Citroen C1 Furio – sporty looks for the tiny city car

Citroen-C1-Furio-1

It’s not very macho to admit, but some are into sporty looks as much as (or more than) actual performance. Citroen, like most manufacturers, understands this very well, and this new Citroen C1 Furio’s purpose is “offering young drivers an affordable, sporty looking car” without them having to opt for a bigger engine/more power.

To go on sale in the UK from August, the Furio variant of the tiny city car “builds on Citroen’s sporting credentials” and is mentioned in the same breath as the 1990s Saxo Furio and cars like the AX Sport and C2 by Loeb.

Citroen-C1-Furio-2

Available as a three-door hatchback, the C1 Furio can be had as a VTi 68 manual and PureTech 82 manual. Based on the existing ‘Feel’ trim level, the Furio adds on black 15-inch ‘Planet’ alloys, exterior graphics plus red door mirrors and wheel centre caps to provide contrast to the Lipizzan White or Carlinite Grey metallic colour options. A rear diffuser and centred exhaust outlet complete the funky exterior.

Inside, the C1 Furio gets ‘Wave’ grey cloth upholstery and a rev counter. This cute little thing goes is priced from £10,855 (RM58,117) on the road in the UK. Does it nail the baby AMG look?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• If I put mad max stickers on it, can I call it Furiosa?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 29, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Got one as a courtesy car for a short while… it’s actually not bad. Feels quite grown up for an A segment car, certainly better than the Myvi for example. Toyota, Citroen and Peugeot did a good job on this one. It’s also a big improvement over the first gen C1/108/Aygo, with a decent interior.

It’s a shame Toyota doesn’t bring it into Malaysia, where they could place it as a 40-50k entry level Toyota with decent safety. A fine town car that can also do the highway, if necessary. (Plus the Toyota version of this car is the best looking one).

• We need more superminis here in Malaysia. The only non-Msian models we have is the Picanto and the old Hyundai i10. I’m sure there are people here who’d want cars like the C1/108/Aygo, VW Up!, Smart ForTwo & Renault Twingo.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:19 pm

The problem is that in Malaysia, you usually buy a small car because it is cheap. But if you have to spend 40-60k for an A segment car, the question becomes why not buy a B segment car. More space. Even if the A segment car is as refined as the B segment car, it’s going to be a tough sell. On that basis, I can understand car makers being hesitant. It is not like B segment cars are too big for cities…

• We dun need more small cars jamming up the road and trying to tailgate BMWs on hiway. Just stay away.

• Christopher Cheong on Jul 29, 2016 at 8:33 pm

wow finally a crayon sinchan car!

• the driver on Jul 29, 2016 at 8:45 pm

There are much, much more choices to be made in small cars than we Malaysians think there are out there. As it stands, we have rotten choices given the protective market here.

• 2 door A segment manual at 60k and u call it better than what we have here? U must be out of ur mind!

• Nosushi on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:27 am

Echo you. Overpriced car, it is not even B segment!
        And mind you it is not in the presence of local car protek protek protektion!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 30, 2016 at 9:23 pm

It’s a bit expensive, yeah, but cars overseas are expensive. ;)

It’s a good car though. Nimble, refined enough for an A segment car. Better than, say, a Myvi. It is more of a Toyota than the Avanza or Innova.

• the driver on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:43 am

Read my comment above – protective market. If the market was fair, you are too poor to make that comment

• Do u even fully read the article? Do u think theres plotek plotek P1 there in France? The prices quoted 60k is not here, its in France!

What kinda unfairness in France car market do u mean?

• Navin on Jul 29, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Nope. Doesnt nail anytg.

• Bini4Best on Jul 30, 2016 at 11:53 am

please buy the citroen car. When sell the car, you will likely to be crying….

just look at mudah for 2nd hand value of citroen cars…

• Stop trying to copy Perodua. They’re the ones to pioneered sporty looking cheap city cars. Remember the Myvi “Extreme”??

• Yep. The original OEM ah beng. Nothing beats 1st gen Myvi SE Extreme

• Kavinash on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Ahahha…front facia kinda looks like a Juke.

• Bernard on Jul 31, 2016 at 12:16 pm

What a beautiful car…

If sell here , will trade in my kancil, kapcai, bicycle, roller skates and pinggan mangkuk to buy it:) can hopefully get 5k for all:)