Malaysia to develop hybrid tech for Le Mans LMP3

2016 Onroak Ligier LM P3 Wineurasia Racing -27

An academia-industry collaboration between RESPECT – an acronym for Remanufacturing, Sustainable Production, and Enterprise Centre for Technology – and Ultra Impact Technologies (UIT) will see the development of energy efficient technology for automotive applications. This project will kick-off with the development of a cost-effective modular Kinetic Energy Recovery System (KERS) that will be installed in an experimental LMP3 hybrid race car.

With a goal of producing energy efficient technology for the mass market, RESPECT will be leading a team of automotive experts from universities and research institutes, with industrial development coming in the form of UIT fronting a team of technical partners including racing gearbox manufacturer Hewland Engineering from the UK and LMP3 chassis manufacturer Onroak Automotive of France.

UIT will be producing an ultra-capacitor based KERS, and the system will be installed in a racecar that may enter the 2017 Asian Le Mans Sprint cup season as a hybrid, but will not be eligible for points or classification. The intent is to show the modular KERS as a technology demonstrator, with the aim of developing a cost-effective product for eventual commercial applications.

This is inline with Malaysia’s goal of becoming a regional hub for energy efficient vehicles, including a push to have 100,000 electric vehicles on local roads by 2020. The collaboration is supported by Agensi Inovasi Malaysia, a statutory body created to seed wealth creation through knowledge, technology and innovation.

Aside from the development of the modular KERS, Azrai Razuan, chief executive officer of UIT, also mentioned that a Euro 6 compliant two-stroke engine was being developed to leverage on energy efficient hybrid technologies, but refused to divulge any further details.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Das Auto on Aug 08, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Sure it’s real? Looks like Pokemon on wheel!

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:57 pm

you can rest assured this is another scam to get money out of the Government. Don’t know what kelentong he is talking about Euro 6 compliant 2 stroke engines.

Our Ron 95 is still Euro 2M. We are still at that palat stage. How to jump to Euro 6 compliant engines when our Euro 95 is still palat Euro 2M?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Same L00 on Aug 08, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok, bring back the Proton hybrid from Mars first lar!!

• hailthepurist on Aug 08, 2016 at 1:14 pm

develop and win please..

• Wunderkid on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Hopefully its not another smoke and mirror exercise to vanish money.

• inb4 Najib waste money, ini semua salah P1….

• The color scheme reminded me of the old Mazda Le Mans car, the only rotary engined winner.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Why not? I am up for it if it doesn’t involve and tax payers money. I think it does so no thank you very much

• Yeah I agree. Why shud we, the rakyat, waste money on education and R&D? Shud be use to continue subsidies right?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 09, 2016 at 3:27 pm

U think local company will take out money for R&D in your dream?

• read about the company before u start bashing and link it with taxpayer money. low minded people

• Bini4Best on Aug 08, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Again, syoik sendiri…..tak habis habis…..

• drMpower on Aug 09, 2016 at 7:54 am

This azrai guy, is he the same guy at bufori / A1 malaysia team?

I let u into a secret on how to realise that 100,000 EV on the road. One is to re-declare how an EV is defined. And take into account the bikes or tricycle etc. Of course thats a little cheating but who cares. The other – this is serious azrai catch up a bit – is to abolish all whatever tax that comes with the current system, for the vehicles.

Dont worry about that slowing conventional vehicle sales because EV is anyhow a niche market and the volume is so small that it insignifcant to overall TIV. However, introduce a sticker sales discount to accelerate the interest on these EV.

As for the KERS, thats too far ahead. Yes its 2 year late btw, and with you has no prior experience on it, better you award me the grant so that we start with some small super capacitor firsts and regenerative and friction harvester first.

Text me u got my number

• Leonardo on Aug 09, 2016 at 8:44 am

Errr…which component of the car is Malaysian made?
    Very ambitious..straight away race in Le Mans. Even the Giant Toyota never won the race. I hope they could at least last half the race.

• year end closing SCSS on Aug 09, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Joker of the year

• racefan on Aug 09, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Story also appeared here: http://www.motorsport.com/aslms/news/malaysian-academia-and-industry-join-forces-to-develop-hybrid-technology-using-a-lmp3-car-805907/

Seems credible enough for foreign news