VIDEO: 2016 Honda Civic 1.5 VTEC Turbo walk-around

The 2016 Honda Civic had its Malaysian launch in June, and Honda Malaysia has high hopes for the new model. It’s meant to rejuvenate the slow C-segment sedan market, once again putting the Civic nameplate at the top of consumers’ minds. Can the FC Civic achieve that feat?

Here we have the range-topping Civic 1.5TC Premium, with all the bells and whistles. Under the hood lies a direct-injection 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine with 171 hp and 220 Nm of torque, enough to get it to 100 km/h in 8.2 seconds. With a CVT, it’s efficient too, claimed to average 17.2 km/l.

It sure looks the part, with LED headlamps, dual-tone 17-inch wheels and chrome door handles. Keyless entry is standard across the range, complete with walk-away auto-lock and an Engine Remote Start function – all shown in the video above. Do watch our walk-around tour of the 2016 Honda Civic for full details.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• How many times do I have to say this Hafriz…

Lose some weight if ur gonna be on TV!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 120
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 02, 2016 at 5:15 pm

We’re on YouTube, not TV ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 10
      • Maybe he’s watching this Youtube on his Smart-TV :-D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
        • George Abdul on Aug 02, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Hafriz haters gonna hates, Keep up the good work man !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:26 am

Yes, keep up the good work. We are proud of you bro.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:46 am

The car quality is so bad. Just to close any door also, you have to push so hard. It does not close naturally. It gets stuck. U push it also, it get stuck and does fall into its locking position.

this is Malaysian QC. Go to Australia, you see the Civic, tap the door, it justs sways naturally into closing

• Fareez on Aug 02, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Oooooooo!!!! Burn!

• Hafriz, does the fender signal lights turn on all the time at night? Cuz I notice it does on a civic I saw on road.

• Iskandar on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:23 pm

It’s not fender signal lights, it’s called side markers. The side signal lights are actually on the side mirrors. Side markers are a requirement nowadays on international market cars.

• Ye ke? I thought side markers only for long vehicles like trucks n bus. But why does it have to be so bright?

• Ganesh on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Hafriz, can you give us the fuel consumption for the 1.8 and 1.5 Turbo.

The SA in Honda himself told me, better to get the 1.8 cause in the long run, the 1.5 Turbo will give more problems and also, more expensive to repair or service. is tis true?

• Very honest SA you meet. Turbo needs more expensive Ron97 too

• teller on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:47 am

CVT good economy but less durable option. CVT life span is limited and is not suitable for high performance. So what’s the point?

• Malaysian Driver on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:54 am

See, this is the problem with all these downsizing turbocharging trend: These 1.0, 1.2,1.4,1.5, 1.6 turbo engines are by default, an underpowered engine to haul their intended chassis before the turbo started spooling. And by putting a low inertia turbo, you’ll be spooling the turbo quite early in the revs range, ie: 1400-2000rpm depends on the factory tuned state. Once that turbo started to spool, the densed and hot air (coupled with Malaysia’s extremely hot weather, the intercooler will not be able to work at its peak efficiency) will requires more fuel to burn.

In a typical KL traffic condition, with lots of start stop traffic, you’ll be spooling your turbo 90% of the time to overcome the initial momentum deficit of the underpowered displacement in all these downsized turbocharged cars. Hence, you’ll be burning more fuel compared to a larger engined counterpart in NA form. Take Ford Focus 1.5 Turbo vs Mazda 3 2.0 NA for example, in real world driving condition, the Mazda will trump the Ford in fuel consumption figure, although it has a bigger displacement. This is because Mazda in its 2.0 NA form is sufficient to haul the car in low rev range but the Focus will be spooling its turbo very early to overcome the underpower deficit of its 1.5 displacement.

I believe those 17+km/litre officially published by Honda is only achievable when the Civic cruise constantly at 120km/h at highway speed, at a constant monentum moving in crusing mode. This is the only way you can achieve that figure, and it’s the only situation where these downsized turbocharged cars able to beat their NA counterpart in fuel consumption. In real world traffic condition coupled with lots of city driving, the NA still wins in fuel consumption. If you do a test between the Kuga 1.5T vs CX-5 2.0 NA in real world traffic condition, the Kuga ends up burning more fuel than the CX-5.

