SPYSHOTS: Mercedes-AMG GT roadster spotted

By now, it’s no secret that Mercedes-AMG is planning to release a roadster version of its GT sports car. In fact, AMG chairman Tobias Moers revealed that exact plan around the time the GT R made its debut. Now, the GT roadster has been spotted in prototype guise again, looking very nearly production-ready.

From the front, the soft-top version of the GT looks virtually identical to its hardtop sibling, featuring the same grille, intakes, headlamps and bumper design. In fact, the prototype seen here even retains the same wheel design.

Beyond the A-pillar is where the roadster is differentiated from the regular GT, with the most obvious standout being the retractable soft-top that harks back to the previous Mercedes SLS AMG GT Roadster.

The choice of going with a fabric roof is likely to keep both weight, complexity and cost down, although the Perspex rear window seen here will likely be replaced with a proper glass one on the finished product.

In other areas of the car’s rear, things appear to remain unchanged, with the same tail lamp shape and graphics. Based on the images here, the GT’s boot also appears to retained, although it is likely to be modified to accommodate the folding roof. There is also curious-looking intake between the tail lamps, although its purpose is unknown for now.

For power, the hardtop’s 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8 will likely be carried forward for the soft-top, capable of providing the full 510 PS and 650 Nm in ‘S’ guise, or 462 hp and 600 Nm in the baseline “non-S” version. Drive is sent to the rear via a seven-speed AMG Speedshift dual-clutch transmission (DCT).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Now even Mesidis AMG xbleh pakai cuz they dun have confidence in their new car. AMG means Aku Mau Guna, but instead they camo test here, camo test there , camo test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars. Unlike P2 that dun need to test Bisa. From prototype terus boleh guna.

So better buy Bisa than this AMG cuz P2 have full confidence and no need test, while AMG have no confidence thats why need to test test test.

P2 have become world leader in being the first in the world to launch new car without testing. Others, including big bro toyota, r still in 20th century need to test their cars. Now thanks to spyshot camo of Mesidis testing their new car, every1 knows Mesidis quality no confidence so better trust quality in untested Bisa.

So remember PM me to buy Bisa! I gip u bestest complete pau package with my fren from Nirvana. Offer is limited!

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 27, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Oh My! john, you have gone nuts already. I know you are lazy but writing nonsense now is already gone case.

This is a classic example of MAS employee. Whole day during work hours he will be sleeping. Then he gets up, he goes online and spurts rubbish. Then Perkasa and MAS Union will come and say, this is our culture. Sleeping during work hours is our culture.

We definitely need FBI to come and clean the bodohs in Malaysia

• FBI cant even pull out a real terrorist from their rear hole, instead they bully poor coloured pipu. Is this the justice we been looking for?