Proton to start seven-day week for service centres and warranty claims – beginning in high-density areas first

CEO Proton Fuaad Kenali

Proton service centres will soon operate seven days a week, according to Proton CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali. The move, which will benefit busy urban customers the most, will first be implemented in high-density areas. The exact date of implementation will be officially announced at a later date.

“Next month, we will allow warranty claims over the weekends, and this will benefit customers who have only one car. This will be for certain high-density areas,” Ahmad Fuaad told the media at a press conference in Melaka.

While a seven-day week has been mentioned by the national carmaker before, a Proton spokesperson clarified that so far, it’s the sales outlets that have been operating the whole week, and this latest push will see service centres open for business, accommodating warranty claims as well.

Ahmad Fuuad was explaining the after-sales improvements undertaken by Proton, which also includes the revision of prices for parts to provide more value for customers. The Proton head also said that the new management has restructured the company by areas and regions, introduced training for a “mindset change” and is adding more technicians to branches.

Proton will be having a busy few months ahead. The CEO confirmed that the company will launch the new Persona in August, new Saga in September and rebadged Ertiga MPV in October. Yes, three cars in three months.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• john is otak batu on Jul 26, 2016 at 3:22 pm

No new car sales..service what!. Can ask customers drive back old power windows service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:26 pm

BUNDLE servicing costs for 3 years in your cars. With free maintenance, your 3S centres will have the opportunity to prove the merits of your products. Given your products are actually good, people will continue servicing with you year 4 onwards. Now you have hundreds of thousands wiras still roaming the roads, no thanks to your 3S centres. So please bring down your prices. If not, wiras will still roam our roads for the next 20 years. No sales for you and no bonuses for you like the Perodua folks. HIDUP PROTON WIRA!

• Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Who cares…? We want affordable price pair to US pricing, last gen p1Accord USD18K =MYR70K

• Back when I was still servicing in P1 service center, I alwiz go to the one in Segambut. Opens 7 days a week until 5pm with spartan but nice waiting room. Furthermore, parts center is nearby. Another parts center for bigger stuff is 20~30 mins away.

If P1 can replicate this formula, servicing would be a welcoming experience rather than a chore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 11:31 pm

Never hv a chance to own p1 rubbish in my life…

• Bcoz u can only afford kapcais all ur life? How commendable.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:46 am

err… do you even own a car? im asking coz i find it strange.. coz most people i know who dont own a proton never ever bother about what proton is doing, least of all, to comment online about proton.

• Proton now in desperate situation will offer macam-macam, without considering the viability of the actions.
    Later confess making losses and ask for more money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Hello CEO, you have 7 days also no meaning. Attitude of SC needs to change lah.

Why? Very simple. Look at the two scenarios below.

Customer Perodua: “Encik, saya punya brake pad tak makan lah, cuba check apa jadi”

Perodua SC Technician: “Jangan bimbang Encik. Kami akan check brake pad anda. Kami juga akan ganti dalam warranty kami sekiranya brake pad faulty. Jangan bimbang Encik, you car is in our hands, we will take good care of the car and you, jemput minum dan makan sambil tunggu Encik”

Proton Customer: “”Encik, saya punya brake pad tak makan lah, cuba check apa jadi”

Proton SC Technician: “Biasa lah Encik, what do you expect? Ini Proton lah. Kalau Encik nak brake pad makan lebih, beli lah Mercedes atau BMW”

So, you have 7 days or 24 hours also no point. Attitude needs to change. Don’t treat Proton customers like Keldai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
    • Albert on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Kunta
      Proontong trying to be 7 Eleven ?
      It wont work.Already some smaller dealers are bleeding heavily cos they only have 2 cars a day to service.
      The only way is CHANGE THE ANCIENT CAMPRO ENGINE WITH OUTA PUNCH CVT GEARBOX….THEN SOME SALES WILL START FLOWING IN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Game over Potong on Jul 27, 2016 at 1:05 am

So raw yet so so true, KK ur could not have said it any better but how true even till today, my friend just got a suprima s as they had massive discounts during raya & even after we told big mistake, when he took they car back plagued with tons of problems, nothing shocking, when for first service at potong service center, the potong SC guy can tell my friend you got too many complains, my suggestion complain one by one that way it will get fixed slowly one problem at a time, if you Kuat complain nothing will be fixed !!! Can you believe that..OMG… It’s game over for potong, quickly let foreigners but potong & tear up this turd company once & fore all !!

• pengayuhbasikal on Jul 26, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Launch all 3 models together laa…make potential customer busy and at the same time will shift attention from other manufacturer…

proton always want PM to launch their car…dont disturb PM with his busy schedule…

• ian moone on Jul 26, 2016 at 4:41 pm

yes sure, seven-day week..and one simple problem cause seven-day to work on in the pusat service..cmon proton, aq really2 syg proton but..cmon..

• Mohammad on Jul 26, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Proton = Rubbish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • Passerby on Jul 26, 2016 at 5:12 pm

this is the consequences is you buy proton… they need to open 7 days a week to cater for more and more low quality build cars, never ending broken issues and unresolved problematic power windows…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Jeffrey on Jul 26, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Is it he just wake up from the bed… hair so messy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • humusjumus on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:15 pm

I rather drive a 2nd hand japanese car than a new proton.

Once you bought a Proton, nightmare will start….When selling the car, also another nightmare…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • I am proud of my foreign car...... on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:56 am

My friend bought a 2nd hand foreign car. Then a small piece CU got problem. The mechanic said the small piece new CU price is rm20 000. Then he start asking the mechanic did somebody want to by his car…ha…ha….I am proud of my foreign car.

• Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 11:28 pm

Who cares…? We just want affordable price of proton pair to US pricing, rebadge Accord to be USD18k MYR70k,

• kumar on Jul 27, 2016 at 9:06 am

TOO LATE P1!

• hidupproton on Jul 27, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Tak pernah dengar ke “‘kereta proton tak payah servis” ? pakai sampai rosak buang kat flat atau parking besar saja, sekian terima kasih.

• Askedu on Jul 28, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Price revised my foot… Normal case scenario for Preve owners aircond not cooling enough and finding by Proton 1 small aircond fuse got kaput but you have to change the whole fuse-box cost RM1K (until May 2016 it only cost RM700).

• crash on Jul 28, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Maybe this new CEO doesn’t know that it is meaningless to open 7 days a week.
    I am a Proton car owner, still under warranty. It is always the same thing when you try to book an appointment on Saturday.
    “Abang…Hari Sabtu untuk service biasa saja, kalau ada complain kena datang hari lain… ”

So what is the point then when i have to take annual leave to fix my car.