With that being said, downsized turbocharged cars is not without its merit. The ample low end torque is very addictive and you’ll be overtaking cars effortlessly. Just don’t expect it to fullfilled more power yet delivering lower fuel consuption figures. That’s just a lie pull off by PR effort of the global automakers to appeased to the green policies worldwide. In short, these downsied turbocharging trend has nothing gotta do with environmental conservation nor energy saving, it’s juat a means to sell more cars under the current tax structured implemented worldwide.

Yes, turbocharged cars require more tender, love and care in the long run. If you’re used to Japanese reliability that can take all sorts of abusive usage, turbo might not suits you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
        • Malaysian Driver on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:43 am

And one more thing, one of the factor why all these downsizing turbocharged cars fare very badly in Malaysia’s traffic jam condition (in terms of fuel consumption) is because of the very low efficiency of the intercooler.

In a traffic jam, by moving constantly at a speed of 10-30km/h, you’ll not be generating enough headwind to feed the intercooler. Coupled with the extreme hot weather with an air temperature exceeding 35 degree Celsius, the air feed into the intake manifold is still extremely hot. All these direct injected turbocharged engines nowadays have very sensitive and demanding parameters for the ECU to work at its optimum level to ensure its longivity. Hence, in order to cool down the dense air entering the combustion chamber via the intake manifold (caused by the intercooler not being able to work properly because of lack of headwind), the ECU will resort to spraying MORE FUEL to cool down the intake air, hence burning more fuel compared to a NA car in a traffic jam. This is one of the fact that SA and all these car makers will never tell you.

In contrast, given a highway crusing scenario, the downsized turbocharged cars will have tons of headwind feeding the intercooler and the turbo is just working just nice at the threshold level. Hence, in this is the situation, downsized turbo cars will be to deliver its advertised fuel consumption figure and trump its larger NA conterpart. Apart from that, that’s no way downsized turbocharged cars is able to beat NA in fuel consumption, low end torque asides of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • well done bro! you have improved much.

a little more comment: perhaps slow down a bit and improve the intonation will make your presentation even more interesting.

can’t wait to see your next walk-around — on hilux or furtuner! we people from sarawak looking forward to that.

• Albert on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:50 pm

Fellow Victorian Hafriz
        In this age of DISTRACTION,some guys get distracted cos of your weight.If you put a sexy lady in the video,they will also get distracted.
        Keep up the good work.You are outstanding among the many bumis who work very hard.
        It is enjoyable watching your presentation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Havent seen u here in a while. Have u stop selling ur toyota junks?

• What matters is the substance and you did it well, mate. Keep up the good job.

• Operation Manager on Aug 02, 2016 at 5:27 pm

AD 2016 Civic walk around, around, & around… R&D mechanical design failure product cannot be fixed, ask Danny how to sell…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Fat does not mean he cant on youtube or tv…

• Jax Teller on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Please don’t discriminate others. Size means nothing. Talent matters. Good body structure without talent, it sucks.

Hafriz, keep up the good work bro! Talent matters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • lavenderguy on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:30 am

for heaven sake, this is a car blog, not some I want to be model blog….
      who are you? Abercombie & Fitch founder?

• Salambangi on Aug 02, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Dear Hafriz

Good review always. Please improve on your enunciations though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • hailthepurist on Aug 02, 2016 at 4:42 pm

nice video..

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 02, 2016 at 4:49 pm

The exterior design is growing on me. But the interior still looks uninspiring. Also, Hafriz try not to sit down or squat, cos it’s not very flattering to the tummy area (camera just makes it worst). Or just wear black if you need to do it. Good job. But a full review (video and write-up) would be even better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • This Civic beauty is 1000 times nicer and better than the junk garbage Perdana or Pondan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 26
    • basherlogic on Aug 02, 2016 at 5:20 pm

I smell jepunis overlord worshipper here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Ever wondered why when all those Albert, George, Kuntilanak dupes disappears, this RBA john pulak comes out and hardsell Bisa? wink; wink.

• Nice and clear review and nice studio lighting to do the car justice. Te little effects also seen to be getting better and I hope the VFX artist is paid well. Thou I hope for more elaborate talk through something more Matt Watson’s style.

The new Civic is a great car, and praise for it has been much given in the comment section of previous articles, mostly on the substantial standard equipment, space and style for the price. As someone who has slight bias preference towards Honda cars and company, I am not in a right position to commend much of the Civic without John and his inability to spell ‘Japanese’ correctly coming, and give me some stern and grammatically wrong words with me.

