Perodua Bezza taxi rendered by Theophilus Chin

Perodua-Bezza-Taxi-Theophilus-Chin-e1470973050241

As Perodua’s first sedan, the new Perodua Bezza provides levels of boot space and luggage security hitherto unheard of for the national carmaker. In fact, resident rendering wizard Theophilus Chin thinks it is perfect to be used as a taxi, so much so that he has actually put his Photoshop brushes to work on creating his vision of what a Bezza cab would look like!

We think the Bezza looks the part resplendent in red and white, with unpainted black plastic bumpers recalling the old Proton Saga Iswara taxis of yore – although it has to be said that real Malaysian taxis have been wearing body-coloured bumpers for some time now.

Adding to the utilitarian flavour are the steel wheels borrowed from the Axia 1.0 E and side rubbing strips that are reminiscent of those on the current Proton Saga – the ones sold in the GearUp accessories lineup are mounted higher up the doors.

Perodua-Bezza-Taxi-Theophilus-Chin-2-e1470973615671

Widely regarded as the fiercest competition to the Saga, the Bezza could stand a real chance of snatching the bowl away from the Proton in the latter’s key taxi market. The only problem would be the engine size – the Bezza biggest mill is a 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i unit.

Although we generally feel that the 94 hp/121 Nm engine’s performance is more than adequate for such a light car, engine displacement is a big factor for taxi drivers, which is why taxi-spec Sagas have had to be equipped with bigger 1.6 litre engines. Perhaps the upcoming 1.5 litre NR engine slated for the next-gen Myvi could be what Perodua needs to make the Bezza worthy of the “teksi bermeter” light bar.

What do you think of Theophilus Chin’s take on a Perodua Bezza taxi? How do you think a fare-earning Perodua sedan would, er, fare? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza sedan

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lockhart on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Car looks like it can terbalik anytime . . .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:20 pm

I can still remember many years ago, Theophilus also rendered BLM maybe, as taxi.

Got easter egg, written “Teksi gila, tak guna meter” lol

No easter egg this time.

• Operation Manager on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Where 25k Bezza 1.0m for taxi driving school…?

• applegreen on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:25 pm

So this taxi belongs to theophilus chin..

• No taxi on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Dual vvti ,auto start stop system ,22.6km /liter fuel consumption good for taxi driver or uber,grab car driver.

• Teksi spec will use pole antenna not sharkfin. Oso no foglamps. Somemore mana boot advertisement board add-on?

• OMG..huge crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • keenobserver on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:48 pm

lovely…. more on the road please.
    however, to cut cost, the shark fin wont be there, replace with bee-sting antenna.
    plus fog lamps too.

• Nice plate~
    I see what you did there Theo~

• nabill (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Theo obviously forgot to render the driver with a gangster looking face…..

• meterax i on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Taksi in kl must use auto gear and bearing,,tyre big size heavy duty .

• Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:59 pm

What’s the point if u doesn’t have VSC and rear airbags for passengers. Better get preve or next Persona got with six airbags. As passengers we care about safety and comfort.

• lesenL on Aug 12, 2016 at 1:06 pm

mehh.. eventhough its an underpower car , a freaking tonggek 508L will tarik a whole lot of taxi drivers to use it as their ride..ABP is everywhere right now…

• Knight E on Aug 12, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Look more ugly and cheap than current saga and persona taxis…more worse than India taxi…

• Taxis in Malaysia are a joke. Let us instead raise two standards.

Firstly, taxis to be a minimum D-segment car or MPV. Secondly, drivers to be somewhat educated and not complete a**holes.

• Matchy on Aug 12, 2016 at 1:37 pm

But the back seats are not comfortable though.

• Uberuser on Aug 12, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Still won’t use a taxi. Uber/Grab FTW!!

• kapchai on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:07 pm

I like it

• yippi33 on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Saw in the flesh recently..have to admit..it’s the most weirdest looking car ive seen especially from the rear..too tall..try again P2..

• Jomblo happy on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Hmmm….last time proton saga…now perodua bezza…next time??

• anonymous on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:31 pm

still prefer Uber/Grabcar etc..

• azrai on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:42 pm

No..we got UBER nowadays.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:50 pm

This is an insult for those 20-years old Proton Saga taxi still plying the road.

