2016 Volkswagen Jetta teased on Malaysian website

jetta baru

Volkswagen Malaysia has teased the imminent arrival of the Jetta facelift, which first made its debut at the 2014 New York Auto Show. The current CKD Jetta 1.4 TSI, which was priced at around RM131k, has since been removed from the company’s website.

On the exterior, the facelifted Jetta will only undergo a few minor tweaks – a revised front grille, restyled front and rear bumpers, updated headlamps and tail lamps, as well as new wheels. As for the interior, the changes go a little further than the revisions carried out on the C-segment sedan’s exterior.

Most noticeably are the updated cabin’s steering wheel, instrument cluster and automatic air-conditioning switchgear, all of which are carried over from the Mk7 Golf. Expect improvements to interior materials to be part of the facelift as well.

No indication as to what’s under the hood – will the facelift employ the 1.4 litre TSI TwinCharged mill, which churns out 160 PS at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,500 rpm, or the turbocharged 1.4 litre TSI (150 PS and 250 Nm) from the latest Golf, paired with a DQ200 seven-speed dry dual-clutch gearbox. It’s likely to be the latter, which should allow the Jetta to qualify as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) in Malaysia.

You’ll be able to get exclusive updates and more info about the Volkswagen Jetta facelift by clicking here to register your interest on VW Malaysia’s website.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Jetta facelift (other markets)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• kumar on Aug 11, 2016 at 2:35 pm

NOOOO. DSG again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
    • HeCOMe on Aug 11, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Who dare to buy from VGM again? Company with questionable trust and poor services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
      • Kunta Kinte on Aug 11, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Volkswagen owners have the tow truck driver on their speed dial.

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for their children’s birthday parties

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck drive for Valentine’s day to join the couple for wine

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for their children’s wedding ceremony.

Volkswagen owners visit the tow truck driver when he is ill and take care of him in hospital.

Volkswagen owners children are usually proposed to the children of the tow truck drivers for marriage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 21
        • Operation Manager on Aug 11, 2016 at 8:40 pm

It’s past… now tow truck love 2016 civic engine overheat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
          • Disastrous on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:22 am

I just want to get rid of my existing VW and never look back again

• Sam Tow Truck on Aug 12, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Beware Sam tow truck may woo the female stranded with their VW.

• Rakyat on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:22 pm

There will, still be sucker out there bitting the bait….

• Glenmary on Aug 11, 2016 at 3:44 pm

24/7 towing & courtesy car servis included.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Looks like current one nicer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • BlitzAce on Aug 11, 2016 at 2:55 pm

If VGM gimp on the specs and sell it around the same price as the last time, it won’t sell just like before. Until they give up huge discounts, that is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Great! If you want to get a 2016 Jetta. I would suggest you to buy it at the end of 2018. Maybe you can get a 40 to 50% discount at that time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 11, 2016 at 3:01 pm

DQ200….out of their 7 models DSGs , this is the worst and the only dry type….if u ever want to make a school presentation on how NOT TO LEARN FROM YOUR MISTAKES , please take VW as an “inspiration”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Jerman overlords says (translated) “Don’t question me! U only have puny P1 and celup P2!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Fast shifter on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Looks like this guy still harping over stale news. While it may have happened in the past, the 2014 DQ200 never had any issues. I’m the testament, being an owner myself.

• Eww.

• goodluck on Aug 11, 2016 at 3:10 pm

good luck selling this car!
    tak laku la!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • JDT Kuat on Aug 11, 2016 at 3:26 pm

omg. this car is sooo old!!! bring us the new passat and the new tiguan.. come on VGM!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Wait long long on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:49 pm

This was shown in 2014 and now it’s almost 2017. At this rate VGM will launch new Passat 2020 and new Tiguan 2030.

Great work VGM. Nobodies buy their old junk. Refresh your fleet immediately VGM if you are serious about Malaysian market.

• Ahahaha…. Buy, Drive….. till tyres drops off.
    lowest resale value eva!

• carlover on Aug 11, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Old design, junk look!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2016 at 3:49 pm

comes with tow truck hotline

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Tail lamps looks the like the B8 Audi A4.

• See Mi Lhan on Aug 11, 2016 at 5:55 pm

They are jointly developed. Hence, looks a little similar.

• Firdaus on Aug 11, 2016 at 4:59 pm

I wanna puke lah….better to buy a proton lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • FIST (Member) on Aug 11, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Still having hand brake?

• Golfer on Aug 11, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Great car to own and drive. Hopefully they price it right and lower than the Civic X to compete. Honestly, after testing the Vento 1.2 TSI last week, I can safely say that VW produces awesome cars but I really dislike their marketing strategy by giving massive discounts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Aug 11, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Ini company banyak penipu besarrrrr…….

Once bitten, twice shy, thrice ko memang BONGOK tahap agung……never learn from your mistakes……

• Rakyat on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:16 pm

VW’s pricing is on the higher end and quality on the lower end. One needs to have driver or lots of time to sit in the workshop for repair now and then….

I’ll pass, rather get a sushi car.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:34 am

Wow 2014 facelift now only arrive in 2016…wow good lah once they start selling next year Europe launch the next gen Jetta.

• This isn’t actually a facelift. This version of the car was already available even in India. They had factory fitted projector headlamps long before.