However, I want to note out a thing or two I dislike on the Civic. I haven’t had the chance to test drive the Turbo; when I was there for my service, the test cars was unfortunately occupied, but I had some time to be marry with the non-premium Turbo show car. The materials are a significant jack up from the disgrace that is the FB, but some of the center console feels cheap and cumbersomely arranged. The rear seat, unfortunately, can’t fold down, which really puts it out for practicality as a family car. The introduction of a rear air vents is a blessing on HM’s part, but disappointingly seems to be more of a leg cooler than something for the rear occupants comfort.

All in all, with the exception of the inability to fold the rear seats, most of the problems won’t put it out of potential shoppers ‘to buy list. Its a exceptional car in its price, and in a darker color with the premium’s LED lights, there is a certain European finesse to it that you will find it hard press to find in the segment and yes, including the Jetta and 408 as well. Now in the words of Craig Cole, you’re more than welcome to disagree with me, as you are to be wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • One more thing that I dislike about this gen civic, is the built quality of the front doors. There are obvious weld lines on the door which show the doors are built by welding 2 parts altogether? HRV built is better in this aspect.

• I did not really notice the weld lines as much as I did not notice weather or not the the screws on the cabin illumination lights suits my fancy or not. That would be extremely nit picky for me, and I don’t think many potential buyers will notice. Much like how I did not notice the window buttons on the Rolls Ghost is actually plastic.

• tokmoh. on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Nah, cukurla it wasn’t as bad as Preve.

There was quite hoohaa when people spread Preve’s door was welded so poorly, there’s even hole in between two parts, people question Preve’s safety.

Well, plenty of accidents since do prove Preve really is safe.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:26 am

The previous Civic, FB, also can see the welding. But it was designed from the start to be a “cheap” car due to Honda mistakenly thinking the economy would tank when the FB would come out (same reason they pulled out of F1 during the FB’s development. However, when it got here, it wasn’t very cheap. But for the FC to do the same and to have hard plastic for side bolsters in the rear seats (when the FB had super soft material) is unacceptable. Anybody who gets the FC should get to an upholstery shop to patch some cushion and leather on those side bolsters.

• tokmoh. on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:45 pm

My single biggest gripe with this car is WHY THE FARKING HELL A FAMILY CAR CAN’T HAVE FOLDABLE REAR SEATS?!!!!

Cross bar for added handling? Oh puhleeeeeez la, family car la, bukan 2 door track-focused beast.

Otherwise, I wonder how good is the NVH of our version. When this model launched globally, refinement in NVH is touted game changing over 9th gen, making it, as you noticed, having a more Conti-like finesse.

But this being Malaysia, just how much of it being retained? Is the UHTS shell fully retained or cut down? “Acoustic windshield, triple door sealing, door gap seals at the rear edges of the doors (first for Civic) and hydraulic mounts for the engine (front) and lower suspension”?

http://paultan.org/2015/10/19/2016-honda-civic-full-technical-details-on-the-10th-generation-sedan-specs-and-equipment/

• Yea, I cant really defend the lack of fold down seat. It is a feature I really use even in the smaller City. I did asked the salesman and he said that the Civic is more of a ‘lifestyle’ choice, and he would usually direct people with family towards its stablemate the City or the Accord. I can understand the thinking, trying to distance the Civic against its bigger and smaller siblings. But lacking a fold down rear seat is terrible on Honda’s behalve.

I’a pretty sure as far as structural integrity and mattallorgy, the Civic is the same as the USDM counterparts and I dont see why they would change that.

• tokmoh. on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:20 am

Oh you’ll never know.

Passo, boon and myvi are essentially same car. Passo got 4 star euro ncap iirc, so some say myvi is just as safe.

Wrong. During ancap, myvi initially got 3 star, then only after recent facelift they added reinforcement to improve to 4 star.

If perodua can be that brazen, I’m not surprised if honda too. When it comes to safety, we Asians sometimes cannot be relied, Takata being case in point.

That said, this civic is still a winner. When u see it on the road, it looks really bold and attention grabbing. The proportion makes it look huge, it gives a commanding aura, like it’s saying “I’m in charge”.

The 1.5 turbo should be very popular. Turbo usually have very meaty, satisfying low end torque that is addictive, and cvt being cvt, it enables the engine to be in its powerband more effectively.

• Malaysian Driver on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:42 am

Hi Tokmoh, the Civic turbo in China (the one with CVT) has very apparent turbo lagged as tested in the track there. The manual however, (the only market in the world where Honda offers the 1.5 VtecT paired with a 6MT) is faster than the CVT. I’m not sure about the Malaysia state of tune though, coz I’ve not test drive the car yet.

