Masjid Perodua opens at Rawang headquarters

EMY_0021

After two years of construction, Perodua has completed its new mosque, Masjid Perodua, at its headquarters in Sungai Choh, Rawang today, and conducted its first Friday prayer there.

Built on a 3.78-acre piece of land and costing around RM9.8 million to build, the 0.92-acre house of worship – which has a total congregation capacity of 3,000 workers – is part of the national carmaker’s corporate responsibility initiative for its staff and the community around the facility.

Aside from the prayer area, the mosque also features other amenities such as food stalls and space to hold community functions like weddings and funerals.

“We hope this Masjid Perodua would be able to become the centre of all the community’s needs,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. “In addition, this house of worship would also benefit Peroduans as it allows them the convenience and safety, especially when performing their Friday prayer obligations.”

The mosque was donated to the community through the Islamic practice of waqaf, and was handed over to the Selangor Department of Islamic Affairs (JAIS) in accordance with state law. The authorities entrusted the administration of the mosque to a sponsor committee led by Noor Hashiman Sulaiman, chairman of Badan Agama Islam Perodua.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Crikey that’s big

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 06, 2016 at 11:54 am

This is good. However I advice the CEO to put a sign in the Masjid that says, “No sleeping Allowed”

Otherwise, it will become like the surau in Proton facotry….staff go there to sleep during work hours. Half the time, the supervisor has to go to the surau and wake the workers up cause they are not in the QC assembly line.

“Bang, bang, tolong bangun lah bang, shift bang dah start 15 minit lalu, semua tak boleh jalan sekarang, tolong lah bang, tolong bangun”

True facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 12
    • Missing Kunta? Hilang on Aug 06, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Good initiative by perodua. For convenience of people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • Same L0rrrr(member) on Aug 06, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Kinte used to be a proton factory worker, till today he is not happy with his recond persona.Trade in your car and I make sure i give you best RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Mohd Talib on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:14 pm

That is not only in Proton. It is in every Government Department and Ministry as well as all the GLCs. It starts from school. Many students don’t go back to the classroom cause they sleep in the surau. This perangai they bring with them to their work life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • kaizen on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:51 pm

did not happen during my time. which school did u study bro? henry gurney?

• curious on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:39 pm

RM 9.8mil to build a mosque?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
    • You think it’s cheap as building a bungalow?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 9
    • Freeman on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:55 am

Actually that’s considered cheap for a building this size and specced

• Otak Udang on Aug 06, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Can Perodua also allow temples and churches to be built in Perodua also? It would help the non muslim workers there to to pray.

Boleh ke??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
      • Hadi75 on Aug 07, 2016 at 2:51 am

That would be great but then you have to ask how many workers are non muslims?how about the surrounding communities??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • idealtech on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:22 am

A whole masjie can fit 3k worshippers at a time. Can you find 3k non muslim workers to pray at any time or even in a single ritual procession? Don’t speak from your deceased heart. Even a miniature temple is a far cry from any worshipper let alone to even step on its holy ground. Any organization will build a house of worship if it is feasible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Temple of VTEC
    Masjid of PERODUA…
    Other than doing good deeds or civil responsibility, the masjid setup also help in the branding of perodua, in a way…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • aliBaPa on Aug 05, 2016 at 7:12 pm

so expensive
    9.8mil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
  • aliBaPa1999 on Aug 05, 2016 at 7:13 pm

so expensive

9.8mil

really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
  • In before proton macais say no testing done, copy paste design, milo tin construction, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • p2macai on Aug 06, 2016 at 12:26 am

Got one up there, but not as many as comments to bash p1 when Bisa was launched.

P2 is really in paranoid!

• Freeman on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:56 am

Inb4 p1 macai say ini actually masjid daihatsu toyota

• Inb4 bumbung runtuh, ini semua salah P1…

• Boleh pulakk ada soalan tanya “RM 9.8mil to build a mosque??” Rumah Lim Guan Eng di “jual murah” pun berharga RM2.8 juta. Ini masjid besar, kawasan besar, tempat ramai orang datang sembahyang. So mestilah kos juga tinggi. Logik la. Macam mana u fikir ni??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
    • JuanCoxk on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:03 am

Perodua is a good car, very well done, very creative design, lots of new ideas.LOL

• Jason S on Aug 07, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Hello Juan,
      I am not an expert in real estate. But your argument is slight flawed ecause you didn’t factor in land cost for Mr. Lim’s murah house. So, the construction cost is not RM 2.8 mil.

The RM 9.8 mil is building cost for one building one religion, and it’s from a car company. Do you see the logic here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • idealtech on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Im not good in calculus but that one religion represents majority of labor in the production line. That one religion can cause the production into a halt or overdrive depending on their morale. I don’t see it is an issue instead it is a good managerial decision to encourage glad tidings. The mosque will be used till it is beyond repair. Seems that you have a major issue with mosques and Muslims. Don’t use the name “Jason” if your heart is full of hatred, it is a disgrace to the 70 Disciples. It is supposed to be the name of a person who heals, this is unlikely one.

