Abuse towards Uber, Grab drivers to continue until SPAD regulates industry, says taxi firm

Taxi drivers will continue abusing drivers working for ride-hailing services like Uber or Grab until the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) begins implementing clear guidelines regulating the industry, said one local taxi firm in a report by The Star.

The English-language daily quoted Big Blue Taxi Services founder Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail as saying that incidents such as these will keep occurring until the authorities step in to resolve the issue, adding that these services should be temporarily halted while the SPAD is working on implementing these guidelines.

Shamsubahrin’s comments were in response to an incident on Saturday, whereby a woman alleged that she was verbally abused by two taxi drivers when she was picking her friend up from the Kelana Jaya LRT station. The men, who she said confused her for an Uber driver, then proceeded to throw eggs at her car.

Federal Territory and Selangor Taxi Operators president Datuk Aslah Abdullah said yesterday that the incident was likely caused by the taxi drivers’ inability to distinguish between ordinary cars and those used by Uber and Grab drivers.

uber cash payment

The incident was the latest in a series of reports of abuse towards Uber and Grab drivers since March. On June 20, a taxi driver reportedly manhandled a female Uber passenger at KL Sentral and was arrested four days later.

Five days after that arrest, a group of taxi drivers allegedly intimidated a Grab driver at Mid Valley Megamall, while on July 16, the Kuala Lumpur magistrate’s court fined two cab drivers RM2,000 after they pled guilty to damaging a Grab driver’s vehicle in Mid Valley on June 28.

The cabinet has yet to make a decision on SPAD’s proposed Taxi Industry Transformation Programme, which incorporates regulations on services like Uber and Grab, as well as creating a level playing field for taxi drivers.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Yokohama24 on Aug 09, 2016 at 10:35 am

Clear or not clear guidelines, the “gangster” drivers will still hentam the UBER GRAB drivers no matter what. Since when “gangster” follow the law, what more guidelines? If they were to follow the law, all these attacks would not have happened.(NOTE: only purely genuinely referring to gangster rogue taxi drivers, I’m aware not all taxi drivers are bad, I’m not stereotyping).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 2
    • MeToo on Aug 09, 2016 at 4:35 pm

What are the authorities doing in the face of such blatant threat of violence/gangsterism?

Busy patrolling Facebook?

• Same L00 on Aug 09, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Taxi’s role is to drive taxi not catching Uber/Grab. If they so free nothing to do after conning the foreign tourists, go catch the criminal catch pokemon catch official one lar.

• George Abdul on Aug 09, 2016 at 5:33 pm

To all “gangster taxi drivers” Do You Feel Proud Acting This to A “Normal Rakyat Girl that fetching her friend” ?????? Taxi drivers please come in comments !!!

• OMG…all this bcos SPAD poor control and slow respond on this matter. SPAD fault.

• And these taxi thugs still cracking their head wondering why people don’t ride with them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 2
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 09, 2016 at 11:23 am

Saya berdoa perkhidmatan teksi akan berkubur selama-lamanya. Rakyat dah tak tahan dengan perangai abang-abang teksi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Make police report! These thugs don’t deserve mercy. Boycott taxi drivers esp those not using meters!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Police please act on Aug 09, 2016 at 10:49 am

Lock this Datuk up for clearly not understanding the law. Throwing eggs at Uber driver’s property is wrong, throwing eggs at non-Uber driver’s property should go straight to the slammer. Please bring some of your crony money to bail yourself out.

I suggest we boycott all taxi until the hooliganism stop. They need to fix their taxi service, not their competitor. The Jaguh Kampung mentality at work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Albert on Aug 09, 2016 at 4:40 pm

I was told Uber/Grab car only want drivers with cars less than 10 years old.
      My Rolls Royce and Toyotas are all above 10 years.
      I hope this gangster botak will not target my oldies.
      Used car dealers…your selling point now.Taxi gangsters unlikely to be mistaken,if used car buyers opt for 11-15 year models.
      HIDUP….. USED CARS ASSOCIATION OF MALAYSIA!!!

