SPAD considering card system for Uber, Grab drivers

GrabCar JB April 7-02

Uber and Grab drivers might soon have to register with the government in a ‘driver card’ system that the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is considering, said its chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar. This is part of the process of legalising and regulating app-based ride haling services that is currently in the works.

However, he said SPAD will have to conduct a comprehensive study of the system as this would involve private individuals who do not have the public service vehicle (PSV) operator’s licence, Bernama reports.

“We will table this proposal to the government especially on the conditions to transform the public transport industry without ignoring the feelings of ordinary taxi drivers who have been burdened with lease finance and the hire purchase system,” he said after launching Ekspress Mayang Sari’s new routes and buses yesterday.

StarWarsGrabCar-e1450774455652

Syed Hamid added that the system implementation would be similar to requirements for obtaining PSV but SPAD would discuss the matter in greater detail with industry players before making a decision. “It will take some time to implement this new system because new laws and legal changes will have to be applied in adjusting the system for Grabcar, Uber and normal taxi drivers,” he said.

To level up the playing field, which is the aim of the ‘e-hailing’ model being crafted now, Uber/Grab drivers would be legalised, and regulated. As for the taxi side of the fence, SPAD is looking at things such as the issuance of new individual taxi licenses to drivers with good track records (a way out of the current leasing model) and more vehicle model options, among other things. Click here and here to find out more.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Considering. Conduct comprehensive study. Will table proposal. Rinse and Repeat.

In the end SPAD does nothing.

Better to just close down SPAD and integrate its function with Transport Ministry. Transport minister should also be replaced, the current one seems to only find out things through the media and talk or like to give instructions to people through the media too.

• applegreen on Jul 28, 2016 at 11:29 am

driver card, PSV, and later maybe insurance just to make uber and grab car legal. If no money goes into gov pocket = illegal.

• ben yap on Jul 28, 2016 at 11:46 am

taxi drivers should just quit, get an axia and join uber or grab.

• The problem is.. how SPAD will recognise that car is an uber and will take action? The car is unmarked at all.

• Support NajibBNGov liberalisation or Tun nationalisation/crony?

• amirul on Jul 28, 2016 at 2:21 pm

in my opinion , in every essay that i wrote in the past 12 years , if there is a way to reduce traffic , car poolling is always there . now it is happening but the gorverment don’t know how to handle this shit ? i thought you teach me since i was 12 ? i really hope the goverment do the right think for the people of malaysia , even if the goverment change ( i really hope not ) …

• Dei. Isnt LRT extensions, BRT, MRT1 & MRT2 showing the Gov is handling the problem, rather than trying to gip pipu cheap cars (which clogs the roads)?

• Gunting kecik on Jul 28, 2016 at 8:09 pm

No point SPAD say this and that becoz it is just hot air and useless.

if SPAD betul betul cakap, it is alway “cakap tak serupa bikin”

• Coolguru on Jul 28, 2016 at 10:56 pm

Aiyo… another scheme of “cari makan” la! Who cares what they do, I mean don’t do. Plan something and charge some money. Who care what competitions out there as long as I’m the law, I say you pay…