GIIAS 2016: Honda Jazz RS CVT Special Edition

The Honda Civic Hatchback Prototype‘s first Asia/Oceania appearance at the Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS) 2016 is getting all the camera clicks, but here’s a “sporty” Honda hatchback that the locals can already buy.

The Honda Jazz RS CVT Special Edition stands out in this Attract Yellow Pearl colour (also available in Crystal Black Pearl) and black 16-inch alloys that differ in design from the those on the regular Jazz RS here and the top Malaysian-spec Jazz V.

Compared to the regular Jazz RS CVT (they have a manual RS too!), the top variant here, the SE gain a red accent strip on the front grille, a silver rear garnish as “diffuser” and a shark fin antenna.

Inside, the yellow theme is replicated with “sporty seat covers” featuring high-precision stitching, according to PT Honda Prospect Motor. Not mentioned in the press release, but there are yellow accents on the door cards too. RS logos are stitched on the front seat backs. The same logos on the meter panel and front/rear ends of the car are standard on the regular RS, as is the eight-inch “floating AV system”.

The Honda Jazz RS CVT Special Edition is priced at 269.3 juta rupiah (RM82,267, in Jakarta for first car buyers). Cool?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh. on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:54 am

Pika pika?

Pika… chuuuuuuu!

• ah beng’s RS

• Rakyat on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:22 am

Nothing to shout about, no performance tune up besides pleasing the eyes and add more costs.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:41 am

bring the manual here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Kunta Kinte on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:43 am

can Malaysians get this car here? Or do we have to eat dedak all the time?

• Jazz is alredi on sale here, somemore with hybrid drive, somemore cheaper than topkek deathtrap yaris. Thats why ur godkompeni pull out yaris cuz cannot compete.

• Not cool for me. Just 2 air-bags without Traction Control and 6 air-bags are so yesterday. I value my life more than the colour of the seats.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Honda Malaysia does sell what you want in it over here if u care to check out the spec sheet before commenting here.

• Meh Mehhh on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:43 pm

What “RS” stand for?
    A. Rasa Sporty
    B. Rasa Sayang heyyy rasa sayang sayang heyy….
    C. Rosak Selalu ?
    D. Racing Spirit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Huehue on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Ricers’ style

• lolpanda on Aug 12, 2016 at 4:39 pm

it’s definitely leaning towards the side of Suzuki’s “Reinvent Style” proposition

• In M’sia version, the RS has to be “Rattling Sound” . Assembly quality here is so suck.

• Bribg the manual here. So can add on supercharger or turbo it without worrying the cvt breaking up.

• Malaysian Driver on Aug 12, 2016 at 1:48 pm

There are some recond that brought in JDM speced Honda Fit RS 2014 (manual) selling at 120k. To me, it’s just crazy.

A slight bump in power (by the DOHC earth dream 1.5) or perhaps revised suspension? doesn’t jusfity the price tag asked by the grey importer. If you really fancy a manual Jazz with hot chracteristic, you’ll better off buy a based spec Jazz through HM, bring it to Sunway and stuff a Type R K20+JDM Jazz sepced 5MT in the engine bay, your ride will instantly transformed into an insanely fast Jazz. (And yes, some crazy guy in M’sia has done that).

• Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2016 at 3:08 pm

gOOD rv!

• lolpanda on Aug 12, 2016 at 4:38 pm

all that aggressive styling with no punch to match? seems like a ricer alert to me.

• foreveryoung on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:33 am

rear drum brake is it?
    correct me if im wrong
    if drum at the back = then RS stand for Ricer Edition

• this RS stands for “Riced Sucker”