• This country have rules. You thugs taxi will have no business. Fix and improve taxi services before you dumb headed talk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • 4G63T DSM on Aug 09, 2016 at 10:51 am

Taxi drivers will continue abusing drivers working for ride-hailing services like Uber or Grab until the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) begins implementing clear guidelines regulating the industry, said one local taxi firm in a report by The Star.”

Is that a thinly veiled threat?

This guy better keep his mouth closed…. unless he plans to issue another press statement claiming he was mis-quoted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Better save those eggs bro… Coz u r going to run out of money and food soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Crasher7 on Aug 09, 2016 at 10:55 am

The problem is your latest target was not even an Uber or Grab driver you imbecile! One tourist once told me she was harassed by taxi drivers to take ride from KL tower to Dataran Merdeka for RM30, a ride costs around RM5 in Grab or Uber! She was harassed so much that she actually posted her bad experience on social media to her friend on FB and Twitter so that they won’t take taxis in Malaysia. So taxi gangsters, you give Malaysia a bad name and you shot yourselves in your own foot you idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Taxi driver ( Malaysia ) is shit… Mostly all gangster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • is this like an open threat? thought this country has law to put those threatening the peace of the country to jail.

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 09, 2016 at 11:25 am

What to expect “learnt from the top”.

• nasha on Aug 09, 2016 at 11:31 am

these gangster taxi issues is old issue. they are protecting their port. klcc, sunway piramid etc also have these taxi gangsters. only taxi members of port teksi persatuan can pick up passengers at that area. they even chase out non-members persatuan taxi drivers. that’s why most taxi will not pick up/send passengers to certain areas such as sunway piramid coz they can’t pick up passengers at that area. fyi, SPAD should not allow persatuan teksi to control/monopoly certain areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Thanks to PT for not posting samsubrain’s ugly face this time.

As for the taxi firms, please publish the addresses of these headquarters so the public can teach them a lesson.

• Rempit Boy on Aug 09, 2016 at 11:41 am

can’t wait to see this on the road, ill just rembat the armani logo and cap and put in on my honda cub…

• Ahboon76 on Aug 09, 2016 at 11:44 am

Yes.. it happen to me also when my wife pick me up at kelana jaya lrt station. I was bit lucky when my daughter was in the car only make those taxi thug back off that time. I wonder why police office didnt pick those thug taxi up..

• modesto.h on Aug 09, 2016 at 12:03 pm

We need to make a statement by insisting not to take a normal cab from now on. Why Singaporean taxi drivers can be so polite? Uber couldnt win over their public taxi, why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • so the gov decide to let these thugs behave like thugs?

• justsomepissedoffdude on Aug 09, 2016 at 12:08 pm

The “gangster” cabbies are just cowards, they only attack cars driven by “smallish” people. In front of my condo there were 6-7 cabs waiting and these 3 big african guys came and entered a grab/uber car right in front of them and the cabbies didn’t do shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • kumar on Aug 09, 2016 at 12:34 pm

so now we need to hug or just high 5 our passengers to avoid being beaten.hopefully.

• Simple, I will put the gear in reverse and my foot on the accelerator to run over him. #thuglife

• These stupid taxi drivers simply assume Myvis are Uber/Grabcar partner. Happened to me once. Luckily the bastard simply shout.

• Continental on Aug 09, 2016 at 1:14 pm

PDRM please investigate such statement spewing out from the arse of this so called datuk fellow…

• Ish ish.. what a waste of good eggs. A Hen’s hard labour and the taxi driver’s own nasi lemak money to buy it, and threw it at othere people.
    Better rebus the egg with their own hot temper, and sedekah to pengemis around the area.

• panjang on Aug 09, 2016 at 1:31 pm

In one hand we have taxi drivers clearly violating the law,on the other hand we have uber and grab drivers whom currently does not violate any law….which one to clamp down first?

• Uberuser on Aug 09, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Never, ever ever ever take a taxi. Always use Uber/Grab even if there is an empty cab right in front of you. These guys do don’t deserve a single cent from us!!!

• Isn't this blackmailing? on Aug 09, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Isn’t this akin to blackmailing?

