2016 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire launched in M’sia – RM408k-RM506k for Alphard, RM345k for Vellfire

Toyota Alphard Vellfire launch 1

Toyota Alphard 3.5 Executive Lounge (left), Vellfire 2.5 (right)

A formality at this point, UMW Toyota has officially launched the 2016 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire MPVs in Malaysia. The debut of the new-generation models (third-gen Alphard, second-gen Vellfire) have been a long time coming, with the company first announcing their arrival back in January this year. Since then, we’ve revealed the specifications for both models, and they have even been previewed at Toyota’s showroom in Mitsui Outlet Park.

We’ll start with the prices, which remain unchanged from what was announced at the start of June. For the Alphard, two variants are offered, starting with the Alphard 3.5 at RM408,327 and Alphard 3.5 Executive Lounge at RM505,626. As for the Vellfire the sole 2.5 variant is priced at RM345,142. All prices mentioned here are on-the-road without insurance, and include a five-year/unlimited mileage manufacturer’s warranty.

Focusing our attention to the Alphard line-up first, both variants are powered by the 2GR-FE 3.5 litre V6 engine that provides 271 PS at 6,200 rpm and 340 Nm at 4,700 rpm, driving the front wheels via a six-speed automatic with sequential shifter.

On the outside, the Alphard’s unmistakable grille is a defining design that differentiates it from the Vellfire. Standard equipment fitted here include auto-levelling LED headlamps (with cornering lamps and LED DRLs), a rear spoiler with integrated LEDs, fog lamps (front and rear), front moonroof and rear sunroof. The Malaysian-spec Alphard will not get the Aero body style, but benefits from Aero wheels that measure 18 inches in size, wrapped with 235/50R18 tyres.

Toyota Alphard 3.5

Inside the seven-seat Alphard 3.5, the 2-2-3-configuration seats are upholstered with beige leather, with the second row featuring captain seats. Ottoman leg rests are fitted to these seats, as well as on the front passenger seat as well. Accessing the vehicle’s interior can be accomplished via the powered sliding doors and boot, the latter for cargo.

In terms of kit, you’ll find a 7-inch DVD-AVN touchscreen infotainment system with navigation and eight speakers, rear 10.2-inch entertainment screen (with remote control and wireless headphones), triple-zone air-conditioning system (with separate blower and temp controls for the rear), Panasonic nanoe filtration technology, 16-colour ceiling illumination, as well as a four-spoke, leather-wrapped, multifunction steering wheel garnished with brown wood-grain trim.

If you opt for the Alphard 3.5 Executive Lounge, more goodies are to be had, beginning with premium semi-aniline leather upholstery for the seats (available in either beige or black). Passengers in the second row will also be seated on VIP powered seats that not only come with a more elaborate Ottoman function (telescopic length change and power lift up) but also seat air-conditioning.

Toyota Vellfire 2.5

The entertainment system setup also differs, with an 8-inch DVD-AVN infotainment unit, 17-speaker JBL audio system and a rear 9-inch entertainment screen (with Blu-ray playback). Elsewhere, an electro multi-vision (EMV) display, a VIP wood-grain steering wheel and are added to the cabin,

Moving on to the Vellfire, the sole 2.5 offering comes with a 2AR-FE 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine, which outputs 180 PS at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm at 4,100 rpm. Power delivery to the front wheels is handled by a CVT in this instance.

Similar to the Alphard, the Vellfire does not come with Aero body style, but will have 18-inch Aero wheels (with 235/50R18 tyres) fitted as standard. Exterior features remain almost identical to the Alphard as well – auto-levelling LED headlamps (with cornering lamps and LED DRLs), a rear spoiler with integrated LEDs, fog lamps (front and rear), front moonroof and rear sunroof.

Toyota Alphard (left), Toyota Vellfire (right); Click to enlarge the price lists

It’s the same case for the interior as well, with the same interior specs as the Alphard 3.5, but with a few minor differences. For starters, the Vellfire adopts black rather than beige (with grey headliner), with black wood grain trim applied to certain areas.

As for safety, both the Alphard and Vellfire, regardless of variant, gets seven airbags (front, front side, curtain and driver knee), VSC, traction control, ABS, Hill-start Assist and parking sensors (front and rear). Colour options include Luxury White Pearl, White Pearl, Silver Metallic and Black for the Alphard, while the Vellfire can be had in Burning Black (deep purple), White Pearl, Silver Metallic and Black. All the cars here get space saver wheels.

If you’re questioning whether you should purchase either MPV from UMW Toyota or a grey importer, these officially-imported vehicles have been customised for our local environment – engine, ECU and suspension. UMW Toyota also provides customers with 10 years of guaranteed parts availability after the model run-out, and the necessary equipment to service them.