The conclusion done by car critiques there is that the Civic is a very fast straight line car (faster than almost all C segment counterpart, even surpasses many German luxury entry models) but it’s not sporty, it’s more like a luxury cruiser with much substantiality rather than appealing to JDM’s rawness of “Vtec kick in yo!” of the EJ to FD era. This is because this Civic dynamism is not tuned to cater for razor sharp responses and agrresive tail complianes in fast or slow corners. In terms of absolute driver’s input and dynamics, the Mazda 3 and Foucs are still kings of the lots. Well, that’s in China though.

For me, the 1.8 NA will be a more sensible choice if I am dead set on getting a Civic.

• tokmoh. on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Well that sucks. That’s why manual > all.

Though recently I had a go with city n jazz, i find they have pretty good throttle response. It was so quick, it was like throttle cable, the drive-by-wire lag was simply imperceptible. I drove in normal relaxed manner, it was truly excellent. Didn’t push it pedal to the metal as it wasn’t my car, so can’t say how it behaves when urgency is needed.

This civic is still a family car, made to be economical, robust, comfort cruiser. Just because had turbo doesn’t make it sporty. Like volvo, it’s turbocharged help give low end torque.

Civic type-R though, is a different animal. Uncompromised, unforgiving, it’s gotta be approved by purists.

• basherlogic on Aug 03, 2016 at 5:28 am

Cabut semua pun ok. Pipu dun persoal because this is jepunis car ma. Got “prestige” badge kononnya.

• from my short distance test drive; the Civic 1.5 T-P offered commendable ride by soaking up road undulation and potholes without much of those being felt within the cabin. However, I think paying an additional 8K for the premium spec may not be a wise move; you get LED headlamps and foglamps, navigation and dualzone auto air con. Out of all these additional specs; one may gather the LED headlamp and foglamp justify the price premium but truth is, the LED light output is not any better than a typical 35W HID output in terms of light throw and depth (based on driving observation at night). The LED light output is merely shone across via reflector panels instead of projector lenses. Hence Honda HR-V’s projector dual LED offers better light throw and clarity compared to its so called premium Full LED system (disappointingly so). If I were in the market for the Civic, the 1.5T offers better value in the sense you could easily do a proper HID retrofit for less than 2K with great output. Only downside is I may risk having manufacturer warranty voided

• Sadly, the fragile market today are up for these so-called latest techs without even considering the pros n cons. just s’long they are driving what they perceived to be the ‘IN’ thing.

you are by far the only 1 that i came across implicating the rather less useful LED lamps. Indeed HRV’s lamp is far better n stylish.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Retrofits are not an option. If you compare stock HID with stock LED, they are usually similar, depending on the design one of the other is better (for example Golf HID vs Leon LED I’ll take the Golf – at least the highest spec HIDs… lower spec is like Leon LED. All options are better than halogen though).

Stock HID uses lenses that are designed for HID, unlike stock halogen. Stock HID and LED adjust the headlight level automatically depending on how much weight is in the car, so that you don’t blind others. Stock halogen doesn’t do that.

IIRC HID is inferior to LED when it comes to rain. HID only has a few wavelengths, LED is broader.

Dualzone auto aircon is great, and together with the LED headlights it’s a worthy upgrade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • Kadajawi, I understand you appreciate the additional features available at the expense of an additional ~ RM8,000; dualzone aircond – I recall having had this feature in my 2006 Accord 2.4L and I didn’t find the ability to vary the left and right aircond blowers’ temperature to be a factor in my purchase of the 2.4L over the 2.0L version at that time.

However, your statement that retrofit is not an option is flawed if I understand correctly that you are trying to say the performance of stock LED is better than that of retrofit HID. Look at the structural design of LED bulb and HID bulb; the former (from most brands) employs one or two diode surfaces per bulb which emit directional light that can be limiting, while the latter employs an all-encompassing light emitting surface. Now when you add on the lens in front of the HID bulb, the usable light is not only wider but farther – this of course depends on the quality of lens used. My Iriz’s retrofitted with a 4300K 35W HID system has a slightly wider and much sharper cutoff line than my facelifted W212 LED output. The retrofit option cost only RM900, which is a tiny fraction of the cost of W212’s OEM auto levelling LED system. Yes, retrofit doesn’t come with auto levelling but that’s not an issue because my HID projector is mounted inside the lamp casing via bolt and nut method so levelling is a simple affair – just make sure to adjust the the light cutoff below side mirrors of vehicles on level ground.

