Perodua maintains 216,000-unit sales target for 2016; 97,400 vehicles sold in first six months of the year

Perodua 1H2016 26

Perodua has managed to sell 97,400 vehicles in the first six months of 2016, the national carmaker announced during its 1H2016 review today. Additionally, the company remains cautiously optimistic in maintaining its sales target of 216,000 units for the year.

It aims to achieve the figure by increasing its sales estimates to 118,600 units in the second half of 2016, in spite of the reduced total industry volume (TIV) projected by the Malaysia Automotive Association (MAA). The association reduced its estimated TIV from 650,000 to 580,000 vehicles due to less encouraging conditions.

The Perodua Bezza is expected to help the carmaker in pursuit of this target, which has since notched up 10,115 bookings as of the morning of July 26, with 500 deliveries made since the model made its launch debut on July 21. As for its other models, Perodua managed to sell 28,100 units of the Myvi, 51,100 units of the Axia and 18,150 units of the Alza in the fist half of 2016.

In other areas of the company, its after sales division saw one million vehicles visiting its 186 service centres nationwide, which is an increase of 5% from 965,000 vehicles in the same period last year.

It’s all green in terms of intake revenue as well, with RM330 million being recorded in the first half of 2016, up 13% from RM292 million in the same period last year. Similarly, parts sales (including accessories) in the same period increased by 5% to RM126 million (2016) from RM120 million (2015).

However, the company saw a 14% reduction in production from 116,400 units in 2015 to 100,300 units in 2016 following the same period. “Despite the expected increase in sales for the second half, we maintain our production forecast of 216,000 vehicles of the year, having already planned our production expectation of the year, which includes the Perodua Bezza,” said Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Dr Aminar Rashid Salleh.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 12:43 pm

hello Proton, you guys tak malu ke? A younger company like Perodua can sell in 1 week 10,000 cars, which is more than what you sell in 2 months? And this is despite Proton having very extensive showrooms and distribution network (all tidur in showroom)

I believe Perodua can achieve 300,000 cars this year whilst Proton will sell about 60,000…..Malu Malu Malu

Don’t you feel ashamed? Not only your sales are so bad, you are losing RM4 million per day. That is a lot of money for a day. You might as well close Proton down for good and maintain your 12,000 workers and pay them the RM4 million daily.

I feel very sad that to maintain a loss making company of 12,000 employees, 30 million people have to suffer. Adding to the daily losses of RM4 million per day, every year you ask billions in RM.

According to official figures, Government has given already RM20 billion of our money just to keep Proton alive. Those are official figures. Unofficial is probably 5 times that amount cause when Tun M was PM, he took any amount freely from Petronas and gave it to Proton. Any amount I mean billions each time.

Do us a favour Proton, look at Perodua. Try to be like them. Trim you staff of 12,000. Half of them are dead wood. You need about 6000 only to run your company.
    Also, make sure your directors and CEO take a pay cut. You guys ask RM1.5 bil from us, but your directors and CEO still get 6 figure salary per month. They still have luxury cars and drivers and all sorts of benefits ie club membership etc, allowances etc.

In overseas, if a company is doing badly, the management will themselves offer a pay cut. In Malaysia, pandai beg for RM1.5 bil but sendiri don’t want to give up your 6 figure salary per month and all your luxuries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • jolly_idiot on Jul 26, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Malu lah proton. Where is their sales figure? No face to show?

Btw, I’m driving a Proton launched by DSZ with Jepunis engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Buat apa nak malu? Proton tulen. Saya bangga dengan Proton. Perodua ni celup. Pakai injin Jepunis overlord.

Perodua pakai injin Toyota. Dear Leader Penang shj suppork Toyota. Oh Wai!

Bisa Bisa Bisa!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:23 pm

Oh sohai only buy overpriced Beza 51k milo tin, base on 1-segment up with engine up to 1.5 , it pair to 69k VentoPolo Vios City Almera…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • leoRNado on Jul 27, 2016 at 11:28 am

mcmlah proton x pakai injin n body jepunis celup.. inspira, perdana tu mende?

lps ni collaborate dgn Suzuki plak.. tak baca paper ker?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Proton can really close shop cause even if the 10,000 orders wanted to buy Proton, they have already decided to buy Perodua now.

And the funny thing is this, ask any Proton owner who has gone Perodua, he will say, “I will never return to Proton ever”

Why? Very simple. Look at the two scenarios below.

