J.D. Power 2016 Malaysia Customer Service Index – more emphasis on service advisors; Toyota top

2016_Malaysia CSI_IG_v1_072616

According to the J.D. Power 2016 Malaysia Customer Service Index (CSI) Study, service advisors play a pivotal role in determining the level of customer satisfaction. “The saying, ‘You only get one chance to make a good first impression,’ is a very accurate description of the customer-service advisor interaction,” said Rajaswaran Tharmalingam, the country head of Malaysia for J.D. Power.

“With the stresses of modern living, Malaysian car owners are clearly more time-constrained and demand to complete this important but time-consuming errand in a hassle-free manner. Hence, it is critical for dealerships to ensure they have the right ratio of service advisors who exhibit high quality customer-handling skills to meet customers’ expectations,” he added.

The study, which now enters its 14th year, is based on responses from 3,257 new-vehicle owners who purchased their mass market brand vehicle (no premium brands) between February 2014 and May 2015, and took their vehicle for service to an authorised service centre between August 2015 and May 2016.

New-vehicle owner satisfaction with the service experience is measured by examining dealership performance in five factors (in order of importance): service quality (32%); service initiation (22%); vehicle pick-up (18%); service advisor (15%); and service facility (13%).

This year’s edition sees a slight increase in the satisfaction among mass market brands, averaging 751 points (on a 1,000-point scale) from 749 last year. While all factors have improved, satisfaction with service advisors has declined by one point.

Toyota managed to reclaim the top spot with a score of 763, a seven-point gain from last year. The study revealed that the T brand performed well in the service initiation, service advisor and service quality factors.

Coming in second place is Mazda with 760, followed by Mitsubishi in third place at 758, both of which occupied the top two spots in 2015, with a score of 774 and 773, respectively. They are followed by Kia (755), Isuzu (753), Honda (752), and Nissan (751).

Falling just below the mass market average is national carmaker Perodua with a score of 749, which also shares the same score with Volkswagen. Meanwhile, Hyundai takes the tenth spot with 748 points, trailed by another national carmaker, Proton with a score 745, and finally Ford (742).

2016_Malaysia CSI_IG_v1_072616

The study also revealed a few key findings, where Malaysian national brands showed an improvement, averaging 747, up five points from 2015. More customers have also indicated that they received routine maintenance notification (41% vs. 30%) from the previous year. Additionally, more customers prefer to discuss their service needs prior to sending their vehicle in (26% vs. 22% last year).

Other findings showed that 31% (up 10%) of respondents had to wait three or more days for an appointment average an overall satisfaction score of 743. On the other hand, customers waiting two days or less for an appointment (69% of respondents) averaged an overall satisfaction score of 768.

Finally, customers who are highly satisfied with their dealer service (scores of 823 and above), 46% say they “definitely would” return to their dealer for post-warranty service and 50% “definitely would” recommend their dealer to friends and family.

As for customers who are displeased (scores of 690 and below), only 15% say they “definitely would” return to the dealer for post-warranty service, and only 11% say they “definitely would” recommend the dealer to others. What are your thoughts on the results of the study? Care to share your service experience?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Top, cuz MY pipu have been brainwashed not to persoal jepunis overlords. We thank q for your continuous support on our moving deathtraps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
    • karam singh on Jul 29, 2016 at 12:46 pm

But it is amazing Toyota had done marvellous job in attending all customers. While many car companies manage to provide excellent level of services because the number of cars are super low like kia Mazda Mitsubishi, Toyota has its own formula to ensure customer satisfaction is maintained high. Honda used to be in the high rankings in the previous year but they cannot cope upon selling too many cars. Poor Honda malaysia. Must learn something from umw Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
      • SIngh… Mazda and kia no more niche brands in Malaysia ..they sell loads of units these days.. not ‘super low’ as you mentioned..go and check out the customer traffic in their sc before commenting…

u sound like a toyota salesman/evangelist ..good job on them ..but dont taro the runner ups with wrong info to get your point across la bro… your comment probably legit only for Mitsu…but even then they are not a ‘super low’ brand as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
        • karam singh on Jul 29, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Toyota has been selling average of 90k units annually for the past 10 years. That alone is bringing to a total of 900,000 cars. During the same period… Mazda is definitely selling less than 200k cars. While kia.. I doubt they can do 150k over 10 yrs. 400k is considered low compare to Toyota so this is what I say as super low. Are you a Mitsubishi salesman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Jul 29, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Service advicers (espceially the counter girls) need to be trained properly. Basic knowledge of cars and parts are needed (they are not doing diagnostics and repair like mechanics, I know that). Mercedes, if you criticise certain things in their service, they smiled and responded nicely to you and promise will look into / study the problems properly, instead of some who argue with customers, or just simply said no problems with your car; some cannot convey properly message from mechanics because lack of car knowledge.

