Proton expands 7-day operations at service centres, cuts prices on selected parts by 12-30%

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 019

Proton has announced that it will be expanding the number of 3S and 2S service centres that will be open seven days a week, effective tomorrow, August 6. The move is part of the national carmaker’s efforts to improve its aftersales service, and is aimed at reduce customer waiting time to service their vehicles, as well as providing added flexibility for servicing and maintenance outside of the working week.

Previously, the company’s seven-day initiative only accommodated regular servicing, and only until 12pm on Sunday. Now, operating hours on Sunday have been extended to 5pm, and the service centres will now process warranty claims on weekends as well, as opposed to just weekdays.

“With these improvements, now our customers will have the flexibility to send their cars for service and/or warranty claims on weekends. This is part of our drive to provide more convenience to our customers especially for those who are unable to take time off from work during week day,” said Proton’s chief executive officer Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali.

From tomorrow, Proton will implement seven-day operations at nine service centres, inclusive of repairs and warranty claims – these outlets will be open from 8am to 5pm, Mondays to Sundays. The company will expand the list from October 1 to include an additional 14 service centres and four more from December 1.

List of seven-day-a-week service centres – click to enlarge

Proton said that it identified those centres based on demand and requirements there, but added that it will continue to review and expand its extended services should it be required to do so.

Additionally, Proton has also cut prices on selected parts, such as turbochargers, ECUs and transmission assemblies, by between 12% and 30% effective August 1. The parts pricing revision was made to encourage the use of genuine parts installed at authorised service centres, and ultimately assist in reducing the cost of ownership on Proton vehicles.

Customers can contact Proton’s customer care hotline at 1800-888-398 or e-mail [email protected] for more information.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:48 am

Hello CEO, you have 7 days also no meaning. Attitude of SC needs to change lah.

Why? Very simple. Look at the two scenarios below.

Customer Perodua: “Encik, saya punya brake pad tak makan lah, cuba check apa jadi”

Perodua SC Technician: “Jangan bimbang Encik. Kami akan check brake pad anda. Kami juga akan ganti dalam warranty kami sekiranya brake pad faulty. Jangan bimbang Encik, you car is in our hands, we will take good care of the car and you, jemput minum dan makan sambil tunggu Encik”

Proton Customer: “”Encik, saya punya brake pad tak makan lah, cuba check apa jadi”

Proton SC Technician: “Biasa lah Encik, what do you expect? Ini Proton lah. Kalau Encik nak brake pad makan lebih, beli lah Mercedes atau BMW”

So, you have 7 days or 24 hours also no point. Attitude needs to change. Don’t treat Proton customers like Keldai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 54
    • jinggo on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Teruk sgt dah engko ni.. mmg ada pengalaman ngeri ke dgn proton? Ke mmg tak penah pakai kete proton? Main tembak je ikut sedap mulut..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
      • Proton Customer on Aug 05, 2016 at 4:05 pm

semalam saya masuk Glenmarie nak servis, Proton Engineer say to me same thing. He said I buy Proton, don’t expect BMW brader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • topkek on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Last time bashers said Proton said it is syiok sendiri saying it is comparable to BMW, today bashers claimed lain pulak.

Topkek

• kunta the rambutan on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Boring same comment from mr rambutan. Well done proton, keep up new activity

• Same L00 on Aug 08, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Forcing those technicians to work 7 days, your already-fragile Proton car is at risk only. Don’t go on Sunday. Who knows they may pour engine oil into your water tank and vice versa?

• Teruk sangat, becoz eating into his sales of his toyota junks. Now he only survive on maggi sekali sehari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Gilwani on Aug 05, 2016 at 8:00 pm

P1 akan join venture dgn Geely @ Volvo.

Proton XC90 T8 x lama lg^^ ^^

• atokkk - not real one on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Dear Kunta,
      Your slave mindset would never can be change. You have be trained to be slave for the rest of your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • very good move,. very helpful.. theres a lot of customers who prefer not to use office hour or get a day leave just to get those services.

• basherlogic on Aug 05, 2016 at 2:37 pm

As trained by his jepunis overlord to be winner of badmouthing and slandeing other automakers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • This guy i think former Proton Staff. Probably he is the feller who ruin everything there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • After blaming the vendors and public, now blame former staff for their failure. hahaha…. them Proton.