“As long as you don’t stop doing business, I will continue to harass your people”

• This samseng should all be remove from working in public service sector all together. if you are a tourist, is this kind of person you want to meet went you came to Malaysia?.

• kereta_lembu on Aug 09, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Are we allowed to throw eggs or abuse taxi drivers if they refuse to use the meter, or if they overcharge, or if they intentionally take us for a longer route? Yes, you can scare a few Uber or Grab drivers but you scare away more of your own customers. I hope the authorities will do something to punish these abusive taxi drivers because they are tarnishing the image of our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Ollie on Aug 09, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Govt-sanctioned gangsters

• kzm (Member) on Aug 10, 2016 at 4:44 pm

They are mostly taxi driver who alligned with opposition..just google taxi driver previous street demo n see who come to support. Actually it is harder to find pro-govt taxi driver.

• wendy on Aug 09, 2016 at 2:33 pm

if the gov smart, revoke all the license of all the blood sucking taxi company, they are the culprit behind our terrible taxi service in Malaysia.

• akmar on Aug 09, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Notice that Father Augustus John is silent on this issue. Only make racial issues about Japanese carmakers & UMW but silent on these issue.
    No bola to admit that your Dato samseng behaviour is wrong & should be taken to court for condoning such gangster actions?
    Sterner and more punitive actions must be taken & not just a mere 2K fine.

• Bernard on Aug 09, 2016 at 3:39 pm

THIS IS CRIMINAL DAMAGE!

Kelana Jaya LRT may have CCTV cameras. Identify the thugs and charge them in court.

Did the driver of the car make a police report?

The govt must support UBER and GRAB , not these thugs..

• “Abuse will continue”? This is already a threat and if I understand correctly is an offence. And where is the police? After making such a threat, publicly, do we still need a police report first? No wonder that clown became famous for lodging reports :)

• Remember how Lee Kuan Yew gave his piece to SIA pilots who went on strike. Well….no further comments

• Democracy means show all those who demo against u into the crazy house.

• Ben Yap on Aug 09, 2016 at 5:39 pm

these taxi drivers will only attack women uber/grab drivers.

if there were to face a male driver like me, that day will be their last drive. If they don’t want to be slashed, Datuk Shamsubahrin will have to ask their drivers to behave.

• contender on Aug 09, 2016 at 6:11 pm

So don’t drive Myvi … especially to hot areas picking up or dropping off friends or family members. Gotta forgive the uneducated lazy cheating taxi drivers

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 09, 2016 at 9:38 pm

I urge everyone play their part to spread this news far and wide. Lets work together to make sure these gangsters go bankrupt.

• Joholan on Aug 10, 2016 at 8:17 am

hey,! Taxi driver , try me ..

• aBg_rOnGak on Aug 10, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Fukken useless swine. Bring shame to yourself and to our country.

• William on Aug 10, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Why the hesitation by the government on the uber and grab issue? Because it will deprive the few crony sharks that rent out taxi licences to poor taxi drivers. If uber and grab is officially legal, these super rich crony sharks with all the taxi licences cannot continue to opress poor uneducated taxi drivers treating them like an easy money printing machine.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 10, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Govt cant act because some opposition leader will back those taxi driver.. u can see from previous taxi street demo opposition leader was present. And this is maybe why govt want to legalise uber to kill taxi that infected by those parasite.

• “Federal Territory and Selangor Taxi Operators president Datuk Aslah Abdullah said yesterday that the incident was likely caused by the taxi drivers’ inability to distinguish between ordinary cars and those used by Uber and Grab drivers.”

Should the rest of the public beat up all taxi drivers on the street because we can’t distinguish the thugs and other taxi drivers?

• These otherwise bola-less taxi drivers only attack defenceless drivers because they band together like so many swines. Taking the law into their hands. How can the police and SPAD stand by this affront to their authority? Throw the book at these AOs I say. Form a special road bully task force to whack these guys.

• qq8788 alternatif on Jul 05, 2019 at 6:12 am

Wah, baru tahu setelah baca postingan ini.
    Semangat min….