• Taximen now support PPB woh. So another indication that they r Tun kroni.

So support Uber/Grab = support SPAD = support NajibBNGov = support liberalisation = anti nationalisation = anti taximen = anti TunPPB

• I rike!

• Black Dog on Aug 12, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Taxis are going to extinct!

• metertax i on Aug 12, 2016 at 3:30 pm

If you driver grab uber kar, ahli gusti sumo japan u cannot run ma.. if this beza taksi go to new york, i donr no what to say, crayzy spad. Sesuai untuk rakyat veirnam kampucia burma slimpeople.

• salleh on Aug 12, 2016 at 3:55 pm

lol jahat gile tiopilus letak plat no CH1841.

• ch1841 on Aug 12, 2016 at 4:19 pm

I kind of like that CH1841 number plate….still on tender ka this number plate? ha ha ha…

• xprezzy on Aug 12, 2016 at 4:31 pm

nice plat number.. lol

• Knight E on Aug 12, 2016 at 4:33 pm

look more ugly than saga and persona taxi…lousy than India taxi

• gangully on Aug 12, 2016 at 5:00 pm

no one realized the number plate??!!

• policeman on Aug 12, 2016 at 5:42 pm

That number plate defines Bezza.

• James Ong on Aug 12, 2016 at 5:52 pm

How could teh editor allowed plate number that looks like “CHIBAI” to be placed at your with good repute. Shame on Theophilus Chin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Fucukyongtaufoo on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:00 am

Its meant for smart readers who doesn’t shout it out loud … Shame on you

• krs189 on Aug 12, 2016 at 6:38 pm

OMG! My eyes hurts……..I just wanna puke.

Hardly seen any on the road.

Only strange people buy this car.

• transfomer on Aug 12, 2016 at 6:42 pm

with apps ride-hailing Uber & Grab to be legalise soon….

pre-historic and world re-known bloody MY Taxi has to be gone very soon….

Theo, pls render some Uber/Grabs Bezza…. or even better Vios/City/Jazz/Almera/2/Altis/Civic/3

• crash on Aug 12, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Engine displacement is not a big factor for taxi. It is compatibility with NGV fuel and whether after using NGV fuel, how much decrease in power . We know Innova can use NGV , but this is a much newer engine with dual VVTI.

• shere khan on Aug 12, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Dont bother. Better go for Grab or Uber. Better cars even than this budget car.

• Alifzz on Aug 12, 2016 at 9:01 pm

I believe Bezza can’t be make as taxi as regulation by SPAD requires taxi to have minimum engine capacity of 1.5 litre

• Then it is even more simple. Plonk in the a 1.5L engine from the Myvi. Problem solved. Last time the Saga BLM only had 1.3L version during launching. Only the taxi has a special version using 1.6L engine from the Persona.

• Alamak on Aug 12, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Hahaha…really good registration number!

That is the best rendering.

• Chintastic on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:52 pm

Plate number has a hidden meaning.. CH1 841

• old horse on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:34 pm

render enlarge the rim proportion? LOL..

• das Auto on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:20 pm

If this a taxi I would not take it. Who wanna sit behind of a small car? And why should I when I’m paying.

• metertax i on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Lanca u . The word taxi ,mat salleh take this from word lanca. This malay warrior tok janggut kelantan pios and humble tergantung kaki diatas bcos of word taxi. For spad god giff this word for ubotak LANCAR TAXC for spad application smat pon. Uber mean tali ular, grab mean tali gantung kaki tok janggut. My secret for uber grab derebar taxi, u burn petrol rm20 your income rm20. If use ngv 1/3 ngv, 2/3rm untong hari ini

• dengdengdeng on Aug 13, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Segment A taxi ???
    How to fix normal size 4 ppl… if and stuck 4 ppl inside, added 3 luggage…

• S.Balakrishnan A/L Sinnamuttu on Aug 08, 2018 at 11:10 pm

Produa ALZA and Beza look better then PROTON Car bcz less maintenance no need to change timing belt petrol safe no need to fix NGV Where the PETRONAS Service NGV Very bad. Last time ssk Produa Ampang Point to Come out Alza as taxi they no HQ no give, then i buy Exora Bold Turbo. Anyway if beza can have same Alza engine 1.5cc will be more better. TQ.