2016 Subaru Palm Challenge returns for eighth edition

Subaru Palm Challenge 2016

Here’s a simple premise – keep your palm on a Subaru vehicle for as long as possible and win a brand-new Subaru XV. Well, that’s exactly what the 2016 Subaru Palm Challenge is all about, which returns for its eighth year, with the Malaysian qualification round scheduled to take place this Saturday (August 13, 2016) at Piazza, The Curve, Mutiara Damansara.

The event will see 80 participants (selected via online registration) duke it out for the top ten spots to be eligible for the regional grand finale at the MediaCorp Subaru Car Challenge 2016. Each participant will need to keep their palm on a Subaru vehicle for the longest time possible with only a 10-minute break every 6 hours to grab a quick bite or to take a trip to the washroom.

Furthermore, participants will also be required to partake in a series of challenges introduced at intermittent timings throughout the day as part of the process of narrowing the 80-person group to just ten finalists.

Subaru XV 2.0i-P-2

These ten finalists will move on to the Asian Face-Off in Singapore that will take place from November 5-8, 2016. There, they will face off with 390 other participants from across the region – Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam for a chance to take home a brand-new Subaru XV.

Visitors to the event will be able to cheer on the participants, and can also partake in a Mini Palm Challenge offered by Subaru to win attractive prizes on Sunday (August 14, 2016).

In the 2015 edition, Nguyen Phuoc Huynh from Vietnam won the challenge by keeping his palm on a Subaru for 77 hours and 58 minutes. Meanwhile, the best performing contestant from Malaysia, Tan Hong Sheng, came in second place, who also contributed to the longest combined standing time (accumulated total time of all 10 representatives from the same country) of 518 hours and 45 minutes.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nizzan on Aug 10, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Why downgrade?

• Ben Yap on Aug 10, 2016 at 4:29 pm

i will not torture myself for a car, especially one with low resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Subaru high solid built quality on Aug 10, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Even a used 2015 mazda CX-5 selling at Rm100k now, compared to RM144k bought new in 2015, that is RM44k lost in 1 year. Tell me which car brand that stays nearly it’s original new price when you trading it in, I’m interested to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Ben Yap on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:08 am

Perodua Myvi Advance new is RM54K, 1 year car is still going about RM45K.

That’s only RM9K depreciation. You think Subaru can depreciate can beat that?

• I rather put my palm on Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • contender on Aug 10, 2016 at 6:36 pm

For about RM100k is it worth it ?

• huhuhihi on Aug 10, 2016 at 9:03 pm

this challenge is perfect for those ppl that have nothing better to do……

• Subaru Lousy on Aug 10, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Why so desperate, so many qualifying round.
    Don’t buy Subaru, not sincere for this kind of competition, torture desperado contestant.

• Yup, challenge sounds more like torture. But I guess there are people who are willing to see it differently and are motivated to go for it. More power to them then. After all nobody’s being coerced to take part.

• Albert on Aug 10, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Beware,sales in all car distributors show NEGATIVE GROWTH.
    THE BOLEHLAND ECONOMY cannot progress as experts have forecasted oil price not exceeding US 50/barrel for next 5 years due to GLUT AND SLOWING WORLD ECONOMY.
    Swiber,Singapore has collapsed…nearly rm 3 billion Rm hutang to banks.
    Malaysia,many oil and gas outfits are teetering on verge of collapse.No banks want to lend money to this sector now.
    You can buy Merc,Lexus,Porshe…..but few months later….nobody knows whether u can even pay your instalments.
    Play safe….THINK,THINK 10,000 TIMES before u commit to buying new cars.

• Frankly thou, those who can afford for Merc, Lexus Posh never need to worry about economy.

• If there is a contest in Olympic, i’ll sure get a medal

• hamtaro on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:31 am

haih, some idiots think that putting palms on car for a longer time is a “challenge” to them.

Please spend your time wisely, and do things worth and a different to the life of others.

Malaysia is going down if ppl are doing trivial things, while the economy is going to the dogs….

• more than 100K for less than 78 hours… i’ll go for it..