About 80% of the 117,000 students who ride motorcycles to school do not have a license – JPJ

Motorcyclist

According to the Road Transport Department (JPJ), about 80% of the 117,000 students who use a motorcycle as transport to school do not have a valid license. This was revealed by the department’s enforcement division director, Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo in a report by The Sun.

The figures were obtained via survey jointly conducted by both the Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) and Department of Road Safety (JKJR). “The study also found that parents give permission to their children to ride a motorcycle without a license,” said Veloo.

“The excuse often given by the parents are such as the lack of public transport in their area and busy working that forced them to give their children a motorcycle to go to school,” he continued, adding that enforcement will be taken as a result.

This includes issuing summonses to these unlicensed students, as well as confiscating their motorcycles. However, the department will first conduct advocacy programmes to ensure students and their parents understand the importance of adhering to road regulations.

A few months ago, the MyLesen programme, which is initiated by the department, was relaunched to help unlicensed motorcyclists ride legally at a lower price. Since April, the public will only have to pay RM299 for a B2 class licence to ride a motorcycle under 250cc, instead of the usual RM350.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:38 am

Why highlight old news? As far as I remember during my school days, it has been like that even in klang valley not only Kampung areas…

• Biasalah bang, org kampung is like that

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 12, 2016 at 9:43 am

No issue is old lah oldman…we need to take a action…if not kaum pendatang will make noise…komplen here komplen there…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 12, 2016 at 9:47 am

Nowadays can buy motorbike under market value thats why so many riding without licence especially kaum pendatang…

• George Abdul on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:39 am

JPJ knew about the 80% for many years but yet they never take any action??? But start to complaint on Pokemon drivers that start just 1 week ago… Malaysia Ministry of pampering Mat Rempits? BN where’s the logic ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • zzzzzzz on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:41 am

Keep saman, saman, saman, saman, saman, saman until they broke la.

• Ahmadjr on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:43 am

Then provide school buses lah pandai

• Megane on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:45 am

Just scrap the license for motorbike . Make sure the bikes are insured – comprehensive coverage . Make amendments to the laws just as the governement can make the Uber and Grabcar legal .

• -BigBalls- on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:49 am

and what are you doing about it? sitting in your offices?

go and nab them ,teach them a lesson by doing community work, confiscate their bikes, fine their parents before the manifestation to become future rempits begin

the root of rempit problem are right in front of u, go and stop it!

-BigBalls-

• hailthepurist on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:54 am

blaming game resumes..

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:00 am

For us that have a driving the car license have to pay $600 to $800 to get a 150cc license. Unfair

• Bagusnya ada parents macam tu. Nanti anak mati tengah jalan sebab tak reti undang-undang jalanraya jangan salahkan orang lain pulak.

• Jay Law on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:05 am

and theyre setting up booths to STOP tinted glass

• Ben Yap on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:10 am

ban all these students from studying and give them PSV license to drive taxi. they are that group of people.

• Intro/ promo more electric bicycle.. problem solved.

• So? What you going to do about it?

• hamtaro on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:22 am

117,000 bike riders without licence on the road, (this is only based on conservative figure) and also endangering other road users…….and when accident happened, gonna cost RM million worth of damaged, losses….and time lost.

So, what stern/effective action the authority gonna take?
    Data collection? Study? Make report only??

Malaysia Boleh….

• Jobless on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:23 am

In the end any action or inaction will be based on what is most popular with the voters and interested parties with influence. Sadly this is how things work around here, public safety has become secondary.

• Yokohama24 on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:23 am

Seems like they only know how to report their “problems”. This should not have happened if they are NOT “sleeping”.

• Motorcyclists have a different set of rules to adhere to. Red light = green light, stop sign = you stop for them, emergency lane = motorbike lane, one way street = two way street, exchange details in an accident = bash you up with an unrelated gang of other motorcyclists

• Annoynimouse on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:26 am

The news itself is not surprising. What’s surprising is how long it took for them to realize it.
    Anyways, looking forward for future actions by the authority. I hope whatever whatever action they take is as swift and efficient as that for tinted windows.

