Speed limiters for all express buses by 2020, says JPJ

bus crash bernama

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) aims to reduce the rate of road accidents with the implementation of speed limiters on express buses, according to a Bernama report. “We have directed that all newly registered buses be installed with speed limiters from January next year. Old buses are given five years as it involves cost. By 2020, all express buses will have speed limiters,” said JPJ director-general Datuk Nadzri Siron.

This follows transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai’s urging for bus companies to install speed limiters in their buses, and stressed that they have one year to comply or face suspension, especially since the ruling was already in place and should have been implemented, he said last month.

When asked at a press conference to explain the mechanism of the speed limiter, Nadzri said it was being studied by the JPJ, and that it is considering an allowance of 10% above the planned 90 km/h imposed limit to allow for overtaking. The upper speed limit for heavy vehicles on highways is 90 km/h.

This is in the wake of the incident involving an express bus took place last month on the southbound stretch of the North-South Expressway, near Ipoh, where the bus driver lost control due to faulty brakes and rammed into 10 cars. The incident resulted in the bus company receiving a one-month suspension.

Nadzri said that currently, JPJ uses the mySIKAP computing system, while the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) are using their own systems. “We have agreed that the current systems which are implemented in real time, will be upgraded, especially the blacklisting of drivers, owners and vehicles,” Nadzri added.

The report also stated that the Malaysian Administrative Modernisation and Management Planning Unit (Mampu) will assist the JPJ, PDRM and SPAD in developing an integrated enforcement system.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Another 4 years? Thought this can be implemented ASAP without further delay! Other countries can do it right away, why can’t we? Guess the device installation will be sub-out to DUMNO cronies… again! Sigh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • no more bujet tahun ni sampai 2020 dah. Kena buat MRT v2 lg

• TeslaOwner on Aug 01, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Of course need another 4 years or so. Need to setup company now, then let it *matured* for a few years, then get the project to implement the speed limiter. Otherwise the public say, “Why give project to a 1 week old company? Cronism!”

• Worried on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:05 am

Why most wait so long to have this implemented ? I drive highway everyday, these express buses Hog the middle lane driving at 110 km/h although their useless sign on the back says max 80/90 km/h !!! Where is the damn law enforcement ?? When these monsters crash they create havoc and major damages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • drMpower on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:21 am

u are having a laugh mate
    what speed limiter

last time it was black box
    then that device which sound when you go over speed
    then GPS tracking device

these jokers wont learn anything, except when people die boarding the bus. when people die then only brain work. but working wrongly.

listen, i give u one advice. go and see the AG and allow proof evidence by camera, or whatever the public has. once the film or the picture taken by any member of the public, without having to give ID of him/herself, then case can be open to any bus company or driver that commit all the dangerous acts on the road.

of course i need to tell u that u need computer analyst, digital forensic team, etc etc for you to do investigate on the source of the film/picture. i have to tell u that because i dont think u can brain it much.

thats one from me. we go one by one. okay? next time new banana i give u.

• Support Najib for speed limiters or Tun cronies to reject limiters? Hmmm….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Leafable on Aug 01, 2016 at 12:06 pm

By 2020 a lots of your productive citizens already end up in the ditch next to the north south highway inside a black plastic bag.

• Richard on Aug 01, 2016 at 12:33 pm

How about speed limiter for every vehicle on the road? Why only target the busses? Motorbikes account for lots of fatalities too.

• ae101 on Aug 01, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Transport minister, why delay on this? I have seen many stupid express drivers drove more then 110kmh.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:08 pm

We r still gonna have baboons on the top… Zero hope achieved

• Pullover on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Till dooms day it wouldn’t be implemented and enforce bez from top to down massive corruption n other related issues

• TheDean on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:26 pm

First, speed limiters are good to have. Implement it immediately and apply the same to all motorcycles below 250cc.
    Second, ensure all critical safety parts like brakes, tyres, driving shafts, etc are ok every quarter (4 times a year).
    Third, do a drug test on all drivers prior to each trip during festive season.
    Fourth, ensure costs of these measures are subsidized and discounted.
    Fifth, penalize companies that break the rules with permanent suspensions.
    Last, create a third party observing enforcement to curb corruption.

Doing this, will show a rakyat-centric government. We are rich. Still are. Unfortunately, monies are either siphoned off or spent on projects popular with the voting public. Take Obama for instance, he changed A LOT when in office despite opposition-run congress fought against the white house. His changes are not necessarily ‘popular’ like closing down guantanamo, but those that were people-centric. Leaders don’t govern to stay in power, but govern FOR the people whilst in power. Instead of demanding Najib to step down, we should really lobby for a termed premiership. Say, 4-5 years. And open the PMship to everyone instead of the deputy. This will encourage better democracy, and create a more learned stream of leaders from representatives, to members of parliament to secretaries to deputy ministers. All will aim for quality because anyone can be elected PM.

• Shahril on Aug 01, 2016 at 2:46 pm

I believed previously all buses must equipped with Blackbox which in particularly:
    1) speed limit control
    2) automatic issuance alert/summons
    3) buzzer

What happen to the project???

• otakudang on Aug 01, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Nanti dah 2020,

We still need more time to pasang the limiter..

Then it become 2025