Honda Accord facelift open for booking in Malaysia

Accord-Facelift-Malaysia

Honda Malaysia (HM) has announced that the Honda Accord facelift is now open for booking at all 88 authorised dealers nationwide. Like the current car, the D-segment sedan will be available with two engines and in three variants – 2.0 VTi, 2.0 VTi-L and 2.4 VTi-L. It will be launched in the third quarter of the year.

The biggest change is in front, where the Accord facelift comes with a grille in Honda’s new style, which is with a thick chrome bar. The ends of the grille protrude into the headlamps, which are LEDs in high-spec variants in Thailand.

The above image was released by HM, and it shows LED headlamps, so they should be coming as well. There are also new design LED daytime running lights, LED fog lamps and triple LED bar tail lamps. The rear end gets a new bumper and and a chrome bar that also “goes into” the lamps, mirroring the front design.

The refreshed Accord will also launch here with new design alloy rims and a new-to-Honda Obsidian Blue Pearl colour. The other new colours for the Accord here are White Orchid Pearl and Lunar Silver Metallic (latter is the hero colour for the new Civic). Other colours are the familiar Modern Steel Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl.

HM says that the new model will go on a road tour from August 12 to September 4. Roadshow locations can be found on HM’s official website.

The Accord facelift made its Thai debut in February and we got up close with the handsome big sedan at the Bangkok Motor Show in March. The Accord celebrates its 40th anniversary this year, and you can relive memories via this through the years video.

GALLERY: Honda Accord facelift at the 2016 Bangkok Motor Show

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Roshan on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Acura looks , I like :3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Kunyit on Aug 01, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Hmmm Acura konon.

the new Perdana lg cantek laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
      • Operation Manager on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Honda messy engine bay cause from dinosaur vtech, parts join here join there wires hose connect here and there, not capable in further evolution, force to do so cause engine design failure issues that cannot be fixed. Oh sohai buy vtec dinosaur. .. seeing what skyactive direct injection & dual-turbo & Dual vvt-iW achieved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:02 am

Facelift sudah. Next gen pun spyshot sudah. Pondana? Tak boleh blah. Guna otak jangan sokong Proton melulu.

• Better wait for Accord Hyrbid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • hamas on Aug 01, 2016 at 10:41 pm

Bravo HM, now Pondana can bungkus already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • maggie on Aug 02, 2016 at 3:44 am

HMSB and Proton under DRB

• maggie eater on Aug 05, 2016 at 10:48 am

HMSB not owned by DRB. DRB only shareholder of HMSB at 28%. check your facts before opening your lubang

• Pinky on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:22 pm

The front is nice but the chromebar at the rear is eye-soaring.

• Albert on Aug 01, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Honda Malaysia finally launched the new Accord after 1 month plus when the pondana was launched.
      So,if u have a budget of around rm140K,would you buy the latest 2.0 Accord OR the 2.4 Pondana?
      If still addicted to old model Accord,might as well buy 2 units 2.0 ,5 year old Accord…do a mini overhaul with new leather seats/suspension…one for yourself ,another for your wife, at 134K for pondana 2.4.
      In other words,the Pondana is going to stagnate.
      If Honda Malaysia launched this latest Accord earlier than Pondana,Protong may only sell 500 units..mainly to Spanco,or gomen heads.
      I believe P1 again kena whacked kau kau by this Accord and Bezza…..no end in sight for P1’s woes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • 2.0 litre is underpower for D segmenter, unless turbocharged

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • it’s Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Andas on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:32 pm

D segment target group are people who earned more than 10k monthly.. which idiot tauke will buy 2nd hand accord and repair the car to go play golf with his business partner..

• Whats with current civic and accord having mid rear seat hump? Its not like theres a AWD option, is right?
    Din Civic FD have almost flat rear floor, so what happened?

• no time to refine already.

need launch.

duno turbo got enough mileage tested for durability.

• This Civic prolly got lower floor and stance to add stability hence the the rear hump got higher

• donkeyMusL on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:57 pm

the hump reserved for vacuum-tunnel-effect for upcoming civic type-RR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • U mean they gonna install a suction device to increase downforce kah?

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 01, 2016 at 9:25 pm

The 10th gen Civic will share platform with the upcoming new Accord and new CRV. And probably an Acura too. So that hump (which is not as high as a BMW RWD hump) might be for those cars. Or perhaps the next Civic Type R might be AWD, seeing that the Focus RS is also AWD.

• The hump is more higher in civic, almost reach the base of the mid seat. If type r goes for AWD turbo, then all fans of pure NA can jump of bridge liao!

• save cost on Aug 01, 2016 at 9:58 pm

to save moulding cost la…it is honda, what do u expect?

• DPCraft on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:18 am

The hump is because the car has been lowered, current CR-V although has AWD system has a almost flat floor. This is because the car is higher. I also recalled that Civic FB & FD has a almost flat floor too. Although the floor appears to be flat when you put your legs on top of where the transmission tunnel should be you still can feel that it is a transmission tunnel not a floor, it is hard and bumps up a little bit. Unless you are bringing long items on the floor, I don’t see a problem with that tiny hump compared to the huge hump on rwd sedan cars.

• Its the same rims….only now they painted it dual tone…..
    i shall paint mine then lol….

• nabill (Member) on Aug 01, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Still no real earthdreams engine… And stil da old 5speed auto…

• 100x more beautiful and better than the rubbish junk perdana.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 01, 2016 at 7:01 pm

The sales of facelift Honda Accord will surpass that of Proton Perdana by leaps and bounds even though Honda is more expensive.

I wonder why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Power of Dream on Aug 01, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Honda sensing got ah?

• Any technical changes?

• old horse on Aug 01, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Perdana so how lar..?

• TheDean on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:50 am

Cheaper way if you like this car: just wait 4-5 years and this will be a rebadged Perdana.

• Junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • -BigBalls- on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:54 am

So basically just copy 5 series rear light, change the tone of the rims and call it a facelift?

well done Honda

• What? No turbo? Then better bring in accord hybrid too

• Salambangi on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:56 am

Dear potential buyers

Get the new Perdana instead. Why waste your hard earned money? Better still wait for the Accord hybrid.

• bengs on Aug 02, 2016 at 1:02 pm

This is what we call face lift, brilliant!
    Thailand already launched Accord Hybrid, how about Bolehland?

• MY can gip new paintjob and call it facelift just like P2. Cuz jepunis overlords, nobody will persoal.