• You can say it’s Pro Doa.

• boycottperodua on Aug 05, 2016 at 10:14 pm

When a car company starts dwelling into religion. Bad sign

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
    • Hadi75 on Aug 07, 2016 at 2:44 am

So according to you… no company should spend monies on any religious activity… no donation to temples… no donation to churches… no donation to any activities what so ever that involve religion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Jason S on Aug 07, 2016 at 2:17 pm

Maybe I am ignorant, I never heard about car manufacturers (US, Germany or Japan) built place of worship for its workers in that scale.

If you ever visited Apple or Microsoft campus, they don’t have this kind of worship place build under their belt.

Donation to charitable organization is one thing, what Perodua did is beyond donation.

Just my thought, echoing the statement made by boycottperodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • idealtech on Aug 08, 2016 at 7:23 am

Tell me more about scale. Question is,what is the percentage of workers obliged to do compulsory prayers and if they do, how frequent. Simple example, why would you build a toilet for the use of 15 workers? Because they need to excrete. Same goes to 5 times prayer for the Muslims. Even the gap between prayers is lesser than 9 hours for the longest, shortest is lesser than 1hour and 20minutes. Enlight me, would you deny a Chapel/Church or a Temple if their followers heavily require one to be built? The answer is clear. About Microsoft and Apple. How many of them truly belong to the faith system and are they the obliged type? By the way some companies built a Buddhist/Hindu temple for the convenient for few worshippers, should we deny that action too? If they were to cost 9mil, we should deny it too right? this is coming from your comment. You can brag all day long about the Western company’s portfolio. They act based on their origin, they are doing it well and know their best interest.

• rigid on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:44 am

Yes you are ignorant and lazy to read too. there are many companies provide room for worshipers to pray. Of course not a big scale building because the amount of worshipers is minimal – thus room is enough.

• Kurang ajar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Fanta Oren on Aug 06, 2016 at 9:37 am

When P2 gonna open tokong and temple too?

• karam singh on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:29 am

The price is charged by contractors. Which if u do a proper check many were awarded to non Muslims companies. It is not an issue of racism or religion.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 06, 2016 at 11:07 am

This shows that Perodua takes QC seriously. They even built a mosque nearby the factory that can hold thousands of faithful, which allows them to minimize the “Friday car” problem. Kudos to Perodua..

• Maslan on Aug 06, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Religion is a serious business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Hadi75 on Aug 07, 2016 at 2:52 am

Religion is not a business

• idealtech on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:16 am

Unless a religion has a compulsory ritual or prayers around the clock, of course an organization will eventually have to build it. So much hatred aye? it reflects oneself, really.

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 06, 2016 at 1:40 pm

If Perodua is actually Daihatsu then is it fair to say that the Japanese and non-muslim owners are in it indirectly like many other things indirectly speaking.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 06, 2016 at 2:04 pm

So which Toyota/Daihatsu platform this mosque is based on? What?? No airbags and VSC?? xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Do you pay for air?

• Zlatan on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Since the number of commentators in Paultan are increasingly becoming irresponsible / insensitive/ immature to their post , I am sincerely think this kind of post should not be uploaded in the first place. Racial / religious disharmony is a real thing nowadays in Malaysia, despite all the talk about 1Malaysia. Please respect others faith, and keep your wild accusation / idea to yourself in a public post like this.

• If 1Malaysia is togetherness and MY pipu rejected 1Malaysia, so what does it tell u about MY pipu?

• Hazmin on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:31 am

Bodoh. Bila agama dibuat main2 oleh kebanyakkan orang. Tak perlu rasanya nak kutuk agama tu atau agama ni. Realiti pemikiran rakyat Malaysia.

• armandd on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Akhir2 ni makin menjadi-jadi pulak kebodohan puak2 ni. So much hatred in them.

• Ejam Othman on Aug 08, 2016 at 9:16 am

Baguslah Perodua dah sediakan kemudahan untuk pekerja dan penduduk sekitar.
    Naza pun dah banyak menyumbang kepada pembinaan Masjid.

Semoga lepas ini lebih banyak lagi sumbangan daripada swasta untuk orang ramai sama-sama menggunakan kemudahan yang selesa.

• pokemon on Aug 08, 2016 at 9:20 am

will this be the center for Pokemon Gym? hehehe

• Vincent Ang on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:12 pm

To all nons. Ask yourself when was he last time a government GLC like Perodua donated money for the building of Churches or temples.

• idealtech on Aug 09, 2016 at 6:31 pm

If the GLC were to be managed by the nons, will they donate or contribute to the building of the mosques?