Browse full specifications and equipment on all new Toyota Alphard and Vellfire variants on CarBase.my.

Toyota Alphard 3.5 Executive Lounge

Toyota Alphard 3.5

Toyota Vellfire 2.5

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ollie on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:31 am

Just look at the picture titled ‘int-9’ and see those buttons and plastics. The same as what you’d see in a Kancil. Mind-blowing how anyone would buy this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
    • Either UMWT or Recon also to cronies. So just look at others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Same L00 on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:48 am

When the Proton fanboys can’t afford these models, they talk east west north south bullshit about these models.
        Why these models so expensive in Malaysia? Thanks to Proton and its RM1.5bil pocket money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • this car is mahal because it is jepunis overlord car. My pipu should buy Juara. Better quality and cheaper. Don’t be like Dear Leader in Penang, official Toyota supporter.

My pipu buy this is bodoh like pipu who buy Bisa. Waste of money…oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
  • Thanks to that senile Proton man, Malaysians just need to pay an additional RM100-200k to get this beautiful Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
    • Lolitok on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Betul bro.
      Toyota mpv is better value dan comfort than volvo XC90, bmw X5 plug in or merc S400hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
    • Mesidis GLE 500e more expensive in tomyamland. Ini mesti semua salah TunP1 kan kan kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Kunta Kinte on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:32 am

No logic pricing. Rm506k for a glorified van? Does the Government think Malaysians have RM500k so easily?

Maybe the big boss can steal RM2.6 billion, for him and his gang of pencuri, RM500k is small money. To most of us, even RM50k is a lot of money.

UMW, being Government owned, is again trying to rip and steal from the Malaysian public. So, in other words, the Government themselves, trying to perah the rakyat maximum for their money. Money which will eventually go into a few pockets.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 14
    • Tax the rich, so no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
      • Henry on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:49 pm

But a poor fellow like you is also being taxed “kaw kaw.” So, is this a problem or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Nope. Cuz poor fellow like me no kena GST for essentials, under personal tax bracket so no kena tax, and dapat BR1M. So nope. No problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
        • George Abdul on Aug 04, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Well said… and hope john will wakeup from his dream of “blind support” on BN ministry ridiculous tax system in Malaysia !!!

• Atas Kosong on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:57 pm

the dumbo cannot understand this

• Lee kow chai on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:15 pm

I can imagine many of this expensive cars are likely paid and registered under company. I doubt any individual wage earner would buy this let alone afford to own 1.

• old horse on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:59 pm

they do this so the recon AP guy happily selling theirs…this is the strategy of UMW using for years, for Wish, Alphard, Estima..

• kzm (Member) on Aug 04, 2016 at 3:27 pm

already check thai price? Vellfire 2.5 3499k Baht (RM406k inc infotainment) n Alphard 3.5 4608k Baht (RM534k)..
      Thai get hybrid variant n they get extra 2 airbag for all variant though.

• Hahaha..glorified van. Good one

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:33 am

House on wheels indeed. Priced like a small house too, or a small condo if you live in KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • gillBates on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:42 pm

If you are born poor its not your mistake, But if you die poor its your mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • Kunta Kinte on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:36 am

Where is najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Najib promised this 3 years ago. Ever since then, car prices are going up and up and up.

Najib should honour his promise to reduce car prices by 30%. This will help the rakyat a lot. RM50k Myvi will then be reduced to RM35k. RM15k savings will help the majority of the rakyat.

The rakyat suffer whilst Big Boss wife got time to rent a private plane for RM98 million to take her whilst there are 5 government private planes ready to take her for free.

Big boss even better, spend RM500 million on a new plane whilst having 5 private planes in the Government hangar personally for him

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 9
    • Tax the rich so no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
      • Kunta Kinte on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:02 pm

But the poor who buy kancil and Axia also get the same tax bodoh! Pakai otak la bang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
        • Is this article toking about kancil or axia? Please stick to the topic. Pakai otak sikit (kalau ada lah!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
        • kuntabodo on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Saga Iriz Exora p1 cars also get the same tax, problem?

• Atas Kosong on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:55 pm

poor john, don’t even know how to spell talking. Atas kosong ke?

• tokmoh. on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:36 am

Volvo XC90 > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Sans the Skeleton on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:42 am

Who needs a refrigerator on wheels anyway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Only rear view cam or 360 all view cam? Thanks

• Dr Mamak on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:51 am

So fugly. For ah long, gangster or mafia only. Avoid these boxes if you wanna be safe when waiting at traffic light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Roadside stranger on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:53 am

Wow, half a million to buy a moving refrigerator

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • For very rich people, izit bullet proof? :-)

• Yes. When along towkay sit at center while bodyguards sits left and right sides.

• UMW TOYOTA on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:05 pm

the veilfire is look better than alphard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Price should be around 150k but u know most of them still cant afford it so alza and exora is better choice.

