Ferrari collector sues Italian carmaker for not letting him buy a LaFerrari Spider, damaging his reputation

160451-car_LaFerrari_Aperta

Have you ever been so angry at being denied a limited-production supercar that you wanted to sue the carmaker making it? Well, you aren’t the first, because noted Ferrari collector Preston Henn has done just that, by suing Ferrari because he can’t buy a LaFerrari Spider.

In a filing to the United States District Court, it is revealed that Henn has done a great many things to ensure that he secures one example of the Italian carmaker’s latest creation. This includes a USD$1 million (RM4,052,500) deposit cheque mailed directly to Sergio Marchionne.

As a result, he is seeking “damages for reputational injury and the mortification caused by declaring him to be not qualified to purchase a LaFerrari Spider.” Now, you may think that this is a #firstworldproblem, but through Henn’s eyes, his devotion to the Prancing Horse should account for something the way he sees it. Just how devoted is he?

Well, the court filing (parts of it posted below) also includes a list of Ferraris owned by Henn since the 1960s. Models like the F40, F50, 550 Barchetta, Enzo, 275 GTB (1965), Daytona Spider (1971) and even one of Michael Schumacher’s Formula 1 racers, form just part of his collection. A LaFerrari coupe is also listed here, so naturally, he would need the Spider version to ensure his collection is not lacking, right?

If that isn’t enough, Henn is also one of the 30 few who bought into the company’s Corse Clienti XX programme, with a FXX bearing his name. The client programme allows owners to drive and race their cars on race tracks around the world, where Ferrari engineers would monitor the cars’ performance in order to make set-up and engineering decisions for future Ferraris.

Aside from the Verified Complaint for Damages, the filing also includes a defamation suit, which states “the publication of the statement that Preston Henn is not qualified to purchase a LaFerrari Spider is an untrue statement which harms Henn’s reputation, and holds him up to ridicule, disrespect, and disrepute in his profession, trade, occupation, avocation, and among his friends and business and social associates.”

For this, Henn is seeking damages of USD$75,000 (RM304,233) on top of the one from the Verified Complaint for Damages as compensation for the damage to his reputation. Suffice to say, with the reveal of this lawsuit, limited-edition Ferrari models are a serious matter.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 5:56 pm

This si like Jib trying to sue DOJ and FBI for his stealing ways. It makes no sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 45
    • Kokoala on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Can educate yourself to comment something related to the topic, please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 64
    • Kuala on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:19 am

Only a mentally retarded person would politicise every single thing in his life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
    • Someone should sue govt cause low income
      ppl always need to buy p1

• I wish I was in his shoes. Must be expensive ones too. Probably kept in a golden shoe cabinet.

• No worries. LEGO will make a limited edition LaFerrari Spider just for him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:12 pm

This what you call a spoilt brat, who does not know disappointment….something like Jib. Nobody wants you but you thick skin and stay on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 16
    • Kokoala on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Can educate yourself to comment something related to the topic, please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 67
    • No his not actually a spoil brat, but a self-made billionaire and racing driver back in 80’s

• syerin on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:22 pm

#FirstWorldProblem

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:34 pm

sorry la brother…u are avid collector but me and ananda krishnan are richer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • dodgeviper88 on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:18 pm

If you really want it then go buy one from the grey market, send it back to ferrari to spec it according to your tastes & wants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:21 pm

You are not at that level, you don’t understand the sentiment.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 04, 2016 at 10:56 am

Or be like Ford. Build your own supercar. And then spank Ferrari 3 times running.

Who knows, you might be the next Pagani.

• Acutally its the next Lambo. Lembukini owner was piss off by Enzo, thats why he setup Lambo

• gtmaniac on Aug 04, 2016 at 8:48 am

Grey market? A LaFerrari? We are not talking Vellfire or Harrier here. Plus.. yeah, you won’t understand.

• sohai on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:06 am

It is not about the money… it may not be even about the car.
      He probably went bragging about himself being inside the Ferrari all time hall of fame superfans, and has ‘jalan’ to lay hands on any model he wants.
      Than suddenly lost face because kena reject. His friends were teasing him that his cable not long enough lah.
      Who cares about the damn car.. face value more important.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Let other people own a limited edition Ferrari la, it is not like you drive the car also. Just keep it in the barn collecting dust. Buy the Perdana, even more exclusive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Got alredi. This Preston Henn is actually agent for Sultan Johor, so since tuanku alredi have 1st Perdana, so no need another

• The guy really have a very impressive collection of supercars. He has virtually every significant Ferrari model in history: F40, F50, Enzo, Laferrari and FXX.

• BOYRACER on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Maybe I can try to sue those finance companies for rejecting my car/bike loan because it is very damaging to my reputation as a good citizen as i never misses my loan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Ciku Masam on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:00 pm

if he is so damn rich, go buy over ferrari business lah….instead of buying one of their car.

Ada berani??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Always entertaining reading about rich people’s rich problems.

• Hoong on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:10 am

Ferrari also denied my application to own LaFerrari after I paid USD2.50 for a deposit. But I am not angry at all. Just smile and accept the fate.

• billy on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:18 am

USD 1 = RM4.052500

• Joholan on Aug 04, 2016 at 8:31 am

Sue Ferrari !! …..Ferrari will never let him own LaLa Ferrari 2018 !!

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:30 am

Its a crime to own too many Ferraris and not able to drive all of them everyday, is like hogging resources from others… Lolx

• Cheap collector on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:43 am

Well I collect a range of Perodua cars – Malaysia’s all time favorite car. It’s a start.

• Bini4Best on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:15 am

if cannot buy ferrari……buy Proton Perdana loh…..as it is very very unique. neber seen one on the road ever, except in showroom…

• ferrari dont want to sell to a 85 year old uncle XD

drive too dangerous or too slow

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:03 pm

He does have quite a collection already. But sueing Ferrari is not the right way. I’m sure they have their reasons – maybe cos Lewis Hamilton has secretly brought a few. In other words, there are people out there who probably have an even better collection than him. Or Ferrari wants to prioritise it to celebrities, since it’ll be driven top down.

• ganni on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:40 pm

he has a reputation in the mental hospital before…no wonder