• ikengkai on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:40 am

This really show how bad is our government department at law enforcement. You know it, but you don’t take drastic enforcement. Now, this become cancer, and the officials talk c*ck.

• Susukotak on Aug 12, 2016 at 5:07 am

Ala… Mat bangla… Indo… Pun ramai yg bawa motor (even kereta) area bangi…putrajaya….cyberjaya. Agak2 mereka ni ada lesen tak?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 12, 2016 at 9:45 am

U mean penang govt…that corrupt leader who bought property under market value issit…

• mrpolice on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:43 am

Terima Kasih

• KenJi on Aug 11, 2016 at 11:37 am

Aku x sokong perlanggaran undang2, tp kena lihat juga alasan yg mak bapak tu berikn. Kalau x ada pengangkutan awam apa pilihan yg dia org ada? Selesaikn dulu isu ni, dan kemudian baru cerita pasal undang2

• donno on Aug 11, 2016 at 11:41 am

The problem is there is a lot of kids below the legal licence age (15 years old or younger) riding motorcycles to school. Harsher penalties (such as jail term for repeat offenders) emposed on parents and guardians should discourage the widespread underage motorcycle usage. Encourage students to cycle to school instead. Enforcement is easy. Just wait at the school gate after school and catch the offenders.

• Enforcement is easy when parents tell kids dun go to skool during operasi days. Then students become bodo piang. Ini semua salah enforcers.

• Parents too poor to pay for bas sekolah service but dun mind to sacrifice their kids.

• MeToo on Aug 11, 2016 at 11:47 am

Instead of telling us the stats…

PERHAPS.. JPJ should do their job and make sure this situation is rectified?

• I thought 99%

• Not only no license, most of the motorcycles have expired roadtax as well. And the students treating helmet as an option instead of mandatory. Go to any school located within a residential area and you will know what I mean. When got into roadblock, the excuses given will usually be ‘pakai dekat-dekat saja’ and ‘semua orang pun macam tu.’

• hyin21 on Aug 11, 2016 at 5:54 pm

solve the problem, not just coming out with more statistics….& the parents pun satu, sigh…
    and for those who refuse to wear helmets, no common sense…the wind will mess up your hair anyway…& some can wear caps to ride, why not helmets???

• kumakar on Aug 11, 2016 at 7:08 pm

ini semua salah Anwar kot?

• Joholan on Aug 11, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Zzzzzzzzz …….. cabinets

• Ibrahim Ismail on Aug 11, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Hai JPJ, what’s your plan? Just talked no action will never change anything. Other road users are very concerned but you still sitting in office doing nothing. Same thing like every year average 200 death from road accident during Raya holiday but no action taken. No study to find the root cause and no action do to avoid recurring. Lack of enforcement and your officer just looking for was job. Look at our neighbour and see what they doing. Please change your work from talking too much to more action and enforcement.

• Ibrahim ismail on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Hei JPJ, what your plan. Don’t just talk. No action. This has been so long and road user are known about it. We are very concern because accident can happen. They with young blood just ride like their own road especially when together with friends. Without helmets some time and when ride beside other student they start to show off. Please do something and just sit in office doing not. Statistic show every year average of 200 road user kill during festival season but no action. Please do your work, get the data, check for the root cause, take the proactive step to prevent recurrent. Do wait for easy money. Don’t wait until people complaint or accident happen only start investigation. It’s too late, people lost life of their love one. May it not happen to your love one and you not has that feeling. Wake up.

• mason_ on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:42 pm

next year jpj tell the old same story,no action taken…just know saman saman saman,money mah.come on jpj,really want to make changes,send the students who dont has licence to some clasces to take licence..

• Bernard on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Jail the parents for encouraging criminal behaviour. Also once the motorcycles are confiscated, burn them …