MRT Sg Buloh-Kajang Line trial run starts in October

MRT Testing Semantan

The much-anticipated Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) is just around the corner, with trial runs commencing in October. MRT Corp director of operations and assets management, Mahmood Razak, confirmed yesterday that the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) Line will start a three-month trial run from October 1. The official launch of operations will be on December 31.

“Phase one of the MRT SBK Line from Sungai Buloh to Semantan, will be almost complete by October, as all civil structural works for the elevated stations and guide ways are complete. Overall progress of the MRT SBK Line was at 86.52% as at end-June,” he told Bernama.

He added that the supporting facilities, including car parks and feeder buses will begin operations by then. MRT Corp is providing 14 parking facilities of multi-storey and open-air car parks for the 51 km MRT SBK Line. “There will be 8,000 parking bays available along the line, with 1,200 at the Sungai Buloh and Kajang stations respectively. The rest are at stations along the line,” Mahmood said.

Mahmood explained that Rapid Rail feeder buses will cover a three-km radius around stations with a 10-minute frequency, subject to traffic conditions. “People can either drive to the stations or be dropped off by public or private transport. For the first phase, 140 buses will be deployed to cover areas around Sungai Buloh to Semantan stations (both pictured above, left to right).

“For the entire line, a total of 300 buses will be available. Many aspects has been configured to cater for an integrated public transport,” he added.

We can’t wait. And nice ///M stripes on the trains, too!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ///MRT power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Thanks to Najib, but we must still bash him kau kau cuz we dun persoal our foreign overlords, kan? No problemo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
  • cant wait for MRT to go online….great job!

• Yeah, I am excited too. But my concern would be Rapid Rail. They are the operators and look what we have on the LRT and Monorail systems now.
      I saw a tweet that complained about the conditions of the LRT Extension Project lines, mere days after opening.
      We then read all about the massive delays at various stations.
      Let’s hope that they don’t spoil the good work done by the MRT Corp team…

• Semangkok ayun on Jul 29, 2016 at 12:13 pm

MRT and LRT are managed by different entities. Sg Buloh – Kajang is managed by MRT Corp while LRT is managed by Prasarana. Rapid only help deployed buses to the MRT Stations.

• RegularUser on Jul 29, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Maybe you didn’t read the papers on 1 July. OPERATOR of the SBK Line is Prasarana.

• That delay and problems cuz project partner S…..y screwed up. Not Rapid fault

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:48 am

Hmm.. could the stripes be because the exterior and interior was designed by BMW? There was a brochure out during their display of the train at KL Sentral in 2014 that stated BMW Design Works in Florida did the design, from the base Siemens model.Apparently, it was the same team that did the Mini Cooper design… coolio!

• azrai on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:56 am

Yes…the reason DBKL justify the increase of parking rates in 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Din know sg buloh and kajang is under DBKL jurisdiction. Since when did their powers extend to Selangor?

• Gomorrah on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Jurisdiction aside, the vast majority of people that live in those areas travel in to KL for work so azrai has hit the nail on the head. This country is so KL centric, decisions made there affect most of us.

• Ahmadjr on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:56 am

Mmc gamuda is doing great. They deserve to get the job for line 2 and 3

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 29, 2016 at 4:12 pm

But from Sg Buloh, it only reaches up to Semantan, for now. So you cannot (yet) reach Muzium Negara to walk to KL Sentral.

• RegularUser on Jul 29, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Yes, I also wished that they could have made the first phase up to KL Sentral. But I guess we can take a bus at Pusat Bandar Damansara MRT to KL Sentral, or Bangsar LRT.

• Confused user on Jul 29, 2016 at 5:24 pm

What is the difference between MRT and LRT? They both do the same thing to take loads of people from one place to another through a series of connected “trains”. Why not have just one name?

• Das Auto on Jul 29, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Their brain has yet to reach your level of thinking

• Number of rolling stock and holding capacity.

• MRT is wider and longer than LRT.MRT is catered for a bigger capacity in the trains as well as the station. The LRT system as you can see now is a bit overloaded after the extension, key word “Light” vs “Mass”.

• The first phase is kinda useless as there is no interchange stations except the last station at Sg Buloh. They should have at least opened 1 more station which is Muzeum Negara (KL Sentral) where people can interchange to other lines from there.