• lalalalala on Aug 05, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Dude…. Seriously..? I still think that this is a good start.

• Nissan on Aug 05, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Weekend is family day. Those who sacrifice weekend for Proton are those who fail in their life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • basherlogic on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Because it is P1, even 24/7 business uptime is at fault. But when it is jepunis, even die also noone cares!

• albert on Aug 05, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Kunta
      What is the rationale behind this 7days a week operation?
      This kenali really TAK KENAL his trade.
      There isnt enough new car sales to justify this decision.
      Maybe he is under immense pressure to do something.
      In fact perodua should be doing this,not protong.
      Well,the 1.5B is to pay gaji to these lapdogs who need to put on a show.
      WAYANG JE….TIN KOSONG makes the most noise.
      The more we SUPPORT P1,it leads to MADNESS.
      Those who decided to buy Proontong..is pure INSANITY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Why u reply to ur own dupe?

• casta on Aug 05, 2016 at 5:11 pm

dei…please respect ppl name..if dont like his style..just bash..dont make fun of others name.. from your remarks show u such an arrogant.. do you know how many ppl will benefit from it? if P2 or Toyo do it..i bet u will say other way..

• Boleh buat duit ke ni? Jangan-jangan tahun depan minta duit gov lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • ex-VGM staff on Aug 05, 2016 at 4:12 pm

i think proton wants to focus on CSI, the impact is felt to its new car sales. this is the right decision, moving into the right direction

• crash on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Not useful, as you can see, there are only very few selected places to open 7 days a week. Normally it is their so call “authorized service center” who screw up the customer experience. Most of them work 6 days a week and saturday only do regular service. However, when it comes to warranty claim, they will try very very hard to deny you the claim because they damn lazy to process the claim. Totally different treatment to customer if your car no more warranty and you need to pay for major parts change. This is what i experience in kg subang area service center.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:51 am

Before Proton come here and talk rubbish about 7 days service centre opening and discount on parts, do tell us first about your turnaround first. How the progress so far?

Since you took RM1.5 billion of our money, we malaysians are entitled to know how you are spending that money and whether you all have cut cost.

Have the directors, CEO and Deputy CEO taken a pay cut yet? This is normal practice gloabaly. When a company is doing badly, the first thing the BOD must do is offer paycut for themselves. They must vounteer and not be told. Is the BOD of Proton still getting their fat 6 figure salary (per month, not per year)?

Look at the Burberry CEO, Christopher Bailey, he just took a 75% paycut because his company was doing badly (that also they never ask rakyat RM1.5 billion). “Mr. Bailey will receive £1.89 million ($2.74 million), down from £7.51 million a year earlier, according to Burberry’s annual report published Monday”

Has the Proton BOD and Management cut cost on company cars and company allowances? Are they still using their Luxury Audi A8L with Drivers?

They should all be using Saga FLX and all driver privileges also taken away to cut cost.

We Malaysians would like to know your plans on cost cutting because we are entitled to know having taken our RM1.5 billion. Don’t just update us on your service centre opening hours etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 19
    • atokkk - not real one on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:33 pm

What a slave mind set. You never have count that much money in your hands.
      Just.save your money for your own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Andas on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:39 pm

So sad on msian mentality.. last time, lembaga tabung haji ceo got 6 figure salary also people make noise.. as long the company serve rakyat, they think the management team should work free of charge.. wallaweh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • These bashers dun dare persoal SG Gov pipu earn 6 figure salary but will persoal a CEO GLC (that is outperforming all expectations) earning a decent salary. And these pipu call themselves malaysians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Kunta Kinte on Aug 05, 2016 at 4:01 pm

SG Gov earn 6 figures but their rakyat earn a healthy 5 figures most of them. SG Government Servant, normal ranking already earn SG8000 per month (RM24,000). Our Government servants still earn RM1200. Faham?

Like MAS CEO, pay him fat salary but company go bankrupt. Same as CEO of Proton. Bankrupt is ne thing but beg billions of rakyat money every year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • And yet they cannot retire until 67 years old at LEAST cuz thats the age to withdraw CPF. Another few years will increase to 70.
            So no thanks, pipu wud rather have simple easy retired life than slogging continuously with high salary but high stress and high chance to get heart attacks. Why else do u think more % SG pipu (all races) r migrating compared to MY?