Customer Perodua: “Encik, saya punya brake pad tak makan lah, cuba check apa jadi”

Perodua SC Technician: “Jangan bimbang Encik. Kami akan check brake pad anda. Kami juga akan ganti dalam warranty kami sekiranya brake pad faulty. Jangan bimbang Encik, you car is in our hands, we will take good care of the car and you, jemput minum dan makan sambil tunggu Encik”

Proton Customer: “”Encik, saya punya brake pad tak makan lah, cuba check apa jadi”

Proton SC Technician: “Biasa lah Encik, what do you expect? Ini Proton lah. Kalau Encik nak brake pad makan lebih, beli lah Mercedes atau BMW”

• Public Relations on Jul 26, 2016 at 12:48 pm

I like how Perodua infroms to the public on how their business are currently doing from time to time. Unlike Proton, who only like to tease here and there, too afraid to speak to the public and also too ego to learn from other car manufacturers.

• While Bezza sales is strong, we need to see if it’s cannibalizing Axia or even MyVi sales.

• Albert on Jul 26, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Well,5 very productive top guns of Perodua walking tall.Full of pride and sense of dignity and achievement.
    WEll done,Blockbuster Bezza.10,000 units within half a month.
    However,where is P1 ?
    After Hondana launching,hardly any new development.
    Perhaps the ardent Proton fanboys have booked the Bezza,or even taken delivery of few hundred units.
    A friend of mine,selling Perodua cars,she said she got gastritis cos no time to eat proper meals,busy taking orders.
    Congrats again,Perodua.When are you changing your name to PERTAMA ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Proton is better than Bezza junk. I support Proton fully. Thank you BN for giving us Proton, high quality car and yet affordable price.

Saya cadangkan kerajaan potong gaji semua orang 1% dan masuk duit ini untuk dana Proton.

It is our responsibility to safe Proton! Proton is our pride and joy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
      • Albert on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:52 pm

Tak Insaf John
        You are not bipolar.You are TRIPOLAR.
        TODAY ,U ANGKAT p1.
        1 WEEK LATER ,u condemn P1.
        Telur terbang John.What a shame.
        Kunta,Periasamy and yours truly…consistent.

• You potong all your gaji for proton plus go to proton service centre work free as washing car to show you patriotism. If you want, do my part of patriotism by asking your family doing the same. We all will appreciate you very much and admire you.

• Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Those potential buyers from Myvi & Alza to purchase Beza, then where’s the increase come from…?

• Lepas tu jalan jem atas jalan maki kerajaan sebab x buat jalan besar..bila buat jalan besar maki lagi kerajaan sebab jalan masih jem.lepastu salahkan pengangkutan awam x efficient sbab tu org x nak naik public transport.x sedar ke woii makin hari jalan makin sempit sebab terlalu banyak kenderaan??penjualan kereta meningkat..be it perodu,honda, toyota etc tapi tanah/ruang kat malaysia ni makin lama makin mengecil.bila ada penebangan hutan utk buat jalan condemn kerajaan sbab merosakkan alam sekitar. tapi tu semua utk sapa??guess we have to wait until the end of the world baru semua sedar.

• Thats why I say, buy from P2! Pipu have confidence in us becoz we have so much confidence in this car that we dun need to test on the road b4 we sell. Our P2 even better than Mesidis, BMW, Hyundai, Honda, and some say Rolls Royce too, cuz all of them no confidence in their new car thats why need to camo test kau kau. We have so much confidence in our jepunis overlords, thats why dun need to test kau like them.

U see us so confident, straight from prototype to showroom. Kalahkan even our big brother toyota. Right now my bos got applications by toyota salesmen Albert and Sammy. U see how confident toyota salesman on our untested car.

So I say again, have confidence. Buy Bisa from me and I will intro u my fren from Nirvana. We r confident we will gip u best package. In fact we r so confident, we can sell confidence to u minus the car! Thats how confident we r in P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • leoRNado on Jul 27, 2016 at 11:32 am

sel otak tak bersambung.. banyakkan membaca john. there was article about how P2 did their testing without people aware of including using the module at other body so that the people will not spot on.

Their test track facility far superior than what proton has which cover all type of earth surface.

• lusmas on Jul 26, 2016 at 2:22 pm

P2 beza dari P1 mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • swoosh3553 on Jul 26, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Almost certain 9months bonus for the December closing… man, why can’t I get a job in Perodua. :(

• Malaysiana on Jul 26, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Fuhhh like selling pisang goreng. Well done.

• ProtonTimeUp on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:21 pm

I buy and drive any car, except Proton.