Ruili DoDa V8 – China clone of the Toyota Alphard

ruli-v8-china-1-660x475

You’ve read about the Landwind X7 by now, surely. Here comes another clone, and this time the unwitting target is the latest Toyota Alphard, just launched in Malaysia. Spotted on CarNewsChina.com, the Ruili DoDa V8 is just its name, rather than any indication of being powered by eight cylinders joined at the crank.

Powering the DoDa V8 is in fact a Mitsubishi 2.4 litre, four-cylinder engine, compared with the Toyota Alphard’s 3.5 litre V6 petrol engine; which brings about more complications as to the Alphard clone’s direct lineage: the DoDa V8 is actually based on the Joylong Aifei, itself a clone of the previous-generation Toyota Alphard, as is clear to be seen by its interior below.

Exterior dimensions offer little between the two, with the Toyota Alphard measuring 4,925mm long, 1,850mm tall and 1,890mm wide, while the DoDa V8 stretches the tape at 4,900 mm long, 1830 mm tall and 1,890 mm wide (identical to the Alphard). The DoDa’s wheelbase is 2,950mm long, while the Alphard’s is 50mm longer.

When the DoDa V8 goes on sale, it will reportedly be priced higher than the Joylong Aifei it is based on, and it’s expected to reach the Chinese market in the fourth quarter of this year.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• How do we know if the new local launch Alfat and Belfaiya is not Dodo rebadge?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
  • hazamiey on Aug 04, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Finally! Someone clone this moving terrace house.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 04, 2016 at 7:07 pm

That name sounds like a baby just learning how to talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Now everyone can own an Alphard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • Boboy on Aug 04, 2016 at 7:15 pm

China. Anything can copy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Aug 04, 2016 at 7:23 pm

brilliantly brilliant for a Dodo!

• Joylong? Ahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • But I have to say the front design looks much ‘clean’ and solid that original Alphard !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • jinggo on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:47 pm

wad de hell!

• I approve of clones, ideas should be shared, not copyrighted and made overpriced. The front grill looks pretty good too, like dragon scales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • I guess u or ur famili is not in the intellectual property or innovative idea business.

• Tracks on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:13 pm

R&D cost $$$ and it is a core of business survival. The same for recording artistes where their work came for their hard work.
      How would you feel if others copy your work and takes your credit or profit from it leaving you with nothing.

• Toy Yoda on Aug 04, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Now we have something that can stand up to the Alfart & Hellfire road bullies

• old horse on Aug 04, 2016 at 10:51 pm

bring it here, and those recon will cry also..lol

• BOYRACER on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:40 pm

China likes to clone everything..Wonder if the people themselves are cloned.

• Face the real hard fact, clone or not they are the most hard working and intelligent people in this planet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Yep. A number of MY pipu says its better to copy and succeed than try own but fail. Thats how they educate their children too.

• idealtech on Aug 05, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Obviously you haven’t worked or be in any managerial position that resides in the RoChina. They are the laziest most stubborn rebellious workforce ever. The hardworking dedicated groups spread far from the main land up to Japan (Nihonjin) are the best of the variation.

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:16 am

The same engine used to be in the cherry Eastar MPV.

• Marklampir on Aug 05, 2016 at 7:35 am

Masuk Malaysia bagi tukar nama….Dodo to DODOL

• Tabouleh! Nanti org ingat badan lembut macam dodol. Xde sales nanti

• too bad this facelifted clone alphard
    dont have the latest alphard interior.

• Mr fake on Aug 05, 2016 at 9:07 am

Another Fake Car, always fake, iphone fake, everything want to faking

• rapid on Aug 05, 2016 at 10:20 am

China – always gives an option…

• Eddie on Aug 05, 2016 at 10:27 am

What are the chances of finding asbestos in this car?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 05, 2016 at 10:54 am

Consider a used Starex.

12-18 month old unit at around RM60k

• Hadi75 on Aug 07, 2016 at 3:01 am

Where can i get a 12 – 18 month starex at rm60k????give me the location please

• Anton on Aug 05, 2016 at 10:55 am

When I was in a MITI event about ehalal.com, they invited some partners from Chinese Mainland. One of the guy came from a kind of trade supervision agency.

He bragged about product and patent protection, if you sell your products to PRC, register it to us and you don’t have to worry. We have the protection system and we will protect your product from being copied.

Then I dropped my jaw… it is hilarious, your nation is the biggest modern industry copycat, and now you are talking about protection?

And… why MITI invited him…

• plotekplotek on Aug 06, 2016 at 12:59 am

They have their own way of local automotive industry protektion what?

You must belip in China!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:45 am

Why were the Chinese invited?

Because Malaysia has sold a huge chunk of our debt to China!

• Not bad

• Longjoy on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:07 am

Wonder how El-Fart and Hell-Fire owner would feel when one ‘Big/Huge V8’ pulls up alongside? Laugh? Even more proud for he’s driving the original? Or bang his head on the wheel?

Somebody mentioned the grill here and I have to agree. It does look good if you were to look at it a while.

Check out the huge infotainment screen! Wonder if its full HD.

Way to go China! A lawsuit file is probably on its way to your mailbox.
    One thing I wonder, must they imitate or duplicate others only to be ridiculed by the world?

• carazy on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:35 am

I rather have this baby than alphard, more cun..

• The ROI on that series of Mistubishi engines (assuming these companies pay mitsu anything) must be crazy..everyone in China seems to be using these engines for their cars..turbo..non turbo….car, mpv,suv, ..macam macam… u name it and most likely there’s a mitsu engine under the hood…

• siasoi on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Ruili DoDa V8? betul betul China. When I read it out, 2 things immediately came into my mind; Pamela Anderson and a Mustang.

• arowana on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Please sell it here below RM70k… sure sell like hot cakes regardless the fake names or batches… all we want is high class looking rides to show off to people on the roads.. this will reduce more vivas and axias, making the roads a higher class standard

• Gojeng on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:58 pm

What a clone nation, and the sympathizers shamelessly brag about it. Oh well lets sing ‘Everybody drive this car..do daa do daa’.

• ian moone on Aug 05, 2016 at 3:48 pm

then the Toyota will sue them, but somehow they win..just cos this dodol have bigger wheelbase or else, like the LandWind case..

• James on Aug 08, 2016 at 9:56 pm

DOTA V8 – Facepalm lolx
    The V8 is intended to fool people for the engine ?