2016 Kawasaki Z125 Pro recalled for faulty shock

2016 Kawasaki Z125 Pro EFI (3)

Recall notice number MC16-04 has been filed with the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) by Kawasaki US for the 2016 Kawasaki Z125 Pro mini-moto for a faulty rear shock absorber.

According to the filing, 1,282 units of the Z125 Pro manufactured between February 4 to June 7, 2016, may have been fitted with rear shock that may leak. The leak may cause loss of function of the absorber, thereby increasing the risk of a crash. Z125 Pro owners in the US will be notified by Kawasaki US, and can have the shock absorber replaced at a Kawasaki dealer, free-of-charge.

Also available in Malaysia, the 2016 Kawasaki Z125 Pro comes with a 125 cc, single-cylinder, four-valve SOHC air-cooled engine that produces 9.8 PS at 8,000 rpm, and 9.6 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm. Fuelled by EFI, this mini-moto rolls on 12-inch wheels that – coupled with its short wheelbase – gives it quick handling.

Retailing at RM10,435 inclusive of GST, the 2016 Kawasaki Z125 Pro is targetted at the younger rider wanting a quick, small motorcycle with trendy looks. Only one colour option is available in Malaysia – Burnt Candy Orange.

We are in contact with Kawasaki Motors Malaysia to find out if any Malaysian units are affected and will post an update if necessary.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Jepunis overlords do recall, bashers says this is responsible brand, top quality, boleh dipercayai, transparent, gud and cannot be persoal.

P1 do recall, bashers bash kau kau say this is irresponsible brand, lousy quality, xbleh dipercayai, kroni & korup, must persoal kau kau.

• hello Mr. Mohan

thank you very much for this info recall

I am thankful to you for asking kawasaki msia on this recall

u also did great job for R25 yamaha recall

It is a blessing to have you in paultan

• Probably wouldn’t affect much since, at some point riders have change it with after market parts.

• Abah kau on Jul 29, 2016 at 9:21 am

The number of units recalled… err. Kawasaki sold zero units. At 10k it’s just not worth it

• ripinz on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:48 am

Kawasaki Malaysia will also recall this model due to same issue. But i dont know when they will announce it or put on their web.