• loler on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Lol what’s the point? You want higher pay by cutting CEO’s salary? Go and ask that from your jepunis overlord lor.

Insane!

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 05, 2016 at 3:58 pm

But tabung haji pay 6 figures per month also they lost hundreds of millions in the 1MDB scandal involving them. So how now?

Btw, Proton is losing money. TH is not losing money every year. That is the difference. You incompetent also you want to get gaji ah?? Sounds like MAS.

• SMRT lady boss still got her serverence bonus after the cockup fiasco. And still went to another high pay job. Just cuz she was from P-a-P. Theres ur glorified southern masterrace overlords.

• Sohai Kia proton Is loan rm1.5b from gov and need return back . Today u take put your money in Bank and Bank take your money borrow to someone do you need ask that person how he spends the money

• Megane on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Good job . Keep the ownership of the car as a positive experience and you will retain your customer base

• Variable Intake Manifold and IAFM also need to reduce price. They are prone to failure and demn expensive.

• IAFM only the housing need to replace due to crack caused by aging. VIM never heard need to change, neither do mine in a Gen2 CPS.

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:12 pm

I live near Proton 3S in Subang Jaya. I can see that their service bay always got no cars. And a whole load of new stocks of unregistered Protons. It is really dead there, people go yang kaki there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • atokkk - not real one on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:35 pm

i also leave near your.house. you always do nothing. no job ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Proton Selimut on Aug 05, 2016 at 4:20 pm

So what you’re saying that all of us commenters here have no job? I suppose you actually work at Proton.

• Close shop la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • This is bull#*it as usual. As soon as I read about this, i called COSE and PE Mutiara Dsara tp make an appointment. COSE said schedule not out yet while Mutiara Dsara said havent start yet and warranty claim only can be done on weekdays for now. I said it is announced on the news and these are these are the excuses they give.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • atokkk - not real one on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:36 pm

you stupid or wha treadvthe statement. careully. it will start from 6th aug… maaa..

• atokk - Stupiak one on Aug 05, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Yo Stupiak,
        It says effective 6th August. I can read that duhh…
        I called up to make appoiment of course for 6th or 7th August slots (WEEKENDS SAT SUN) since its effective 6th August onwards.
        Don’t tell me you can’t differentiate Weekdays and weekends.

• Deadpool on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:32 pm

why proton just don’t learn? instead of all these shits, why don’t you just increase your quality and sell your car at reasonable price? also your after sales services? open 24/7 also useless if no one buys your car.

• Ah Pek on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:01 pm

How to learn if my daddy is so rich…no money just ask only..papa i want 1 billion ok?..why need to work..relak wait for the sky to drop money…life goes on…pple learn only when they are poor and suffer…

• atokkk - not real one on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:37 pm

you u dont learnt. blaming.is not change anything.

• Here r some ideas to improve with minimal cost.
    1) Have a comfortable waiting room. Dun have to be grand but at least with TV, wifi or reading material (newspaper).
    2) Itemise all transaction owners which r mandatory and which r recommended and why. Dun tipu owners.
    3) Once a foreman is allocated to car, inform owners the estimated lead time for service. If extra or problems, bring the related foreman in to explain to owners (my service ctr foreman explained why I need to change aircon belt earlier than scheduled).
    4) Each ctr must have small inventory for consumables and frequent change parts. Then there shud be central hubs with larger parts to cater for a number of service ctrs.
    5) Make sure they r well stocked and frequently replenished.
    6) If need to wait, book the part in system and gip owners the login case number. If can arrange the replacement date even better.
    7) Have multiple payment streams: cash, CC, Debit, online payment.
    8) If one service ctr is full, redirect owners to another ctr (with agreement of course!). Book the slot for customer in the other ctr with PIC.
    9) Have call center to follow up on satisfaction either by phone or whatsapp or email.
    10) Last is just nitpicking, but price everything reasonably. Dun overcharge too much.

I had a ctr in Segambut which did all those above, before the revamp. I know all their frontdesk pipu by name and they know mine cuz regular service there for 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • If got TV, they will show TV3. Siapa nak tengok? “Keriangan, keriangan ….di TV3″….

• TV3 still better than RTM. But the ctr in Segambut had Astro HBO.
        Din know u were too poor to have wifi and only watch TV to pass ur time. Poor thing u.

