No plans to scrap VEP – system still being trialled

johor causeway jam bernama pix

The government says it has no plans to scrap the implementation of the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) for foreign vehicles. Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said the system is still undergoing trials and it will be implemented once the system is ready to go, Bernama reports.

“It will take time to implement this as we want to ensure there will be no hiccups when we start it. If now, the trial only runs for 12 hours, we want to run it for 24 hours for at least another one or two months,” he explained. Liow said this in response when asked if the VEP was likely be scrapped after the system had faced glitches and missed several implementation dates.

“Don’t listen to rumours. The government will implement (VEP). Not only in Singapore but (our borders) in Thailand, Kalimantan and Brunei. We are not discriminating, all borders will have VEP. We will start with Singapore first and then move to others,” he told reporters.

The VEP was supposed to have begun operating in June. On June 1, it was announced that the system had begun operating on a trial basis until July 15. Collection of the RM20 VEP charge for foreign vehicles entering Johor was supposed to have begun on July 16, but it was postponed for the fourth time.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gomorrah on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:55 pm

This one all very cekap. PRC Navy occupying our territorial waters what do they do? Sell them the Kuantan and Malacca ports. You care so much about our borders why not actually protect them instead of playing chicken with Singapore for so long. Useless.

• Coolguru on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:53 pm

The best part having just tested the PEOPLE, I asked at the Malaysia checkpoint what do I need to do after registering online. The very standard and absolutely laughable reply on my face was that, “tak tau la. You pergi JPJ sendiri check”… Welcome to Malaysia my friends…

• Southern masterrace overlords r displeased. RELEASE THE OPPOLITIKUSES! ARRGH!

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:01 am

Malaysia dare not piss Singapore. Singapore is covering up for Jib in return for clean water. They got so much to put Jib away.