If you want to sell well Per-dae-ne or Infininety, you learn. Don’t be defensive.

• Deadpool on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:17 am

what? it can’t be? why there’s a ford under proton? LOL if proton’s staffs sleep during work, ford’s staffs must be snoring while sleeping then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • At proton HQ today, bosses announced they managed to beat ford. terus buat kenduri celebrate such a milestone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on Jul 29, 2016 at 4:07 pm

More like the staff don’t know what to do when PowerShift becomes PowerShit.

• Congratulations Toyota. I know you best !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
    • Best becoz they r not selling any new cars. Thats why service is better cuz less new cars go for service!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
      • Wisecracker on Jul 29, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Oi bodoh… New cars x need service oso kah? What stupid nonsense is this? & by right older cars ppl tend to send to outside workshop. Beza service & repairs pun x tau. As usual, john mumble stupid stuff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Hey, dun blame me. Thats what those bashers says about P1 new cars and service. So izit wrong to have same thinking with them cuz we shud not be persoaled?

• Jobless on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:49 am

With this JD Power has now lost its credibility. How could Toyota that is taking its own sweet time to rectify the faulty airbags in its cars be regarded as top in customer service. If anything Toyota is disregarding the safety and well-being of its customers. I have called the service centre to make an appointment to replace the airbags but each was told that there’s no stock and they will call me back. But after more than two months still no calls from Toyota.
    Each time I drive my Toyota I’m worried about getting seriously injured if I get into the slightest of accidents. I get more worried if any of my family members are using the car.
    So JD Power if you report that Toyota is tops in the 2016 Malaysia Customer Service Index, then I just want to tell you to just stick the report up your xss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
    • Abah kau on Jul 29, 2016 at 3:43 pm

The reason u r jobless

• common sensor on Jul 29, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Agreed. JD Power sample size is too small that it doesn’t accurately reflect the real masses sentiment. The report and ranking credibility is not the best there is.

• alldisc on Jul 30, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Hi common sensor. Even if the number of sample is too small do you think Toyota knows which customer will be selected by JD power for interview? The answer is no. That means Toyota treated all customers the same – as no. 1

• camtakpro on Jul 29, 2016 at 4:16 pm

In Malaysia everything can be bribed.

Anyway, this survey like asking you to choose an egg from an entire basket of rotten eggs.

Brand new Vios I show SC UMWT SC advisor my shock absorber leak (oily surface on the stick), UMW shit SC keep saying the shock absorber is not damage – that is only moist. And some more show me the file with some lousy inkjet blurry computer printed picture to explain what is moist. Until it reach slight after 30k km warranty expire then only say my absorber spoil ask me want to change or not?

Since then my under-tree mechanic have higher JD score than Toyota.

• john kinte on Jul 29, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Because takata airbags in Honda cars have caused by far the most deaths.

• tohellwithplagiarism on Jul 29, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Really ? Toyota ? My dads car sent to Toyota at sg. Rasah branch for routine servicing n a week before raya when collecting car after servicing, the car collected as if it has been robbed with all sorts of documents in all compartment dugged up n threw all over. Although there’s ntg been stolen other than most of the coins, my dad went for a complain n promised a follow up will be done in between a week or two for a full explanation. Till today, ntg or whatsoever action or calls from them. all this promises came from I assumed, manager or asst manager which is an Indian guy. To all bros, beware of this branch !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Aligatok on Jul 29, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Its ok lah…Toyota wat..malaysian dont like persoal jepunis brand..unless if P1..if people catch them eating b’fast nasi lemak in the morning also people will viral. but toyota honda etc malaysian dont care. airbag can cause death? its ok maa..cannot blame jepunis brand..imposibruu to point finger on them.u know why?coz malaysian spent more than half of their salary to pay for their honda’s or toyota’s..so they cant talk sh*t..i loiikkee…kipidap malaysian.lepas tu boleh complain pula pasal harga rumah mahal. padahal byk habis duit kat kereta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • gaviny on Jul 29, 2016 at 1:53 pm

congratulation to Ford scoring below proton

LOL

• Ford Too Focused on Jul 29, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Sime Darby Auto Connexion needs to fire itself and let other capable people to carry on the business. They are ruining a good car reputation by doing terrible after sales support.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 30, 2016 at 1:23 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Johnston G. on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:04 pm

I have worked with UMW Toyota for a while and believe me this JD Power is a matter of death & life for them. They used to top the list every year but when Honda suddenly replaced them at the top spot it’s like a bullet train came straight punching at their face.

• James Patrick on Jul 31, 2016 at 1:30 am

So what are you ‘hinting’ at? ;) it’s important to them and now they’re top of it..

• Noname on Jul 31, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Macam tipu jer nie..

• Naresh Singh on Aug 01, 2016 at 9:33 am

Its hard to satisfied everyone!!! but the effort taken is good to maintain the brand in the market.We hope to see Proton at the Top one day