• People say wifi, you also want to say wifi. Proton clown like you know what is wifi meh? Makan karipap you know lah.

• Lcmbryan on Aug 05, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Good job proton. I’m started to feel the new management is doing right thing. Final improvement try to see thing from different type of people. You are mnc company not local company.

• Meanwhile, I’m still waiting for available slot my cfe Exora to get the hose fix. Letter dated 1st June, that letter arrived near mid July, and now already August, and still waiting.
    This “extended hour” better change this.

• Samakan on Aug 05, 2016 at 4:55 pm

“If ppl want to see mental problematic person (most), can come to Paul Tan blog under Proton entries.”- my friend said this!

Apa punya bodoh, PROTON extend service days, baik punya usaha, patut thumb up, beri peluang customer lebih hari untuk service. tapi lagi nak kutuk.. mmg betul gila.

Some ppl want to use their weekend to service their car. Some can come during office hour, coz maybe their work place closer to Proton Service.

So this is a great move that so long awaiting. But crazy ppl anti-Proton fan here keep condemn.

JOHN:

all your check list items, I have all them at PROTON JURU 3S.

They provide mini-bistro which u can have free hot Nescafe, Milo and plain ice water there.

Also got mini-lounge with ASTO TV, major newspapers provided.

Payment either by cash or Debit-Credit card. Sometimes got oil engine gift during promotion period.

Their technician very honest, I was there since 7 years back. All spare parts could be collected over-the-counter at back side of SA front desk.

S.A. service quality, its depends on how u communicate with them. They will show all the itemized billing before doing the service/ repair. My great experience with JURU 3S, they have good sense of customer aware and needs.

For instance, I could ask the SA to divide the major service works into to session. so-called like ‘installment’ of service. So can help me to decrease the budget at the moment, brought fwd next session by their advises.

Secondly, all those back orders parts status are able to be traced in side their system when logged into account.

I had also a very good experience last time when my power windows switch console was malfunction, due to rain drops. They come to my house (36km away) to replace the console after that parts was unable to be delivered on the set date as promised. I did appreciate their efforts to care of their customer, even not buying 100k car.

My best S.A. so far is Mr Uzir (move to Ipoh already) and now the best one is Mr Samson.

Proton Edar JURU 3S really satisfied me!!

then, where else the most complaint came? >> THE SERVICE DEALER!!

most of bad reputation came from their side because they are not belong to Proton. Like the AKN Service, simply adding more service mileage intervals into Proton service booklet without known by Proton. so dia mau makan duit customer byk2 laaa. claim warranty was so hard. sbb itu tak boleh makan untung byk!

untuk orang yg pakai kereta Proton lebih tahu lah, yg tak pakai keta proton please jangan fitnah lah!

• Thats great to hear that Juru oso has such gud ctr. But its not gud enuff for some ctrs, P1 need to implement this for ALL their service ctrs.

And like u said, only those who have P1 during wira/waja era or worse, dun have P1 car but just hear from frens, unkers, auntie, FaMa, internets(LOLZ!), or they r toyota salesman like Albert, come here and talk bollocks.

• This one promote kaw kaw. I agree their technician very honest. That is why they say “proton memang macam ini”. You can talk until cows come home but still cannot save your sinking sales figure.

• Bolehbelah on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:50 pm

The kutuk kaw kaw is good? When one is telling his good experiance these bean army will said promote kaw2.
        then other fake owner come here and blindly bashing kaw kaw.. like mau MATi..that time u said what? i really agree with this guy quoting..

“If ppl want to see mental problematic person (most), can come to Paul Tan blog under Proton entries.”

• Joholan on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:01 pm

I remembered my first proton exora 2010, i sent to 3 s service my car. Even normal servicing also took me 4 hrs waiting..then from 5 th service schedule I send my car to workshop near my house. 1 and half hr finish the job and I can make payment at counter easily , not like in 3 s proton even pay money hv to wait their call. Sad..

• Bolehbelah on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Then don’t complaint if your car got problem after that and blaming Proton after went out to ‘express’ pokok cherry service. I had once a time my oil sump pan got leaking after that express pokok cherry man just change engine oil. They don;t know that oil sump didn’t need white tape, then damage the screw thread. Another stupid decision. Of course why 3S got to wait so long because the are excellent enough to take care your car. And now also why Proton Service absolutely want help customer by extending their service days.