren from Nirvana. We will gip u best package. Early afterlife adopters will get early bird package, special from me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Proton is a failure cause they employ people like john. Talk rots and about his bisa all the time. Then, he sleeps during office hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Proton is a failure cause they employ people like john. Talk rots and about his bisa all the time. Then, he sleeps during office hours. How to d

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • kcng (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Failure like your mother which give birth to you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • My bos showed me urs and sammy’s application and ask me for my opinion to hire u guys or not, cuz he wanna put u 2 under me.

i told him, “Why wud i need 2 lazybums that only know how to friendly fire own team?”

So he says, “gud answer!”

Sori for being honest with my bos ya. Looks like u will have to continue surviving on maggi for another month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • These technologies were in many cars for the past many years already in Malaysia.
    What kind of marketing gimmick is these?
    Malaysians not that stupid Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • Steamafication on Jul 23, 2016 at 5:20 am

Quite the contrary, Malaysians ARE STUPID, just read the comments here or in Facebook.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:58 pm

The start stop feature only makes sense if the Aircon continue to run. In Malaysia, even at night, the engine heat will warm up the cabin very fast to require the compressor to be turned on. So I foresee this feature won’t reduce petrol consumption much. The savings in fc will have to come from the engine running efficiency itself.

• This will not be possible until they invent electric compressor like the electric steering pump.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:20 pm

run down window before reach red light

• Cannot simply change normal battery.

• ah ons on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:47 pm

I like how the other guy just keeps nodding his head. Should’ve given him a chance to speak :D

• UMW TOYOTA on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:19 pm

catched fish…up down up down up down…his salary is rm920..so cannot talk so much..still hvt pass 3months trial

• BeFaire on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:48 pm

I can’t help but noticed the side mirror adjust button looks exactly the same as 15 years old Kelisa. It looks so… odd, and out of place in Bezza. The colour is also different from the rest of buttons and dashboard.

• Bernard on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Only in Msia can we have such a simple basic car with a 2 digit hp and torque, getting so much publicity ……….
    Also, its not exactly cheap for Msians to be heaping praises on it.

In Italy, only a car like Ferrari will garner such publicity.

In UK, you can get a brand new BMW for 20,000 pounds. Mind you, their monthly salary is on average 3,000 pounds. Meaning they can buy it cash!

Therefore, I don’t know whether to be happy or sad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Kotembad on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Just returned from test driving the Bezza (1.3 Advance). My advice is: only get it if you NEVER LIKED DRIVING. The steering feel (or lack thereof) is horrible, it’s as if the car is raised on a lift with tyres not touching the ground.

Otherwise, performance is decent (for a 1.3) and ride is quite comfortable. Its equipment and safety features are what surprised me, it has almost everything. Congrats to Perodua in that department.

• kcng (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Truths Hurt but blind fanboys doesn’t care

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Steamafication on Jul 23, 2016 at 5:23 am

You don’t buy a Perodua for the diving feels, you buy it coz it’s cheap and it’s the default choice without much thinking. Driving enthusiasts know better than to buy a Perodua.

• Kotembad on Jul 23, 2016 at 10:48 am

What if I tell you that Axia (or even Myvi) handles a lot better than Bezza? Your argument is invalid.

• Pass by Guest on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:09 pm

About the advanced type’s battery, we cannot change to the normal battery right? Because advanced type got the feature ECO idel. Must use the battery have the start and stop type one, right? Normally how much is it?

• UMW TOYOTA on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:18 pm

that battery just like normal NS40..mayb u can upgrade to NS60

• justwalkingby on Jul 24, 2016 at 11:10 pm

The one on the advance model has bigger capacity than NS60. It’ slightly different than the normal lead acid battery. Google daihatsu m-42. It charges faster than the conventional ones as well.

• Jobenjo on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:05 am

My simple information googling (and definitely I might be wrong) suggest normally, for “start-stop” engine car, Manufacturers would opt for AGM-type battery. It charged up faster, and discharge deeply will lesser damage..
          The downside… It may cost twice as expensive as the normal battery.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:12 pm

They probably just fitted a larger battery in it, that can keep higher capacity and thus start the car more often before it is flat and needs to be recharged. It will cost more, obviously… think batteries taken from bigger cars.

On a positive note, a battery that is stressed less (should you chose to not use the eco idle feature), and never fully discharged, will last longer.

• Goh Bian Chiat on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Perodua produce car that people need.
    Proton built car that people want.
    One is necessities, another one is just, optional.

If you look at the safety feature, handling and performance of Suprima and Preve, it is not hard to see that proton is trying quite hard to do good to their user.
    THe only thing that move us away from Proton is simply the appalling QC and its ties to politician.

Perodua, in the other hand, make car that people need. Even i felt the urge to change my car when this car was initially announced in this website.
    The car may not be fun to drive, but certainty it is practical, efficient and durable (based on my understanding of perodua}, which are always more important than performance or handling.
    By the way, handling in Bezzan can be reinforced by installing strut bar around the chassis too.
    So here go the sales of proton and up the sales of perodua

• yourpost on Jul 22, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Best comment this month. agree with you points. Just test drive the bezza. The handling is very bad. But nowadays people want fuel saving car and cheap to maintained meaning no quality issue. Proton on the other hand…

• Kotembad on Jul 22, 2016 at 10:09 pm

Strut bars won’t improve anything. The whole steering rack needs to be reengineered. Heck, Bezza’s steering won’t even return to center by itself after making a turn; you have to center it yourself.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Perodua also has ties to politicians… and the QC… I wonder how much of that is real, and how much of it is people projecting problems with past cars onto current models.