So far, the LED headlamp colour output I have seen from facelifted 5 series, 3 series, W212 Peug508 and Honda HR-V and 2.4L Accord are more on the blueish white scale (between 5000 – 6000K). When it comes to rainy condition, you see less details on the road via white light as compared to yellowish white (4300K). In foggy condition (worst than rain) 3000K yellow output will be the weapon of choice. Guess what? retrofit HID offers you a wide spectrum of colour temperature, from 3000K to 6000K, anything above that is not really usable. The major reason carmakers are opting for white output LED is due to its crisp looking colour lending a “premium” look. The reason why most carmakers have moved onto LED is because LED is easy to work with and you can have various fancy LED headlamp designs, which forms part of vehicles’ exterior styling language such as that pioneered by Audi.

Oh yeah, I did mention the HR-V dual projector LED is better in terms of light throw, sharper cutoff and wider width compared to the Civic’s “premium” Full LED shone via reflector

• targa on Aug 02, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Car feels good, though I’d prefer the CVT in the Altis over Honda’s unit. Rear seats are too low and thin, not good for outstation drives and the leg room seems limited with that new floor design.

But this is miles better than the model it replaced.

• Retro School on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Car designs in the past used to be masculine and refine. Nowadays, so many cars are designed to look feminine and bitchy to cater to the tastes of today’s Gen Y. Sadly, this Civic design is a testament of this concept.

• rear seats can’t be folded down… sigh

• Eugene on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Pity the new Honda civic owners to have this important feature taken out.

• Bold and Clear, HONDA SENSING is not available in Malaysia… haih…

• old horse on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:54 pm

rest in peace Toyota..

• this car is overrated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • policeman on Aug 03, 2016 at 1:36 am

I had a look at this Civic the other day. I could not tell the difference between this and the Bezza. Both had appalling interior plastics. Both had the same size boot. Both are feminine pondan-mobiles. At least with Bezza you save RM80K, and you won’t look like a fool stranded by the roadside with a failed CVT.

Test drove the Civic. Road noise was terribly loud. B-pillar trims emitted creaking sounds when going over bumps. Wind noise started at 80kph. Transmission made a lot of whiny noise. There’s delay in the drive-by-wire response. Brakes were spongy. Speakers were tin sounding. Aircond wasn’t cold enough. Ride was harsh and the car vibrated a lot. Steering wasn’t responsive enough. Pick up (0 to 40) was sluggish. Radio reception was bad. Seatbelt kept getting stuck. Windows wound slowly with excessive noise.

Honda’s quality has gone downhill in recent years. All they care about is getting cars to look pretty to please yuppies and daffodils.

Can’t they make a decent car? This Civic is no better that a Proton Saga. Shameful. A peon’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
  • The rear seats can be folded down. A Google search will reveal it. Unless the Malaysian civic 2016 does not allow it.

• Not in Malaysian model !! Thats crappy !

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 03, 2016 at 1:33 pm

And a search of the photos above will reveal why Malaysia Civic doesn’t.
      http://paultan.org/2016/08/01/gallery-2016-honda-civic/hondacivic_int-41/

• Current Known Issues so far:

– AC issues (compressor)
    – AC tube outlet not connected
    – HU Unit beeping
    – Rattling sound on uneven road
    – Rattling sound while at low speed on the right side of the dashboard
    – Strange/rough startup noise
    – Moisture buildup in side markers / headlights after heavy rain
    – Overpressured tyres

• Rattling sound is common with Honda cars nowadays. Too much plastic components. And you know our MY road la.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Overinflated tyres? You know you can let out some air…?

• Civic owner on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:30 am

Any forum for civic malaysia to talk about the problems?

• albag on Aug 03, 2016 at 1:08 pm

seriously Hafiz Shah, your presentation is so lame, making the whole video looks so bored… go find someone who is more capable of introducing this vehicle in a more exciting way…

after watching your live coverage on the Bezza, it’s totally appalling!!! U really need to work behind the camera and totally not fit being as a presenter.. dayuummm Malaysian Paultan video presentation standard looks awful shiat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Ducatiman on Aug 28, 2016 at 12:55 am

Has anyone else noticed that the new Civic has a pretty bad paint finish on all the vertical surfaces. All models seem to have less than perfect (but mostly acceptable)finish but some of the doors and rear quarters in particular are really disappointing. Wish somebody down there in the quality department in Malacca would wake up and readjust the spray heads.