SPYSHOTS: All-new Toyota Innova spotted in Malaysia

spyshots-new-innova-malaysia-1

The all-new Toyota Innova will be among the four introductions from UMW Toyota this year, and thanks to paultan.org reader Daran, we now have our first initial sighting of the MPV in Malaysia. Wearing a trade plate and completely devoid of any camouflage, badges or emblems, the Innova was spotted driving along a local highway.

Design cues that indicate that this is indeed the new Innova can be seen at the front, where the prominent front grille with two chrome slats can be seen, flanked by what appears to be halogen headlamps. However, a clear shot of the MPV’s rear reveals the Innova’s revised rear-end and the new tail lamp design that encroaches towards the centre of the lift gate.

First revealed in Indonesia back in November, the Innova is offered there with either a slightly uprated 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i 1TR-FE four-cylinder petrol engine (139 PS at 5,600 rpm and 183 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm) or a 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV four-cylinder turbodiesel that debuted on the Hilux (149 PS at 3,400 rpm and 359 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 2,600 rpm).

Three variants are offered for the Indonesian market – G Type, V Type and the range-topping Q-Type. The latter, in its diesel guise, gets all the goodies, including LED projector headlights with LED DRLs (the G and V gets reflector halogens), eight-inch touchscreen entertainment system, seven airbags and VSC electronic stability control.

Currently in Malaysia, the Innova is offered in three 2.0L versions – E (MT), E (AT) and G (AT), with prices starting from RM103,980 (on-the-road with insurance).

For now, these spyshots don’t really provide a lot of information about what equipment will be available when the all-new Innova is launched here. Based on the Indonesian-spec Innova, which you can read about, here, what kit are you expecting for our local-spec Innova.

GALLERY: New Toyota Innova at IIMS 2016

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• freedom on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:24 am

Why I see a hrv rear van style…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Looks like hrv from the rear… Lol

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:39 am

As usual, the highest price unit will have VSC. Come on UMW, VSC is compulsory all over in Europe no matter how cheap the car is.

Here, you force people to buy your top range like Camry Hybrid, Altis RM139k and this Innova just to get VSC

This is not fair. But UMW can get away doing this cause it is Government owned. You try to sue them, the courts will throw your case in the tong sampah.

In Malaysia our lives are not important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Buy my Bisa! Our jepunis overlords gerenti if u poor, ur life dun matter! So have confidence in my confidence that we confident u will have confidence in our confidently untested car.

PM me now for bestest package with my gud fren from Nirvana! We confident u will have peace in mind when u rest in peace cuz of early afterlife. So what r u waiting for?! PM ME NOW!

• Silthice on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:44 am

Hope the diesel variant available in Malaysia as well but the pricing might be very stiff around 130k. Meanwhile the Honda BR-V is quite silent.

• domotomo on Aug 05, 2016 at 3:33 pm

you are not the only 1 hoping here. alas UMW n MY gov on diesel policy on cars n MPV will make us hoping for nothing

• Bite Me on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:45 am

Why current models have Dracula fang taillights? As always Toyota also need to follow others.. No idea?

• Cuz toyota r bloodsuckers and will bring pipu to early aftertlife?

• Big bro toyota another bodo piang. Why need to test here, test there, test until Matt Damon come home from Mars? Just launch it straight from prototype, like what we did in P2!

P2 is now the toppest of kek in pioneering the future of carmaking. We no longer need to camo test cars anymore, cuz nobody cares as long as they dun persoal our jepunis overlords. We can then bring to market faster and make the 1st batch owners our lab rats to test our cars. Oh, but we expect only gud feedback cuz complaints r only from unkers or noob drivers who dunno how to use our dino tech. Its not our fault, how can we be blamed when pipu r too st*pid to use our basic car?

So better buy my Bisa compared to this Innoba that has no innovation. It shows our confidence that we dun need to test for reliability or durability cuz we dun persoal our jepunis overlords.

Remember! Buy Bisa from me! I confident gip u bestest package with my fren from Nirvana! PM ME NOW WITH CONFIDENCE OR UR P1BN LAPDOG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • palehotak on Aug 05, 2016 at 11:57 am

so buruk

• MyviGoDie on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Just when you thought the Innova couldn’t get any uglier

• RUGAL on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Don’t worry. Whatever cars launched by Toyota are miles ahead better than Proton. Why? Because Toyota cars have better RV. Secondly, Toyota cars are better in terms of durability and quality. Lastly their after sales services are thousand times better than Proton. Our adik, Perodua is also produces good cars. BTW, I’m Samloo’s spokesperson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • WOI! Dun u come here steal my business! I am the only authorised Bisa saleman here! And my gud fren beside me is the only authorised Nirvana salesman here!
      Together we confident gip bestest package from road to Nirvana when early afterlife. So u dun pandai pandai come here unless u wanna buy Bisa from me!

• Innovative on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:31 pm

At least plz bring in 2.4 GD spec into Malaysia.

• Sam VHL Loo on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Predecessor Unser also available in diesel version (GLD version), although it comes with rather ancient 2L 2446cc engine (non-turbo), it can travel as far as 14 km/l compared with 1.8 GLI/LGX where even 10 km/l are consider good already (mostly averaging 7 – 9 km/l).

• HRV wannabe rear lamp

• You're welcome on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:44 pm

I see a Pajero sport had sex with a HRV…and WALLA!! There you have the new Innova rear

• Copy and paste HR-V tail lights.

• Myexit on Aug 05, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Mini Alpahrd

• kumar on Aug 05, 2016 at 2:39 pm

good comfortable car the present innova. took a blue taxi to airport recently.

• Huehue on Aug 05, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Rear innova light just like lancer lamp kacuk with hrv…….very ugly

• Wee fuk yew on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:08 am

A diesel variant will be apt for the underpowered load lugger

• Wee fuk yew on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:14 am

A diesel variant will be apt for this behemoth.