As for durable… there isn’t much that can go wrong in the Bezza, I guess, but the talks that they just did all testing internally is scary. Do you think brands like Mercedes, BMW, Toyota etc. don’t have their own test track? Yet they go all around the world to test the cars in real life too. Do you think the Perodua test track is so much better than that of large global brands, so they don’t have to do testing outside?

Customers will be the testers, luckily since it is based on the Axia that had customers beta test it already it shouldn’t be too bad. Hopefully.

• Steamafication on Jul 23, 2016 at 5:25 am

Proton and Perodua working together, now that’s a marriage I want to see.

• Steering wheel too low and is non adjustable. Is it too expensive to include it?

• Jepunis overlords says shaddup and buy them deathtraps, jangan persoal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Ollie on Jul 22, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Well at least he admitted myvi engine is a very old engine. Can slap the myvi boyswith that

• UMW TOYOTA on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:17 pm

i saw one people like catched fish…keep move his head up down up down up down…
    izzit toyota better than perodua..up down
    izzit vios better RV than beza…up down
    izzit TRD better than gear up..up down
    conclusion vios better..you agree or not..up down up down

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Not sure what is so special about the engine starting itself when it gets too warm. Are they sure other models with start stop don’t have it? Cause my Golf does, and while it is not a Malaysian unit, the Golf in Malaysia also has Bluemotion Technology and as such start stop system (just like mine).

Obviously, different price class, but Perodua talks about it being something unique in Malaysia… and that it isn’t. Unless they talk about non-climate control cars… because probably all cars equipped with start stop automatic also come with climate control.

It would be better if the aircon is electrically driven, though I can understand why they didn’t do it. Such systems require even bigger batteries, but it is the only way for a start stop system to actually work properly in Malaysia, given the temperatures. What good is it, if the engine can stop for 30 seconds or a minute?

@Paultan: Please test how long the engine will stay off when the car is still hot inside, and when the temperature inside the car is pleasant.

• hiroshima68 on Jul 23, 2016 at 4:01 pm

The start stop system will turn off (even switch is turned on & gear lever on D) by default if the temperature sensor detect that the interior is getting bit warmer (less cold actually). Which makes it feel quite useless in standstill traffic jams on a hot day. In moderate traffic, it works like a breeze. U can hardly notice any vibration on the steering durine engine shutdown & restart. The starter sound is also quite reasonable, even queiter than Saga’s starter sound.

I’ve briefly tested it just now, even the SA doesnt know much about the system.

• Ahmad on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:18 pm

Jon, when can u guys Test Drive on open roads? Cant wait for an indepth review. Last review was bit brief & less critical.

• Service Interval on Jul 23, 2016 at 9:00 am

The chief engineer talked about longer SERVICE INTERVAL.

Can any of you guys at PAULTAN confirm this? Or the guy just talking out of his arse?

• littlefire on Jul 23, 2016 at 11:26 am

Using Fully syn 0W-20, you will only need to maintain every 10,000km for 6 months whatever come first.. Compare to previous 5W-30 or 10W-30 which need to maintain every 5000km or 3 months..

For 0W-20 oil is for sure expensive, but due to longer internal you save money in long run in term of fuel efficient, time and workmanship spend in service center.

• Spade on Jul 23, 2016 at 5:53 pm

10,000km service interval has been the practice for YEARS.

How about Bezza? Is it 15,000km or what?

• Jobenjo on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:58 am

Yup. If you have myvi, check the user manual. Indeed Perodua recommends 10k KM service interval for myvi.

I wonder when he said longer service interval, how long is he referring to.

• Jay Kay on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:51 am

I want to know this too.

• labix7 on Jul 23, 2016 at 12:34 pm

bezza got EEV status bcoz the is is lighter body weight .. not bcoz the engine can give better fc … tin milo is better la

• The fuel-saving techs normally found in higher priced cars in this little package is really an inspired decision by Perodua engineering dept. Nice job guys.

• kunta kinte is a bigot..confirmed, absolutely narrow minded and one sided..he should go back to ….

• Talking crap… battery is much more pricier than normal(bigger capacity). Same goes with the alternator which will cost a bomb to replace it. Start/stop function with interior temp sensor? If temp increase the engine will start! So… its useless!!! Longer service interval with thinner fully syn engine oil… the eo cost nearly RM200 per bottle. Hahaha… ah pek built car

• Jobenjo on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:09 am

Save this article… If indeed you buy Bezza, next time if you need to change these components, you show this article to them. Told them straight to their face “there you go.. You said only 10-15% more expensive”

• Joking on Jul 24, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Kafir niiiii mana bolehhhh

• Jobenjo on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:23 am

Dear Paultan.

The Advance variance is equipped with Eco Idle, which practically would cause the engine to shut and start at least 100% to 200% more as compared to other variance, like Premium for instance (start engine at the beginning of driving, and shut it off when you reach the destination).

Arguebly, it is well understood that engine start is one of the major contributor to engine internal parts wear and tear because absence of oil film during the parts movement.

Being the Advance variance utilize the same engine as Premium (NR-VE), does it means that (given other damaging variables were to be kept the same), the engine in Advance version would wear faster, as compared to Premium?

Does Perodua provide some mitigation to this in the Advance variance engine (hardened bearing surface, piston and any other wearing surface)?