• Do they offer bullet-proofed windows as an option?

• Leafable on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Wow rm500k car come with aftermarket navigation system. Thank you for ripping Malaysia consumer off. You the best scammer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • 99.9% of these are driven by drivers, whose employers tell them to park along the roadside near a mall to save on parking fees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • reyust on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:25 pm

I always thought Vellfire more expensive than alphard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Volvo XC90 beats this hands down! X5 plug in hybrid too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Toyol Tar on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:40 pm

When launch sienta?

• Blingpimp on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Depending on where your tastes are leaning on. To some of us who prefers more subtle styling to move our families in, we would want to steer clear of these over bling pimped up cars. They look like they just had a very bad accident with some chrome shop!

• kampungEGGpower! on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:50 pm

expensive moving refrigerator idea finally officially available here, let’s hope sharp, panasonic, toshiba and hitachi would come out with something more affordable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Malaysian Driver on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:50 pm

With that kind of price, many ppl still go for grey con

• Kluxklan on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:27 pm

So many jealous/bitter ppl here. van bla bla refrigerator bla bla better buy this/that bla bla. Ppl who bought this usually have 2-4 cars in their garage and money is not really a concern for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • i have neighbour who buy this car. vellfire anyway. & he has only bmw 3 series at his house. who said ppl who bought this usually have 2-4 cars at their house? you tell me!

• Not jealous. They pity those who bought this ugly AhPek glorified van.

• gaviny on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Toyota is helping grey importers sell their cars at 250k which they probably paid 80k for them only.

• Apanama on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Isn’t that the lingerie model? ;-P

• Plasmacluster Haron on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:12 pm

People in Langkawi can buy the new vellfire at only RM200k.

• Silvia on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:42 pm

When I see this car I desperately need to step inside.
    So i can avoid looking at that exterior.
    I’m still wondering why is this considered “classy” and “beautiful” by a majority of people. Some refrigerators on the market seem more stylish than this….

• ae101 on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Strange most ppl commented here dislike this car. Is a big luxury mpv. Want cheaper? There are plenty options hiace, exora, starex, serena, biante and etc..

• Want cheaper? There are plenty options below 500k such as BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Range Rover, Volvo than so called premium Toyota boooo. Im talking about price of new cars btw.

• Henry on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:50 pm

A van can cost so much?

• kumar on Aug 04, 2016 at 3:05 pm

locomotive?

• DonMb on Aug 04, 2016 at 3:41 pm

No thanks..

• Soccer mum preferred transport for the daily school run!

• Danny187 on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:12 pm

I like this so much..so nice elegant n luxurious

• No harm buying the vellfire. It has cheaper roadtax than the alphard.
    Looks more badass on the road too.
    Vellfire Ah Beng Boss: Yakuzas incoming, more aside puny cars!
    Normal Malaysian drivers: Fuyoh, The Boss is rolling down the road. Better kasi the badass MPV to move. Scared like crap.
    LOL!

• Yippie on Aug 04, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Lol. I laugh at the van owner. Seems like mom drive it more. Go look at most international school, Taylor or sunway, all fatty mom. I always flash at them in highway with their turtle speed at fast lane, and they always refused to move away, pride to defend I guess. And tend to roll around during high speed bend. My German ride just take them down easily even they tried to floored it and pretend they didnt. Nice try. Most are underpowered 2.4l n even with their so called 3.5l, their NA is no match to German turbo.

• alfat on Aug 05, 2016 at 8:04 am

Prolly got speed limietr at 180km/h lor. Cannot go faster.

• Ya, Donno the reason they don’t move aside because they can’t see out back or just blurr driver

• if rich pipu buy this POS as day-to-day car i just shake my head. with tht kind of money better off go with a premium SUV or a BMW/merc. glorified van, underpowered, slow on hiway (but still clogs up emergency lane). my advice to pipu who still buy – go slow thru corners. oso, if u still want to buy, i suggest go for a lori kuari terus.

• TheNameIsAnand on Aug 04, 2016 at 5:00 pm

The price is not cheap. But there are people who will buy this. This is not a necessity or controlled item such as certain foods so it’s actually pointless to lambast about how cheap the quality is and how high the pricing is. Willing buyer, willing seller. What is worthy of protest are necessities such as housing, foods, etc.

For those complaining that the prices are high and all, you are the one who clicked. You chose to read. You are in the wrong page. Go and click on some paultan review about axia. For you, 500k may be expensive but it is just disposable income to some others. You feel the world is not fair? Feel free to commit suicide because life is not fair. Were you born yesterday?

• Luxury White Pearl? What’s that? Now there’s even luxury spec for paints. Lol. Wonder is there a noticeable difference with White Pearl

• SukaSuki on Sep 24, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Does it have ESC?